Review Round 2, 2022 - Essendon vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Essendon?

Daniher to me seems to just like getting out there and playing footy. I don't think scoring goals is the highest priority.

No one could say he hasn't played very well in the 2 games so far this year.
He was particularly good at this on the weekend, and he hasn't always been. Threw himself into contests well, made sure he wasn't outmarked, wasn't unrealistic in his attempts as he can be, and was scragged quite a bit to boot.

I think what is particularly simple in saying here are the better key forwards compared to Joe, is that even if you do say there are 13 better in the league, our strength is our 3 pronged attack. On any given week Hipwood, Daniher OR McStay can be our best. We don't pay one of them $1m as they best key forward in the league, but the beauty of that is we get 3 different forwards all capable on their day. The added value is that one of them can be out and we can still function.

Daniher is far from perfect. But I think he has come back looking better this year, fitter and a bit more willing to play the team role.

And the bottom line is we easily have the forward line to compete for the flag. There is no question. They just need to be fit and firing come September.

I agree with those saying Berry best role is an accountable one. I suspect it takes the pressure off him a bit. But it also balances the midfield nicely.

Rayner has to be a question mark for now about midfield impact. But give him some time. Just back from a knee. We can keep trying him in there and if it's not quite working give Bailey / Cockatoo a bit more time in there. I think Rayner has already shown a real aptitude for big moments in games though, so whatever he ends up being it will be more than just a B game player.

our guy who stands in the goal square is 12 on the goal kicking
You mean Charlie, right? Because in most of the games so far that's who is playing as our deepest forward.

So you're happy then? We were 4th for inside 50s and our guy who stands in the goal square is 12 on the goal kicking. Sub par i reckon
Not sure what point you are trying to make with this "Power Forward" talk. For me its not about (or important) who has the best power forward in the competition.
Its about our forward group and once Hipwood comes back in to the forward 6, we will once again be the most potent forward line in the competition by a fair way. Nobody can argue that a fit & firing Daniher, McStay, Hipwood, Cameron, McCarthy, Rayner/Bailey is more dangerous and harder to match up on than any other forward 6 available. A power forward is one player who will not win games on his own. Give our forward 6 a decent ball feed into the forward 50 come finals time and we will be a nightmare for opposing sides regardless of whether we have the best power forward in the comp or not.

last year.
He still kicked 47 goals after basically 3 years out of the game.
The Lions haven’t had a key forward kick that many goals in a year since Browny.

Not sure what point you are trying to make with this "Power Forward" talk. For me its not about (or important) who has the best power forward in the competition.
Its about our forward group and once Hipwood comes back in to the forward 6, we will once again be the most potent forward line in the competition by a fair way. Nobody can argue that a fit & firing Daniher, McStay, Hipwood, Cameron, McCarthy, Rayner/Bailey is more dangerous and harder to match up on than any other forward 6 available. A power forward is one player who will not win games on his own. Give our forward 6 a decent ball feed into the forward 50 come finals time and we will be a nightmare for opposing sides regardless of whether we have the best power forward in the comp or not.
Don't get hung up on the "Power forward" term. Key forward? Marking forward? Tall? Whatever we call it. My criticism of Joe is that his overall quality isn't where it should be for an experienced forward and he just doesn't do enough. His pack marking is average but spectacular, his kicking for goal is poor, his defensive game is almost non existent. He seems to exist in our team as a living highlights reel, a seventy meter bomb that just misses, the two speccys per game that get dropped and the 2 joe the goose goals from the goal square that he kicks.

Compare Joe to Linc. The effort, determination, skill displayed by Linc is where Joe should be. Maybe he can turn it around but....nah

Don't get hung up on the "Power forward" term. Key forward? Marking forward? Tall? Whatever we call it. My criticism of Joe is that his overall quality isn't where it should be for an experienced forward and he just doesn't do enough. His pack marking is average but spectacular, his kicking for goal is poor, his defensive game is almost non existent. He seems to exist in our team as a living highlights reel, a seventy meter bomb that just misses, the two speccys per game that get dropped and the 2 joe the goose goals from the goal square that he kicks.

Compare Joe to Linc. The effort, determination, skill displayed by Linc is where Joe should be. Maybe he can turn it around but....nah
If you think Joe's overall quality isn't where it should be for an experienced forward and he just doesn't do enough how do you rate McStay ?

Because he's a long way behind Joe on numbers and impact.

Which leaves us with no big forwards. Yet we're winning games.

Is it just me or has BF changed...we used to be so focused on getting good draft picks and now it is about finding fault in our match winning performances :D

From the outside, Joe seems like an incredibly likeable, happy footballer who loves being a Lion. He always comes across as being very mature and balanced in his interviews...can't help but love what he has brought to the Club and I reckon he will only get better and better. The Danihers are a highly respected clan for good reason.

Is it just me or has BF changed...we used to be so focused on getting good draft picks and now it is about finding fault in our match winning performances :D

From the outside, Joe seems like an incredibly likeable, happy footballer who loves being a Lion. He always comes across as being very mature and balanced in his interviews...can't help but love what he has brought to the Club and I reckon he will only get better and better. The Danihers are a highly respected clan for good reason.
100%.

I love having him at the club and I love watching him play. It's guys like him that bring fans to games.

