Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*

Might get shouted down here but… gee don’t we play a better brand of football when Max is not playing?
Not sure the reasoning, are the players told to only kick it to him or do the players themselves think they have to get it to him, maybe we can do a Bing with him next season,play him at CHB & keep the current setup seeing we are crying out for a tall backman.

Steele amazing, back to his best hopefully. Marshall outstanding, I hate it when fans say we should get rid of him, always one of our best. Jones was electric, Webster brilliant on an overrated Kossie, and whipping boy Byrnes did some exceptional things.

Unfortunately, and I hate to say this since I love the kid, Caminiti was a liability for majority of the night. Can’t remember one handball of his that didn’t nearly miss his hand. Phillipou also I think needs a spell in the twos to really dominate a game, he goes missing a lot. Which is totally fine for a first year player, not attempting to pot him.

Onto next week, if we’re a serious finals contender then I expect us to win the next 3.

Hammer wasn't a liability!

He's a 19 year old key fwd!

Again he is 19!

To have 8 tackles as KPF is ridiculously good.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I agree
Pou needs to make way for Higgins
LOL
No
I'm not convinced with Caminiti, his skills are poor.
Lol
No
So when the opposition wins the centre clearance you can judge what our attacking side midfielder does. You must have a wide screen telly.
And when he's kicking inside 50 you can see the blocks that do or don't happen for our forwards, the placement of defenders on the TV?
As someone who goes most weeks i reckon you can judge almost * all about the game from the telly. It's the ball carrier, jobe Watson's insights and big footy tropes for viewers at home.
So 80% of the forum can't comment as we can't get to games

You keep banking for incompetence, that's the saints spirit.
Well we do it with you
Old mate Rossco gave Hammer not one but two mentions in the presser, so he’s obviously pretty happy with what he’s bringing to the table.
What would he know as a coach
Some dropkick who should learn how to multiquote doesn't rate him

Might get shouted down here but… gee don’t we play a better brand of football when Max is not playing?
Not sure the reasoning, are the players told to only kick it to him or do the players themselves think they have to get it to him, maybe we can do a Bing with him next season,play him at CHB & keep the current setup seeing we are crying out for a tall backman.
Not going to get shouted down at all in fact I think many agree with you.

It's deer in the headlights type stuff when he's up forward. We don't know how to utilise him properly. Either that comes with time or if not, I reckon we need to play him higher up the ground. Stick him in a roaming half forward role and let him come up to the wings, be the connection between defense and attack. His chances should come as he's running back into the 50 after a turnover, not the way we have it now where he's just planted inside 50 and we kick it on his head at every chance.

I agree to an extent, but there's no reason it has to be like that.

We have to learn to stop just bombing it in to him.

Good fighting effort considering the injuries- a key forward, an onballer and a strong utility player..you can't lose three experienced players in a game and expect to win against quality opposition who are pretty balanced across the field. Don't know what happens next, but I would like to see Heath get a run for a couple of games as a forward/ruck

That was me.

As I said, if we were offered two top ten picks and a mid, then I'd take it.

He's a two goal a game forward.
Two top ten picks and a mid
Interesting
For a forward who has done his shoulder twice in under 12 months

I would do it

Two top ten picks and a mid
Interesting
For a forward who has done his shoulder twice in under 12 months

I would do it
It’s a bit similar to the Harley Reid convo.

I don’t wanna trade Roma, at all, actually ****ing love him but if west coast said Roma and Gresh for pick 1 I’m doing all day long.

I don't think you will get too many astute observers disagree with you. Apart from looking like a porcelain giraffe trying to skate on ice, Max also appears incredibly injury prone and has already missed a lot of footy in his career thus far. The question has to be asked, can you build a team around a player like Max which was the sole reason for recruiting him. Seems like we function much better without him in the team.

It’s a bit similar to the Harley Reid convo.

I don’t wanna trade Roma, at all, actually ******* love him but if west coast said Roma and Gresh for pick 1 I’m doing all day long.

Gresh probably struggling that much he couldn't help RoMa attract pick one. Gresh really is starting to look very C grade.

I don't think you will get too many astute observers disagree with you. Apart from looking like a porcelain giraffe trying to skate on ice, Max also appears incredibly injury prone and has already missed a lot of footy in his career thus far. The question has to be asked, can you build a team around a player like Max which was the sole reason for recruiting him. Seems like we function much better without him in the team.

You're only keen to see Max traded because of your unwavering faith in Sharman's ability to step up and kick bags week in, week out.

I certainly think we’ve played better without him (and results back that up) but it’s a touch harsh on Max. Hasn’t missed that many since he recovered from his draft year ACL. Still developing (and his stats as a young key forward are pretty incredible) and we still haven’t given him much support in terms of other forwards or gamestyle.

I’ve criticized him plenty for his body language, unwillingness to lead and general demeanor (as well as his ****ing spinning to ball) but the talent is there and I wouldn’t mind seeing him after a few years under Ross and co.

Gresh probably struggling that much he couldn't help RoMa attract pick one. Gresh really is starting to look very C grade.
I’m not sure we’ve got anything to package up for Harley Reid TBH.

Would need to be our first and our best 2 players, maybe King and Wilkie, in which case I’m not doing it.

He's turning into an absolute gun.

Genuinely excited about this bloke.

We're all (rightly) up and about with Owens, but Nas has the same high ceiling imo.

Killing it.
Probably my favourite player. Love the smooth movers, probably why I loved Nicky so much when I was younger. Pou right up there too.

Hope NWM, Pou, Caminiti, Owens stick around for the next 10 years...can see all four being our next premiership players.

I certainly think we’ve played better without him (and results back that up) but it’s a touch harsh on Max. Hasn’t missed that many since he recovered from his draft year ACL. Still developing (and his stats as a young key forward are pretty incredible) and we still haven’t given him much support in terms of other forwards or gamestyle.

I’ve criticized him plenty for his body language, unwillingness to lead and general demeanor (as well as his ******* spinning to ball) but the talent is there and I wouldn’t mind seeing him after a few years under Ross and co.
I think it’s a huge concern now if his shoulder pops out that easily, he is a high marking forward that seems to have a very fragile body

Probably my favourite player. Love the smooth movers, probably why I loved Nicky so much when I was younger. Pou right up there too.

Hope NWM, Pou, Caminiti, Owens stick around for the next 10 years...can see all four being our next premiership players.

Agreed

They're the reason I'm more excited about the club's future than I have been in over a decade.

Reckon Windy still has huge upside too.

Agreed

They're the reason I'm more excited about the club's future than I have been in over a decade.

Reckon Windy still has huge upside too.
Yep forgot about him. Goes under the radar a bit but he has come on really well this year.

Byrnes another although some might not think so. Just reckon he's super consistent, work-horse type. You need them in every side.

Hit the draft end of this year and move out some deadwood and there's definitely cause for more optimism.

Let's face it, this group is not doing much this year.

However, next year genuinely looks exciting. If we can somehow get a decent run with injuries there is plenty of upside in this group.

A fit Steele, King, Membrey, Coff, Clarke, Hayes plus the continued growth of our youngsters, and we are playing finals next year.

Hammer is doing remarkably well for a guy that young off bugger-all AFL preseason. Brings such energy.

Did almost miss the ball with two left-hand handballs though, so he’ll need to work on that.

He was holding up against the best backline in footy who play a spare in there and missing all his senior mates except Butler. Phillipou and Owens are both under 20 games too. He was coming out to meet the ball and presenting at every opportunity. He is as good as any tall forward in the comp with the same amount of development. If GWS were getting what we are out of Cadman they'd be pretty sure they had a gun on their hands.

Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*