Round 16 Discussion (Dedicated to Nelso)

Western Bulldogs vs. Geelong Cats (MRVL) (N)

Western Bulldogs:

Caleb Daniel:
aka Tom Thumb has served his owners incredibly well, the pocket rocket delivering maxi output on a mini budget with a 102 average for a 430k starting price. Alas, this weekend his string went ping and he’ll be out for up to 3-4 weeks. It could have been much worse, an injury-impacted 88 is pretty bloody fair. Thanks to his 532k current price, those looking to trade him out have some great options, especially if they have a little bit of moolah underneath the mattress. Rowan Marshall, Travis Boak and Scott Lycett and Forgett should all be just about in reach.
Daniel in happier times with mentor P.T. Barnum and dressed up as Napoleon at the 2018 Mad Monday.

Josh Dunkley: Dunkley fell slightly short of expectations with a nonetheless solid 111. Wet conditions will always favour a solid contested player and Dunkley’s average footskills are not as much of an issue, so owners might have been hoping for slightly more. Did his job ultimately. Will set you back 623k, too rich for my blood.

Jackson Macrae scored 142 on top of his 148 last round and 150 in rd 13. He was terrific all night and is currently a first-line C/VC option. He’ll set you back 632k this week, meaning he’s got to keep going at around 125-odd to score to price. But it’s not so much about that at this time of year, it’s just as much about absolute output vs his topliner peers.

Marcus Bontempelli: started the game off fantastically, handling the ball as if it were a dry day while all others where fumbling and falling over in the first quarter. He slowed down over the final three quarters to finish on 130, but he was a cut above the peloton on the night. 532k for a 114 average is not overs.

Ryan Gardner represents a downgrade target for some with his FWD/DEF DPP and 102k bargain basement price, but only as a looper (e.g. for any planning on using Darcy Moore as cover) with an outside chance of getting the odd game.

Geelong Cats

Patrick Clangerfield
did not fire as the VC, finishing on a pedestrian 83. This was actually a pretty miraculous score given he finished with a Guinness Book of World Records for Shitness worthy 0% DE by foot. No skin off Scotty’s nose, though, he had the C on Pig Macrae anyway.

Danger carried on like a pork chop and flopped around like a baby seal after a couple too many longnecks, just your standard day in the office for the one and only Dramafield. Keep yours eyes peeled to see if he is a late out this week as some whispers are suggesting.

Hey Paddy, what’s your secret to making Fireman Kane almost seem like an OK bloke in comparison? Aah, now that’d be telling…

Tim Kelly picked up the slack and just got on with the job to finish on 128, At 550k for a 110+avg,, he’s a solid option to replace Caleb Daniel if you don’t already have him. The Cats would be doing everything they can to retain him and hoping he will resist the Perth clubs’ overtures.

Mitch Duncan underwhelmed marginally with an 86, He’s dropped to 556k and his avg has dipped just under 110 at 109-odd.

Sam Menegola might be returning soon and will set you back 419k when he does and has a BE of 64, but he’s in a similar boat to Taylor Adams now and might end up a late injury replacement for some at best.

Tom Stewart was brought in by quite a few and with an 88 to his name, dropped ever so slightly in price to just under 490k. He’s solid, no mess, no fuss and an absolutely viable final upgrade target for those already in possession of Thunderthighs and The Shameful Gull.

Tom Hawkins had a 74 to go with last round’s 24. Next week is the week to pounce if you can hold off as with a BE of 162 and a price of 432k, he could even drop down to 400k or below, which makes him very enticing as a FWD with proven ceiling for the run home on a $/kg bodyweight basis. I pronounce him to be Smooth Jimmy’s Lock of Next Week.

Mark ‘Brownfang’ Blicavs might be an interesting left-field DEF option at 392k if he sees ruck exposure on the run home. He’s boutique and would be even more enticing if (a) you could have any faith in Scott to not fling the magnets around willy nilly and (b) if there were bonus points handed out for mentions of his career as a steeplechaser.

Fremantle vs. West Coast Eagles (OS) (N)

Fremantle:

The Dockers let a golden opportunity to press their claim for a top eight berth go begging in losing a close one to the Blues in a genuine boilover.

Nathaniel Fyfe was the star for Freo with 147 and was in everything. There were reasons not to start him /pick him up at his trough price of 560k-odd due to his durability issues and the hard surface at Optus etc., but as it stands, those who shorted The Flog Prince this year, myself included, have gambled and lost.

Griffin ‘Gold Loguie’ resumed normal transmission with a 67after averaging almost 100 over hisfirst two games. This is more likely where his average will end up mid-term, but as cheap D7 cover he’s more than acceptable. He rose 74k on the weekend to be on 239k, and with a BE of -28, he’ll rise again in the immediate future.
Connor Blakely scored a solid 105 after getting out of the blocks slowly and appeared to get a bit further up the ground. Michael Walters scored 81 points more than he should have given he got off on ‘unintentionally headbutting’ – pull the other one, Son Son, she plays Jingle Bells.

