Revising the 2006 draft, where do people place Gibbs in terms of potential?

If i was to revise the draft i'd have him at 2 behind Selwood. There are about 6 or 7 others that would be pushing him for 2 IMO.

I truly think Gibbs is rather harshly maligned. I think he is good and will get much better.

Hansen, Urquhart, Thomas ;)

Matt Campbell in the rookie draft doesn't go too badly either.

Yeah, tidy effort.

I would take Hansen, Gumbleton, Selwood, Boak and Luenberger over Gibbs without hesitating for an instant.

Yeah, tidy effort.

I would take Hansen, Gumbleton, Selwood, Boak and Luenberger over Gibbs without hesitating for an instant.

You'll be making a mistake then. I watched Gibbs live on the weekend and I even I was surprised just how good he is right now. The poise and footy nouse he has is unbelievable in someone so young. I can say without doubt that he'll ranked among the best players in the comp in a few years barring injury.

Absolutely way too early to be judging players from that draft.

As for Gibbs I think he will be a great player, but don't put me for a second that he has more 'potential' than any number of player taken particularly in the top 10. I don;t see how he'll ever clearly be better, or even better than the likes of Selwood or Boak

You'll be making a mistake then. I watched Gibbs live on the weekend and I even I was surprised just how good he is right now. The poise and footy nouse he has is unbelievable in someone so young. I can say without doubt that he'll ranked among the best players in the comp in a few years barring injury.

We've been told to keep a lid on it, so I think we will.

Do yourself a favour though, and go and watch Hansen live one game, and follow his movements.

You'll be blown away by how much ground he covers. It's not like he's lacking a footy brain either.

All that is missing is 6 or 7 kilos. When that inevitably happens... :eek:

We've been told to keep a lid on it, so I think we will.

Do yourself a favour though, and go and watch Hansen live one game, and follow his movements.

You'll be blown away by how much ground he covers. It's not like he's lacking a footy brain either.

All that is missing is 6 or 7 kilos. When that inevitably happens... :eek:

I know how good Hansen is, bit surprised he hasn't shown it yet in the AFL.

Only played his first game for the season, has had a few injuries along the way.

I feel he is one player that will rise to AFL level much better and won't really do much at VFL level.

The amount of ground he covered was absolutely unbelievable. Held some good contested marks too.

I think they are going to leave him to do what he does naturally (despite a lot of calls for him to be played at CHF) and leave him as a backman, with an eye to running forward at every opportunity.

As for Gibbs I think he will be a great player, but don't put me for a second that he has more 'potential' than any number of player taken particularly in the top 10. I don;t see how he'll ever clearly be better, or even better than the likes of Selwood or Boak
Gibbs has more potential and talent than Ben Reid and Nathan Brown who were taken in the top ten.

Heaps more.

Gibbs has done more than Boak and will be a better player given his age.
Hansen, Urquhart, Thomas ;)

Matt Campbell in the rookie draft doesn't go too badly either.
They're also behind Gibbs in terms of potential.

Hampson, Jamison, Gibbs, Grigg, Anderson and Austin will 2006 a very good draft for the Blues.

It will be a great draft if Benjamin and Jacobs develop.

Selwood isn't that good, throw him in a Melbourne side and he would be just another draft pick right now its the side around him that is making him look good.

Take West Coast for example, the players that look dashing and great when judd and cousins were around now look like rabble because they have gone from replacement midfielders the to the starting midfielders who get tagged, even Kerr doesn't look as good as he did with the other 2 guys there.

Take Bartel and Ablett out of Geelong's side and Selwood will do the same just as murphy did last year without the likes of judd and stevens there and lets not forget Gibbs is only 2 months older then Kreuzer who we took at #1 this year having only turned 19 in march and already with 35 games under the belt he really shouldn't be showing much more then this years draft rather then last years.

*edit* Just so no Geelong supporters jump down my throat, I am not saying selwood is bad just that he is made to look better by the quality of the side around him.

They're also behind Gibbs in terms of potential.

Sorry mate, but if we are talking potential there are a few players that will emerge from the 06 draft that have more than Gibbs.

IMO (whether it be right or wrong), Carlton were suckered in by the whole Adelaide thing, and Gibbs was probably the safest bet.

Don't get me wrong, I think Gibbs will be an out and out champion, but if we are talking about potential, then there are players out there who "potentially" have more talent.

A bit like Hodge and Judd. Everyone knew what they were going to get with Hodge, same as Gibbs.

Oh and Urquhart is going to freak it.

Sorry mate, but if we are talking potential there are a few players that will emerge from the 06 draft that have more than Gibbs.

IMO (whether it be right or wrong), Carlton were suckered in by the whole Adelaide thing, and Gibbs was probably the safest bet.

Don't get me wrong, I think Gibbs will be an out and out champion, but if we are talking about potential, then there are players out there who "potentially" have more talent.

A bit like Hodge and Judd. Everyone knew what they were going to get with Hodge, same as Gibbs.

Oh and Urquhart is going to freak it.

So is Hampson:thumbsu:

and FWIW Austin is developing very nicely in the VFL and he is bottom aged the same as Gibbs. Potential CHB.

Jammo is establishing himself as quality backman, and Anderson and Grigg both are showing plenty atm.

So is Hampson:thumbsu:

and FWIW Austin is developing very nicely in the VFL and he is bottom aged the same as Gibbs. Potential CHB.

Jammo is establishing himself as quality backman, and Anderson and Grigg both are showing plenty atm.

I think this draft is going to surpass 01 the way it is looking, just the depth of it is looking amazing.

North picked up Hansen, Urquhart, Thomas, Ben Warren (who looks promising), as well as Campbell in the rookie draft and Leigh Adams (who was AA under18 RR, ahead of Gibbs), and Ben Ross (who is dominating VFL, can't force his way into the 1's atm). Just brilliant. Looks like North picked a good year to finish near the bottom.

I'm pretty hopeful that all those listed are potential starting 22 players within the next couple of years.

And for the record i heard very good things predraft about Austin.

Have seen Hampson, Grigg and Jamison live, and all of which I rate. :thumbsu:

Draft Selection: 47, Kyle Reimers from Peel, WA.

r12-gsp-3.jpg

I think this draft is going to surpass 01 the way it is looking, just the depth of it is looking amazing.

North picked up Hansen, Urquhart, Thomas, Ben Warren (who looks promising), as well as Campbell in the rookie draft and Leigh Adams (who was AA under18 RR, ahead of Gibbs), and Ben Ross (who is dominating VFL, can't force his way into the 1's atm). Just brilliant. Looks like North picked a good year to finish near the bottom.

I'm pretty hopeful that all those listed are potential starting 22 players within the next couple of years.

And for the record i heard very good things predraft about Austin.

Have seen Hampson, Grigg and Jamison live, and all of which I rate. :thumbsu:

Austin has only just started to hit some form in the VFL and has been in our best in the last 5 of 6 games. He has solidified himself as a CHB at that level and as a 19 year old looks to have a very bright future.

Great to chat to a good footy brain for a change. It's refreshing :thumbsu:

You'll be making a mistake then. I watched Gibbs live on the weekend and I even I was surprised just how good he is right now.

I watched alot of the game, and he was good. Neat, smart and polished young footballer. Not for a second am I suggesting he is no good.

The only bloke I listed that I might make a concession on is Boak (who I rate very highly). The rest are super talented talls or Joel Selwood, who isn't human. But I can understand Carlton are happy, as Gibbs sounds like a leader and well liked kid.

But on no planet would I swap him for Hansen. Not a chance in hell.

Selwood isn't that good, throw him in a Melbourne side and he would be just another draft pick right now its the side around him that is making him look good.

I don't know how anyone who has watched Joel play could so easily deride his ability and performance.

I don't care if you've got the best 21 players in the world beside you, it doesn't change whether you've got immense courage, whether you're tough, whether your skills are sublime and whether you have a brilliant football brain.

Joel Selwood has all those things, and regardless of whether he is playing in the best team or the worst, he'd still have those talents.

I don't know how anyone who has watched Joel play could so easily deride his ability and performance.

I don't care if you've got the best 21 players in the world beside you, it doesn't change whether you've got immense courage, whether you're tough, whether your skills are sublime and whether you have a brilliant football brain.

Joel Selwood has all those things, and regardless of whether he is playing in the best team or the worst, he'd still have those talents.

you're 100% right. people say selwood is lucky because he plays in a midfield with the likes of corey, ablett, bartel, ling, kelly etc etc. but i think selwood has been just as beneficial to all those players as they have been to him. let me tell you it's no coincidence that geelong's rise to dominance has come at the same time they drafted selwood. him and gibbs are different types of players but one way you can be sure that they will both be superstars is how smart they are, they are just born footballers.

i'd still rather gibbs over selwood though and my reasons are as follows. i think the importance of a good kick is getting ore and more important with every season and while selwood isn't a shocking kick he isn't in the same class as gibbs. i don't think there will be all that much improvement shown by selwood apart from a bigger fitness base and a bigger body. gibbs can play almost any position whereas selwood is probably only a rover. gibbs hasn't been unleashed to attack in the midfield as of yet and we're still trying to ease him into it, he wasn't as ready for afl as selwood was and that's why selwood ws such a good fit for geelong. both will be out and out superstars and imo the best 2 from this draft but i think gibbs will be marginally better. in fact, if i could pick one non-KPP to have at my club, i'd pick gibbs.

people should give players like gibbs a break
look at cooney dieldo and murphy. all 3 have been given time and it shows how every year they get better
all 3 listed were suppose to be the solution, and they will be in due course.
the number one draft picks are number one not cos they will slot into a team straight away more that they have a good head and skills on them.

if we went back nearly 20 years and the draft process is as rigerous as it is now i can assure u players like hird carey grant etc would of never fell through the graps

I watched alot of the game, and he was good. Neat, smart and polished young footballer. Not for a second am I suggesting he is no good.

The only bloke I listed that I might make a concession on is Boak (who I rate very highly). The rest are super talented talls or Joel Selwood, who isn't human. But I can understand Carlton are happy, as Gibbs sounds like a leader and well liked kid.

But on no planet would I swap him for Hansen. Not a chance in hell.

i wouldnt hire you as a recruiter then... imo gibbs will overtake selwood and be the best player from the draft, actually the second best (gumby is obviously gonna be the best :D)
in all seriousness the kid is just so polished all round, people think that because he isnt racking up possessions in the 30s that he isnt worthy of a number pick, i can tell you now watching the game against carlton on the weekend everytime gibbs got the ball i flinched.. his skills are just plain awesome. what he does with the ball is great.. give him another year maybe two and he will be up there with the elite.

hansen will also be a good pick up, but wont have the impact gibbs will
of course thats just my opinon

Revising the 2006 draft, where do people place Gibbs in terms of potential?