• gone this year

Votes: 13 10.6%

Votes: 22 17.9%

Votes: 27 22.0%
  • extended beyond 2026

Votes: 65 52.8%

I do like that he mentioned the inequities of the clubs, and how GC and others in the north have scored so many stars.

And, as Gerard actually mentioned on 360, because Ross never complains, never did even about that obvious poster in 2009 GF, he has the moral high ground to discuss these types of issues and bring up the whole BS about the AFL highlighting one iffy free kick decision when there are many every game.

The media analysis and the bleating of supporters of rival clubs is real fingernail deep stuff.
The popular opinion of Ross Lyon coached teams play boring football is an easy one to fall back on when we're not putting big scores on the board, but I've heard very little actual discussion as to why we've been finding it so hard to score.

Ross has been on record since he started his second stint as coach as saying he wants to move the ball fast. You can see that intent on gameday even though it is often interrupted by an errant kick or a sloppy handball to an overlap runners toes. Anyone who watches closely can see clearly the issue lies with that last kick into our offensive 50 and the structure of our forwards ahead of the ball. When we get that right hopefully everything comes together.

We all know Ross is very good at coaching the defensive side of the game and despite all the groaning it is our defense that has saved us from being further in the hole than we currently are. Without it some of the close losses we've had and even some of our wins would have been blowouts.

The media analysis and the bleating of supporters of rival clubs is real fingernail deep stuff.
The popular opinion of Ross Lyon coached teams play boring football is an easy one to fall back on when we're not putting big scores on the board, but I've heard very little actual discussion as to why we've been finding it so hard to score.

Ross has been on record since he started his second stint as coach as saying he wants to move the ball fast. You can see that intent on gameday even though it is often interrupted by an errant kick or a sloppy handball to an overlap runners toes. Anyone who watches closely can see clearly the issue lies with that last kick into our offensive 50 and the structure of our forwards ahead of the ball. When we get that right hopefully everything comes together.

We all know Ross is very good at coaching the defensive side of the game and despite all the groaning it is our defense that has saved us from being further in the hole than we currently are. Without it some of the close losses we've had and even some of our wins would have been blowouts.
Well said
His latest press conference goes into some insight on this
But again ….just easy to trot out
“It’s Ross ….he doesn’t want them to score…”
They know the issue
The fix does rely on some genuine midfield contest/win and score from stoppage…then you gotta hit a target to a forwards advantage and resist the urge to bomb when under pressure…

I do like that he mentioned the inequities of the clubs, and how GC and others in the north have scored so many stars.

And, as Gerard actually mentioned on 360, because Ross never complains, never did even about that obvious poster in 2009 GF, he has the moral high ground to discuss these types of issues and bring up the whole BS about the AFL highlighting one iffy free kick decision when there are many every game.

Yep, like what he’s saying… some clubs have been gifted every opportunity to improve their list and still find something to whinge about

On the basis of is stacking up with our game style to the clear best side in the comp - and highlighting and reiterating the point which we break down is our inside 50 connection/efficiency. Providing additional data to the ease of targets Sydney attempt to hit v us.

I’d say there is a lot that is positive based on what we have.

We aren’t a contender. We are on the right track.

Where are these supposed jungle drums beating for the coach? Clearly there is work to be done but it’s morons wanting to throw baby out with the bath water as opposed to letting them work.

It’s an interesting conversation from Champion Data as Joey put these stats in front of the footy world a couple weeks ago which got knocked back by the glass half empty and jungle drums brigade as just conflicted dribble due to being an ex player of Ross.

I think this is the issue when it all becomes opinion or a subjective based analysis. I’d much rather rely on data and an objective evidence base.

I think the proof in the pudding will be whether Ross can motivate a less restrictive and empowered brand of footy, hopefully resulting in a better forward connection. It’s clearly a very structured brand, with pros and cons attached to that, so there’s a lot to play out in the next year.

Anyway, don’t think there’s much value drawing any real conclusions just yet as it will take some time to achieve any results with all the reform that has taken place across the footy department. I suspect we’ll see some clear indicators by end of next season.

