ROBBIE WARNOCK - the key to our success

fev's bingle

Draftee
Jan 14, 2007
my strong opinion is that robbie warnock is the key to us taking that next step, if he is able to hold down the ruck mantle with hampson or jacobs playing second fiddle, it will allow kruzuer to stay up forward as that other forward mobile marking option we require desperately, allows waitey, pray all goes well with his recovery, to hold down centre half back which for the first time gives us a spine consisting of fevola, kruzuer, waite and jamison

our next step is to rectify asap -
* stop so many players going to ground
* enforce players not willing to gut run to make space & run in numbers they will never wear the jumper again
* all the many players relying on a team mate to chase for them, very simple, NORTHERN BULLANTS FOREVER
* players looking to put team mates under the pump to take pressure off themselves, fear of being traded or delisted
*AND MOST OF ALL DELIST ALL THE FAR TOO MANY PLAYERS THAT CANT KICK

it's time for our club to make a stance on what is required or disciplinary action will be forced upon

ye i don't think it's any secret we desp need this guy playing, apparently has really good mobility for a ruck of his size, will take a while to find some fitness but krueze permanently up forward is an exciting prospect, it's too tough on him switching between ruck and forward

Why do we want our best ruckman(K-bomb) to play forward?

Because he roves as well as he rucks and can run faster than some mids and kicks straight for a start. He has a great reach too when he goes for a mark which most players cant defend against. And apart from that, we dont have anyone else who can do it better right now, Hampson is coming along well and cloke is a ok ruckman if he comes in this week. Its a patch til Robbie comes in.

I think expectations of Warnock are inflated to dangerous levels. He maybe a very important piece of the puzzle but I think people are setting him at for heights he will battle to attain. I don't want people calling for his scalp if he is not a top ruckman by this time next year!

Did you see the Sydney game? Or the game against Port last year? Kreuze dominated when played forward. He takes contested overhead marks and when he spills them which is not often, he chases like a mad dog to try and earn the ball back with great 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th etc efforts.

IMO this guy gives his all everytime and should be considered as captain material later down the track or at the very least in the leadership group. Apparently he doesn't say much but when he does they listen; good signs of a true leader

Kreuzer has shown that when he goes forward, he can cause some real headaches for the opposition, and I would love to see him there on a more permanent basis. Should this be the case, and Setanta/Cloke can also play up forward as well, our forward line doesn't look to bad. Throw in Waite, and our structure suddenly becomes very dangerous, and flexible as well. Waite and Setanta could go back if the need be, however, with Jamo, Thornton and Bower all playing down there, Waite & Setanta could really become our "swingmen".

Austin has also shown some form at either end of the ground, and should be persisted with also.

Draft a big athletic backman to play along Bower Jamison and Thornton. Waite, Walker, Fev, Kreuze, Eddie and Yarran up foward. Warnock rucking down to Judd, Murph, Gibbs, Simmo and Grigg. + A few years of experience for our younger players = PREMIERSHIP!

Whilst i think Kreuzer will be a great target up forward he would be better suited to start in the centre at bounces and then push forward as he will have the opposing ruckman responsible for him, this is where he could be dangerous as he will get there before he's opponent. If he played permanent forward the match up is more likely to be a key defender who may have an edge at ground level depending who they are. I think he provides a great link up option around the ground also. Hopefully Warnock can also give something at CHF at times, they would both be pretty hard match ups.

Draft a big athletic backman to play along Bower Jamison and Thornton. Waite, Walker, Fev, Kreuze, Eddie and Yarran up foward. Warnock rucking down to Judd, Murph, Gibbs, Simmo and Grigg. + A few years of experience four our younger players = PREMIERSHIP!

Draft? You mean buy right? Brian Lake soon to be a blue :D

Did you see the Sydney game? Or the game against Port last year? Kreuze dominated when played forward. He takes contested overhead marks and when he spills them which is not often, he chases like a mad dog to try and earn the ball back with great 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th etc efforts.