David Mundy has just about bottomed out at 430-odd k and a 100-odd BE for those who have been waiting to pounce on The People’s Geriatric and his Zimmer frame- fueled deliciousness

West Coast:

Luke Shuey
led the way and was the difference in the end. He scored a 133, racking up 9 tackles, disposing of the footy 29 times, with 27(!) of those by foot. He gave away 4 frees and has a fair few clangers, otherwise this might have been a 170 sort of game. He has risen to a shade under 550k which is mild overs for a 106 season average.

Elliot Yeo surged late to finish on 93, which was not overly inspiring for anyone who brought him in off the back of his 120 5-rd average heading into rd 16. At 575k, you’d want him to at least run the uberpremos close over the closing rounds to pick him.

Andrew Gaff scored 89 for the second week running, getting a heap of the ball but not using it that effectively (he is actually among the poorer users in the side by foot, for what it’s worth). 89 represents his (pretty high) floor. He would set you back 537k and has a BE of 140, so there’s no huge rush on him this week unless you don’t want to wait and just want to lock away a final upgrade.

Shannon Hurn also remained below expectations with a 104 after last week’s 92. He’s currently at 545k. With a BE of 127, you’ll likely see old Drumsticks drop to around 535k next week if you can / have to wait.

Nic Naitanui scored a very solid 99 off very limited TOG first up. That consisted almost entirely of HTA which is fairly typical for him, he’s not a huge possession getter / stat padder, he’s an impact type. At 524k and with his injury issues of the last two years, it would be a gutsy move to bring him in, might be handy to plug a hole in draft, though.

Sunday, July 7 Carlton vs. Melbourne

Carlton:

Carlton held on for a gritty win by less than a kick over Freo away, lifting them off the bottom of the ladder, which is probably of a fair bit of interest given that their first pick next year belongs to Adelaide. SOS might have committed the first self-checkmate in 4D chess history there, but it all depends on how Stocker comes on and at least the Blues had the courage to back themselves in.

We’re only giving away pick 2 now, boys! How’s the serenity?

Sam Walsh’s score was not terrible at 80, but he’s shown some fairly average disposal of late and is probably beginning to tire a bit. He probably has the Rising Star sewn up, but I’m not sure he should with Rozee and Stack performing at a similar level and both showing some handy versatility.

Liam Stocker remains out, but for most he’s probably irrelevant at the moment, you’ve either swept out the sheds already or have retained him as a looper. He might do more for you in death than he could in life in that case.

Patrick Cripps was out with a foot / toe issue, which forced many to take pot luck with a Clarke / Bewley / Hately. The early talk is that he’s coming along well and is a chance to play, but AFL clubs are a pack of lying mongrels on this front and the pricks couldn’t lie straight in bed.

Mick Gibbons lodged a 62 and had the odd nice moment, he might have helped provide cover for the three men and a dog who didn’t cull him on his bye.
Generated nigh on 200k for his owners and has made the most of his chance. Hats off to Funky.

SPS has regained momentum after stalling for a while, but with his output up and down, he’s not one you’d look at other than in keeper leagues for this year at least.

Marc Murphy is an interesting MID-only bargain buy. Carlton fans seem to think he’ll be more off a wing and not relevant, but with Cripps out, he got some time in the middle and the result was a 125. His injury-impacted score of 18 in rd 9 has now dropped out and he’s at 379k with a BE of 1 if you’re keen.

Melbourne:

The SuperCoach community was plunged into crisis as Max Gawn crashed to 690k with a 212 BE after a calamitous injury-impacted 45, taking down around 20% of coaches who slapped the C on The Beard down with him.

If you look closely, you can pinpoint the exact moment the heart of anyone with the C on him breaks.

The only party to profit from the disaster was the manufacturer of Wet Ones, its share price skyrocketing as some viewers with suboptimal sphincter control mechanisms literally soiled the underpant as they watched Maxy drop his strides and figuratively snap one off right on their doorstep.

We’re playing for ****ing sheep stations here, Maxy! Sheep stations are on the ****ing line! What part of sheep stations don't you understand, dickhead?

He’s poised to shed close to 100k and there are arbitrage plays with a Lycett to be had, for example, as well as options to plug with a Peter Ladhams on the bubble orJustin Westhoff if named.

There will be a few coaches running around with some serious PCMSD (Post Captaining Maxy Stress Disorder), but it is what it is and running around with shit on your liver won’t help. We pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and have another crack. That's science...

