Autopsy Rd 13 Carlton v Gold Coast Post Match Discussion

I feel that next week against the Dogs will give us a better indication of just how good we really are. The Dogs are a very good side and play with a lot of aggression and apply a lot of pressure on the ball carrier and will not allow us much time or space. We will also need to make a lot less mistakes, although if we come to play we will match it with them.
There inconsistent, young and there spine isn't ready yet.
However they have freakish young ball winners and plenty of outside run and a couple of small fwds to lock the footy in.

It should be a close game.

I like White too. Would like him to stay in the team. I reckon he is our most appropriate match up for Stringer next week.

Problem is if Jamo comes back for someone other than White or Rowe, we lose some run and we can't drop any of Simpson, Yarran, Tuohy, Buckley or Docherty...might be in for Rowe or could even be left out?? It will be interesting to see.

Run is good, but its not always about run.

Another good win. I think alot of teams will be nervous playing against us. If we can fit Jamison back in our backline will be even tougher to crack. Not sure who we drop to make way for him?

I've had a look at the draw for the rest of the season. It's pretty tough. But I'm actually looking forward to it.

We'll know where we are in about 4 weeks or so. Dogs, Tigers, Freo, Hawks, North before we face someone at our current level in Brisbane. Wookie has looked into his crystal ball - 5-0 our way. we'll be 8-9 after round 17. some say im an optimist but still...

Kreuzer went into beast mode today. How much have we missed the big fella.
Honestly, I think that in the couple of games that he has had so far, a lot of clubs have started paying attention to the big fella. He is definitely proving that he is worth the big coin that a top quality player can attract as a free agent. He works well in a team with Cam Wood as opposed to how Warnock went when he was played in tandem with another ruckman.

With the club looking at getting that 205cm yank in as a rookie, we are either resigned to losing Kreuzer or Warnock has definitely had his papers stamped.

Aside from Kreuzer and Wood, I reckoned that our midfield brigade just improved immeasurably with the simple inclusion of Holman. He might have only had a quarter to make an impact, but geez his left foot is deadly when kicking into the forward line. And he is willing to throw himself into the contest to try and win the ball.

Cripps copped his first "hard" tag today... GC17 tried hard to restrict him, but he kept on contesting and the only thing that held him back today is his lack of experience. When he copped that punch to the guts in the last... the rest of the boys, led by that man Kreuzer, got in there and went after the thug who had a cheap shot at him. It was good to see the rest of the team get in there to fly the flag... there have been too many times in the past when Murphy and Gibbs have been sniped at and no one has gone in there to back them up and protect them.

I reckon that umpire that gave that free kick against White for pulling Lynch away from Buckley will get a good talking to... after all, I reckon that White did it to protect Lynch... because DylBucks wouldnt back down and he would have launched into him if pushed too far.

Had SEN on the way home tonight.
Wow it sucked... First snapper and this dulll dullll Dubai caller... Finey is on something weird tonight.

Heard that call from Snapper and Finey just let him go on and on and on about how bad Mick was and how Carlton are back.

He literally talked for about 5-6 minutes (maybe longer) and I'm sure Finey just let it go so it comes across that Carlton are back to being arrogant after a couple of wins. It ensures all his bogan regulars ring up and rip into Carlton.

If it was a Saints supporter crapping on in the same way I've no doubt Finey would have cut him short before he embarrassed himself.

Heard that call from Snapper and Finey just let him go on and on and on about how bad Mick was and how Carlton are back.

He literally talked for about 5-6 minutes (maybe longer) and I'm sure Finey just let I go so it comes across that Carlton are back to being arrogant after a couple of wins. It ensures all his bogan regulars ring up and rip into Carlton.

If it was a Saints supporter crapping on in the same way I've no doubt Finey would have cut him short before he embarrassed himself.
Atleast Ox and Marko have a 10 second clock going when Snapper rings, and then cuts him off the air..

Really hope Carlton issues a please explain for that tom lynch second second goal free kick against White.

I demand that umpire gets fined or suspended from umpiring for that decision. It was either gross negligence or cheating and it deserves to be punished

Agree, but we got a ridiculously soft free in our fwd 50 a couple of mins later, so I kinda feel like it was fair-ish in the end...

Yarran 25 Disposals and a goal with DE at 88%.

Underrated game imo. Industrious without his usual dashing runs through the corridor.
Didn't feel like that at all. Pretty good game when you look at his stats.

I enjoyed the pace of the game today. It led to plenty of errors but the players persisted with taking the game on to achieve a good result. Three goals from the defence was pretty exciting. Buckley's effort was enormous. I would love to see him playing across the centre. Forwards were really solid. Henderson took most of the heat which allowed others to kick goals. Cripps copped the hard tag today and did well. It allowed Murph plenty of free time and he made the most of it. Woods and Kreuzer worked today and I'm happy for this arrangement to continue as Casboult looks pretty comfortable as a forward.

Special mention to Holman. I loved the two worm burners at the start of the last quarter.

The lid is still on. A win over the Doggies will have the lid rattling.

Autopsy Rd 13 Carlton v Gold Coast Post Match Discussion