Preview Round 1: Carlton V Richmond - 28/03/2013 7:40pm @ MCG

Need Ellis's running. I think Vickery might take the bench out of the lot. Griff can kick or even ruck.

Does't have to be someone on the bench. For mine it has to be King or Nahas. Need Ellis otherwise we don't have enough run out of D50 and talls generally don't play sub. Jackson's best attribute is his running, so he won't be sub.

I get your point but honestly I'm not sure that white is any better than Jackson. IMO they are about on par, both with different skills they offer the side. The sooner neither of them can get a game the better.
I guess I can understand going into a big Rd 1 game with bigger hard bodies. They reckon is one of the toughest games of the year, and Vlastuin will get plenty of opportunity this year.

Mate, at least White can make a quick decision, actually has a decent skillset, can kick on his left and doesn't give away silly freekicks. Very harsh on White being left out for that hack. Good riddance.

Does't have to be someone on the bench. For mine it has to be King or Nahas. Need Ellis otherwise we don't have enough run out of D50 and talls generally don't play sub. Jackson's best attribute is his running, so he won't be sub.

Nahas and King would be assets if the weather forecast is correct. Vickery would be a liability.

Sort of laughing at the mini meltdown that is happening here with selection lol.

I give us a real good shot with the team named, but that's just me.

+1.

Lets wait until the team plays and then we can see if these selections were actually right or not.

+1.

Lets wait until the team plays and then we can see if these selections were actually right or not.

Don't need to wait to know Jackson will be poor. Years and years of evidence there plus an ordinary nab cup.

What "skill set"? Oh the one which takes 10 minutes to process the hand to foot movement, oh the one who smacks people in the head, complains and gives away silly unwarranted 50's. Why does Hardwick want the headache of this media performer?
Oh GrouchyBear you rascal. :)

His only skills are going hard at it as an enforcer and extractor, and pumping it forward without thinking about it. In other words, perfect for wet weather footy.

+1.

Everyone forgets, our kids have done another pre season, they will finish stronger and push opponents harder.

Now

Going off the team sheet (which they probably wont line up as such)

It looks as though Carlton have stacked their forward line centres followers with class, but Im seeing a lot of holes for them in defence. I think Mick is hoping that Carlton start strong and play by score board pressure. problem is if we can apply serious early scoreboard pressure their back line could fall in a heap.

We would be more surprised if you played Big O instead of Maric and Lonergan instead of Cotchin. Sound good?:cool:

Lonergan might come in handy at stopping Carazzo :D

Who will play 2nd Ruck? Griff can't he'll be playing back on the resting Rucks.
I think a KPD, either Rance or Chaplin, to play on the resting rucks (oops, left that bit out.). Great upgrade over Post.

This also would give the chance for Griffiths to bomb it 60 meters forward anywhere on the ground. Although admittedly I struggle to remember the last time he won a hard ball.

Oh GrouchyBear you rascal. :)

His only skills are going had at it as an enforcer and extractor, and pumping it forward without thinking about it. In other words, wet weather footy.

His extraction skills are vastly overplayed by some. He plays a very outside role especially recently off a wing. His attributes don't suit this though given he is not quick, slow to move the ball on and choose the correct decision and an unreliable kick so he just bangs it forward long in hope.

You can't say extraction is a skill for Jackson given if he's tackled he can never get his arms free like any good mid and get a handball off at least. He just goes to ground and hope he doesn't get pinged.

Jackson is a liability and I'm sick of him being gifted games and not made accountable for poor performances. My only guess us it wouldn't look great if a leadership member isn't best 22 and Hardwick has respect for him because the players do off the field and on the track. He should grow some balls though and make the call that is long overdue.

Interestingly on the Carlton board they're not very happy with the Blues team selection either. (Omission of Laidler)

Going to be a close close game.

I'm starting to wonder if Batchelors selection is down to his ability to play tall and small (despite poor season form) to give us some flexibility depending on the side Carlton named.

His extraction skills are vastly overplayed by some. He plays a very outside role especially recently off a wing. His attributes don't suit this though given he is not quick, slow to move the ball on and choose the correct decision and an unreliable kick so he just hangs it forward long in hope.

You can't say extraction is a skill for Javkson given if he's tackled he can never get his arms free like any good mid and get a handball off at least. He just goes to ground and hope he doesn't get pinged.

Jackson is a liability and I'm sick of him being gifted games and not made accountable for poor performances. My only guess us it wouldn't look great if a leadership member isn't best 22 so I guess that has its perks.
Yep, he has all of the liabilities and limitations you described. On the other hand you're overplaying the negatives. He's not gifted games, he gets them because he can play a role and we've had shit stocks in the bank for the last 3 years. In other words, he's better than the copious amounts of shit we've culled from the list already.

When he's backup rather than starting 22 I think we'll all celebrate, but meantime trust me on this: If he were delisted today he'd be picked up by another team and play at least half the season.

Finally: he's perfectly suited to wet weather footy.