Preview Round 11: Geelong vs Big Big Sound, Sat 27 May @ 4:35pm at KP

Very early for mullin hope it doesnt backfire.

Knevitt needs a rest obviously as he has been good. Simpson to sub.

Although honestly i can see a late change or two.

Be interesting to see whether henry plays forward or back.

I flagged Mullin debit last week and people scoffed. He was very very close to playing, and the decision was only made late.

Scott has been a huge fan since he saw him on the track.

The bloke is a unit and has some elite skills. You’ll be pleasantly surprised how quickly this bloke adapts.

I agree, but only insofar as not naming the half back line Tuohy O’Connor Mullin.

Love to see him lining up (on) Toby
That's an interesting thought. Maybe they think Mullin's speed is a good match for Toby? I'd be worried about Toby's footy smarts against a guy who has literally played < 10 games of footy at any level in his life...

Yeah, we're running out of players to put in the middle but O'Connor is one we can push up there.

A little bit surprised to see Knevitt and Simpson dropped - thought we'd need one of those to rotate through the middle too.

Tip for the game: Oisin to go PFD and have 8 clearances, 500m gained, 9 tackles, and 1.2.

I assume knevitt needs a rest to keep him fresh for next week.
Mullin probably plays HB so oconnor can go tk midfield.
Unless theres a late out and simpson is back in.

Yeah, we're running out of players to put in the middle but O'Connor is one we can push up there.

A little bit surprised to see Knevitt and Simpson dropped - thought we'd need one of those to rotate through the middle too.

Tip for the game: Oisin to go PFD and have 8 clearances, 500m gained, 9 tackles, and 1.2.

I reckon Mitch will be sub

That's an interesting thought. Maybe they think Mullin's speed is a good match for Toby? I'd be worried about Toby's footy smarts against a guy who has literally played < 10 games of footy at any level in his life...

Bews will get toby as much as he is out of form hes done it before.

I'm not really surprised to see Mullin here. The like to debut the Irishmen early and gws has the perfect opportunity for him to tag an oppo small forward in Brent Daniels. I'm excited to see him have a go.

Congrats to Oisin. He who dares wins- good luck to him. Given our year is hanging by an injury thread now, might as well get games into the future. Comon Geelong. Looking forward to seeing him.

Club has lost the plot!! You have no midfielders left and you drop Knevitt who has been ok and rest Simpson, then you bring in an Irishman who is so far off AFL level its not funny, taking the piss
have you seen him play in the vfl? he’s looked steady and composed every time I’ve seen him, not surprised at all he’s getting a game.

It isn’t about Mullin being “ready” or not. Two things:

1. The cupboard is bare. Heaps of games are going to players who would be undeserving if we had a fit list.

2. The club would be looking ahead to post bye and seeing that there won’t be another chance to get a game or two into Mullin so now is the best chance to do so this season.

Mullin must be showing plenty at training.
Pumped he is playing as it’s a great sign of how the club rates him.

Still reckon he is miles off but I don’t care, who knows, getting him I and playing now might fast track him to the level that he could legitimately play ahead of Bews come finals time.

But it’s more likely we are just getting him a game that we think we will win with him.

Either way... it’s still a good sign for the future.

I think Knevitt should be Sub, would be good to just keep him ticking over for half a game, or 1.5 quarters or so.

Wouldn't mind Willis getting a run as Sub either.

We probably need to get a few wins on the board, and a few other players back before resting the older brigade from time to time, just to keep them fresh, thought the bye will help with that.

People are seriously melting about Knevitt, who is clearly in need of a rest, out for a fresh legged debutant? It's not going to decide the game. Simpson has also looked a bit leggy and O.Henry is an upgrade. De Koning in is huge for us.

Once again a fair bit simply depends on how well Blicavs, Atkins and Parfitt do in the middle. Perhaps Cameron and O'Connor are rolled through there more as well.

With Mullin in and I'm wondering why Bews has been named. Insurance I guess.

Simpson has been dropped. Parfitt stays in for now, but he'll need to influence tha game on Saturday, otherwise I wouldn't't play him however injuries we have.

I'm a bit surprised to see Knevitt go as he has not been the worst latterly; perhaps he'll be sub.

Club has lost the plot!! You have no midfielders left and you drop Knevitt who has been ok and rest Simpson, then you bring in an Irishman who is so far off AFL level its not funny, taking the piss

Take a deep breath grasshopper.

Knevitt and Simpson both need a rest. Mullin will surprise - and I’ll assume at this stage you’ve done zero research.

Sport science team at the club say they’ve never seen an athlete like him walk through the doors. Tuohy refers to him as the equivalent (in Gaelic) to Nick Daicos and says no one at the club gets near him in most of the testing.

Have some faith. Do you honestly think they’d pick him just to take the urine?

have you seen him play in the vfl? he’s looked steady and composed every time I’ve seen him, not surprised at all he’s getting a game.
Yes have seen him and is not AFL standard, he has only played a handful of games in his life for god sake. Happy to be proven wrong but my assessment is based on actually watching him play.

Interesting team. Seems a bit early for Hoisin but looking forward to seeing how he goes. Solidly built with some toe. Midfield looks shallow shallow so I expect they'll have some left field rotations happening. Tuohy a cat amongst the pigeons. Cameron will be rotated through the middle as well. The two Greene and Green will have to be contained. Desperate times.