Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*

Still reckon Owens in the middle is the answer.

Leave Sinclair in there too.

As others have said, have a look at Stocker in there.

If what we saw from Steele last night is what we can expect going forward, I think that has us looking ok, particularly if Jones can stay injury free for a bit and Clark comes back.

Crouch will do his thing.

Get Gresham out of there.

He had like 7 weeks of Pre-Season.

He is 19 years old and was picked because Jack Silvangi put in a good word.

Caminiti is going to be the raw as hell but there is a 200 gamer in him.

These numbers say to me he's going OK for a first year player ... particularly considering he wasn't a pick #4 ... just to please the naysayers we COULD trade him to West Coast and see how it plays out ;)

1688870078321.png

He cost 3-4 scoring opportunities tonight, including 2 gimme's in front of goal.

He's doing well for a 19 year old with no pre season and has some good attributes but we'd be better off right now if we had another option.
Reckon he might be trying to be a little too unselfish at times ... No way Plugger would have handballed that close to goal - on the boot son!

Still feel sick over this one.
So tired of St. Kildering.
Yeah I hear you, you could see this one unfolding into an honorable loss in the first minute when King grabbed his arm.

As disappointing as it was, it's the best we've looked since the first few rounds.

Melbourne are a pretty good side all be it out of form, but against Grundy & Gawn we still won the midfield battle and gave ourself every chance to pull of a unlikely victory after losing 2 KP players and a mid in the opening minutes.

I reckon if we'd have played with that level of effort and pressue most weeks, we'd have a few more wins in the bank this year.

Let's be honest this isn't our season with King being injured coming in and probably going out of the year. Hopefully we can get a look at few more on the list in the next few weeks.

Max King ruled out for the rest of the season...

Feel like pure shit, just want him back xoxo

Reckon he might be trying to be a little too unselfish at times ... No way Plugger would have handballed that close to goal - on the boot son!
That seems to be an issue for all our forwards.

It was frustrating seeing them constantly go for the centring kick 10m from goal rather than just take the shot - especially Marshall because he has the distance - when we all knew we had no one to mark it.

Same goes with them all hand balling 1 too may times. They need more confidence to just take the shot instead of trying to find someone in a slightly better spot.

Happy with the effort last night, better conversion and less silly decision making going forward and we win.

Anyone else enjoy the 5 minutes of Sharman V May in the 3rd I think it was?

Sharman gives away a free against May, as May goes back to take his kick he gives it to Sharman verbally and a bit physically. 2 plays later May gets the ball across the half back line, Sharman tackles him then dumps him into the ground. We need more mongrel from our forwards.

All I will say on our forward line is that I can’t wait to see Owens, Hammer, King and Pou floating forward in a couple of years. It’s costing us now but it will be paid back very soon.

Ross Lyon showed why he is one of the best game day coaches in the business.

Three main personnel down in the first half. Rejigs the team and game plan and probably plays better or on par than if we had those players in.

Shows why your coach is the most important person at the club.
* recruiter

That seems to be an issue for all our forwards.

It was frustrating seeing them constantly go for the centring kick 10m from goal rather than just take the shot - especially Marshall because he has the distance - when we all knew we had no one to mark it.

Same goes with them all hand balling 1 too may times. They need more confidence to just take the shot instead of trying to find someone in a slightly better spot.

Looks to me like they've been told not to take low percentage shots from shallow entries, so they're always wondering if this one's low percentage or if they should just do it.

Really concerned for King. As someone who’s had a full shoulder reco, the surgeon’s normally remake the joint super tight. For his shoulder to pop out as easily as it did it’s a real worry.
My tip is he’ll need it done gain.
Well do it soon then and get it right.

I find it baffling that Robert Harvey made his career with perfect kicks to a leading forward, yet as the forwards coach he hasn't got the few who play from the goalsquare leading at the ball carrier.

You'd think with everyone else playing so far up the ground defensively, the acres of space on turnover would be perfect, even if the odd delivery goes awry.

Nothing like a series of 30 second set shots to keep your mids' legs fresh.

Holy *

Someone actually wrote this
Was being a bit sarcarstic mate. An intercept implies you actually had to make some effort to get between the target and the ball rather than just stand there unmarked and get hit on the chest.

Expected scores for the match were 68 to us and 61 to them.

So they scored 18 points more than the AFL average from where they had their shots from (and hit the post 4 other times!) while we scored 10 less than average.

So with their expected score being 61, had they kicked for goal like they had for the previous month (where they went at 33% accuracy), they presumably would have scored about 40 points, rather than 79.

Yet more evidence that it’s not who you play, but when you play them. Timing is everything.

Expected scores for the match were 68 to us and 61 to them.

So they scored 18 points more than the AFL average from where they had their shots from (and hit the post 4 other times!) while we scored 10 less than average.

So with their expected score being 61, had they kicked for goal like they had for the previous month (where they went at 33% accuracy), they presumably would have scored about 40 points, rather than 79.

Yet more evidence that it’s not who you play, but when you play them. Timing is everything.

Sorry, but this is such a cop out to me.

Every week I read "oh poor us, such and such played well that week" or "of course they get their stars back against us"

It's such a loser mentality

If we're a good footy side then we have a bring it on mentality

Autopsy Round 17, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne *STEELE 150TH*