Autopsy Rd 6, 2014 - Brisbane Lions v St Kilda

Can a win feel like a loss?

I don't think I've ever felt so drained after a win. Apart from Brown and Aish there wasn't much to get excited about in that second half.

Might post more later.

What a fantastic way to start the weekend. Fingers crossed that Aish gets the rising star nomination this week. Thought West was great....reminded me a couple of times of James Manson. Loving Lewis Taylor. Ahh football is a beautiful thing this week! Go Lions!

Good effort all round, patfull was great tonight, makes all the difference.

Senior guys were generally great, aish was all class. Rewound leppas reaction 15 times, a lot of pain ahead, but I think he has a clear plan for us and I hope he sticks to his guns.

Raines was great.

Saints got 5-6 soft frees in the first 8 minutes of the last 1/4.. We got our 3-4 back toward the end though, still not sure what all the boo'ing was about.

Brown is playing and moving the best he has since his first head knock in 2011. If he continues in this form I wouldn't mind him playing another year, one particular thing I would highlight to mark my point about him moving better is that he had a career high tackle count this year (5 tackles) which shows he can still pressure the opposition on the defense and he certainly was doing that tonight.

Robertson plays at an intensity level which probably would be best served having this year in the 2s, being fresher to get in the gym etc. But, he is playing ones, he is doing a good job, but he has an undersized body for the role he plays and I would think he will probably be sore until Wednesday. Robertson has a bit of the swans Josh Kennedy about him, remember it took 5 seasons for him to become a regular senior player, it also took Jobe Watson close to 4 seasons before he became a regular. Robertson is a good talent. He is an upgrade on Lester, even though Lester is a good player to have.
He may have an undersized body but he clearly has great core strength which allows him to hold his own and not get pushed off the ball.

Robertson plays at an intensity level which probably would be best served having this year in the 2s, being fresher to get in the gym etc. But, he is playing ones, he is doing a good job, but he has an undersized body for the role he plays and I would think he will probably be sore until Wednesday. Robertson has a bit of the swans Josh Kennedy about him, remember it took 5 seasons for him to become a regular senior player, it also took Jobe Watson close to 4 seasons before he became a regular. Robertson is a good talent. He is an upgrade on Lester, even though Lester is a good player to have.

I said the exact same thing to my friend RE the Kennedy comparison. I can't wait for Mcstay to debut. Could we 5/5 ??

Can a win feel like a loss?

I don't think I've ever felt so drained after a win. Apart from Brown and Aish there wasn't much to get excited about in that second half.

Might post more later.[/quma

Geez Tom.just enjoy it.
A win is a win mate.:D

Good win, we toughed it out. However, Leppa must make a point that he won't stand for mediocrity by omitting McGuane and Polkinghorne for next week, they just weren't up to it. Lisle, Paine and Close are lining up for McGuane's position.

Thought my TV was in danger when Ray picked up the ball and headed goalward. :)

The second half wasn't pretty, but I'm absolutely rapt the boys got some reward for effort! Really proud of how they battled it out when they were clearly fading. First half was good and I thought our ball movement looked really good at times. But our defensive pressure was excellent and our team defense both on and around Riewoldt was great.

How good was it to still be really engaged in the contest late in the game? I'd missed that.

Well done boys! Go Lions!! :thumbsu:

He is just a more mature body who can throw his weight around and i would keep in the side. The only thing i query is his kicking, i would prefer he didn't go that option as he had a few clangers tonight by foot.
He still went at 75% DE with 50/50 disposal, i will take that every day

Just great to get on the board!!! Darcy Gardiner is the bloke I like the most from our new draftees, he is going to be an absolute jet. Aish was outstanding, still trying to equate him to another footballer, just not sure who yet. Robertson is just tough as nails, he is a winner of the footy, I reckon we have an upgraded Colin Sylvia at his best in him. Tom Cutler has a lot of Marty Mattner about him. Let's hope we have a premiership rebounding defender in him one day!!!

Loved Gardiners game just really hard at it, and seemed to play on talls and mids with real composure, with robbo and darcy G we have 2 real tough at it new players.
Jed his best game of the year, started really well, great to see Pattfull and Jed both stand up

Any news on McGuane saw him with ice on knee when subbed out
Like most others Loved aishs game, really pleasantly surprised by his contested ball work, put his head over the ball and won some tough one on ones

Autopsy Rd 6, 2014 - Brisbane Lions v St Kilda