Preview Rd 17 Geelong V St Kilda Sat July 13 @ GMHBA 730 pm

I'm a bit worried that Geelong may be worried about sav.
Those moves on Saturday were an act of desperation.

Danger was pretty much bog at 1/2 time playing as a mid. And they then put him forward for 23 minutes straight!
They put Gazza in the middle and he ran around headless.
They let Blicavs ruck while kolo was off and they moved Taylor forward. Our backline then self combusted.

It completely screwed our setup and it wasn't even needed.
My 'guess' is that they were looking at options in the event sav doesn't come up.

I can't think of any other excuse for what they did.

We could have stayed with the same first half setup sans kolo and we would have won.

Don't want to put words in anyone's mouth, but I reckon those who watch the VFL closely would suggest his form has been too scratchy to warrant selection.
i know its hard to use me as a VFL resource.... but the few ive seen recently his offensive stuff is good.. but too much walking the other way for mine. And Fog and Atkins both bring the defensive side.... id be worried about the opposition time in possession too much when the team itself ids having pressure issues defensively.

Simpson has been more consistent at VFL level defensively IMO the last month Ive watched - but I get the attraction to Narkle's highlight reel.

GO Catters

Danger was pretty much bog at 1/2 time playing as a mid. And they then put him forward for 23 minutes straight!
They let Blicavs ruck while kolo was off and they moved Taylor forward. Our backline then self combusted.

My 'guess' is that they were looking at options in the event sav doesn't come up.

We could have stayed with the same first half setup sans kolo and we would have won.
It all went south after Kolo came off. Panic? Trying something new?
Scott didn't look panicked.
The sooner we get back to earlier structures the better.
Of course, Harry, Hawk, Rohan missing sitters at vital moments did NOT help.

Just no.
Harry is a backman, you bring in Buzza or similar to play CHF.
I'm sick and tired of seeing the MC turn performing defenders into average forwards who then struggle to recapture that form when they inevitably go back.
We look at sea defensively lately, no doubt throwing the defenders all over the ground has something to do with it.

Have to agree, Taylor and Henry are not forwards, time to stop stuffing around, get back to the structure that has us top of the ladder, which means one defender goes (Kolodjashnij will probably make that decision easier this week) and keep both HT and JH in defence where they belong.

Keep it simple for mine, in Ratatouille and Parfitt for Kolo and Fogarty.

That's the key right there, back to our earlier structures and systems.

After the first 12min, we should have been 4 goals up. The Dogs had either not followed instructions, as our forward line was pretty open, or they had the wrong set-up. Either way, they tightened right up - our scoring dried up and I feel we tried multiple options to turn this around.

I thought we were in trouble as soon as I saw GAJ in for the centre bounce. He was getting closely marked and if anything, I may have tried him in the goal square, or at least deeper in the forward line for a while, as opposed to rotating a few of the others there.

Just no.
I'm sick and tired of seeing the MC turn performing defenders into average forwards who then struggle to recapture that form when they inevitably go back.
We look at sea defensively lately, no doubt throwing the defenders all over the ground has something to do with it.

If Sav doesn't come up then definitely Buzza for mine - we need a second tall forward to compete in the air and either clunk it or create a spillage for our smalls - that was sadly missing last week.
Saints rucks aren't world beaters so Buzza should be able to compete effectively.
Blitz is needed down back this week - Saints have a few good tall forwards who may cause problems if we can't match them in the air - Kolo will be a big out if he doesn't come up :(

So you think Kolo will beat the current AFL Coaches Association Award leader and Brownlow favourite?

Brave call. I'll dip my lid to you if you're right.
Could be like 2009 - Ablett won the Brownlow, AFLCA, AFLPA

Enright then tied with him for joint Carji winners

I'd easily have Kolo top 5, if not top 3 of the Carji at the moment - need to remember that league awards & club awards are voted upon differently. The clubs b&f really does reward consistency which is why Kolo will be right up the up

Yes, all true. It's possible. I think Kelly has been consistent also. Just a few quiet games.

I consider Enright a class above Kolo, but anything can happen.

Consistency is extremely important in the Carji as is the job or role the player performs.

A defender like Kolo who has been consistent but has also been miserly in terms of goals kicked on him would deservedly be rated very highly.
We all love the mid who gets 25 or so and kicks a couple but it's a value judgement if that's a better effort than a defender who keeps the opposition gun to a donut in the score column and picks up 12 touches along the way.
That's why I love footy - our Yr12 team had a fantastic finals win a few years ago and our FB kept the competitions leading goalkicker to 3 touches and zero score despite having the ball delivered to him constantly. No doubt he was the difference on the day despite him getting only a handful of touches himself. :thumbsu:

So you think Kolo will beat the current AFL Coaches Association Award leader and Brownlow favourite?

Brave call. I'll dip my lid to you if you're right.
I do if he continues his current consistent form.
He would get B & F votes in just about every game- TK is a bit hot and cold, clearly more hot than cold, but, let's see. Danger will go close. They're my 123.

might come down to knowing TK's intentions for 2020...

Consistency is extremely important in the Carji as is the job or role the player performs.

A defender like Kolo who has been consistent but has also been miserly in terms of goals kicked on him would deservedly be rated very highly.
We all love the mid who gets 25 or so and kicks a couple but it's a value judgement if that's a better effort than a defender who keeps the opposition gun to a donut in the score column and picks up 12 touches along the way.
That's why I love footy - our Yr12 team had a fantastic finals win a few years ago and our FB kept the competitions leading goalkicker to 3 touches and zero score despite having the ball delivered to him constantly. No doubt he was the difference on the day despite him getting only a handful of touches himself. :thumbsu:

I don't disagree, but Selwood and Dangerfield have won five of the last nine. We will see.

I do if he continues his current consistent form.
He would get B & F votes in just about every game- TK is a bit hot and cold, clearly more hot than cold, but, let's see. Danger will go close. They're my 123.

might come down to knowing TK's intentions for 2020...

Kelly and Dangerfield tied for second last year, 0.5 of a vote behind Blitz. To me, Kelly has been better this year than last.

Kolo has improved hugely and deserves to poll very well.

But perhaps it is time that Scott did look panicked, was in fact panicked, did relay that to the team to ginger them up.

i know its hard to use me as a VFL resource.... but the few ive seen recently his offensive stuff is good.. but too much walking the other way for mine. And Fog and Atkins both bring the defensive side.... id be worried about the opposition time in possession too much when the team itself ids having pressure issues defensively.

Simpson has been more consistent at VFL level defensively IMO the last month Ive watched - but I get the attraction to Narkle's highlight reel.

GO Catters
Yep watching Simpson the last month I think he should be reward with a game

But perhaps it is time that Scott did look panicked, was in fact panicked, did relay that to the team to ginger them up.
He does that when required; vision of his blast at quarter time a few weeks ago- some of the players did not know what hit them.

Just no.
Taylor is a better forward than Buzza

Puff pieces in Parsons. I reckon he’ll be in in

In: Parsons, Sav, Parfitt
Out: Kolo, Fog, Atkins (managed),

Heh. Heaps didn’t have Kolo in their Round 1 team.
Some are slow to appreciate quality.
Others like you and me - why waste time!! Have appreciated his versatility and strength from early on.
The 2 contract extension signatures I was desperate for were Kolo and Bews.