Play Nice Referendum - Indigenous Voice in Parliament - Part 2

Link to the proposed Referendum, from the Referendum Working Group:
(Edited 6 April 2023)

These are the words that will be put to the Australian people in the upcoming referendum as agreed by the Referendum Working Group (made up of representatives of First Nations communities from around Australia):

"A Proposed Law: to alter the Constitution to recognise the First Peoples of Australia by establishing an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice. Do you approve this proposed alteration?"

As well as that, it will be put to Australians that the constitution be amended to include a new chapter titled "Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples".

The details would be:

View attachment 1636890

The Prime Minister has committed to the government introducing legislation with this wording to parliament on 30 March 2023 and to establishing a joint parliamentary committee to consider it and receive submissions on the wording, providing ALL members of Parliament with the opportunity to consider and debate the full details of the proposal.

Parliament will then vote on the wording in June in the lead up to a National Referendum.

The ANU has issued a paper responding to common public concerns expressed in relation to the proposed Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice here:

Summary details of the key points from this paper may be found in Chief post here:
The Uluru Statement from the Heart:
Not specifically No. In any case it does not form part of the Referendum proposal.

View attachment 1769742
Seeing as things have gotten a bit toxic in here, let's try to return things to a more civil tone.

The following will result in warnings to begin with, and if said behaviour continues will be escalated:
  • referring to another poster as racist without direct provocation.
  • dismissing or deriding another poster's lived experience.
  • personal attacks or one line posts designed solely to insult or deride.

You might notice that the final rule is from the board rules. Thought we should probably remember that this is against the rules in case it's been forgotten.

Let's play nicely from here, people.

A poll in the last few days asked the question what are the 5 most important policy issues to people right now. Less than 15% placed the voice referendum in the top 5 issues. Total apathy and self interest. This is a train wreck about to happen I'm afraid
If so few people care does that give it a chance as it gets closer to the day? As in will people just make their minds up on the day? Or will people just vote no out of spite?

The indigenous groups I’m speaking to are voting “no”

Do you feel they are not informed or don’t care?

No, I feel you made them up. We have Liberal MPs taking photos with every Indigenous no voter they can find, I have a tough time believing that you're speaking to multiple "groups" who are voting no.

Well, this year is already down compared to 2019.

you reckon when interest rates are up at record speeds across most of the globe, that people aren't travelling to Australia because of racism?

seriously?

Covid / affordability due to cost of living.
It’s not down due to racism.

Stop talking s**t.

Plus flights costing 20% more (at least it is for business class which is what I always fly) at least having booked a bucket of them lately seems a portion more expensive. Not fussed but it would impact on some especially with long trips.

If so few people care does that give it a chance as it gets closer to the day? As in will people just make their minds up on the day? Or will people just vote no out of spite?
Not out of spite but out of apathy, although some will undoubtedly use it to send a message to the government.

No is the status quo option so doesn't need the same level of convincing as the change option.

Regardless what the polls say, there's no guarantee that No will get up.

Even if it gets up, it's not a win for conservatives, it's a massive loss.

This will hinder international relations and tourism in this country.

I don't see why people would want to visit Australia and support it's racism, it's white supremacists and punching down on its Indegenous Culture, when they're are plenty of countries that are closer and cheaper to travel to. This will hurt economically if the Voice doesn't get up.
It's a loss for the conservatives and more importantly our indigenous brothers and sisters but won't have any economic impact- apart from some celebrities who will moan about it for a few days in the international media, noone will care - has Xi suffered economically for far worse, had the US suffered from the BLM coverage?

Our regional neighbours may express disappointment but ultimately (just like our pollies) will have their decisions based on money.

On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Plus flights costing 20% more (at least it is for business class which is what I always fly) at least having booked a bucket of them lately seems a portion more expensive. Not fussed but it would impact on some especially with long trips.

You business class snob hey ;)

The costs are out of control.

If people can afford it, they are going to be coming to Australia still, regardless of the referendum result.

Might get 40% or so. Everyone will be just happy when it’s over least the footy finals will take up this week and next week.

You business class snob hey ;)

The costs are out of control.

If people can afford it, they are going to be coming to Australia still, regardless of the referendum result.

Unfortunately with my back I can’t not go business but I do budget around it. Have had back issues my whole life and not sleeping flat would cause huge issues.

I don't see why people would want to visit Australia and support it's racism, it's white supremacists and punching down on its Indegenous Culture, when they're are plenty of countries that are closer and cheaper to travel to. This will hurt economically if the Voice doesn't get up.
Are you a troll? Serious question. It’s as if you’re a left-wing talking meme spewing all the usual race-baiting rubbish that you only hear from the 1% extreme left. You must be looking for attention.