Old mate must be a salty Bombers fan in disguise. I think he was sitting behind me at Marvel, choking on his light beer every time Joey went near it.

On performance this year, and last, there isn't a single thing a positive Lions fan could fault him on. He works hard way up the ground, takes a pack mark more than he misses, has flair and can create a goal from nothing, seems like a ripping bloke and loves playing for the Lions. Does he miss some set shots, sure, but so does (2021) McLuggage, Hipwood, Cameron and McStay. That is an industry wide issue, even Kennedy who is arguably the best shot used to put in stuttering stinkers.

I think you're complaining about the wrong key forward. McStay has put in two sub-par games, 7 marks and no goals. Daniher's taken 15 marks and kicked 6 goals. Yet we're 2-0.

Daniher is exactly what we need as a key forward, and what we were missing dearly in 2020. It's a shame we can't see him as a one-two punch with Hippy, but our time will come!

hmmmm commenting is not normally my thing, just enjoy reading, but is that you Dylan12 ? :moustache:

:rolleyes: :D

Not getting hung up on anything beardancer. If you read my post again, I think :think:;) I am saying that providing any Key Forward fills his role given by his coach, is good in my eyes. to go one step further, should all our forwards (Big, small, key or even part timer) fill their role given by the coach, you would expect us to win the game..... which we have done both times thus far in 2022. I'd be pretty confident in saying that the coach's are happy with Joe's performance to date despite your view of him being different.

last year.
So guy at a new club, after basically 3 years out of the game (where some thought he wouldnt play again), finishes high-ish in Coleman and is the most consistent forward in the comp (being the only one to kick a goal every game of the season) in one of the teams with the highest spread of goal kickers. For about half the season he was also the backup ruck which is one of the toughest roles to play - which takes away from his time in the forward line.

He then has come into a new season and has already been kicking more goals including away for the first time against his old club, which has massive meaning for him as a former father son, where he got booed anytime he went near the ball (emotionally tough that many people cant hack).

Your standards are insane if you dont think its impressive what he has been doing for us

Happy to have 2 wins although as others said we not really got our system working.
Could of lost both to teams that smashed in their other game this season.
Really hard this time of the year to see how teams going.

Be interesting we play Demons round 15.. Where we are win wise.
Apart from the Swans and Cats away I say we be favs in the other 10 games. Or should be. There be a loss we did not expect. Although could be 9-4 before Demons game

Back half of the season is where you need to get into gear we play Demons twice, Dogs home and GWS/Tigers away.. so a few 50-50 games to end season.
So see where we sit.

So guy at a new club, after basically 3 years out of the game (where some thought he wouldnt play again), finishes high-ish in Coleman and is the most consistent forward in the comp (being the only one to kick a goal every game of the season) in one of the teams with the highest spread of goal kickers. For about half the season he was also the backup ruck which is one of the toughest roles to play - which takes away from his time in the forward line.

He then has come into a new season and has already been kicking more goals including away for the first time against his old club, which has massive meaning for him as a former father son, where he got booed anytime he went near the ball (emotionally tough that many people cant hack).

Your standards are insane if you dont think its impressive what he has been doing for us
I don't think anyone would've put money on him playing every game since he arrived here for the start of the 2021 season.

In fact it's ridiculous even talking about this. He's a valuable player, potential to be a very damaging player. It's self evident.

Happy to have 2 wins although as others said we not really got our system working.
Could of lost both to teams that smashed in their other game this season.
Really hard this time of the year to see how teams going.

Be interesting we play Demons round 15.. Where we are win wise.
Apart from the Swans and Cats away I say we be favs in the other 10 games. Or should be. There be a loss we did not expect. Although could be 9-4 before Demons game

Back half of the season is where you need to get into gear we play Demons twice, Dogs home and GWS/Tigers away.. so a few 50-50 games to end season.
So see where we sit.
The fixture is a bit nuts. We play Melbourne in rounds 15 and 23 . Then potentially finals. I dunno who thought that up .

I would think playing them twice in the lead up to finals will give us a good chance to learn how to beat them before we play in the finals.
There is also a good chance that we might have to play them twice in the finals series as well if we both make the Grand Final, Depending on where we both finish on the ladder. 1st and 4th or 2nd and 3rd

Everyone is entitled to an opinion and your are entitled to yours.

However, you are attempting to back up your views with facile arguments, gross exaggerations and "statistics" that are either selective or just plain incorrect.

Which is why it's hard for anyone to take you seriously and you find yourself completely out on a limb with this issue.

If you can't stand Joe or the way he plays, just say so and leave it at that.

That hole you are digging for yourself is getting deeper every time you post

I would think playing them twice in the lead up to finals will give us a good chance to learn how to beat them before we play in the finals.
There is also a good chance that we might have to play them twice in the finals series as well if we both make the Grand Final, Depending on where we both finish on the ladder. 1st and 4th or 2nd and 3rd
Let's just take it one week at a time Dalions.

But yeah ,going to make a perplexing end to the season if we're both in the top 4.

Let's just take it one week at a time Dalions.

But yeah ,going to make a perplexing end to the season if we're both in the top 4.
One week at a time martinson, one week at a time.

Review Round 2, 2022 - Essendon vs. Brisbane Lions