Just on Gerard Wheatley, I love his play by play calls but hate him as a pundit, and 360 is painful to watch now, not just because of the fat oaf next to him but his tired show openings and sanctimony are just chunderful.

This tit is the AFL's chief cheerleader on any given industry concepts like Gather Round but hear him talking about the Saints Suns game;

Robbo: "Where do you sit with them?"

Gerard: "Ah, well, no, you couldn't watch that game - and that's what Netflix is for, Robbo!"

Robbo: "I watched every second of that game..."

Gerard: "Nah, I couldnt, I didn't have the constitution for it. I caught up with the mini a bit later on once I realised the genre that the game was going to be."

Gerard you utter campaigner. You will gobble down any flavour of shit the AFL serves up and call it Häagen Dazs in the name of brand strength, all except our current footy which you tell your viewers you can't even watch. I bet you'd have just loved watching every second of the floggings that we got with Ratts in the chair though, you footy puritan. I hope Ross wins the cup with us and forces you to pay tribute without a snide backhanded comment.

Congratulations on making Mark Robinson look good.

Just on Gerard Wheatley, I love his play by play calls but hate him as a pundit, and 360 is painful to watch now, not just because of the fat oaf next to him but his tired show openings and sanctimony are just chunderful.

This tit is the AFL's chief cheerleader on any given industry concepts like Gather Round but hear him talking about the Saints Suns game;

Gerard: "Ah, well, no, you couldn't watch that game - and that's what Netflix is for, Robbo!"

Gerard: "Nah, I couldnt, I didn't have the constitution for it. I caught up with the mini a bit later on once I realised the genre that the game was going to be."

Gerard you utter campaigner. You will gobble down any flavour of shit the AFL serves up and call it Häagen Dazs in the name of brand strength, all except our current footy which you tell your viewers you can't even watch. I bet you'd have just loved watching every second of the floggings that we got with Ratts in the chair though, you footy puritan. I hope Ross wins the cup with us and forces you to pay tribute without a snide backhanded comment.

Ha.. i haven't watched 360 in a long time and was flicking channels and caught this last night..

Laughed to myself thinking “mate, you’re doing the EXACT same show as you were when Ross was first coaching the saints… talk about boring”.

Interesting that Robbo responded “everyone’s flooding, it drives me mad”.

According to those who listened to ross's press conference, he knows 50 points won't win games.

I think even though I dislike the coach, his game plan is not to kick 50 points. 56 inside 50's speaks of that.
Probably need better forward coaches.

The scoring doesn't really reflect the game play, it reflects our state of mind during the game.
If the same 56 inside 50s had resulted in 30 marks and 30 goals, we'd all be singing about how good it is.
Yet the gameplay after that inside 50 is only a small part of the game.

I know as Saints we can have a chip on our shoulder and look for slights against our club but this post is so true.
GW would never express those sort of sentiments about Essington or Carlton even during their most putrid periods, let alone after consecutive wins.
The smug little company man.

Hilarious. Like him or loathe him, Lyon will see out his contract. A part of the reason he was brought in was to raise standards and make the whole football department more professional and accountable. All the feedback from those who attend training and from player interviews is that he has done just that.

St Kilda has given more games to draftees in the last 2 years than any other team except West Coast. Lyon has played the kids. We are exposing our youth and developing them at the same time as being competitive in every single match in 2024 except one (v Dogs).

I know a few North supporters who would kill for a strong defensive structure to give them a crack in every game, regardless of the spectacle.

If the Saints had kicked 1 more goal against the Bombers and Hawks this year (with our players failing to execute some obvious chances - not the coach's fault), we would be equal 8th and one game off 4th. The Blues have won 2 games by a point – drop those and they are 10th. It's a very fine line this year and there is not much between 2nd and 15th. We have been really stiff and the extra 2% that needed to go our way this year just hasn't.

Lyon knows that playing an open, attacking style would result in us losing just as many games, as we don't have the talent to pull it off.