Or maybe (and this is the really concerning bit) maybe you aren’t trolling and you believe what you say. Maybe you actually do see the whole world through the lens of identity politics and race. If so I pity you. I really do.

Most of Australia don’t care about race and will vote accordingly. Most concerningly your weird world view seems unable to process that this is because most people just want people treated equally, but because of your obsession with race, your brain is unable to process how normal people think.

Well, this year is already down compared to 2019.

I don't think that's the reason though.
I don't think Australia is the greatest tourist destination at the best of times, people overseas get brochures with Uluru, the Barrier Reef, Wave rock, Penguins. Pity most attractions are further apart than Italy and the UK.

Add to that the high price of airline tickets since Covid.
You can probably graph a direct relationship between airline ticket price and number of tourists.

I don't think that's the reason though.
I don't think Australia is the greatest tourist destination at the best of times, people overseas get brochures with Uluru, the Barrier Reef, Wave rock, Penguins. Pity most attractions are further apart than Italy and the UK.

Add to that the high price of airline tickets since Covid.
You can probably graph a direct relationship between airline ticket price and number of tourists.

Dunno, we still get a shit load of tourists. Australia has a lot of cool stuff, the problem is it's so bloody far away from everywhere else.

The effort to get here is pretty big.

Look after yourself mate! Still great that you can travel though!

Been getting better but used to it now unfortunately I need to lie dow flat every 6 hours or so, it is what it is. Plenty have it worse it’s manageable

I don't see the polls being wrong or anything significant changing in the the next 3 weeks at this stage

It's been a solid trend downwards since the coalition officially backed the No vote

given the requirement for a double majority it's a real tough ask from here

I'd start preparing yourself for No being the result

Been getting better but used to it now unfortunately I need to lie dow flat every 6 hours or so, it is what it is. Plenty have it worse it’s manageable

I was going to hang shit on you for the business class mention, but fair enough then, flying would be an absolute campaigner with a bad back.

you reckon when interest rates are up at record speeds across most of the globe, that people aren't travelling to Australia because of racism?

seriously?

I didn't say that. I just said it was down this year.

The referendum hasn't concluded yet. My guess is, IF the vote doesn't get up, it will affect things AFTER that event.

I didn't say that. I just said it was down this year.

The referendum hasn't concluded yet. My guess is, IF the vote doesn't get up, it will affect things AFTER that event.
This is what you said:

“This will hinder international relations and tourism in this country.

I don't see why people would want to visit Australia and support it's racism, it's white supremacists and punching down on its Indegenous Culture, when they're are plenty of countries that are closer and cheaper to travel to. This will hurt economically if the Voice doesn't get up.”

Do you have a link to that? I've been paying LESS for flights every year.

I also found this with a quick Google.

While prices for pretty much everything keep rising, there’s one major travel cost that’s not just lower than what it was this time last year, but lower than pre-pandemic times: airfare.

That’s a huge reprieve for air travelers who got hit by record-high airfares last summer. This past month, airfares were not just far lower than last year (down 13% versus August 2022), but they’re even 6% lower than what they were in August 2019 before the pandemic.

That’s according to the latest set of Consumer Price Index data released in September 2023 from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, which is based on August 2023 prices.

Not out of spite but out of apathy, although some will undoubtedly use it to send a message to the government.

No is the status quo option so doesn't need the same level of convincing as the change option.

And you know all about that? Personal experience?

What a message to send to the government. Let's show them and at the same time tell the most disadvantaged group in Australia that we just don't really want things to change.

And it's not about racism. It's pure selfishness. 'Why should we care about others when I'm doing it tough'

It's a loss for the conservatives and more importantly our indigenous brothers and sisters but won't have any economic impact- apart from some celebrities who will moan about it for a few days in the international media, noone will care - has Xi suffered economically for far worse, had the US suffered from the BLM coverage?

Our regional neighbours may express disappointment but ultimately (just like our pollies) will have their decisions based on money.

On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app

While China didn't grow economically as much as expected, and the US also didn't do as well.

But firstly, these are the two biggest economies in the world, even a meteor hitting might barely make a dent to them.

Also, what does BLM got to do with a referendum? There were protests, I think most people thought what happened to Floyd was wrong. The officer received a 22 year prison sentence, and Trump who was critical of BLM was voted out of office. Are you disputing any of these things?