• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

Yeaaaa however he has proven he can coach with success at box hill , played under dimna , worked with Clarko , quite a resume
Was a very popular Captain too ,galvanising the playing group behind dimna
I’d expect he will still be in discussion at pointy end
the smae bloke who selfishly played in at least one year too many, perhaos two because he wanted to be a part of a finals win... that same bloke?

I'm of a mind to back in Leppa. He has shown he is a great coach from the lessons he learned in his unsuccessful stint at Brisbane. He has now been in two very successful clubs and helped McCrae rejuvenate Collingwood only two years past. He knows the club, the players, the administration, the culture and the fan base. He is the best coach out there who is still young and knowledgeable.

I'd love to see him our next Senior Coach.

I'm of a mind to back in Leppa. He has shown he is a great coach from the lessons he learned in his unsuccessful stint at Brisbane. He has now been in two very successful clubs and helped McCrae rejuvenate Collingwood only two years past. He knows the club, the players, the administration, the culture and the fan base. He is the best coach out there who is still young and knowledgeable.

He would have to convince me he wanted the gig...show me the ideas! Otherwise I tend towards a new face, outside the four walls of RFC!

i left th

just a lil olive for your salty pallette. Will keep it there.

Thoughts R2R? Do you think dimma still has the young players on his side? He was quite clear that he had "ran out of tricks" to get them going. Do you take those comments to be perhaps validation of the stuff i have been saying for 2 years that you continually called me a troll on? As from where i sit today - I reckon i was dead on the money.

I am honoruing dimma by smoking a big dose of my medical week today too & watching 3 GFs, back to back to back with my Mighty.
Jesus Christ you are so full of S***

You were on the money with Daniel Rioli being a terrible defender

Honestly you are as transparent as they come and just about everybody can see straight through your intentions
Your comment about not having the kids is just stupid as the kids have been there 1-2 years and are still in diapers and wouldnt have the time to "Have been lost"

You dont honor anything thats Richmond related.

I can’t see Leppa wanting to leave the Pies anytime soon given how well they are travelling.

I’m not one bit interested in Hinkley, Simpson, Leon Cameron or any of these recycled coaches. I don’t mind Buckley as I think he’s a cluey bloke but his time at Collingwood wasn’t all good as we know.

Grigg not experienced enough and Newman doesn’t thrill me either.

I would not have Sheedy anywhere near the place in any capacity whatsoever.

I’ll just have to trust that Benny and the board will find the right person.

When they mentioned in the presser this morning that the players need a fresh voice, I take that to mean not just a new voice, but also one with a new message and a new approach to how we go about it. Leppitsch is pretty much a Hardwick disciple and preaches the same message and philosophy about how the game should be played. For that reason I don't believe he should be our target and to be honest I don't know who should be or even have a favourite that I like, because unlike opposition players you bring in to the club via trade/free agency where you can see what they are bringing by how they play already, nobody knows how any potential coach goes about it.

However what I do trust is the club to go through a complete process and get the best available candidate in and then give them every opportunity to establish their style and develop the player/list that best suits what they believe will take us to the premiership again.

actually Don Pyke is the one I forgot...

He may have farkked up after the 17 granny, but doesn't mean he can't coach.
The interest would be could he coach the club that beat him
Well he would know the theme song

I can’t see Leppa wanting to leave the Pies anytime soon given how well they are travelling.

I’ll just have to trust that Benny and the board will find the right person.
Something Benny Gale said in the presser was interesting and i thought at the time we wouldnt be going for an experienced coach
We will need to find the next Damien Hardwick/

Think it will be a fresh coach unless its Leppa or Caracella the club would know which of the 2 is more suitable and for me i would say they would be leaning towards Caracella from the 2. But we do keep hearing alot about Yze so who knows

Would be funny if it was Buckley though

It should have been Fly McCrae, if he was still there, he would be the logical heir apparent. Hes been a friggin genius with my mob, hes carbon copied the Tigers three peat flag plan, blueprint, mass attacks, chaos footy, constant run on, and hes totally rejuvenated the Pies. He obviously leant from Dimma, the Master Coach, so, thank you Dimma for that, we owe you, goodluck mate. Cheers.

Does it need to be someone from the AFL system? Do they need to have an AFL background? Does it need to be a white male in his mid to late 40’s?

Could this club be progressive enough to think outside the box and find a figurehead rather than the same old ideas and strategies…? Does the selection process of coaching an AFL club need to be so narrow minded and parochial in its approach to finding the best sporting mind in the country.

Is an AFL coach much more than just a manager of people and developer of culture and relationships? Crossing codes or sports isn’t new.

The biggest sporting club in Australia, with the most savage fanbase is going to chew up and spit out mediocre newbie who hasn’t got any shields. As good as Hardwick has been he has had probably three of the best shields in the game. Peggy O’Neil , Bredan Gale and Neil Balme…

I would love to see this club think laterally and not just down the same old lines and paths that percentages that brings the same results.

Change the game again…
Screenshot_20230523_135835.jpg

The obvious candidates with plenty of experience are:

Buckley (avail)
Hinkley (n/a)
Simpson (n/a)
Knights (avail)
Leppa (avail)
Ratten (avail)

We already have Teague and Rutten so I assume that's a no to them.

Then you have untried assistants with good reputations

Yze
Hansen
Graham
Enright
Caracella

Then you have Richmond Men that have left the club recently and are at another club

Grigg
Newman
Chaplin

To be honest, I against an untried coach of any kind, given the situation we are in, a rookie head coach rarely survives the pressure of taking over from a dynasty type coach.
I also don't rally want Grigg, Newman or Chaplin. Grigg I could live with after he has more experience, but I don't like the leadership of the other two at all.

So it kind of leaves it to the top 6, and if I'm being honest, my top 3 would be Simpson, Buckley and Knights (in no particular order)
If a rookie coach comes in with the vision and plan to deliver success like Hardwick did back in 2009 then there is no reason why we shouldn't appoint them. The reason I believe this can happen is because of the change in culture that has been installed in part by the departing Hardwick. The club has gone from being reactionary and listening to outside noise to influence its decisions, to actually showing patience and being more analytical when making decisions regarding all areas of the football department.

Whoever we appoint will come on board knowing that the club has a culture that will give them the chance to firstly establish their vision for the playing list as well as game plan, then will give them them the opportunity to see that vision come to fruition even if there are speed bumps early on.

Given it's about 24 hours since the news broke I'm actually excited about what's happening, as I feel the journey back to the top will be just as good as the journey we all just went on with Hardwick at the helm.

Well he would know the theme song

would have nam flashbacks before every game and after the siren goes

Animal Planet The Horror GIF by Puppy Bowl

In the last 20 seasons a list of AFL flag winning coaches that had previous senior coaching experience:

2004 Matthews - Yes (Collingwood 1990)
2005 Roos - No
2006 Worsfold - No
2007 Thompson - No
2008 Clarkson - No
2009 Thompson - No
2010 Malthouse - Yes (West Coast 1992 & 1994)
2011 Scott - No
2012 Longmire - No
2013 Clarkson - No
2014 Clarkson - No
2015 Clarkson - No
2016 Beveridge - No
2017 Hardwick - No
2018 Simpson - No
2019 Hardwick - No
2020 Hardwick - No
2021 Goodwin - No
2022 Scott - No
2023 - ?

Leppitsch, Rutten, Teague, Pyke, Buckley, Knights, Alan Richardson, Bolton & Mark Williams can all get in the bin.