Votes: 146 63.5%

Ask Matthew Knights that question

Or Matthew Voss.

Or Sam Mitchell.

Only Brad Scott & Geelong was able to do it & that was because he left DURING the team was till awesome . Brad Scott literally got gifted the team at its peak

Whoever takes our job on is not taking us on the top - we are near the bottom. We have the oldest list in the land. IT might be appealing in your eyes as you love Richmond and thing bigger is better - but circumstance always trumps size. The circumstances are awful & History says you are wrong.
Hmmmmm

Interesting Brad Scott you say ??

Mr Football

Also took him a long time to develop into the coach he ended up becoming

The risk with a rookie is that we need to ride the bumps while they also develop and learn, this can be somewhat mitigated by getting someone with some experience managing a team even if it’s just at a lower level
That's because we were broke as a club back then
We couldn't afford to give him the quality assistance he needed
In quality assistant coaches and a experienced football manager

If we choose grigg we will be able to back him
With all the quality and experience in coaches and football management
2 complete different scenarios
Leon Cameron would be perfect in this role 👌

Would actually be kind of funny if Knights comes back and we beat Essendon in an elimination final next year (assuming they don't make it this year)
would be more funny as Knights took over from Sheeds.

Fair play to essendon tho - they got us 1 back., We ruined their goodbye to Sheeds & Hird & they did the same for us with Dimma & Knights. Fair play, Bummers

Hmmmmm

Interesting Brad Scott you say ??

Mr Football
i left that there to pick up your confidence. As only you would take me mixing up an identical twin, who we just played - who both have the same job - as a win and not an editing error.

Enjoy your salty low hanging fruit win r2r. I dare say today you need it

I think he is smart enough to know that ship has sailed, if he was ever going to get it , it should have been now
Yep, this was his time - the right time - and it did not happen!

Side point, but Neil blame is nearer the end, maybe dimma is the man to take over that role. We can't underestimate how much of our success was in having good people that spoke true and fair

That is the most insane theory ever mate

He needs a break from Richmond. not the job. He will be coaching by next season, almost guarantee it.

More Editing required son

just a lil olive for your salty pallette. Will keep it there.

Thoughts R2R? Do you think dimma still has the young players on his side? He was quite clear that he had "ran out of tricks" to get them going. Do you take those comments to be perhaps validation of the stuff i have been saying for 2 years that you continually called me a troll on? As from where i sit today - I reckon i was dead on the money.

I am honoruing dimma by smoking a big dose of my medical week today too & watching 3 GFs, back to back to back with my Mighty.

Not inspired. If we had our draft picks i would be more ok with it.

Never been a fan of just promoting an assistant to the main role, even as interim. Celtics did this recently and they are paying for it now as the team was good enough to still be a top team, but come playoffs - he is a joke. In saying that though, its genuinely your only option, doesnt make it ideal tho

That's because we were broke as a club back then
We couldn't afford to give him the quality assistance he needed
In quality assistant coaches and a experienced football manager

If we choose grigg we will be able to back him
With all the quality and experience in coaches and football management
2 complete different scenarios
Leon Cameron would be perfect in this role 👌
I’m not sure about Cameron , given we have two of his boys at the club and likely a third next year, might be too raw

From left field, I hope Josh Carr throws his hat in the ring. 4 years as an assistant at Port, then coached his own team North Adelaide for 4 years including a premiership, 3 years at Freo as an assistant and now back at Port as their midfield coach and they're doing ok.

Appears very highly rated by footy insiders.

I just hope there is a thorough process and trust & support whoever comes out on top to do the job, without the anchor of not being seen as the ideal candidate from those of us in the cheap seats without inside knowledge.

Too empty atm to think about the future.

Just wish McQualter all the best in his debut head coaching role this week.
Let’s hope we get new coach bounce rather than the dead cat bounce

My view would be as follows:
  1. Don't rate Buckley and was never part of a successful side as a player and didn't get it done for the Pies in 2018 when they had the game at their mercy. Hard no for mine.
  2. Hinkley seems to be a bit of a poisoned chalice in my view. No doubt he can coach but he has a bit of the Rocket Eade vibe when he went from Sydney to Footscray (i.e. great coach that can't take the extra step) and don't think he's got the fresh ideas we need as a club.
  3. Caracella I would have but there are big question marks over whether he has the desire to be a senior coach. Think he has the brain for it and ticks boxes in that he's had success everywhere he has gone but is the desire there? Would want a strong showing in the interview process.
  4. Carr seems to be the Port succession plan and someone I would not mind. Lappin at Geelong seems to have had success and been part of strong coaching groups, another I wouldn't mind.
  5. Yze and Gia are highly rated but I don't rate blokes that haven't had success as players (only four of these types have won a flag in the last 40 odd years in Pagan, Clarkson, Roos and Bevo) which is another reason I don't rate Buckley.
  6. Leppa deserves another crack with a non-basket case side if we're going to go with an experience coach in my view given he's head of strategy at Collingwood and they're flying.
  7. McQualter, Teague or Rutten I'm not particularly sure that would represent the fresh ideas that we need.
  8. Grigg, Chaplin, Lambert are all too inexperienced but would like to see a few of them come back to maintain the link with the successful sides of the past.
  9. Older experienced coaches in Sheedy, Malthouse and Eade are a hard no for mine. They've all had their time and its a new era.
  10. Don Pyke and Simpson are interesting cases. Simpson looks like he needs some time out of the game and looks the next North coach if Clarko doesn't make it back for mine. Don obviously has the cultural issues of the Crows camp as his baggage but I reckon has more coaching chops than Bucks ever has.

