Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond

I'm happy if saints fans want to think they will easily beat us, after all a lot of hawks supporters were saying the same thing last week.

Who said they will beat Richmond 'easily' ? Think the Saints have a good chance though.
On paper Tigers should have a clear advantage in the ruck with Maric.

For the record, I noticed in the romp over the bigtime Hawker, Richmond had about 8-10 more free kicks.....
I'm also happy if Richmond fans think it's going to be a Teddy Bears picnic :eek:

Richmond Team imo

.B: Newman - Rance - Morris
HB:Batchelor-Griffiths-Ellis
.C:Houli -Cotchin-Edwards
HF: Delidio-Vickery-Grigg
F: Nahas-Riewoldt-King
Fl:Maric-Martin-Tuck
I: Dea,Conca,jackson-white/Maric

Newman-Saad
Ellis-Milera
Rance-Roo
Griff-Kosi
Morris-Milne
Batchelor-?

Jackson-Goddard
(i think jackson will get the defensive foward job on bj)
Montagna & Hayes will be the 2 players that will need to be controlled for richmond to get up.

In all honesty its difficult to pick a winner but i believe Saints will go in as favourites because of the Etihad factor,But it would be the tigers if the game was at the G.

Danger players for saints-
Cotchin,Martin,Delidio,Foley ............. Everybody already knows about but the
''under the radar players that are really having a fantastic year are''
Tuck,Grigg,Maric,Rance,Morris.

Richmonds games so far-Results

Carlton - very competative game with carlton having a 15 minute purple patch that decided the game and made the score flattering for the blues

- carbon copy blues game 10minutes/ game over

- could of & should of beaten them at sleepy hollow , cats lucky to get away with 10 point win.

- A game that should of been won and worsfold is still kissing his lucky ass to get out of jail, with some interesting umpireing decisions that cost the tigers goals.

Essendon- Fantastic game where tigers were getting totally pansed untill they woke up and hit the front with 12 minutes to go just to have another 10 minute nap.

Melbourne,Port,Hawthorn,Sydney- All very convincing wins by the tigers

Personal opinion - Control Hayes,Roo,Milne richmond win
Control Cotchin,Martin,Delidio- Saints win

Tigers By 14 points

I dont think it would hurt if Gram went back in the VFL for Fisher. His disposal and decision making lets him down and his defensive side of the game hasnt improved. Cripps is building some good form and should stay ahead of Siposs. He reminds me abit of Jack Steven when he started to get a run of games.
IN Fisher, Schneider
OUT Gram, Siposs

I think there are two possibilities for this match, either one side shall take a medium sized lead and manage to hold onto it for most of the match (around 20-30 ppoints) or it'll be a real nail biter, and i think that if it is really close, the injection of speed + experience of the saints will get us over the line.

The tigs supporters are being a bit cocky except for the 1 or 2 that say the opposite from the rest, but thats normal with most clubs. I think you can't really question who has a better midfield, its the saints, but the tigers do have a very good one aswell, personally i think Dustin Martin is a bit overrated but on the other hand i think Cotchin is just a freak and Delidio is amazing. But the thing is i don't think ive seen one person be able to escape the tagging of CJ. So if we take out cotch we'll be handed the keys to victory.

On the other hand, we are low on our ruck "stocks" with big boy Mcevoy out and Stanley aswell, Blake has stood up in their absence but i think they'll win the hitouts, so not for the first time this season our midfield will have to give 120%.

I personally think with gwilt back our defences is perhaps only slightly better then theirs, if we get fisher it wont be a question and whos is better.

I think our forward line is better, but i cant really talk too much as i dont no much about their forwards except for a few. In a way its similar to ours with, milne/king, milera (or sad)/Nahas, Riewoldt/Riewoldt. But i think when we need our mids can stand up and score aswell.

Hopefully we can et over the line, i think we will, most commentators (Leigh Matthews), man i think hes got something against the saints, normally when were playing he always complains about us and says how good the other team is doing or if hes asked whos gonna win the match, i think i may have heards saints once or twice...

Saints by 18 ;)

Agree that Martin is an over rated midfielder. He's pretty good but he's not in the Hayes,Cotchin, DalSanto, Deledio class.
He's a better forward.
I reckon the next tier is the key .Foley I reckon is a gun and you'd come back with Steven. There's Tuck, Montagna,Grigg,Armitage etc. Reckon those blokes hold the key.
Pretty rich midfield contest and should be good to watch.

I've been scared of the Tiges ever since I watched them play Wet Toast. I think their midfield is red hot and their backline is fantastic. They bat pretty deep too - eg, there's that platinum blond gentleman who plays off half back for them who's an absolute gun.

It will be interesting to see if their backline can handle what is a super quick forward line with five genuine goal kickers - that will go a long way to deciding who wins. At the other end, it will be interesting to see whether the Tigers' big blokes can get a hold of our miniature backline.

This one has got me tense - win this, and we're top four material. Lose, and we'll be looking for seventh or eighth.

