Game Day Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

Just not good enough. That first quarter was diabolical.
Still have that old chestnut of questionable effort.

How many players on field right now would be winning their position?

Nas? Anyone else?

Mids just coughing it up by foot and hand. Entries just putrid week in week out.

Forward setup is poor at best. Zero structure. Bomb it in and see how you go.

Have we already done the end of season review on a few of these blokes?
Wilkie is destroying King.

As the season has progressed just running out of good players (injuries) and steam (e.g. Pou and Hammer).

We lack leadership (Petracca and Gawn single-handedly stopped Brisbane‘s momentum in the 3rd quarter last night).

Exprienced players like Gresham & Howard taking us nowhere but nothing better to replace them with.

Jones (sore hip & all) - take a bow!

Difficult to see how we win this - RTB will need to weave some real magic from here.

Dog Corgi GIF

Sinclair just a stat padder in a bad side tbh

The whole side is shit. Sinclair is just the next Seb Ross or Jack Steele. B grader who looks like a star in a shit side.

After 10 years of Rich/Ratts ball headless pressure and no coaching of kicking, only tackling, this list needed a self-confessed defensive “I coach for effort” leader like it needed a hole in the head.

The list is just checked out and sick of pushing s**t up hill. It’s just no fun to play this crap defensive way and it no longer gets results anyway. You need to be able to kick and move the ball well now.

Another stellar decision by the Saints board appointing the complete opposite type of coach to the one this list needed and also a coach who plays an outdated brand of footy (by about 7 years).

Don’t be fooled by the sugar hit early this season when they brought a fitness bloke in to flog the list (injuring half of them while they were at it mind you). Fool’s gold.

2 goals to half time. Yet more drudgery for players and fan’s alike.
I really hoped Enright would have got the gig over Lyon- a big con job by Bassat

So many missed tackles, lazy one arm tackle attempts and fumbles.

Half time players without a single tackle:
Gresham
Wood
Howard
Wanganeen
Webster
Stocker
Windhager

Our kicking inside 50 would be the worst in the comp at the moment. No method or theory behind it, it’s like we just kick it in there and hope for the best.
GC dropped off big time in that second quarter and we took zero advantage.

They aren't good coaches for the modern game mate. Lyon and Hayes weren't in the system for multiple years before Bassat in all his brilliance decided it was what we needed, after deciding Ratten was the man and then deciding Ratten wasn't the man.

Harvey has been assistant coaching for 15 years and failed at head coaching gigs multiple times.

Enright is the only capable one we've got. Tried telling people but bringing back the old boys for one last go around apparently was a better idea.

They're stop gap IMO.

Review into footy dept last year highlighted shit was bad, did a good thing in removing the Sexton stink, remnant of Nettleford and the ever viewing window, but that doesn't get fixed in a year, so it's more dev for me. We then had the initial "oh yay" appointments, Walsh leaves, Mission goes up and here we are so we were always riding on edge for mine.

Which is why this is almost wholly on players and who is good enough to remain.

In isolation, Harvey is fine, Hayes is fine, Enright is fine same with Lyon as they're dealing with legacy shit of us having NFI with that footy department where Rath had to come in and tell us what a structure was now with added visual aid of video and audio. That was inherently a problem of having 2 CEOs in Finnis and Lethers and shoving one in footy dept instead of speccing.

After 10 years of Rich/Ratts ball headless pressure and no coaching of kicking, only tackling, this list needed a self-confessed defensive “I coach for effort” leader like it needed a hole in the head.

The list is just checked out and sick of pushing s**t up hill. It’s just no fun to play this crap defensive way and it no longer gets results anyway. You need to be able to kick and move the ball well now.

Another stellar decision by the Saints board appointing the complete opposite type of coach to the one this list needed and also a coach who plays an outdated brand of footy (by about 7 years).

Don’t be fooled by the sugar hit early this season when they brought a fitness bloke in to flog the list (injuring half of them while they were at it mind you). Fool’s gold.

Perhaps just an untried coach from a winning program like I said many times over the off season. Instead of plucking the best coaches from winning programs we went with a guy that last had success a decade ago lol

A couple of stoppages when it was hammer up against Witts, our boys took up offensive positions leaving gold coast players free. Mind boggling the midfield leaders can't organise to man them up in those scenarios. Must assume witts is going to win those and hit it straight down a suns throat. So poor.

Yep no need to trade for another forward we can ignore and dump to the top of the square.

Trout, Pelican all manner of list management animals have avoided it since Lenny Hayes hung up the boots. Fix. The. Midfield.
I'm officially on the 'Don't want King, We need 2 midfielders' bandwagon.

Our midfield needs a complete overhaul from next year.

We can't make finals let alone win a premiership with this set-up.

They're stop gap IMO.

Review into footy dept last year highlighted s**t was bad, did a good thing in removing the Sexton stink, remnant of Nettleford and the ever viewing window, but that doesn't get fixed in a year, so it's more dev for me. We then had the initial "oh yay" appointments, Walsh leaves, Mission goes up and here we are so we were always riding on edge for mine.

Which is why this is almost wholly on players and who is good enough to remain.

In isolation, Harvey is fine, Hayes is fine, Enright is fine same with Lyon as they're dealing with legacy s**t of us having NFI with that footy department where Rath had to come in and tell us what a structure was now with added visual aid of video and audio. That was inherently a problem of having 2 CEOs in Finnis and Lethers and shoving one in footy dept instead of speccing.
We've been stop gapping for 15 years.

Until we get a midfield that takes space and disposes the ball in the favour of our team instead of winning the ball and hacking it forward to no advantage (if we even win the ball) we will just be a bang average side. Steele and crouch do not drive the legs along with Sinclair who is not a natural midfielder. Play him at his natural position and draft some pure midfielders with spread.

The Gold Coast defence is dominating, it just looks like boys against men because that's what it is, we're relying on a bunch of kids in our forward line.

No King, Membrey, Hayes or even Cordy is taking it's toll, I reckon we should have played Campbell to at least allow him or Marshall to play up forward.

We badly need another bigger, more experienced forward up there to give us a contest and not let the bigger experienced defenders outmark us easily.

The footage of them at half time in their groups is embarrassing- you can see half of them have no idea what the fk is going on

We are the most poorly skilled side in the comp.

If Gresham doesn't get dropped, Lyon is kidding himself.

Nick Daicos is seen as the best player in comp right now... why?.... skills and decision making. We seem to place no value on those things.

For years ive said the same thing... we need good kicks. We need players who can hit up a handball.

Because unless our pressure is miles ahead of the opposition, our skills cost us games.

Pressure has to be now applied to the board.