Clarinald Oliver (554k MID, BE 111) scored 103, which was not awful but also a fair way off the genuine topliners. The good news is that if he can find a way to tidy up his disposal, he will score at SP levels. The bad news is he’s done it once in a blue moon this year.

We didn’t stump up 620k expecting a ranga who can’t even stick a 2.5m handball to an open teammate, Clarry!

Angus Brayshaw’s scoring might – I know, I know, it sounds crazy, but just hear me out, yeah? – improve if Mastermind Goodwin were to ever play the kid in the first 6 minutes of a quarter and / or give him more than 70% TOG. His CBAs are up and down like a yoyo and his 70-odd this week was the result of some less than crisp disposal and low TOG/ CBAs.

Marty Hore realistically probably needs to go unless you need the cover and/or can’t use the cash elsewhere

I'm having problems with Houli's scoring ......any coincidence that his run of great scores finished eaxactly when Ramadan finished .....he looks chubbier

As a SuperCoacher we go to great lengths for our team members .....so I've resurrected an ancient tribal SC dance ....hoping this stimulates Houli on the weekend

giphy.gif

Houli was always a trap and Short has destroyed his SC scoring capacity.

Enjoy.

For us Milera Owners ....wearing this guernsey brings out the best in our players

ROB v Lycett will be a cracker of a duel

Edit .....just checked, that ownership of Milera is me and 3 others .....so a small group of brothers

You might want to have your goon squad have a quiet word with Mr Short when you're done twerking.

They're ready .....very influential ....these days referred to as "Social Influencers"

Just to be clear, this is the mob that served me up a s**t sandwich to the tune of 2152 last weekend. Had Grundy as captain and also have Marshall and Fyfe, yet couldn't crack 2200 with one short of a complete team. Yep, these projections are clearly designed to induce physical violence against computer screens.

Pretty sure everyone that had Gawn as captain still outscored me. :'(:'(

View attachment 702225
The predictions are all over the place .....IIRC last week Macrae was predicted to score 90

You've got one hand on the SC forum '2019 MVP' badge. Good stuff, gutsroy you're finding ways to raise the bar every week. Loving the use of photoshoops and memes.

So my tireless work checking the sunday night superstars counts for nothing?
I see how it is now. Fine then ill sit back this week and them run free.....let WaynesWorld19 congratulate all of them and the floodgates will open....

8o-5Vj1iRDiy2DH_aK_Xaah_3sXyQntaR-8aAE1z31U9cv-SeUIGTE6wFqCg8zhtAGekA2pZe_uF4UUDdMJrBufWMw4GT7UewO2HSwoHSMk8cUXaVvxdhw=w500-h281-nc

I see how it is now. Fine then ill sit back this week and them run free.....let WaynesWorld19 congratulate all of them and the floodgates will open....
Count me out too Boss.

Andrew Birch at the end of the season, the SuperCoach Board should have a gala evening for the MVP ....I can advise, given we do such evenings for the SFA Best and Fairest

Count me out too Boss.

What Al & Alf Security on strike? :eek: I wonder what Chuck & Bruce are doing Sunday night. :think:

I'm sure I can think up some bogus other end of year award that recognises your particular skill-sets. 🥊

What Al & Alf Security on strike? :eek: I wonder what Chuck & Bruce are doing Sunday night. :think:

I'm sure I can think up some bogus other end of year award that recognises your particular skill-sets
. 🥊
:D

Andrew Birch at the end of the season, the SuperCoach Board should have a gala evening for the MVP ....I can advise, given we do such evenings for the SFA Best and Fairest

I was thinking more along the lines of awards decided and handed out by the Mod team that are affectionally known as the "Birka's" :D

I like the idea of a SC Forum B&F or B&W (best and worst) night, but I don't want it to turn into a popularity contest. The best and worst should be recognised on merit. Worst is just as important as best IMO. There have been some awful trades this year that really need to be acknowledged!

Yes, a gala evening SFA style would be grand. You can run it if you like.

I was thinking more along the lines of awards decided and handed out by the Mod team that are affectionally known as the "Birka's" :D

I like the idea of a SC Forum B&F or B&W (best and worst) night, but I don't want it to turn into a popularity contest. The best and worst should be recognised on merit. Worse is just as important as best IMO. There have been some awful trades this year that really need to be acknowledged!

What about that guy that traded brouch and kept Rockliff. Gonna be hard to beat....

I'm sure I can think up some bogus other end of year award that recognises your particular skill-sets. 🥊
giphy.gif

What about that guy that traded brouch and kept Rockliff. Gonna be hard to beat....

giphy.gif

Haha thanks Req. Followed it up with this beauty.....

View attachment 702465

No surprises that it'd had been one of my worst starts ever.
I started off terribly myself mate, after round 6 I was ranked 51,558 :'(

This one really hurt, Atkins > LDU:

I also traded out Fyfe in round 4, and later back in.