Game Day Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

I'm officially on the 'Don't want King, We need 2 midfielders' bandwagon.

Our midfield needs a complete overhaul from next year.

We can't make finals let alone win a premiership with this set-up.

But watch us throw the kitchen sink at TDK instead of actually going for the players we actually need.

I really hoped Enright would have got the gig over Lyon- a big con job by Bassat

We wanted to find out if the list that our inexperienced list builder in Lethlean was shit or our coaches were shit. I think they've found out now. Now we know an we are still in the same spot we were in 2012. Nowhere near a flag or even finals. I reckon we are in for a 10 year rebuild just as Tassie take the bulk of talent and have a bunch of NFI operators running the show.

The Gold Coast defence is dominating, it just looks like boys against men because that's what it is, we're relying on a bunch of kids in our forward line.

No King, Membrey, Hayes or even Cordy is taking it's toll, I reckon we should have played Campbell to at least allow him or Marshall to play up forward.

We badly need another bigger, more experienced forward up there to give us a contest and not let the bigger experienced defenders outmark us easily.
All of the above wouldn’t change a single thing in this game so far. Our midfield is getting beaten badly and give our forwards no chance

I love Lenny Hayes, a Saints great, gave everything to the club in his playing career.......but......I see nothing that suggests he's a good coach. Our midfield has undoubtedly gone backwards, as a group and individually. All of our poor performances this year have come from getting smashed in the middle.

Yep no need to trade for another forward we can ignore and dump to the top of the square.

Trout, Pelican all manner of list management animals have avoided it since Lenny Hayes hung up the boots. Fix. The. Midfield.

Watch us take King for 3 firsts because it's a good story over smart management. Won't even be the footy department making the call.

Perhaps just an untried coach from a winning program like I said many times over the off season. Instead of plucking the best coaches from winning programs we went with a guy that last had success a decade ago lol
Mate you nailed it when he got appointed - and copped shit for it too.

I’m sure you’re not happy about it either, but it’s clear now it was the completely wrong appointment for what this list needed and for where the AFL is going as a sport tactics-wise.

2 goals in a half.

We are in for a world of pain. Ross can’t and won’t change, his style of footy is a busted flush and has been for years.

Dumb football club and board.

Need to get Hunter Clarke in now. No point waiting until 5 minutes before the end of the third quarter or whenever the sports scientists think is the optimal time. He could be the difference we need to get something happening.

Take out one of the blokes not achieving anything. Philippou or Caminiti

We've been stop gapping for 15 years.

Nah we've been shit for 15 years, there's a difference.

See I view it as Summers+Finnis made us a "club" instead of a collection of individuals who use said club for own benefit as a pissing contest ala soccer. prior to this, no one gave a shit what our board was doing really, they could stick thumbs up arse and rob us blind. Ratts was the stop gap intended, COVID stuffed that timeline, we've now got this as the start of "have" instead of "want".

So in the here and now, first cab is players, GTFO if you don;t want to be here ala Gresh and see ya later if you just aren't up to it, next 1-2 is board shuffling and backroom.

I love Lenny Hayes, a Saints great, gave everything to the club in his playing career.......but......I see nothing that suggests he's a good coach. Our midfield has undoubtedly gone backwards, as a group and individually. All of our poor performances this year have come from getting smashed in the middle.
Like our forward line just poorly coached.

Dunno why we continue to put ourselves through this garbage. Almost fell asleep watching us in that 2nd qtr.

With more damaging smalls than talls you'd think we would, you know, play to our strengths instead of kicking it on Sharman and Caminitis head?

RTB has praised the assistants all year. For what exactly? It's been almost 3 months since we played with any cohesion, almost got beat by the worst side in 60 years a couple weeks ago and now 4 goals down to a side that just sacked their coach. 2 goals to half time.

Like, when is this club going to wake up and start running it as a proper professional organisation?

2 goals in a half in perfect conditions.

If you don’t support us we would be the worst side to watch.

And it’s so predictable.

The Filth close to 100 at half time.
But GoOd SiDes WiN UgLy!

**** it I would like to be an entertaining dominant team not some ****ing pathetic Remora hanging on for scraps of the 8

We don't need to be bombing the ******* thing in there. Kick to the lead make space. Don't take half a minute to move the ball on.

Yeah we aren't helping ourselves with our forward entries, we are just bombing it in there like King is still there, we need to hit up leading forwards.

The problem is that none of our forwards know how to lead either, they just stand there flat footed trying to take hangers against bigger defenders.

We need to hire a better forward line coach, Robert Harvey coaching our forward line is ridiculous when he never played as a forward himself.

To be fair he's playing with both arms tied behind his back. Our midfield is awful. No skill, depth or quality.

Nah we've been s**t for 15 years, there's a difference.

See I view it as Summers+Finnis made us a "club" instead of a collection of individuals who use said club for own benefit as a pissing contest ala soccer. prior to this, no one gave a s**t what our board was doing really, they could stick thumbs up arse and rob us blind. Ratts was the stop gap intended, COVID stuffed that timeline, we've now got this as the start of "have" instead of "want".

So in the here and now, first cab is players, GTFO if you don;t want to be here ala Gresh and see ya later if you just aren't up to it, next 1-2 is board shuffling and backroom.
Nah