The obvious candidates with plenty of experience are:

Buckley (avail)
Hinkley (n/a)
Simpson (n/a)
Knights (avail)
Leppa (avail)
Ratten (avail)

We already have Teague and Rutten so I assume that's a no to them.

Then you have untried assistants with good reputations

Yze
Hansen
Graham
Enright
Caracella

Then you have Richmond Men that have left the club recently and are at another club

Grigg
Newman
Chaplin

To be honest, I against an untried coach of any kind, given the situation we are in, a rookie head coach rarely survives the pressure of taking over from a dynasty type coach.
I also don't rally want Grigg, Newman or Chaplin. Grigg I could live with after he has more experience, but I don't like the leadership of the other two at all.

So it kind of leaves it to the top 6, and if I'm being honest, my top 3 would be Simpson, Buckley and Knights (in no particular order)
How on earth could you come up with Simpson they’ve been dreadful
I agree an experienced coach is req to follow a dynasty
Leppa
Buckley
I feel are best suited to us , buckley would be polarising to supporters with his 30y life membership of Coll bit like walls was never embraced but you can’t help be impressed listening to him , I like him more in the media than I ever did at Coll

If Steve Morris had been coaching longer I wouldn’t have minded having a look at him. The VFL team has lacked a fair bit of talent so far this season, but every game it seems they’ve played hard a been competitive when they really should be getting blown out due to the talent difference in a lot of the games.

My view would be as follows:
  1. Don't rate Buckley and was never part of a successful side as a player and didn't get it done for the Pies in 2018 when they had the game at their mercy. Hard no for mine.
  2. Hinkley seems to be a bit of a poisoned chalice in my view. No doubt he can coach but he has a bit of the Rocket Eade vibe when he went from Sydney to Footscray (i.e. great coach that can't take the extra step) and don't think he's got the fresh ideas we need as a club.
  3. Caracella I would have but there are big question marks over whether he has the desire to be a senior coach. Think he has the brain for it and ticks boxes in that he's had success everywhere he has gone but is the desire there? Would want a strong showing in the interview process.
  4. Carr seems to be the Port succession plan and someone I would not mind. Lappin at Geelong seems to have had success and been part of strong coaching groups, another I wouldn't mind.
  5. Yze and Gia are highly rated but I don't rate blokes that haven't had success as players (only four of these types have won a flag in the last 40 odd years in Pagan, Clarkson, Roos and Bevo) which is another reason I don't rate Buckley.
  6. Leppa deserves another crack with a non-basket case side if we're going to go with an experience coach in my view given he's head of strategy at Collingwood and they're flying.
  7. McQualter, Teague or Rutten I'm not particularly sure that would represent the fresh ideas that we need.
  8. Grigg, Chaplin, Lambert are all too inexperienced but would like to see a few of them come back to maintain the link with the successful sides of the past.
  9. Older experienced coaches in Sheedy, Malthouse and Eade are a hard no for mine. They've all had their time and its a new era.
  10. Don Pyke and Simpson are interesting cases. Simpson looks like he needs some time out of the game and looks the next North coach if Clarko doesn't make it back for mine. Don obviously has the cultural issues of the Crows camp as his baggage but I reckon has more coaching chops than Bucks ever has.
Caracella would be the most over hyped asst coach ever , he’s purely a back room boy and has nowhere near skill set to lead 40 men . His contribution to ess added up to nada until brad scott arrived , forget him

Buckley has got his team to pre lims and GF , not sure how Hinkley could be rated any higher

Leppa is my preference I hope he’s interested

That was 8 years ago @ a rock bottom Brisbane Lions. Lessons were learnt. What was Hardwicks record in his first 3 seasons? 24 wins from his first 63 I think. Since then Leppa has been assistant to Dimma for 5 years for 3 flags and 2 years under Fly - two great motivational coaches where he would have learnt so much. By all reports is already a great tactician. 3-time premiership player himself.

You couldn't find a better candidate. Hopefully we can get him on board ASAP but I can't see him leaving Pies before their season is done.
I disagree totally.
Leppa is a shite coach, a shite bloke and has no clue about football.
Richmond would be crazy to go after a failed coach that has not coached his own team for many years.

I think best they just leave him where he is at Collingwood and look eleswhere.

PLEASE;)

If Steve Morris had been coaching longer I wouldn’t have minded having a look at him. The VFL team has lacked a fair bit of talent so far this season, but every game it seems they’ve played hard a been competitive when they really should be getting blown out due to the talent difference in a lot of the games.
Early in his career but he’s making a fair fist of it , word was McRae wanted him at Coll vfl

I disagree totally.
Leppa is a shite coach, a shite bloke and has no clue about football.
Richmond would be crazy to go after a failed coach that has not coached his own team for many years.

I think best they just leave him where he is at Collingwood and look eleswhere.

PLEASE;)
Nice try

How on earth could you come up with Simpson they’ve been dreadful
I agree an experienced coach is req to follow a dynasty
Leppa
Buckley
I feel are best suited to us , buckley would be polarising to supporters with his 30y life membership of Coll bit like walls was never embraced but you can’t help be impressed listening to him , I like him more in the media than I ever did at Coll
This board would blow up if it’s Buckley and we don’t start on a flyer

Caracella would be the most over hyped asst coach ever , he’s purely a back room boy and has nowhere near skill set to lead 40 men . His contribution to ess added up to nada until brad scott arrived , forget him

Buckley has got his team to pre lims and GF , not sure how Hinkley could be rated any higher

Leppa is my preference I hope he’s interested
How about we go to this years wooden spooner and select the assistant coach - we have done it before !