Autopsy Round 2, 2022: Hawks disconnect the power

Another feature is all the players who were not playing

Bramble Day and Impey would be pressing for a game

Shiels and Howe are experienced players

Hartigan is also someone you could bring in at a pinch

Then there's Lynch, Kosi, Jeka Callow, Downie, Butler, Serong, Morris, Brockman and Seamus Mitchell.

That's real depth, that's competition for just about every position on the ground.

The club is in a better position than I thought it was, this has straddled the regime change all while still being not that far from our last flag.

Get on board, the next few years are going to be great and once the competition sees it this year the free agents will come seek

Some stats to breakdown:

Centre Bounce Attendance's:
19 - Worpel, Mitchell
17 - JOM
14 - Ward
10 - Newcombe
8 - Nash

Clearances:
5 - Mitchell
4 - JOM, Ward
3 - Worpel, Nash
2 - MacDonald, Morrison
1 - Wingard, Newc, Moore, McEvoy, Scrimshaw, Phillips, Reeves

Pressure Acts:
34 - Worpel
26 - Ward
23 - Morrison
21 - Moore
19 - Breust
18 - Mitchell
17 - JOM, MacDonald, Newcombe
16 - Maginess, CJ
15 - Hardwick

Score Involvements:
9 - Moore
8 - McEvoy
7 - JOM, Lewis, Breust, Gunston
6 - MacDonald, Mitchell
5 - Newcombe, Worpel, Morrison, Hardwick
4 - Ward, Scrimshaw, Sicily
3 - Nash, DGB
2 - Wingard, Frost, Reeves
1 - Maginess, Phillips
From last week to this week have a look at worpel 7 to 34 is a huge boost, jager played a great game to

Of course he'd feel smug. He would be rewriting in his head how it all played out to make him the messiah. Let's not forget how unprofessional he was in handling Clarkson's departure and dragging the club through the mud.
Would this playing out in his head include "Cyril would be still here mentoring Brockman, getting him seriously ready for taking his reins"?

Let’s not forget it was Clarko who set it all in motion and put his position on the line for the club when it was apparent that Collingwood wanted Sam. The biggest factor in Sam now being coach is the one who encouraged him to get his coaching credentials as a player, the one who encouraged Sam to go to West Coast to experience another club’s culture, the one who got Sam back to the club as soon as he could and when other Vic clubs wanted him and the one who encouraged Sam to take on Box Hill as part of his apprenticeship. None of those people were Jeff ******* Kennett.

Exactly.

Who cares if JK is feeling smug. The decision was the right one and it looks to be paying off early.

Some stats to breakdown:

Centre Bounce Attendance's:
19 - Worpel, Mitchell
17 - JOM
14 - Ward
10 - Newcombe
8 - Nash

Clearances:
5 - Mitchell
4 - JOM, Ward
3 - Worpel, Nash
2 - MacDonald, Morrison
1 - Wingard, Newc, Moore, McEvoy, Scrimshaw, Phillips, Reeves

Pressure Acts:
34 - Worpel
26 - Ward
23 - Morrison
21 - Moore
19 - Breust
18 - Mitchell
17 - JOM, MacDonald, Newcombe
16 - Maginess, CJ
15 - Hardwick

Score Involvements:
9 - Moore
8 - McEvoy
7 - JOM, Lewis, Breust, Gunston
6 - MacDonald, Mitchell
5 - Newcombe, Worpel, Morrison, Hardwick
4 - Ward, Scrimshaw, Sicily
3 - Nash, DGB
2 - Wingard, Frost, Reeves
1 - Maginess, Phillips
Still a worry about if we have our centre bounce mix right. It was 18-8 in there. At least this week there was clean breaks like in the 1st quarter against North

Jordan Lewis during the half time break "Their making really good decisions that you can't relax" about the hawks, can see why it would make it hard to play the game on your terms when you have to focus so much on defence

3rd quarter is pretty good, under pressure not everything going our way but the whole team is working to score the whole time and it clicks in the back half of the quarter, great to see.

If anyone can find at the 11min markish of the 3qr, Moore gets it in traffic at full speed and goes past everyone with a perfect hand off, best thing ive ever seen him do

Nash in the ruck again.
That clearance and kick to Lewis was superb.
The run and gather for his goal was awe inspiring.
A great game.
It was a smart move since few games back and allow us to play with only one ruck. Also allow us to play an additional running mid.

I love it that Sam Mitchell is not mucking around with players' heads and keeping them in positions where they were 'born to play'
(no more chess with forcing players to fit a fully defensive/too much rotating mind-set). E.g. no more Gunston to defence suddenly; keeping
Chad in his latter career years mainly at half forward flank where he can be a freak/etc.
And OMG the sudden increase in foot skills/bullet passes again/accuracy in front of goal - is this the David Hale influence/the lifting of standards with
a very exciting bunch of new draft picks?
The side is so much more enjoyable to watch now..I think I struggled to see a single 'kick backwards' pass in defence last night...a classic Clarko
zone defence manoeuvre..
We only seem to attempt the backwards 45 degree cross in the D50 now. Once out of there it's been rare to see a backwards kick across the first to games. So much better to watch and forces the opposition to run hard in defence.
I reckon our back 6 has been tremendous in allowing such freewheeling.

Round 20 vs Brisbane ✅
Round 21 vs Collingwood ✅
Round 22 vs Western Bulldogs ✅
Round 23 vs Richmond: DRAW
————————————————
Round 1 vs North Melbourne ✅
Round 2 vs Port Adelaide ✅
Yes great to see. But probably those last 4 wins last season cost us at the draft. Not complaining as we got Ward.

I
We got smacked in tackles also. Port were much better than us around the clearances.

Once we turned the ball over though and went quickly, port were very lazy defensively in transition, which allowed us to transfer the ball from one end to the other.

All our hard running paid off big time. Contested side still needs a lot of work though.
Its the the clearances that we will suffer more by when playing with good teams. I am sure Sam will address this in the coming weeks.

He looks absolutely ridiculous, trying to re-invent himself.
Yeah I know what you mean. Looks even more luxurious today. Must have steam cleaned it overnight.
That said it’s his call, if I ever get to that stage I’ll just do a number 1 all the way round.
Touch wood.

From last week to this week have a look at worpel 7 to 34 is a huge boost, jager played a great game to
He got the memo. Ppl who think he wasn't under the gun are kidding themselves. It's why he started on the pine. Happy he turned it around with his effort. The old worpedo.

The one thing I noticed with worps that made me especially smile was that he instantly gave forward or sideways handballs after executing his don't argue. I think the don't argue and run will be coached out of him 🤞🤞🤞

Currently sitting a top the AFL ladder with one game left in the round to go...

Sent from my T671O using Tapatalk
Should remain there unless Freo have a really big win and keep Saints to about 5 goals.

I'm still kinda bewildered by how well we managed to play. Doesn't feel real. What an insane performance
I kind of feel like order is being restored. I’m not foolish enough to think that we are final contenders after last nights win but if we play with the same intent every week then it will be a successful season.

I just watched the replay exciting brand off footy in transition. Well beaten in most statistics cont/uncont, i50, disposals, clearences.

Still heaps of improvement to come in this side Ward,Mac,Dgb,Finn make up the bottom 6. Getting games into these guys will only help the growth.

Day,Bramble,Impey will be back, it will be very interesting how they slide in.

Autopsy Round 2, 2022: Hawks disconnect the power