IMO this guy gives his all everytime and should be considered as captain material later down the track or at the very least in the leadership group. Apparently he doesn't say much but when he does they listen; good signs of a true leader

he did all that playing as a ruckman. warnock when fully fit should ruck for at least 75% of the time and kreuzer the rest while playing forward the rest of the time.

I think Warnock is not going to be as vital as people think. I have doubts whether his body can hold up and why is he still so skinny?? Would expect him to have much more size at this stage.
Nothing behind all this, just a gut feel waiting to be proven wrong (please).

Also if Hammer reaches the level we want him to aswell as Warnock any chance we can just throw Kruez on the ball without the ruckwork?
I wouldn't mind seeing him there.

I think Warnock is not going to be as vital as people think. I have doubts whether his body can hold up and why is he still so skinny?? Would expect him to have much more size at this stage.
Nothing behind all this, just a gut feel waiting to be proven wrong (please).

Also if Hammer reaches the level we want him to aswell as Warnock any chance we can just throw Kruez on the ball without the ruckwork?
I wouldn't mind seeing him there.

Actually not a bad idea, Kruezer as a Ruck Rover.

I hope Warnock lives up to expectations, but they're pretty high

At Freo he never stared as such, ie. more of an unproven talent

His body is also problematic at this stage

Just hope people don't expect him to come in and dominant first up, because I'd hate to see the kid bagged because he's not meeting possibly way over-the-top expectations

If he can play number 1 ruck with Hamma 2, allowing Kruz to play forward, then that would fill a BIG gap

I think it would be great if warnock got up to play but i wouldnt play kreuzer as a permanent forward untill warnocks fully fit and injury free. I also feel sorry for Sam Jacobs his not getting a game now imagine when warnocks good the kid might as well not turn up for training.

I belive Slamming Sammy has boosted his profile among the AFl and if we choose not to elevate him to the main list this year(I hope we do) some club like Port with aging ruckman will pick him up.

he did all that playing as a ruckman. warnock when fully fit should ruck for at least 75% of the time and kreuzer the rest while playing forward the rest of the time.

Yes your right he did play as a ruckman but the fact remains he did this in our forward line when he was there so if we can keep him up there more often I'd say the chances are he would be target that our midfielders would feel confident kicking to and he would probably be able to be a 3-7 goals a game player which is just the help Fev needs especially when he's not switched on.

I'm with you. Kreuzer looks an alright forward, but he looks like a top class ruckman. I personally don't subscribe to this automatic transfer to CHF as so many Blues supporters seem to advocate. I would prefer to see him played to his strengths. I'd rather see Hampson learn to mark and drop him up there.

Kreuzer has proven to be a very good ruck but most of all he provides a lot of run around the ground and does the hard work a lot of other ruckman do not do.

I want warnock to come in, but that doesnt mean that Kruezer should be a perminant forward. Kruezer has caught some teams by surprise when resting in the forward line, but he is not a natural forward. He is not that solution for us.

Kruezer would be more dangerous when we have fev and setanta/cloke/waite (whoever that CHF will be) playing well and we through him in the mix in the goal square.

I would just hate to see the team lose a player around the ground who offers so much and does the work of a normal running midfielder.

Unless Hampson steps it up and plays consistently well and offers what Kruezer does, but right now, he doesnt really do that, even if he has the potential.

That is an unspeakably terrible idea, not just a bad one.
Why do you say that Faz?

Most wouldn't have thought J Brown or Pav would win the footy amongst the short people in the C sq, yet when they have gone in there it has been very successful.

Sometimes having a big body to throw around at stoppages can be good, and he knows how to win the ground level ball, can provide run........

I wouldn't want him to do it all the time, but as a change up, I'm not as convinced its a terrible idea.

Thoughts?

Kreuzer ruck-roving?

He does it off his own rucking, so why not?
Hard notion to get the head around, but one things for sure: If anyone could make a fist of it, it would be Kreuzer.
Wouldn't look to it full time, but as a change up it might scare a few.

ROBBIE WARNOCK - the key to our success