Richmond to take Cousins

Apart from some media speculation no one has mentioned Cousins in relation to the Richmond application.

Yet people continue to suggest that Eddie's (and by extension, Collingwood's) motive is to stop the fairytale from having the tear jerking, inspirational ending it so thoroughly deserves.

This is all about stopping another club from gaining an advantage by circumventing the rules.
Eddie has been nothing but consistent in this regard, even allowing for the unanimous decision to allow Rama onto the mature age rookie list many moons ago.

When are people going to realise that ALL club presidents are in their positions to work to the advantage of THEIR club.
Even if ignorant morons perceive their actions as insensitive and bitter.
Agree, I have nothing against Eddie, he's doing his job and doing it well, except, what is exactly is the advantage that Richmond are getting?

Is that a serious question?
It is. Answer it. Yes it's more benficial for the club, but they have no bigger advantage than anyone else in the competition. You are only saying this because it's Ben Cousins we are talking about.

What if Richmond took the more likely option, and went with two kids?

Plough regularly visits a bottle-o my mate (tigs fan) works at and they chat about this and that.

He came throught the other day a tad innehbriated and ordered the usual can/s of Melbourne (he wasn't driving so don't stress TAC).

The first thing he said was "what do you think of Cousins?" to which my mate said without hessitation "take him"

they talked a bit more and he was uming and arhing about the Cous and it all seemed pretty interesting.

Take it for what it's worth coming second hand from someone who gives Terry his beer, but he usual shoots straight does Terry and hasn't fed crap yet.

Anyway, hope Cous gets picked up by someone. Be good for him.

And you really think anyone will believe that crap ??? :rolleyes:

Wow a lot of people here missing a few points and realisations.
1st - The comparison of Rama and Polak. Some people saying it's a different situation some saying it's the same, think back. When Essendon applied to put Rama on the rookie list because of his illness and inability to play West coast did the same for Brad Smith.
Rama had already played over 100 games and played in a premiership team. Brad Smith had not played a game of senior footy but suffered back to back Knee reco's in two years. Every coach in the comp agreed that Brad Smith and the Eagles should be affordered the same favour as Essendon but the AFL said NO. Essendon kept Rama who ended up playing on (good on him great story) but Eagles had to drop Brad Smith to free up room on their player list.

2nd - Polak nearly died. It is a near miracle he is still alive. He will not play AFL footy this year. If he ever does play AFL footy again it will be akin to when Jason Macartney came back and played for Nth Melb and it will be inspirational.

3rd - B.C. Still has something to offer the AFL, a club in the AFL and others who have been or are in his situation. Look at the stats and you will see he is the Greatest player to ever play for the Eagles.
Yes he F-d up, yes he had a problem which by all reports he is/trying to deal with.

4th - The AFL as a sport and a leading national sport has the opportunity to really make an example here. They can basically say if you do drugs and admit to having a problem you are pretty much gone and you may as well just give up. Or, they can say it is never to late to clean up and recover. If you are willing to admit to a problem and seek help we are committed to helping and set an example for others in the same position.

5th - It is the AFL who have the final word and jsut like the on field game which is a little up/down and inconsistant so are the guy's that run it. You never know what they are going to do until they do and most of the time you sit back and go:confused::rolleyes::confused:

I for one would like to not roll my eyes at this one and see the AFL do the right thing, for a rare time, and do whatever they can to accomadate the Tigers and B.C.

(pardon any grammer or spelling mistakes I aint proof reading that all):D
WOW i didnt realise we had so many lawyers,doctors,psycologist & wannabee,s on big footy.
after reading 23 pages of bull5h!t i finally came across 1 person who made sense. congratts flyinghigh64 your post is the only 1 that made sense.

1. afl will ask clubs for their thoughts, but will tell them what it wants to do. not eddie.

2. nett result is richmond trading a rookie pick for a psd pick, which they will tell the afl they will select bc with.

3.everybody passed on him & dont want him so whats the big deal.

4.the thing that WILL get this over the line is, it(bc) is a problem the afl has to get sorted out.

WELCOME TO RICHMOND BEN COUSINS

:D

What a load of nonsense.
If Polak is finished, delist him.
Plenty of kids got delisted off AFL lists a couple of months ago. No doubt most of them are devastated. At least polak had the opportunity to play at the highest level. He deserves our sympathy if he may never play again but so does Matthew Egan.
Do geelong deserve the same opportunity?

