Preview Round 1: Carlton V Richmond - 28/03/2013 7:40pm @ MCG

Hope Jacko has a game like he did against the Crows, best game i have seen him play, or the Bombers round 22 when he dismantled the Brownlow medalist, second best game i have seen him play, or his round round 5 job on Hurn was a pearler and also kicked 2, third best game i have seen him play, or his game against McPhee in round 11, or round 17 against North, his 3 points converted would have given him Brownlow votes, or round 19 against the Lions he was one of our best.

Has flaws and i would assume would have probably 2 years left, but his worth to our team structure is obviously appreciated by Dimma and match committee. Unfairly gets a raw deal here.

I hope we exploit the shit out of Bootsma. How did he get a game ahead of Laidler who can play tall or small?

Would be very surprised if they didn't make a late change especially given the likelihood of rain.

Reckon Mick is trying to pull some tricks on us.

Vickery on HFF and on bench, assuming you mean Knights HFF? I prefer this team Cotchybear, but i do like that our first round draft pick and new recruits dont automatically come straight into the team. They need to earn their spot and force guys like King and Jackson out of the side.

What has Jackson done to earn his spot the last 2 years? Nothing. He's in the leadership group and Hardwick won't drop him because it sends a bad message to the younger brigade. It's his last year and we certainly won't miss him when he finishes up. I can singlehandly guarantee no other side would want Jackson. Not even GWS or GC.

Not sure if its been posted yet. On my phone and haven't been able to check the forum.

Petterd isn't playing because he's injured. Not sure what he injured, though.
Vlastuin isn't playing because the leadership group made a decision this week to make him earn his spot at Coburg.
Well the leadership group better lead us to a win!..Disturbing if this is true! Since when do the players pick the team? The Coach & Match commitee should always pick the best team on Form.Which Vlaustuin has proven he has been in our best team in the pre season.I would of thought the conditions would suit him tomorrow night.If it is wet i could still see him coming in for a tall .Has Martin & Newman recovered from pulling up sore?..Regardless this is a dangerous precedent the leadership group & club have set if it is true.
Just go out & lead us to a win each week leave the selection to the match committee.I reckon the heat is on jackson & batchelor to perform.This is a good thing.We are finally getting depth!

What has Jackson done to earn his spot the last 2 years? Nothing. He's in the leadership group and Hardwick won't drop him because it sends a bad message to the younger brigade. It's his last year and we certainly won't miss him when he finishes up. I can singlehandly guarantee no other side would want Jackson. Not even GWS or GC.

Im assuming your new to the country and have yet to see a Richmond game.

Hope Jacko has a game like he did against the Crows, best game i have seen him play, or the Bombers round 22 when he dismantled the Brownlow medalist, second best game i have seen him play, or his round round 5 job on Hurn was a pearler and also kicked 2, third best game i have seen him play, or his game against McPhee in round 11, or round 17 against North, his 3 points converted would have given him Brownlow votes, or round 19 against the Lions he was one of our best.

Has flaws and i would assume would have probably 2 years left, but his worth to our team structure is obviously appreciated by Dimma and match committee. Unfairly gets a raw deal here.

He may well be the whipping boy but let's not forget the multitude of times he has held up play by getting the ball and then just standing there while the cogs whir in his head as he wonders WTF to do with the ball. When he plays like that he is a liability.

And then there are the stupid frees he gives away by clocking someone off the ball. King used to be the same, but at least he has tightened up on that aspect of his game. I don't see any improvement in Jackson at all; I just see improvement in the way he is used, which is the defensive half forward where all he has to do is stop his man, or if he does get the ball, kick it in the direction of the goal square.

Just because he can speak French and goes in gay pride marches does not mean he is much chop at AFL level. The criticisms are warranted IMHO.

Its pretty funny how Jackson can commit one or two turnovers in a game and be completely crap and needs to be dropped/sacked despite whatever else he might accomplish. Others may make as many if not more mistakes in a game and it doesn't even get mentioned.

This exact side couldn't beat Carlton in 2012 or 2011 and we had Grimes and Foles in..

Can't see how we'll beat them with just Chaplin in there.
2 Things:
A).Nothing against Newman but we have a captain who is capable of leading by example.Has set the standard high during the pre-season.
B).Understanding a new game plan may take the Blues awhile.

Have faith Brother.

Are we going to beat the Carlton because we are a better side and we will play a better brand of footy..
Or will Carlton lose because they are still coming to terms with Malthouse's hug-the-boundary style of play...

No Adam Maric..Post...Miller...Grimes...Foley...
We have Chaplin...Griffiths and one of the following in...Vlastuin...White...Knights

Does that make us a stronger or weaker team than 2012 in regards to players choosen.. i think it does make us stronger...how strong is the question...
Our side has to be more experienced and settled now...
We have to be a good chance...a very good chance of rolling the blues tomorrow night...
Go tigers...:thumbsu:

And remember in our second game against the Blues last year, for some crazy unexplained reason Dimma subbed Jackson off in the 3rd qtr (who at the time was level pegging with Gibbs) for Lil Maric who went on to get 2 touches. In my opinion that cost us the game.

