Autopsy Round 12, 2024: Hawks stone the Crows

Thought Nicks’ presser was a bit ungracious. Basically no credit to the Hawks for the win, basically insinuated that it was they who lost it and blamed their “worst quarter in years”.
Nick's is like alot of their supporters, head in the sand about our rapid improvement, I'd argue he hadn't seen much of us at all recently. He also is delusional about how good he's own side is. If they were a good side we wouldn't have been able to dismantle them so well and so quickly. Probably going to start feeling the heat back home so is frustrated.

I think Nicks is a huge campaigner. One of the most unlikable coaches in the league.

I still remember when he was on 360 with Sam. Robbo and Gerard were discussing the signage we hold up at various stages of the game and having a bit of a laugh as the signs can be odd.

They then ask Nicks if his team does it and he makes a side mouthed smart ass comment like ‘we don’t bother with that nonsense we just let our footy do the talking’

I’ve been tilted ever since hahaha
Yeah I remember that. Bloke has had much more time to get his team in the right direction yet wants to lecture others about how they go about it. Sounds like a condescending tool which is why I'm glad we wrecked them yesterday. He can stay in the land of denial all he likes.

It's surprising to see our tackle count was only 54, with Adelaide ending up with 58.

Honestly it felt like our relentless pressure and tackling was the best it's been since our GOAT tier team was setting the tone early in big finals.

Can you imagine if we scraped into the finals this year. Just imagine it. After all the crying, sooking, wailing and gnashing (nashing?) of teeth from Hawk supporters, after clickbait-desperate media mouthpieces howling about tanking and saying ‘Tassie will win a flag before Hawthorn do’, and people blindly swallowing it.

I don’t think it will happen, but one can dream, can’t one?

Next year, that’s a different story…

A lots been said in this thread about the game already. However the difference between our past wins in 2023 and our wins now is the amount of defensive running we do. We were ferocious at the man and the ball. It's not just about the tackles but the frontal pressure the knock downs the shepherds the blocks. You name a team football edict we didn't display in that game including the last goal of the game.

We r a happy TEAM at hawthorn. Our ability to play for each other help each the team comraderie and dynamics and game style makes us one of the most attractive teams to watch in the AFL.

We sort of tired towards the end of the game and our pressure did fall away. Remember we were coming off a 6 day break after beating the lions. I can't wait for next week a big test. GWS has the best backline in the league. And when we beat them the lid is well and trully coming off. Onwards and upwards

CBA breakdown for the game, out of a max of 31.

For us:
25 - Newcombe
24 - Day
22 - Reeves
21 - Worpel
18 - Nash
9 - Chol
3 - Moore
2 - Mackenzie

And for them:
30 - ROB
21 - Soligo
20 - Crouch
15 - Dawson
12 - Berry, Michalanney
10 - Laird
2 - Rachele
1 - Burgess

Clearances Total and Centre Clearances (midfield group only):
9 | 4 - Newcombe
7 | 4 - Crouch
5 | 4 - Day
5 | 1 - Worpel
4 | 3 - Nash
3 | 3 - Chol, Soligo
3 | 0 - Moore
3 | 2 - Reeves
3 | 1 - Laird
3 | 0 - ROB
1 | 1 - Michalanney
1 | 0 - Dawson, Rachele

We dominated them in the clearances. Only Crouch put up a fight for them.
Chols impact was huge, would love to see it for 5 minutes every quarter

This collection of pressure acts is amazing, it is a whole thread of some 7-8 videos.

This one has Dear in it, there is CMac, Daysy Scrim & more

Loved that at the ground, the Dear one had the crowd as excited as if he'd taken a hanger. Insane second, third and forth efforts that'll win heavy praise in the post-game review. Beautiful footy. The crowd response to our pressure that third quarter was brilliant, everyone knew we were taking the next step right there.

The 80s were so much better than today, it's not even a
But that is on par with games in the 80s, which some say are the "good ol days" (I don't subscribe though).

It didn't feel like it slowed down the game at all.
The first time in a long long time, I called the HTB, the play-on or the ball up and was almost always the same as the umpire. Surely that has to be a good thing.

There was period of play about 5 minutes later on the half forward flank that was the best period of manic pressure I have seen at Hawthorn since Cyril and Puopolo retired
Got me standing and applauding

How good was Reiwoldt fanboiing over us during the game.
I hated him as a player but I like him as special comments ( but not when he commentated Tigers games).
Genuinely enjoys the footy he's watching and has some good insights into game.

On SM-S906E using BigFooty.com mobile app

How good was Reiwoldt fanboiing over us during the game.

The way Dear keeps launching at the ball probably reminds himself of what he was like as a young kid starting his AFL career.

Very good for 2 and a half quarters then it became sloppy and selfish.

Next step Is to bury a team, been up by 40+ in the 3rd quarter 3 times so far for just a 45 and 27 point wins and the Port loss

We dropped away when Reeves went off injured and steady'd when he returned. Certaianly there were selfish moments but they werent all in the 3rd.

After today, I think CJ should be having a spell regardless of suspension or not.
Ward was the stand out mid for BH. Got to reward form and CJ hasn’t earned selection this week.

CJ has been struggling a bit to get involved. He has a few almost moments (the dropped mark 35m out, etc.) yesterday.

If he isn't given a few games at Box Hill then make giving him a defensive job (Whitfield?) might help him work his way into the game next week.

I'd love to see Ward come into the side though.

After today, I think CJ should be having a spell regardless of suspension or not.
Ward was the stand out mid for BH. Got to reward form and CJ hasn’t earned selection this week.
Watching him at the ground he just seemed a bit out of sync with the rest of the team. Which is understandable given how much footy he's missed in the last 12 months. Though he still ran hard and put in some good defensive efforts.

The solution might be to continue playing him. But then there are plenty knocking the door down after todays VFL game.

The 80s were so much better than today, it's not even a debate.
IMG_4751.jpeg

David McMahon and every VFL footballer who slogged it out on those muddy paddocks (which we rarely saw on The Winners) respectfully disagrees.

Can you imagine if we scraped into the finals this year. Just imagine it. After all the crying, sooking, wailing and gnashing (nashing?) of teeth from Hawk supporters, after clickbait-desperate media mouthpieces howling about tanking and saying ‘Tassie will win a flag before Hawthorn do’, and people blindly swallowing it.

I don’t think it will happen, but one can dream, can’t one?

Next year, that’s a different story…
It was our worst start since 1950 so any disconcertion was probably justified. And we still haven't beaten anyone in the 8 so we cant get too far ahead of ourselves but absolutely we can dream..I've already called we will win the flag next year

Essendon and Geelong are 2nd and 3rd right now with 1 win against top 8 sides in the books. Melbourne are currently 10th with 3 wins against top 8 sides.

It's a weird season, I don't really think us not having beat a top 8 team yet means too much.

Autopsy Round 12, 2024: Hawks stone the Crows