Autopsy Review: St KIlda v Melbourne

Its obvious why he is playing and lonie isnt. Want to condense it look at the play where the high ball got kicked to gresh deep inside 50 where he had to punch above his weight. Gresh was able to compete, force the ground ball and dish it off for a goal

If that was lonie the ball would have been exiting our 50

Gresh is coming along nicely. Still has some moments by foot but its offset by everything else he does

I cant see lonie coming back in whilst gresh is playing that role
Yep. No offence to Lonie but Gresham decision making is twice as good. Gresh has a very high footy IQ.
I suspect Lonie will need to knock Minch out of the side to get a game. Gresh wont be going anywhere.

Hang on a second. Geary was awesome. Played a captain's game. But Gilbert is not in the same category as Geary. Almost an insult to Geary.
Think he´s on a wind up mate. I actually think Gilbert´s best is pretty damn good. He still has those evasive skills and can play
the intercept role ok. There´s alot of Gilbert haters on here but I think he did very well today. Our mobile defense obliterated Melbourne
today in the air and when the ball hit the deck. Selection choices worked today.

Special mention to Jack Newnes

That spoil in the last on Gawn on the Melbourne forward flank :eek:

Literally giving away a foot of height & still managed a spoil & Saints possession
How good was that

Well I reckon that was a bloody good win and the final score flattered Melbourne!

People complained that we didn't smash the drug cheats and it wasn't a good win because they are crap.

Well this week, we smashed a team that is equal to us. Bad kicking aside, we had them from quarter time.

Yes, we smashed them. Had we kicked straight it would have been ugly for them.

What makes me most happy is tyhe character to keep pushing.

I like Acres, he is smooth like Nicky Dal and will only get better. Gresh is as exciting a first year player that I have seen at our club in a long time.

Wright is on borrowed time.

We are still 1 or 2 players with leg speed short IMO, but next year looks good with Jak and Paddy running around. And let's not forget that J-web is still to return.

Not the most polished performance, but you cannot fault the effort.

Great win!

Special mention to Jack Newnes

That spoil in the last on Gawn on the Melbourne forward flank :eek:

Literally giving away a foot of height & still managed a spoil & Saints possession
Yeah what was going on with that match up . Saw him a few times have to go one out with Gawn.
Newnes is a gun. Great utilty player. Either end of the ground or in the middle. Does his job very well.

16 touches, 10 marks, 2 tackles and 4.2 goals.

Such a damn shame he's not eligible for the Rising Star...

View attachment 266998

Hard to believe he's 'only' 188cm.
My boy... Told everyone he was good & nobody wanted to listen cos it was 'only NEAFL' form....

Yep. No offence to Lonie but Gresham decision making is twice as good. Gresh has a very high footy IQ.
I suspect Lonie will need to knock Minch out of the side to get a game. Gresh wont be going anywhere.
Agree. What minch offers that lonie doesnt is that minch can compete in a 50/50 contest and atleast compete in the air. Hes not perfect but he atleast puts in a contest

My favourite player of the day was Hickey. Would be nice to see him get some praise in the media - week in, week out, he puts in at the very least solid performances, and mostly better than that.

Membrey was clearly also immense, as was Geary.

Someone who I thought was pretty good today - and definitely better than his last month - was Bruce. Hasn't got alot of mention in this thread, but kicked two good ones, especially the one in the last. Marking was a lot better, and his work rate to get some of the marks he took around the ground was great.

Almost glad we didn´t see Carlisle this year. Will be slotting into this team nicely as the gun recruit next year.
Given our improvement this year he could be the difference between making the finals or not. I like Richo´s
horses for courses tactics with our defence. Imagine sneaky Jackey sneaking forward at times to hurt teams like the Dees & Doggies.

The Dees really took it up to us today, which I think made the 5 goal win even better. Winners right across the board for us and there's nobody I'd say that was deserving of being dropped. I'd love Richo to back the boys in and go in unchanged.

Billings and Sincs will be better for the run. Billings especially looked like breaking the game open early. DMac finally took the game on today and did some tough defensive things, I'd stick with him. Minch was class with what little he had of it and added a lot of pressure.

Loved seeing Hogan getting beaten repeatedly and cracking the shits. I thought we did well to shut him down. As talented as he is, he is such a flog and I hope he gets weeks for elbowing Gears. Speaking of Gears, what a game! I loved Membrey's presence, he really knows how to use his body. Gresh's last quarter was huge. Dunstan was terrific and big Hickey was everywhere, really took it up to Gawn. I love how he have some players that seem to step up when the game is on the line like Jack Steven, Newnesy and Mav.

Great win Sainters!

How good was Mav Weller and Membrey! Great additions to the forward line (and we got them both for free!)

Gresh and Acres had some really good moment too. Can't wait to have Gresh in the midfield.

Both Acres and DMac are going to take time but both have shown potential. Acres still had a few bad moments but he has awesome strength in the core.

16 touches, 10 marks, 2 tackles and 4.2 goals.

Such a damn shame he's not eligible for the Rising Star...

View attachment 266998

Hard to believe he's 'only' 188cm.

He reads the flight of the ball so so well. He takes a number of contested marks for that very reason....if Paddy can get on the park and progress we will have a seriously good fwd line combined with the many small fwd/mids who can rotate thru

How good was Mav Weller and Membrey! Great additions to the forward line (and we got them both for free!)

Gresh and Acres had some really good moment too. Can't wait to have Gresh in the midfield.

Both Acres and DMac are going to take time but both have shown potential. Acres still had a few bad moments but he has awesome strength in the core.
The great sides have a knack of finding these diamonds in the rough and turning them into them into pieces of the puzzle.

worth mentioning the dees came off the back of one of the worst trips in footy, would explain why they were a bit sluggish as the game went on

having said that i felt apart from the 1st we easily accounted for them and would do regardless of their trip

they've loaded up on too many inside types for mine

Autopsy Review: St KIlda v Melbourne