Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*

You hope, no evidence to say you are correct.
competing most of the time vs both Lever and May most of the night Hammer did pretty bloody well, 2 of the better defenders in the comp, he got his hands to more than enough and brought the pressure when he could. another pre-season or 2 and he won't be so easy to push around.

and then there are our absolutely dumb ass mids just bombing it long and high every chance we get. We cant even hit our own team with the consistency we hit May tonight

your barking up the wrong tree.

I love Hammer, but he had some really poor moments tonight. I think it's stuff that can be fixed though.

You are a tough marker. I thought he was great. He contests every thing and works to find space. His poise and skills will improve but he is showing more than guys like Philippou and probably actually Owens tonight. He’s played about 12 career games at AFL or VFL level. He’s outperforming by heaps.

Anybody who thinks Billings isn’t best 22 is dreaming.
The way he sets up play with his handballs and field kicking is something we have seriously lacked.
When the balls in his hands I’m confident he’s finding a team mate.
I just wish he would take the game on more, he has the skills to do so. Too often he takes the safe option. A decent return nonetheless.

Even if we lose Max for the rest of the year, the huge positive from tonight was seeing probably the best games all year from Steele, Roma and Gresh, plus Jones and Billings slotting back in and looking like they’ll add positively to the group.

To play your best footy there’s no getting around it, you need your best players playing well. Melbourne effectively won tonight because of May and Petracca. When your best stand up, you can go places.

So if we can have those guys (the first 4 in particular) playing at a standard anything like that for the remainder of the year, we’ll be cooking with MUCH more gas than we have been of late.

We were super competitive with a top 4 team tonight- despite being down to 2 on the bench for the last 3 quarters- and next week could potentially add in all of Hill, Higgins, Clark and Battle. Then maybe Hayes a week or two later.

We have according to Champion Data the easiest draw for the remainder of the year, so it would be very disappointing if we don’t at least maintain our current position.

competing most of the time vs both Lever and May most of the night Hammer did pretty bloody well, 2 of the better defenders in the comp, he got his hands to more than enough and brought the pressure when he could. another pre-season or 2 and he won't be so easy to push around.

and then there are our absolutely dumb ass mids just bombing it long and high every chance we get. We cant even hit our own team with the consistency we hit May tonight

your barking up the wrong tree.
You keep banking for incompetence, that's the saints spirit.

You are a tough marker. I thought he was great. He contests every thing and works to find space. His poise and skills will improve but he is showing more than guys like Philippou and probably actually Owens tonight. He’s played about 12 career games at AFL or VFL level. He’s outperforming by heaps.
he was ordinary at best, but he tried hard.

He cost 3-4 scoring opportunities tonight, including 2 gimme's in front of goal.

He's doing well for a 19 year old with no pre season and has some good attributes but we'd be better off right now if we had another option.

The more games he plays the more confidence he is getting and as a 19yr old he is only going to get bigger and stronger , so we have a hell of a player in the making.

That’s the form we’ve been looking for.. Thats the way we want to play. Probably should’ve won in the end. Steele back to what looked like his best just makes us look a lot better in the middle. We keep that form we will play finals. Max on ice for the rest of the year no matter the outcome of the scans, 22 not going to win it this year so let’s just get it tight for 24. But playing finals would be a huge result for a lot of our young players And attracting FA.

Big shout-outs to the 2nd halves of Byrnes and Windy. I bemoaned that I thought we were almost playing two short at half time, with them having had just 4 and 5 disposals respectively to that point, but they both lifted significantly and had 14 touches each in the 2nd half.

Ronnie going at 100% DE for the match as someone else noted and really taking the game on in that 2nd half, and Windy going at an excellent 84%. He had 0 touches in the first, so 19 for the last 3. Was an interesting move playing him in defence.

We played with good old fashioned St Kilda heart and spirit again tonight which was great to see, they should be two non negotiables for any Saints side

I can cop us losing due to lack of skills or ability but when we lose due to lack of heart and spirit that's what really gets my goat.

he was ordinary at best, but he tried hard.
19yr old playing against May and Lever you could of expected him to be ordinary and did some stupid stuff , but he applied pressure and made the backs work laying 8 tackles which is pretty impressive for a tall forward.
We are doing well getting games into him as he is developing - he is only going to get bigger and stronger so he is going to be a player and atm he is most probably our best tall target because we don't have anyone else.
Another way to look at it is we had Cordy playing as a tall forward and he never got near it at least this kid is fighting for the ball.

We played with good old fashioned St Kilda heart and spirit again tonight which was great to see, they should be two non negotiables for any Saints side.

I can cop us losing due to lack of skills or ability but when we lose due to lack of heart and spirit that's what really gets my goat.
good signs tonight with Steele getting back to what we expect from him and signs Billings , Jones are going to only strengthen the side with Hill , Battle and Higgins coming in next week.

19yr old playing against May and Lever you could of expected him to be ordinary and did some stupid stuff , but he applied pressure and made the backs work laying 8 tackles which is pretty impressive for a tall forward.
We are doing well getting games into him as he is developing - he is only going to get bigger and stronger so he is going to be a player and atm he is most probably our best tall target because we don't have anyone else.
Another way to look at it is we had Cordy playing as a tall forward and he never got near it at least this kid is fighting for the ball.
Glad you are positive, hope he proves you right.

FMD some over the top comments around Ming. Previously to this year he had missed 5 games in the last 3 years and a few of those have been rested.

Some dude on the game day thread wanted to trade him because he only has a career goal average of 2 a game. He's just turned 23 FFS, he's still a pup and only a couple of other current players had cracked the 50 goals in a season by 22.

Ridiculous.
That was me.

As I said, if we were offered two top ten picks and a mid, then I'd take it.

He's a two goal a game forward.

good signs tonight with Steele getting back to what we expect from him and signs Billings , Jones are going to only strengthen the side with Hill , Battle and Higgins coming in next week.

Yeah some good signs with guys coming back from injury, doesn't look good with King though, Lyon didn't seem that confident about him in his presser.

We played better without King earlier in the year and we were less predictable, we still won games under Lyon in 2010 when Riewoldt was out injured.

We can still find a way to win, I think Lyon coaches better when we are up against the odds, he likes a challenge.

Even if we lose Max for the rest of the year, the huge positive from tonight was seeing probably the best games all year from Steele, Roma and Gresh, plus Jones and Billings slotting back in and looking like they’ll add positively to the group.

To play your best footy there’s no getting around it, you need your best players playing well. Melbourne effectively won tonight because of May and Petracca. When your best stand up, you can go places.

So if we can have those guys (the first 4 in particular) playing at a standard anything like that for the remainder of the year, we’ll be cooking with MUCH more gas than we have been of late.

We were super competitive with a top 4 team tonight- despite being down to 2 on the bench for the last 3 quarters- and next week could potentially add in all of Hill, Higgins, Clark and Battle. Then maybe Hayes a week or two later.

We have according to Champion Data the easiest draw for the remainder of the year, so it would be very disappointing if we don’t at least maintain our current position.
I missed the entire game. What happened to Max?

Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*