Autopsy Rd 13 Carlton v Gold Coast Post Match Discussion

Was very disappointed that Holman was the sub.

Was very surprised how well he used the ball and he seemed to be a bit quicker than he looked in the few NB's games I have seen.

Need to inject more pace into the side next week as the Dogs are quick.

Have to feel sorry for Gold Coast, their game plan was nonsensical. Several times they reminded me of us - about 4 weeks ago. They would win the ball well deep in defence but instead of honouring team mates who ran to dangerous positions, turned around and kicked backwards. This caused our self-confidence to rise as their's fell.

Was good to see Cripps used up forward at times, he can take a strong mark and the goals will come. Great to see Cripps cop the tag which took much pressure off Murph.

Holman impressed with his left foot 50 entries. Sam Mitchell has built a career with no better kicks. Pity the missed shot at goal.

With Jamo a certain starter Rowe and white should get easier opponents. Rowe made some terrible mistakes like doc in the crows game but he is essential and will return to form.

That great tease jones took the best mark I saw on the day and kicked truly. He surely has the talent but just doesn't seem to be able to apply it.

A chance against his old side?

I think Cripps was also the first to congratulate him after the team sang the club song and Holman was drenched in gatorade.

The kid will be a future captain.

I said the same thing when he was first drafted and was laughed at from other members on this board. You could tell the other guys that were drafted in the same year already looked up to him after the preseason.

Really pleased with his game today, had a hard tag (and will likely get a lot of these in his career) and handled it with absolute class.

Glad to see the Northern Blues dominate and Jones hit the scoreboard in a big way as well. Boekhorst, Watson, Jones & Johnson are all pushing at the door for selection, great to see a bit of competition for spots.

I love Ellard, but would like to see Boekhorst get a run (pls no sub), but that presents the issue of who you make sub? Can't be Holman again and Boekhorst needs to build his tank, so he needs to be playing full games as well.

One player that has definitely surprised me is Everitt. I wasn't overly excited when we recruited him, when I saw him play with the Doggies and Sydney he seemed underwhelming. But maybe its a case of third time lucky with us. He's been a steady improver for us over the last 18 months. He kicked three goals this week and three last week and in a team that doesn't have much of a forward line that's invaluable.

We need players that can hit the scoreboard, if he can bob up with a couple each week it takes some of the pressure off the other forwards and helps spread the load. For me the jury is still out on Casboult, Triple M footy discussed him a fair bit before the Port Adelaide match and Garry Lyon made the point that sometimes with players like him you can die wondering whether or not he'll make it. Clearly he's a great mark and has some presence about him in the forward line which someone like Jones lacks. But whether or not he can turn it into goals consistently remains to be seen for me. I hope he does make it, he has a lot going for him.

I think John Barker's game plan is a bit more like Ratten's which I think suits our players better. Team's coached by MM are renowned for kicking the ball more, but I don't think that necessarily has suited us. Certainly a player like Tom Bell seems to be really thriving under Barker because he loves to run and flipping the ball around a bit more suits that. Looking forward to next week and I'm somewhat optimistic we can give the Doggies a good shake.

Hi Guys,

Partner is a Carlton man who was pretty down about the blues a few weeks ago-frustrated by the lack of heart, tacKling and players not sticking up for teammates.

Kept telling him to hold on and see the difference a new coach can make eg. Beveridge.

All I can say is WOW. You have some awesome kids. Really enjoying Cripps, Buckley, Graham and now Holman!

Holman looks like he has been playing for years, great skills. Not sure why Mick didn't play him?

I will reserve the most praise for Tom Bell, he is a bull. Never shirks a contest, creates play, love his effort.

They have all finally rediscovered their passion to play! Partner came back from the game today with a big grin!:) Took an awesome photo with Jim Buckley. Good man.

Amazing turn around in confidence.

Really liked Graham's game today. Docherty is a gun but I'm sure I saw him limping after the game, right knee looked stiff. I hope he is alright.

I reckon Menzel is getting unfair criticism by some supporters. He looked hot in the first quarter before getting injured. It is really hard being a mid sized forward at any time. To my eyes he looks like he will be a top notch footballer.

Carazzo playing in great form at the moment and has improved his disposal efficiency. Curnow had a shocker in the first quarter then came good to put in another solid performance. Kruze does more for the team than just his possessions. Unbelievable the amount of team improvement one player can make. Armfield and Everitt have been very good forwards the past few weeks both offensively and defensively.