Agree that Martin is an over rated midfielder. He's pretty good but he's not in the Hayes,Cotchin, DalSanto, Deledio class.
He's a better forward.
I reckon the next tier is the key .Foley I reckon is a gun and you'd come back with Steven. There's Tuck, Montagna,Grigg,Armitage etc. Reckon those blokes hold the key.
Pretty rich midfield contest and should be good to watch.

This game will be won or lost with inside mids. The key is who on either side are willing to get the ball first. That's how the game will play out.

Who wants to win the ball? Who's hard enough? The first to the ball will prevail on the scoreboard

[youtube]ZnOZFx7BQKw[/youtube]

I've been scared of the Tiges ever since I watched them play Wet Toast. I think their midfield is red hot and their backline is fantastic. They bat pretty deep too - eg, there's that platinum blond gentleman who plays off half back for them who's an absolute gun.

and with a suspect temperament. :p

- A game that should of been won and worsfold is still kissing his lucky ass to get out of jail, with some interesting umpireing decisions that cost the tigers goals.

Or was it you guys who were lucky to get so close given we lost Brown 5 mins into the game and had a qtr without rotations before he was finally subbed off, and then Kennedy hopping around on one foot for the final qtr just to give us some rotations? No wonder we were being overrun. If you guys were good enough you would have won that game but the truth is you weren't so don't blame umpiring decisions.

'The Mullet, long thought to be extinct during the later part of the 1980's has disturbingly become somewhat of a fashion statement during the early 2010's. This re-emergence pays to the fact that "fashions come in 30 year cycles". Warwick Capper style shorts are thought to be next on the fashion horizon.'

'...and now, back to the football'.

Hmm what else was fashionable 30 odd years ago? :confused:

158495_2006_AFL_Richmond.jpg

:D

ATM it is not ticketed, if you are overtly worried then prepare for an influx around Wednesday and pre-purchase tickets. Despite being a well supported club, current history would have Richmond as the lower drawing of that bracket, but similarly also be aware that as they are "up" on these years these expectations should also be revised up.

So I'd say drop ticketmaster a line re availability, and if you're still worried 3 days before then just pre-buy them.

Purchased 2xGA tickets today - my Dad is a Richmond man and we love to watch the game live when our teams play each other.

I reckon it will be a full house and I remember the Essendon game (last year?) where people were standing in the aisles because they sold too many GA tickets on the day. As it is we are going to try and get there early...

Others in here are far more qualified to comment... IMO we have come through the last 4 games against top 8 sides with 2 wins. It could easily have been 3-6 and up shit creek without a paddle. This week is no gimmie and it's not going to get any easier but the boys are having a crack and playing attacking footy which is great to watch.

Can't wait for Friday night!:thumbsu:

Purchased 2xGA tickets today - my Dad is a Richmond man and we love to watch the game live when our teams play each other.

I reckon it will be a full house and I remember the Essendon game (last year?) where people were standing in the aisles because they sold too many GA tickets on the day. As it is we are going to try and get there early...

Others in here are far more qualified to comment... IMO we have come through the last 4 games against top 8 sides with 2 wins. It could easily have been 3-6 and up shit creek without a paddle. This week is no gimmie and it's not going to get any easier but the boys are having a crack and playing attacking footy which is great to watch.

Can't wait for Friday night!:thumbsu:

hrrmmm what went wrong with you ? :D

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...r-friday-sellout/story-e6frf9jf-1226370444854

THE St Kilda-Richmond Friday night blockbuster at Etihad Stadium is destined to be a sellout, with the AFL urging fans to snap up tickets in coming days.
AFL chief operating officer Gillon McLachlan last night said: "I think it will be a sellout, but it will only be late in the piece."

As it is a Saints home game, priority will be given to the club's reserved-seat holders, meaning Tigers fans are more likely to be squeezed out in one of the most anticipated matches of the year.

The game might have attracted 60,000-plus at the MCG given Richmond's resurgence. However, McLachlan said the interest in the game was impossible to read when the fixture was formulated.
"Now we've got a cracker," McLachlan said.

"Obviously, you don't want anybody missing out, but it's also great to have a game here at Etihad with an extraordinary atmosphere."

The best-case scenario is likely to be a sellout of about 50,000.

McLachlan said the game was far from a Tigers lock-out. He said: "The reality is, people can buy a ticket now, tomorrow and on Wednesday," McLachlan said.

I am a club member so was just planning on scanning my membership card at the gate. However my wife is also coming and she is not a member. I tried to buy her a single GA ticket online just minutes ago, and it says no tickets available. Can anyone confirm if GA tickets are sold out? Cheers

I got 2 yesterday mate, that stupid ticketmaster system wasn't letting me go through to buy them but it ended up working.

Ticketek is so much easier.

Just remember general admin memberships are subject to capacity so if it does sell out you won't be able to walk up on Gameday.

How about pre purchased unreserved GA tickets? If it is a sellout any chance I will get knocked back if I arrive early?

It's not a ticketed game. If you've purchased ticket then they have to let you in. It's just Saints GA members that need to be careful & make sure they dont miss out.

Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond