Autopsy Rd 7 vs North. Terrible loss, poor skills, never in it.

Who played well in Round 7?

I said when Gibbs was traded that I would’ve preferred to keep him over Murphy.
Nothing I’ve seen in the last 18 months has changed my mind.
In fact I now feel resentment towards Murphy which isn’t good because he has put in the hard yards over his career in a **** side.
However this doesn’t hide the fact that currently he is not putting in, and I feel he is a detrimental influence on our young side.
Today we were without our 2 spiritual leaders in Kruez and Simmo.
Today he needed to stand up and show some form of leadership. He did not
Whilst Plow was laughing ( I don’t know what at) Murphy was standing in the huddle with a blank look on his face. No emotion, no getting round to the younger players, trying to get them up.
His GPS numbers probably look fantastic, but they don’t fool me.
He is the master of the 40 mt chase, always 2 steps behind his opponent but not close to put any real pressure on.
He is the master of slipping over, just when he needs to lay a tackle.
He is the master of the short kick or handball to put a teammate under pressure whilst reliving himself of said pressure.
I genuinely feel he is sooking it up due to losing the Captaincy.
I genuinely feel he is past it.
And I genuinely feel the MC will do nothing about it.

Murphy, Gibbs and Kruezer should have been canned and traded the moment this rebuild was put in place. Said it at the time and still believe it now.

Every time a side struggles it's the coach. Hardwick, Buckley, Richardson, Simpson, Cameron, Hinkley have all been heavily criticised but have got through.

I just don't get how people are certain it's the coach? These days it's a group of people that run the football side. Russell is still building them up and getting them fit

I just can't blame the coach until he has the players to compete and so far this year the side has been very good (except today). Half time last week we were all on board

The rebuild doesn't change week to week and we still have a long way to go
Exactly right, still the same team, same club as we were last week, only thing that has changed is other people’s perceptions.

Didn't get to the game.....who wasn't interested?
Maybe I should have said 100% interested
SPS. Murph. Charlie. Harry may have simply been beaten but did nothing about - show some desperation/frustration even. Others like Cunningham (1st half) and Dow didn't seem up to it today. Others were as bad but the above have talent we cannot afford to go missing with such big outs

You've just posted my definition of mongrel.

Not the need to win, or the need to dominate, but a ceaseless relentless burning all consuming hatred that emerges just as you start to lose. It's visceral, and it's completely reactionary, but it makes smalls strong and powerful and focused.
This is a good opportunity, then, to address an issue that has been on my mind me for a while. Is it appropriate to have a team moto that dictates that we don't get to low when we loose? Over time, does it gradually temper the inner hatred that some players have when they start to loose contests?

the Williamson hype on this board was total over kill for this game ...ps im a fan of the lad but FMD he was coming from a long way back
Anyone who saw last weeks 2nd’s game knows he’s not ready. But it’s not the only brain dead decision our MC has made this year.
1- Kennedy know show
2- Setterfield today
3- O’Brien 9.6 possessions average for 5 games but still a better option than Setterfield or Kennedy
4- Polson , can’t be bothered checking his output, also in b4 kennedy

Murphy should be called out for poor performance, in a classy manner that reflects the blows he's worn for us. He has earnt that, over the course of his career, by always choosing us. He has remained at Carlton, despite the lure of success or money elsewhere, and unlike previous eras loyalty actually means something these days. You can try to say "He was well paid for his services", but so's everyone else who plays AFL, and they all move. Geelong would've killed for a player of his quality on the outside; GWS in their early days. St Kilda.

He has been smashed around. He has been forced to play as an inside midfielder, despite being completely unsuited to it in a modern context. He has been crippled, hobbled as a player, because of the way prior coaching regimes have used him. And then he gets attacked every match, for being unable to turn a game we lost by 10 goals.

History will record that Marc Murphy was a club captain and a good loyal player for the Carlton football club, and that alone should afford him more respect than he is shown.
For all of that Footy is about the game you just played sentiment aside. And as good as he was for years those days are over. If it was a new player making the same mistakes you might see room for improvement that unfortunately is not applied to Marc based on what has been seen for too long.

Murphy should be called out for poor performance, in a classy manner that reflects the blows he's worn for us. He has earnt that, over the course of his career, by always choosing us. He has remained at Carlton, despite the lure of success or money elsewhere, and unlike previous eras loyalty actually means something these days. You can try to say "He was well paid for his services", but so's everyone else who plays AFL, and they all move. Geelong would've killed for a player of his quality on the outside; GWS in their early days. St Kilda.

He has been smashed around. He has been forced to play as an inside midfielder, despite being completely unsuited to it in a modern context. He has been crippled, hobbled as a player, because of the way prior coaching regimes have used him. And then he gets attacked every match, for being unable to turn a game we lost by 10 goals.

History will record that Marc Murphy was a club captain and a good loyal player for the Carlton football club, and that alone should afford him more respect than he is shown.

I’m talking about Murphy currently, yes has been a servant etc etc and has played good footy for us in the past . But at the moment he’s not putting in and that’s not good enough as the guy that went behind him in his draft and is a Collingwood person more likely than not is putting In more than him and he’s a past captain of the club.
We can play sharades or we call it as we see it, he’s picking and choosing when he can be bothered. Not good enough for a leader.

Cripps should be hard tagged every game for the rest of the year and Harry should get the best defender.

Not sure if our coaches have figured out what to do if that occurs.

The players once again look lost. Let me guess the coaches tweaked the game plan again

The evidence is mounting about Bolton's game day coaching ability.

Very lucky Norf took their foot off our throat.

Next two games will tell the tale.

Well, duh. It's why we rebuilt in the first place, the players we got in and the leaders we had weren't up to it.

If anything, that it's Walsh, Weitering and Cripps is the heartening thing.
I love Walsh but he had 5 turnovers today and just 15 effective disposals- if his name was Murphy, Plowman or Charlie Curnow he would be getting hammered. Perception is a funny thing.

My bad. I didn't see Weiters approach Liam and if there were any others, good on them, its the least he deserved. Did you see the team as a whole, as they should have, approach Liam to see how he was? Just didn't see it, like I've seen other teams console team mates when they are hurt. Excuse me if I got it wrong but it's what I saw and I didn't like it. Maybe it was too harsh to describe it as lack of care. In keeping with the game maybe it was down to not being switched on enough to do the right thing at the right time.

You didn't see much at all but it hasn't stopped you from gobbing off at our players. Shame on you and all your dumb mates.

For the record, first to go to Liam was Plowman (immediately after it happened), which means he saw the damage to Liam (probably eye) the TV cameras weren't showing us. Plowman was followed by Ed, Willo, SOS. There may have been others but the cameras were focusing elsewhere. Once the trainers, medical staff arrived, they probably kept everyone away. They had a towel covering the injury the cameras didn't show (must have been pretty ghastly).

So you're disappointed we missed the big feel-good media moment where all our team promote our brand by copying the Richmond marketing ploy and approaching the unconscious Liam en masse. And what did you expect then? Shake him awake him and ask him how his neck was? No, we respected Liam's potentially serious situation by keeping our distance and only sending our captain over to check things and then Weiters once Liam was being stretchered off. But respecting Liam doesn't really matter to you. It's the media moment you crave.

I think that if you're expecting something new from Murphy, Casboult, Ed you're in for a rude shock. They're known quantities by now; if they were pillars of a top 4 team, leaders of men and able to pull us from the mire, they'd have done it already.

What I am expecting is for us to be competitive, and we were not today. I find it reassuring that it's not the older players trying to reassert control, that it's the younger brigade of leaders stepping up to try and build, to get things working, even as I found our efforts today not good enough. It's this sort of responsibility from a young age that will make of us a resilient side later on.
I agree, maybe I am impatient but I want to see those younger players given the chance sooner than later and take"senior" places and simply I don't see the leadership or game play from the experienced players that warrants their selection in the first place.

This is a good opportunity, then, to address an issue that has been on my mind me for a while. Is it appropriate to have a team moto that dictates that we don't get to low when we loose? Over time, does it gradually temper the inner hatred that some players have when they start to loose contests?
I think it's impossible to institute that kind of a mindset when you're losing. You simply cannot do it, you can't be cutthroat enough, cannot maintain that kind of rage for long enough. You'd lose the message, the players would drop their heads and/or the coaching would lose them. They'd want to go somewhere else.

To my mind, it's a transition. It wasn't present at Hawthorn 2005-2007, those years were about gallivanting, Errol Flynn-esque footy, stealing games and showing off, but it was manifest completely in 08. They were all hard that year, despite their youth. Simpson's men had that look about them last year. Liam Picken had it, Dale Morris had it; the doggies had it in 2016. It's nearly impossible to maintain the whole time. You need to pivot the list, just before they're truly aware of how strong they are, how good they can be. You need to, over the course of 6 months, get in the whole group's head, and you need to get them thinking and contemplating how they feel about loss, and if they can take it anymore. They need to be sick of it, sick enough to be honest.

I think Bolton's got that kind of thing in him; he's got a grip over that group like mad. He's had the culture moving in the direction he wanted since he walked in the door. He'd know from the Hawthorn system how critical it is to have the right attitude for success. What remains to be seen is how swiftly we can move from results like today into brutalising the sides that try to bully us the way North did today.

Which player in that age bracket would you still have on our list?

It is our recruitment from the pre-SOS era that is responsible for the gap and there is a good reason none of them are still with us. In about 3-4 years that will be our largest age group.

The current strategy is okay, it is paying the price for the previous efforts.

Is it really?

SOS did well with the year1 draft and the early picks in later drafts. Yes.
But you have question the trading strategy in particular. Eg.Lang? Marchy? Kennedy? Lobbe?

An admitted strategy to get multiple players for 1 pick, high risk high reward with injury prone players (hasn’t worked out)

Have we been building up the list to fill a gameplan and game style over past 4years? Then recruiting accordingly? Difficult to tell for me.

Regardless of all that, we have what we have. Attitude and effort is what I want to see. Saw very little of it today.

Not good enough. The club should be ropable with both players and coaching team

Richmond and Port?

Here’s one for you and him.

We’ve got a 6’15 behemoth, who is the best contested mark in the competition, can run, is mobile........did not leave the front 50, got one kick, did not take a mark, did not get a hit out.

Ya’ reckon he might have a go on the ball??

I’m talking about Murphy currently, yes has been a servant etc etc and has played good footy for us in the past . But at the moment he’s not putting in and that’s not good enough as the guy that went behind him in his draft and is a Collingwood person more likely than not is putting In more than him and he’s a past captain of the club.
We can play sharades or we call it as we see it, he’s picking and choosing when he can be bothered. Not good enough for a leader.
That's fair criticism.

You know what isn't? Calling him a fraud. Telling him to **** off, piss off. Calling him afraid. Calling him pissweak.

Plenty in here couldn't do what he's done, be where he's been. It's a betrayal of him (and of us) to disrespect someone who has done what he has for the jumper.

Autopsy Rd 7 vs North. Terrible loss, poor skills, never in it.