Its a case of Richmond trying to gain an unfair advantage. They can get stuffed as far as I'm concerned.

No deal!!!!
:) i had a good chuckle at your stupidity

Lets hope the other 15 clubs let the AFL know in no uncertain terms that they do not endorse Richmond trying to operate outside the rules .

If Polak is unable to play football again then delist him ..it's that simple..people get hurt every day of the week and are unable to continue their careers, being a footballer makes no difference whatsoever.

The rules are there and should be ahered too...if there was no cousins in the draft then the tigers wouldn't even bother.

Sorry if this has been posted before (probably has but I am not going to go trawling through 350 posts)

Listing an incentive for tram crasch victim

RICHMOND never considered asking the AFL for a special concession over Graham Polak's tram accident, because the club wanted to give him something to strive for.

Coach Terry Wallace said the Tigers could have sought assistance in a manner similar to Essendon rookie listing of Adam Ramanauskas in 2006 after his second battle with cancer.

But Wallace did not think it was in Polak's best interests and wanted to give him the incentive to play again, if doctors allow him to return.

"One of the things we wanted to do first up was to leave Graham on the list," Wallace said this week. "We could have tried to get compensation from the AFL. But we thought from Graham's point of view that we wanted to keep the door open and the light shining there.

"At the end of the day, he knows his position is there and he has something to strive for."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24657130-19771,00.html

Hmmmm, make up your own minds.

Lets hope the other 15 clubs let the AFL know in no uncertain terms that they do not endorse Richmond trying to operate outside the rules .

If Polak is unable to play football again then delist him ..it's that simple..people get hurt every day of the week and are unable to continue their careers, being a footballer makes no difference whatsoever.

The rules are there and should be ahered too...if there was no cousins in the draft then the tigers wouldn't even bother.
If there was no Cousins in the draft, you wouldn't even care what we did with Polak.

oh dear and carlton have always followed the rules

Have to agree. He might be trying to stop Richmond getting Cousins to protect them but if that is what he is doing, this is not really the right way to go.

He's not trying to stop Richmond taking Cousins, he's trying to stop them gaining an unfair advantage right before the draft in the form of an added pick.

I agree with Ed.

Because Polak is obviosuly not in a stable condition to play AFL. And every club has to have 40 players on their list. Everyones making it sound like we get an extra player somehow.....

You can have 40 players on your list, you've got 4 rookies to choose from to elevate to your playing list.

Egan last played in Round 22, 2007. Polak last played in Round 14, 2008. Neither are likely to play again in 2009 and the likelihood of either of them returning to a career in football is slim. Cats will promote a rookie to the playing list. Can someone explain to me why Richmond should be allowed to get an extra pick in the PSD rather than doing the same?

oh dear and carlton have always followed the rules

It would be quite ironic if the tigers did draft cusins ..because they are the first AFL/VFL team to ever have a confirmed drug cheat...and here they are considering drafting another druggie, and they intend using poor old polak as their means .
It appears that they aren't all that fussy how they get the job done down at punt road :eek:

He's not trying to stop Richmond taking Cousins, he's trying to stop them gaining an unfair advantage right before the draft in the form of an added pick.

I agree with Ed.
You make it sound as if this pick is plucked from no-where.

We've seeked permission. We've done nothing yet.

If the AFL grants us that, then what have we done wrong?

It would be quite ironic if the tigers did draft cusins ..because they are the first AFL/VFL team to ever have a confirmed drug cheat...and here they are considering drafting another druggie, and they intend using poor old polak as their means .
It appears that they aren't all that fussy how they get the job done down at punt road :eek:

The difference between the Tigers and Blues is one club openly tests the rules, the other cheats hoping they won't get caught.

Pot calling the kettle black?
Brown paperbag anyone?
Salary cap breach?

;)

your kidding me right? just look at how your own club operates which is often well outside the rules before you make judgements on anyone else.

Talking about cheating:eek::eek::eek:

Your club is the scum of everything, look at your president, your players, some of your supporters you dont get labelled that for nothing.

If Richmond pick up Cousins, then good on 'em.

If Cuz has a 30+ possy game to beat us whenever we play them, then good on 'em even moreso.

Bloke deserves a second chance IMO.

Richmond - :thumbsu:

Shane Warne is a confirmed drug cheat, has that dampened his reputation at all?