Preview Round 10 - Geelong Cats v Port Adelaide Power, Simonds Stadium, Thursday 25th May 7:20pm

There comes a point where you acknowledge that some games are bigger than others. I understand the mindset we are trying to go for though. We're having to mollycoddle a notoriously flaky group by just treating every week as "one week at a time". However this game would be one of the games you fire the shot and say "this is a big one."

I'm worried we did that last week and now we've got no ammunition for this week.

I like to think we're over needing to be revved up every week the way we were in 2016. In the first installment of the Inside PA doco, Ken notably mentioned that there was a hunger back in the group. Our performances so far have shown that we are committed to the cause. Probably the only really disappointing moment was the last quarter vs. GWS. In every other game we've been up to our eyeballs in it til the last siren. I'm willing to back them in until they burn us.

Everything said, Jonas is going to rain down Hawkins' throat with hot acid and dissolve his testicles and turn his insides into snakes.

I'd like to the Janus heat map for that.

If we sat top for 23 rounds they would still criticize us coming into the first final due to not beating anyone above us

I'm pretty sure that happened in 2014 lol, after the first 12 or so games we were top of the ladder

Have to move that ball quickly, can't get into the defensive chippy rubbish we did v wce as soon as some defensive pressure is applied.

We stay the night
If we win take it easy in parts of Geelong. Haven't socialised there but a mate of mine whilst living in Melb and
playing in a band that had a regular Sat night gig there said it was band policy at the time to go back to Melb
no matter how late they finished.
Just say'in.

I just hope we're not playing catch up footy for most of the game on Thursday night alas vs WCE. We need to make a statement from the start and put the onus on them chasing the score. If we find ourselves 4 goals down early in the first quarter, might as well hand them the points at half time. We haven't been very good at chasing the score lately

If we win take it easy in parts of Geelong. Haven't socialised there but a mate of mine whilst living in Melb and
playing in a band that had a regular Sat night gig there said it was band policy at the time to go back to Melb
no matter how late they finished.
Just say'in.
Interesting, thanks for the advice mate.

Good luck this week guys, should be a cracker of a match. Its no secret that we play a different game at home due to the oval being narrower and its harder to get opened up which is an area we really struggle with on the big grounds like the MCG but I still think you will knock us off, we haven't proven anything so far this year and our form before the weekend was atrocious, i just have no faith in our guys to back up with a similar performance, obviously i would like to be proven wrong but I think you will get home by 18 points and control the game. Also anyone saying we are premiership favorites needs a kick in the teeth....nowhere near favorites, will just be happy to make the 8 at this stage.
I remember reading something scarily similar from a Geelong fan, just before you pulled our pants down last year. I for one am taking nothing for granted.

we were well in control until the fight started at quarter time. it fired them up and we forgot how to football.

thankfully, this year i think the only time we properly forgot how to football was q4 against gws.

i think we'll put up a decent fight but go down in a close one (like always)

Reckon you guys are a huge chance here. Geelong is off a 6 day break and I'm still not convinced that their win against the Dogs was that good. Dangerfield played out of his skin - you remove him and the Cats lose by 5 goals. I can't see him doing that 2 weeks in a row. Surely Port's coaching staff has a plan to curb his influence after what they saw last week. If you shut down Patty, you should come away with the win, hell even put two taggers on him if you have to because outside Dangerfield and Selwood there is daylight to Geelong's next best.. I rate Port's midfield and team as a whole one of the most balanced in the league. Port also off a 2 week break. But I'm just curious, how do you guys play after a bye usually? I know some teams come in well prepared but there also seem to be some who are still in holiday mode. I really like Port's odds here at 2.30 for the win, hoping you guys can give me some more confidence to place the bet lol.

There is absolutely no reason why we shouldn't win this. Which is usually a bad sign for us. Hopefully we can buck the trend.

my thoughts exactly. The only thing Geelong has going for them is the home ground advantage. I think Port has a better all-round team, better rested and you have 1 player on your injury list (which is amazing in itself). I think Port has great odds for this game. And if there is any team that Port would hate more than Adelaide.. it would be Geelong... for reasons I won't mention that happened around 10 years ago.

Well I hope Ken does mention it, and rams it down the players throats all week until they are ripping mad. Geelong is another team that used physical intimidation to get inside our players minds ... problem is that it has generally worked! :straining:

Preview Round 10 - Geelong Cats v Port Adelaide Power, Simonds Stadium, Thursday 25th May 7:20pm