Bell is a ripper and along with Cripps will do a lot of damage to the opposition for many years to come. Both need to go to the Sav Rocca special school for goal kicking though.

Overall need to improve skill levels and I reckon that goes hand in glove with improving confidence levels. List nowhere near as bad as most were lamenting just 4 weeks ago. Just goes to show how much of an over reaction the infamous "rebuild" statement was after just R2.

A few thoughts:

Can't stand taggers getting away with breaking the rules... It almost feels like they're given more leeway because they're taggers. Drives me nuts. I understand they're part of the game and Raines is just trying to keep an AFL career, but it doesn't excuse breaking the rules. The Cripps incident at the interchange was right in front of me as well -- fairly amusing.

We really outplayed them today. Poor kicking and a few bad decisions kept it from being a 10-12 goal victory.

Tuohy playing the best footy I can remember him playing over the last few weeks - especially today. His ball handling, kicking and power were terrific. Would love to be able to watch the other Irish lads running around. I emailed the Club preseason suggesting they get an Irish flag into the cheer squad and really target the Irish population here through Irish Echo and Irish pubs ... Spoke to someone in the cheer squad weeks ago that said an Irish flag was added at the start of the season (I had searched but not seen it)... Don't know whether it was my doing or not, but finally saw it today and felt an ounce of satisfaction :)

Murph maintained his great form today. I was right into him at the start of the year, but as it's turned out, he's really stood up. He suffers from a high/floaty ball-drop at times, but his effort is fantastic. After all I've said, I really feel like now (really since round 4 at a guess) he is showing the determination and dedication to lead this team. Could definitely see him leading the way and then handing over to Cripps when he moves into his twilight years. He's set a standard and is maintaining it. Great stuff.

Buckley has really tidied up his disposal. Was the biggest question mark for mine, but isn't shanking them at all atm, and that goal was as crisp a kick as you'll see.

Everitt has been a real find up forward, and seems to be loving it.

Plenty of others in great form.

It's not a great team, but it's a team with great effort atm (albeit, not quite a 4qtr effort today). Another off-season and it has the potential to look quite a quality team.

I thought watching the first quarter .... here we go again .... we can play the teams above us with a bit of gusto and then spoil it all by dropping our bundle against teams we should realistically beat .... and then bang!

All I have to say is THANK GOD!

They pulled their collective finger out and again started playing like they had the previous three weeks.

Barker just seems to have drawn a line in the sand ... set the culture early and told the boys what he expects as a minimum what this team stands for .... and by all accounts the players have bought in.

Was just shocked how many contested marks we took today ... that has been missing for forever and a day!

Still a long way to go but just so proud of the boys ... that SOJ goal bought a tear to my eye ... him hopping out of his skin after kicking it ..... you cannot buy that enthusiasm and love for the jumper. How all the guys are now sticking up for one another, not taking a backward step ... just have not seen that for soooooo long.

Just happy ... Relieved to see a CFC side that is starting to deserve respect.

It's been too long that the once feared mighty blues have become irrelevant. We may not make the finals this year but I for one will be as pleased as punch if we ruin a few teams chances by the end of the season and set ourselves up for a better start to next season!

Barker ... what can I say .... u suck as a line coach but geez you have really turned my head as the head coach.

MM ... full respect .... but seriously dude WTF happened?

Can we have Everitt back....? :oops:

Huge win fellas! I was there and it was so sweet to watch. Graham a huge chance for the nomination this week, he's proving Mick wrong. Pretty psyched for the game next week , equally nervous.... you've got a red hot shot against us. Savor the B2B :D

Should be a ripping game next week, both teams like to take the game on.

Id say a 50/50 match

Honestly, I think that in the couple of games that he has had so far, a lot of clubs have started paying attention to the big fella. He is definitely proving that he is worth the big coin that a top quality player can attract as a free agent. He works well in a team with Cam Wood as opposed to how Warnock went when he was played in tandem with another ruckman.

With the club looking at getting that 205cm yank in as a rookie, we are either resigned to losing Kreuzer or Warnock has definitely had his papers stamped.

Aside from Kreuzer and Wood, I reckoned that our midfield brigade just improved immeasurably with the simple inclusion of Holman. He might have only had a quarter to make an impact, but geez his left foot is deadly when kicking into the forward line. And he is willing to throw himself into the contest to try and win the ball.