Its pretty funny how Jackson can commit one or two turnovers in a game and be completely crap and needs to be dropped/sacked despite whatever else he might accomplish. Others may make as many if not more mistakes in a game and it doesn't even get mentioned.
Exactly, and i also forgot his job on one of the games best up and comers in our last game last year on Hamish Hartlett.

Well the leadership group better lead us to a win!..Disturbing if this is true! Since when do the players pick the team? The Coach & Match commitee should always pick the best team on Form.Which Vlaustuin has proven he has been in our best team in the pre season.I would of thought the conditions would suit him tomorrow night.If it is wet i could still see him coming in for a tall .Has Martin & Newman recovered from pulling up sore?..Regardless this is a dangerous precedent the leadership group & club have set if it is true.
Just go out & lead us to a win each week leave the selection to the match committee.I reckon the heat is on jackson & batchelor to perform.This is a good thing.We are finally getting depth!
A lot of our development is player-driven. Every now and then, the coaches step back and let the leadership take total control. Helps fast-track development.

Quality post.

I'm assuming that's a dig at me but sarcasm can be difficult to interpret on the internet.

My point (which I thought was fairly clear) is that anyone (AFL footballer or not) can learn another language or put their hand up for a cause. Likewise I think that being part of the leadership group is a fairly tenuous thing to hang your hat on if you aren't any good as a player. But if that's the criteria for getting a game, well i'll be putting my hand up for next week.

At the end of the day I had him picked at HFF for Rd 1 myself, so I am not pissed off at him being selected. I do, however think that he is a player with very few strings to his bow and limited ability. If all he has to do is get the ball and kick it to the hot spot then I guess he's achieved his role. Actually I can live with that. But he's not an onballer of any quality at all (just way too slow of mind and nothing special disposal), and I think we have better tagging options. We tried him years ago as full forward in the preseason and that didn't even last into the season proper (Cotchin and Martin are much better options). As a defender, well I can't really remember but i'd be loathe to give it a try. Giving away dopey free kicks in out backline is not a good idea.

For now he's got a spot on the team and good luck to him. But HFF is probably the least important position on the ground and I think it's the only spot worth playing him in. I'll be surprised if he is still at Tigerland next year though. He can be easily replaced.

Interesting selections. Not sure we should go with 3 talls at either end...Would have swapped McGuane for a small and used Griffiths at whichever end he was needed.

White seems stiff.
I think it will be a weather issue. If it looks like being wet i would think White will come in for Griff, if it looks to be dry then they will line up as selected.

Interesting selections. Not sure we should go with 3 talls at either end...Would have swapped McGuane for a small and used Griffiths at whichever end he was needed.

White seems stiff.
I think there will be a number of strategic rotations through the forward line to blance out the height vs defensive forward pressure balacne. I'd imagine King and Nahas will spend 2/3rds of the game on the field together trying to run amoc or lock it in.... White didnt do quite enough to replace King or Nahas (or Edwards) so not enough room for him on top of those guys. He's going to struggle to get a game again this year unless there's injuries I reckon.

Don't worry people Jackson will really negate Yarran's influence...:rolleyes: We all know what's gonna happen. Yarran's going to go for his 10th sprint around the media performer and then the media performer will clothesline him, get suspended for one week, plead to Dimma his best mate to play him when he's back...and you guessed it..straight back in the team.
disgraceful he'd only get 1 week..

that aside, he will likely get the negating job on Gibbs. too slow for yarran who will get king. Morris onto Betts, who plays on Garlett?

disgraceful he'd only get 1 week..

that aside, he will likely get the negating job on Gibbs. too slow for yarran who will get king. Morris onto Betts, who plays on Garlett?

Rance/Ellis. Batch to play on the talls. Carlton's talls aren't exactly out of Batch's league if he decides to show his regular season mentality.

There is no way rance could play on Garlett

Ellis would be a better matchup on the hard running Armfield, doesnt have the speed and turning ability to take on someone as slippery as garlett imo

Houli/Newman on Armfield.

Jackson - I dont rate that highly and along with McGuane are not in my ideal team (white unlucky on nab form)

The only reason jackson is being played in my opinion is that he is 1 of very few players that actually negate judd very well - Not sure of the stats but every game i have seen him play on judd he has done well after sugar retired.

Personally i would of preffered to debut Vlastuin and played white instead of Jackson & McGuane

One more day until D-Day. The early mornings have been leading up to this very day. This exciting day. I haven't been able to get any sleep even though its the Easter holidays. Bless me footy gods. Bless me with joy. Bless me with a mighty win. Hail the lord!