Preview Round 18 Vs Sydney Swans Sunday 28 July 2013 @4.40pm

I'm feeling a bit indifferent about this one. Surprisingly the person I am worried most about is Mike Pyke. He has been in excellent form, he has a great set of hands, so strong overhead and has basically just come on in leaps and bounds.
On the other hand, considering the SCG is such a small ground, a lot may feel it is a detriment to us but I think if we can get the ball in the hands of Martin (if he has his kicking boots on this week), Deledio, Foley, Houli running out from the centre and taking shots from outside 50 which is actually around 48 metres at the SCG, it could be a really dangerous score source for us. Just as long as we match or better their pressure and tackling we will be in with a good shot.
Their midfield is scary. JPK, O'Keefe, Jack, Hannebery, Bird, Mitchell, McVeigh :oops: it's fair to say players like Foley, Conca and Vlastuin will need to be at their best. Tuck must play I think, we need a strong body in the centre winning the clearances.
If we play our best game of the season we could sneak a win, but anything less will see Sydney take the chocolates this time around.

Hi all,

Here is my contribution in regards to the Richmond vs Sydney game at the SCG. As you already know or probably finding out - I love my footy stats, I just love them. Don't know why but it always makes for good reading. So below is a historical view of Sydney vs Richmond. Bear in mind that Sydney have been in the AFL since 1982 and that's when these stats begin.

Richmond vs Sydney: Head-To-Head

Overall: Played - 53, Richmond: 25, Sydney: 28

Richmond Home Record: Played 27 - won: 13, lost: 14

Richmond Away Record: Played 26 - won: 11 , lost: 15

Sydney Home Record: Played 26 - won: 15 , lost: 11

Sydney Away Record: Played 27 - won: 14 , lost: 13

Richmond vs Sydney – Record at Grounds:

MCG: Played 22 – Richmond: 13, Sydney: 9

Waverley Park: Played 1 – Richmond: 0, Sydney: 1

Colonial Stadium (Telstra Dome, now known as Etihad Stadium): Played 4 – Richmond: 2 , Sydney: 2

SCG: Played 25 – Richmond: 10, Sydney: 15

Stadium Australia (ANZ Stadium): Played 1 – Richmond: 0, Sydney: 1

Past 5 Games: Richmond: 3, Sydney: 2

Past 5 Seasons (2008-2012): Richmond: 3 , Sydney: 5

Last Time They Met: Round 7, 2012: Richmond: 13.13 (91) defeated Sydney: 8.14 (62) - MCG

All Games - Richmond vs Sydney:

Round 11, 1982: Richmond: 20.14 (134) defeated Sydney: 18.25: (133) – MCG

Round 21, 1982: Richmond: 19.13 (127) defeated Sydney: 16.14 (110) – SCG

Round 10, 1983: Richmond: 16.10 (106) defeated Sydney: 14.10 (94) – MCG

Round 21, 1983: Richmond: 15.24 (114) defeated Sydney: 10:13 (73) – SCG

Round 7, 1984: Richmond: 18.21 (129) defeated Sydney: 17.20 (122) – SCG

Round 17, 1984: Richmond: 12.19 (91) defeated Sydney: 3.10 (28) – MCG

Round 2, 1985: Sydney: 13.14 (92) defeated Richmond: 12.16 (88) – MCG

Round 13, 1985: Sydney: 19.23 (137) defeated Richmond: 8.12 (60) – SCG

Round 8, 1986: Richmond: 16.16 (112) defeated Sydney: 16.15 (111) – SCG

Round 20, 1986: Sydney: 21.18 (144) defeated Richmond: 14.12 (96) – MCG

Round 5, 1987: Sydney: 21.10 (146) defeated Richmond: 19.12 (126) – MCG

Round 18, 1987: Sydney: 31.12 (198) defeated Richmond 15.17: (107) – SCG

Round 9, 1988: Sydney: 20.16 (136) defeated Richmond: 10.13 (73) – MCG

Round 14, 1988: Richmond: 19.13 (131) defeated Sydney: 13.18 (96) – SCG

Round 1. 1989: Sydney: 12.17 (89) defeated Richmond: 11.7 (73) – SCG

Round 14, 1989: Richmond: 10.15 (75) defeated Sydney: 7.8 (50) – MCG

Round 9, 1990: Richmond: 20.19 (139) defeated Sydney: 9.6 (60) – MCG

Round 22, 1990: Richmond: 20.19 (139) defeated Sydney 15.19 (109) – SCG

Round 4, 1991: Sydney: 24.20 (164) defeated Richmond: 19.13 (127) – MCG

Round 19, 1991: Sydney: 14.15 (99) defeated Richmond: 12.20 (92) – SCG

Round 9, 1992: Richmond: 19.20 (134) defeated Sydney: 14.18 (102) – MCG

Round 24, 1992: Richmond: 18.17 (125) defeated Sydney: 13.17 (95) – SCG

Round 10, 1993: Richmond: 17.20 (122) defeated Sydney: 14.9 (93) – MCG

Round 4, 1994: Sydney: 11.20 (86) defeated Richmond 10.12 (72) – SCG

Round 19, 1994: Richmond: 14.11 (95) defeated Sydney: 9.8 (62) – MCG

Round 9, 1995: Richmond: 17.14 (116) defeated Sydney: 14.6 (90) – SCG

Round 4, 1996: Sydney: 10.11 (71) defeated Richmond: 9.16 (70) – Waverly Park

Round 19, 1996: Sydney: 20.10 (130) defeated Richmond: 12.10 (92) – SCG

Round 12, 1997: Sydney: 26.8 (164) defeated Richmond: 16.14 (110) – SCG

Round 13, 1998: Sydney: 16.6 (102) defeated Richmond: 13.13 (91) – SCG

Round 2, 1999: Richmond: 15.19 (108) defeated Sydney: 13.18 (96) – MCG

Round 17, 1999: Sydney: 14.12 (96) defeated Richmond 8.7 (55) – SCG

Round 6, 2000: Richmond: 17.12 (112) defeated Sydney: 16.10 (106) – SCG

Round 21, 2000: Sydney: 12.12 (84) defeated Richmond: 12.11 (83) – Colonial Stadium

Round 12, 2001: Richmond: 12.14 (86) defeated Sydney: 8.12 (60) – Colonial Stadium

Round 7, 2002: Richmond: 13.10 (88) defeated Sydney: 12.10 (82) – Colonial Stadium

Round 22, 2002: Sydney: 17.14 (116) defeated Richmond: 11.10 (76) – Stadium Australia

Round 10, 2003: Sydney: 16.8 (104) defeated Richmond: 10.12 (72) – MCG

Round 7, 2004: Richmond: 10.7 (67) defeated Sydney: 8.6 (54) – SCG

Round 22, 2004: Sydney: 16.12 (108) defeated Richmond: 6.8 (44) – MCG

Round 14, 2005: Richmond: 12.13 (85) defeated Sydney: 12.12 (84) – MCG

Round 7, 2006: Sydney: 28.12 (180) defeated Richmond: 9.8 (62) – Telstra Dome

Round 16, 2006: Sydney: 14.17 (101) defeated Richmond: 7.11 (53) – SCG

Round 2, 2007: Sydney: 13.10 (88) defeated Richmond: 11.6 (72) – MCG

Round 17, 2007: Sydney: 21.12 (138) defeated Richmond: 10.12 (72) – SCG

Round 10, 2008: Sydney: 21.13 (139) defeated Richmond: 8.9 (57) SCG

Round 6, 2009: Sydney: 14.10 (94) defeated Richmond: 11.5 (75) – SCG

Round 19, 2009: Sydney: 18.15 (123) defeated Richmond: 10.8 (68) – MCG

Round 3, 2010: Sydney: 16.15 (110) defeated Richmond: 7.14 (56) – SCG

Round 14, 2010: Richmond: 14.5 (89) defeated Sydney: 12.13 (85) – MCG

Round 12, 2011: Sydney: 9.21 (75) defeated Richmond: 9.11 (65) – SCG

Round 21, 2011: Richmond: 14.5 (99) defeated Sydney: 7.14 (65) – MCG

Round 7, 2012: Richmond: 13.13 (91) defeated Sydney: 8.14 (62) - MCG

Tiges by 23 points. Im on a flight to LAX when the game starts. Hope I can get WIFI. Or else the terminal is gonna hear one hell of a scream when I turn my phone on over there. We will match up well on them. Tackle Tackle Tackel. Thats what will win it for us.

Too many people have been listening to Paul Roos dribble. They are not as unbeatable as Roos would try and have everyone think be it melbourne or up in Sydney. Freo almost beat them up there so why can't we?

I like our chances better in this one than vs the hawks the following week.

Not expecting any changes unless injury rears its ugly head so we should go into this game full of confidence and a settled line up. :thumbsu:

I think you guys have every reason to be confident however I think you will find the Swans were really struggling for form at the time of the game against Freo so it may not be the best game to look at in terms of getting a feel for how this game might pan out.
Most games you would say the midfield battle is the key to the game but I actually think its going to be a case of weather the Tigers backs can hold Tippett, Mummy, Pyke,White. If the likes of Rance and Chaplin can intercept and rebound well then this could really hurt the Swans given how tall they are playing however if the taller players from the Swans get on top it could be danger for the Tigers given that there is no obvious plan B to prevent the talls from getting away from them if plan A fails Richmond.

Brad Miller played CHB on Sam Reid who killed us. :D

Andrew Browne copped a bit of a pantsing from Seaby too if memory serves me correctly.
And Astbury dislocated his knee.... :(

Love your work PerthBoy87 real asset to these threads.
Can't wait to see our records against some of the older sides in the comp. Carlton and Essendon are coming up ;)

I would do stats for Richmond against other Victorian sides but there are so many matches that have been played against Richmond vs other Victorian sides and it would take me hours to type every single game. For example Richmond have played Carlton probably 150-odd times give or take a tad more or less, that would take me ages to type out. But I may look into it and see how we go.

That's why I posted it. Would easily fill a page too.

Tuck will need to come in for somebody, especially if it's wet. Arnot? He hasn't done much wrong but it's for the better of the team not development like it has been for so long.

The poster that mentioned the tactic of getting the ball into blokes who can kick it 60m and letting them fly from outside 50 on the tiny SCG, I agree; if Martin, Deledio, Houli, Jackson, Newman or Foley get the footy close the 50 I'd be backing them to make a good fist of it with a second a breathing space.

In Astubry Lonergan
Out Newman(rested) Arnott

We need more height and Lonergan emergency 2 weeks running. 11 clearances on weekend, well suited to small ground.

The poster that mentioned the tactic of getting the ball into blokes who can kick it 60m and letting them fly from outside 50 on the tiny SCG, I agree; if Martin, Deledio, Houli, Jackson, Newman or Foley get the footy close the 50 I'd be backing them to make a good fist of it with a second a breathing space.

Probably just as likely to kick goals from outside 50 as from 20-30 with the way we've been kicking lately.

I'd actually thnk about dropping White

He traditionally excels on the big pitches, but struggles on the tighter decks.

I'd bring in Tuck for Arnot, Astbury for Pettard (need more height down back), and Azza for White

I'd actually thnk about dropping White

He traditionally excels on the big pitches, but struggles on the tighter decks.

I'd bring in Tuck for Arnot, Astbury for Pettard (need more height down back), and Azza for White

Wont happen. He was one of our best on Saturday and is showing he belongs in the best 22.

Can't understand the negativity in here.:confused:
Going up for the game. Not travelling all that distance just to watch us lose.;):cool:

Checking back on our last SCG game in 2011, a 10 point loss with Astbury subbed off in the 1st quarter with a dislocated knee for Slops, who smashed his head bad in the second quarter and was ineffective all day, and in the 3rd quarter Kingie had a bad calf strain and Reiwoldt a hammy strain, plus we had Farmer, Miller, Browne and Nahas playing. Add to that they were 2 years and 8 months older and 48 games more experienced.

2013 is a completely different set of circumstances, and im sure our players will be very confidant going into this game.

Hardwick has now claimed three times this year that "we havent shown up" or "it was just one of those games" - Essendon, North and Collingwood.

I am really looking forward to this game, because we better not "just not turn up". We need a statement game because regardless of what people think, we havent had one yet.

I'm feeling a bit indifferent about this one. Surprisingly the person I am worried most about is Mike Pyke. He has been in excellent form, he has a great set of hands, so strong overhead and has basically just come on in leaps and bounds.
On the other hand, considering the SCG is such a small ground, a lot may feel it is a detriment to us but I think if we can get the ball in the hands of Martin (if he has his kicking boots on this week), Deledio, Foley, Houli running out from the centre and taking shots from outside 50 which is actually around 48 metres at the SCG, it could be a really dangerous score source for us. Just as long as we match or better their pressure and tackling we will be in with a good shot.
Their midfield is scary. JPK, O'Keefe, Jack, Hannebery, Bird, Mitchell, McVeigh :oops: it's fair to say players like Foley, Conca and Vlastuin will need to be at their best. Tuck must play I think, we need a strong body in the centre winning the clearances.
If we play our best game of the season we could sneak a win, but anything less will see Sydney take the chocolates this time around.

are you saying the line is in the wrong spot?

I reckon Sydney is really about to hit it's straps and I just don't think we'll be able to contain them. Having said that I do think we match up ok against them. I'll be happy if it just looks like we have a crack.

Sydney are a great side and are up and about but I can't help the feeling that we put doubt in there minds, having won the last 2 games we played against them convincingly. I think we will win by 29 points. If we lose and face them in the finals, coming in as underdogs, we will beat a them for sure... I think we should get over the line though in this one ;) could it be Cotch getting some forms?

Wont happen. He was one of our best on Saturday and is showing he belongs in the best 22.

I don't think it will either, but I think it should, White generally needs open spaces to play his game and they are nonexistant at the SCG

His game in 2011 at the SCG was a ripper, killed Mattner.

Apart from Jacko he has been out biggest improver so far, 3 times he has had a full games and received coaches votes in 2 of them (Eagles and Freo on Saturday)

Also interesting to hear Roo`s On The Couch saying he is pivotal to Richmond with his pace, run and carry and ability to straighten us up.