Cripps copped his first "hard" tag today... GC17 tried hard to restrict him, but he kept on contesting and the only thing that held him back today is his lack of experience. When he copped that punch to the guts in the last... the rest of the boys, led by that man Kreuzer, got in there and went after the thug who had a cheap shot at him. It was good to see the rest of the team get in there to fly the flag... there have been too many times in the past when Murphy and Gibbs have been sniped at and no one has gone in there to back them up and protect them.

I reckon that umpire that gave that free kick against White for pulling Lynch away from Buckley will get a good talking to... after all, I reckon that White did it to protect Lynch... because DylBucks wouldnt back down and he would have launched into him if pushed too far.
For the best part of the last 2 seasons, we have been without our number 1 ruck in Kreuzer, he makes our team that much better. Firstly his presence out on the ground has been missed severely, his second and third efforts are second to none, he also plays like an extra midfielder. The fact is he is an important player and adds that different dimension to the side. He will have trade currency but he will go no where. Warnock has run out of time and will not be at Carlton next year, he was an expensive VFL player and will free up cap space. I believe this to be his last year contracted so we will delist him as I am not sure we will be able to get anything for him. I am happy to be corrected if I am wrong. With youngsters such as Cripps, Buckley, Docherty, Menzel, Graham and now Holman all have shown they are more than capable of coming in and playing there roles. All of a sudden there is some light at the end of the tunnel and the culture seems to have changed with the players not allowing other teams to bully or cheap shot our players, as team mates are coming in and sticking up for one another, letting other sides know we won't allow those acts to go without reprisal. With a team effort and spreading the load, even the kids playing there roles well, guys like Murphy, Gibbs and co are now relishing the opportunity to play there natural game as they are no longer restricted by heavy tags or having to play different roles which was making then lose confidence and little to no impact on the game, now that we have a much better team balance and structure. The forwards are even getting more supply and our attacks from half back are now impacting the score board. So many positives out of the last 4 weeks, but still a lot of work to be done. Hopefully over the coming weeks if the effort and confidence remain we will trouble sides and chalk up a few more wins.

With youngsters such as Cripps, Buckley, Docherty, Menzel, Graham and now Holman all have shown they are more than capable of coming in and playing there roles.

Don't forget Byrne, Sheehan and Boekhorst.................with Jaksch and Johnson thereabouts also.

BTW....Have we a game next week? This game is done and it's about next week now.

We desperately need an enforcer. Cripps, Buckley and Murphy are getting the tish kicked out of them and we have no one who can or will come in and stand up for them. White is ok, but Tuohy once upon a time took no crap but he seems to become a pacifist. Bell needs to stop trying to be arbitrator and get in there and start making his presence known as does the man mountain Levi. We are coming against Richmond, Hawthorn and the drug cheats, and they will smash first then apologise for it after the game. Next three weeks will give us a true indication of how much work we have in front of us.

Where's the thread for next week?
Don't we play the Bulldogs?
Slack or what ...

Mods..........It's really silly having to wait for someone to put their preview in, before we can discuss the next game.

Should just be a trigger system where when one game ends, another begins.

One player that has definitely surprised me is Everitt. I wasn't overly excited when we recruited him, when I saw him play with the Doggies and Sydney he seemed underwhelming. But maybe its a case of third time lucky with us. He's been a steady improver for us over the last 18 months. He kicked three goals this week and three last week and in a team that doesn't have much of a forward line that's invaluable.

We need players that can hit the scoreboard, if he can bob up with a couple each week it takes some of the pressure off the other forwards and helps spread the load. For me the jury is still out on Casboult, Triple M footy discussed him a fair bit before the Port Adelaide match and Garry Lyon made the point that sometimes with players like him you can die wondering whether or not he'll make it. Clearly he's a great mark and has some presence about him in the forward line which someone like Jones lacks. But whether or not he can turn it into goals consistently remains to be seen for me. I hope he does make it, he has a lot going for him.

I think John Barker's game plan is a bit more like Ratten's which I think suits our players better. Team's coached by MM are renowned for kicking the ball more, but I don't think that necessarily has suited us. Certainly a player like Tom Bell seems to be really thriving under Barker because he loves to run and flipping the ball around a bit more suits that. Looking forward to next week and I'm somewhat optimistic we can give the Doggies a good shake.

Everitt was a best 22 player in a great Sydney team. I think he is just another case of Vics underestimating interstate footballers. Is in our top 5-10 players this season.

Autopsy Rd 13 Carlton v Gold Coast Post Match Discussion