Ratts averaged just 4 points per game more than Lyon with a more experienced team. So the idea that this current playing group is capable of some offensive, high-scoring footy is not correct when you look at the evidence under 2 senior coaches. We just don't have the cattle to kick 100+ every week as we have the worst midfield in the comp.

This coming off-season will be the first with SOS and Dalrymple having full control. By the start of next year, the playing group will be (a) younger and (b) more reflective of Lyon rather than what he inherited. Maybe another 12-18 months and then it's time for a realistic assessment of RTB.
Just to cherry pick the part of this post about us playing draftees, this year we had five draftees and by round 14 they all will have a game at senior level. Can’t remember the Sainters ever playing so many first year draftees.

Robbo: "Where do you sit with Gerard?"

All Of Us: "Ah, well, no, you couldn't watch that knob - and that's what Netflix is for, Robbo!"

Beautiful rant.
And I agree. He is a sanctimonious shmuck.
Used to watch every night - but not any more.

You can have a sook and point the finger at the media, but they’re just echoing the sentiment of most neutral footy fans. You couldn’t blame anyone for not putting saints games in their calendar, they are barely watchable as a rusted-on tragic.

I think we can all agree we’re currently not great to watch. Hard for Saints fans who have an interest in the contest; harder for neutrals.

What is in dispute is the cause. Is it some archaic Ross Lyon game plan?

Or is the current list simply not good enough at this stage of the journey?

For me it’s the latter.

For some/most in the media it’s the former.

If there’s any sooking or finger pointing at the media from me it’s simply because of that. I think it’s a lazy take and it unfairly puts pressure on a football club that is constantly battling to compete with the big Vic clubs and the mollycoddled interstate clubs and to be taken seriously.

I think we can all agree we’re currently not great to watch. Hard for Saints fans who have an interest in the contest; harder for neutrals.

What is in dispute is the cause. Is it some archaic Ross Lyon game plan?

Or is the current list simply not good enough at this stage of the journey?

For me it’s the latter.

For some/most in the media it’s the former.

If there’s any sooking or finger pointing at the media from me it’s simply because of that. I think it’s a lazy take and it unfairly puts pressure on a football club that is constantly battling to compete with the big Vic clubs and the mollycoddled interstate clubs and to be taken seriously.

The list was good enough to get with in a game of 8th spot with injuries under Ratts and play finals the next year. To me the list has actually significantly improved since then but still lacks depth in the midfield. I'd say this is the most disappointing season in ages as far as results go and on top of that we are playing such a depressing style of footy it's hard to feel any enthusiasm for the future.

It probably isn't as bad as it all looks but talk of losing good players and going harder at the draft isn't a positive to me. It's more pain and a a further off horizon. I'd rather be a Hawk right now.

It's more pain and a a further off horizon. I'd rather be a Hawk right now.
qCDmqQ8.gif

The list was good enough to get with in a game of 8th spot with injuries under Ratts and play finals the next year. To me the list has actually significantly improved since then but still lacks depth in the midfield. I'd say this is the most disappointing season in ages as far as results go and on top of that we are playing such a depressing style of footy it's hard to feel any enthusiasm for the future.

It probably isn't as bad as it all looks but talk of losing good players and going harder at the draft isn't a positive to me. It's more pain and a a further off horizon. I'd rather be a Hawk right now.
The most depressing thing about how we play atm is the lack of connection between our midfield and forwards.

Fix that and suddenly "dour old Ross Lyon football" turns into good attacking football.

If we lose players, we lose players. It is what it is.

All this talk of giving Ross the boot and I seriously think it's our assistants that need a real look at.

Unfortunately they won't make any mid-season changes there but BJ and Harvs are not exactly making their respective lines look good.

From all reports it sounds like RTB is happy for his assistants to take the reigns way more than in previous years and to me it's not working. Those 2 either need to be moved on or whatever they are telling their players needs to be changed up.

Speaking of assistants, we dearly need to hang onto Enright as I genuinely think he'll be our next senior coach.

And also speaking of people to hang onto. We really really need to hang onto Battle.

Roast Ross Lyon: Man on the plank.