Round 20 The Sydney Swans vs The Geelong Cats

despite some potential outs, and some players who won't be 100% for the cats game.... i'm still pretty pessimistic about our odds

need only look at our first quarter last week, we only really started winning the match, when they stooped trying

we have to play full 4 quarters

In all the hub-bub about Roosy and Horse, Leo has been confirmed to return to the seniors this week in place of Macca. Crouchy's chances of playing are apparently improving too which is a positive.

Geelong talking themselves down.

Their trying to replicate the theory of the saints miracle win against the Hawks.

Interesting tactic though, the cats players have thrived on intimidation and an aura of invincibility.

There trying to get that back against us.

But if we brought them down......

Hopefully 40+k or else I'll be dissapointed. Will absolutely be going off if we win!! And sitting behind the Sydney cheer squad with my mate from the Saints game (hopefully won't look so bored this time ;)) so it'll be awesome. Who cares that I've got my second English paper on Monday and 3U Maths on tuesday!

Stop trying to get sympathy off us...:D

Had History today mate haha, so hard, killed my hand. And then to cap it off whilst stuck during my Germany essay I glanced up and Diggers is like staring at me so I was like ****kk, cos he set the question. :p

Apparently Barry will definately be in for this game though, and MOD is safe, so are we making another change so that it's position for position?

Maybe

OUT: Barlow, McVeigh
IN: Barry, Bevan

LOL he looked like he was bored on video. Well me an a few others from Melbourne are travelling up to ANZ, I'd say Cats supporters had booked this match at the start of the season, so I'd say they go. Maybe 36-38k depending on the weather. But people should get along for Goodesy's 250th.

Had History today mate haha, so hard, killed my hand. And then to cap it off whilst stuck during my Germany essay I glanced up and Diggers is like staring at me so I was like ****kk, cos he set the question. :p

Apparently Barry will definately be in for this game though, and MOD is safe, so are we making another change so that it's position for position?

Maybe

OUT: Barlow, McVeigh
IN: Barry, Bevan

Hahaha nice. That stare could penetrate a safe. The last couple of weeks ive been at Weigall and Shore watching the 1st XV after ive coached my team and have seen Diggers amongst a miriad of other teachers and it is so much better talking to them as an old boy. Have a laugh with them and a chat. Diggers is a funny bloke as a student or an old boy though! I can remember distinctly that feeling of helplessness during the Trials/HSC when u have a huge mind blank, most frustrating thing!

Bit harsh on dropping Cheese, arent we?!?! One bad game and he gets dumped. That wont be happening.

You were at Shore?? I was playing soccer just before the 1st XV! I played on the ground after the 1st XI! If I'd known I should have let you know so you could head down and make sure I cooled down properly. ;)

Well I'm thinking who could go out positionally for Barry, and Barlow can play that tall back as well. I dunno, may just be Macca for Barry, but they seem completely different players.

B:
Tom Harley, Matthew Scarlett, Corey Enright
HB: Harry Taylor, Tom Lonergan, Andrew Mackie
C: Joel Corey, Cameron Ling, Jimmy Bartel
HF: Travis Varcoe, Cameron Mooney, Steve Johnson
F: Mathew Stokes, Tom Hawkins, Shannon Byrnes
Foll: Shane Mumford, Joel Selwood, Gary Ablett
I/C: Mark Blake, David Johnson, Simon Hogan, Tom Gillies
Emg: Ryan Gamble, Jeremy Laidler, Kane TenaceIn: Scarlett, Taylor, Blake, D. Johnson
Out: David Wojcinski (ankle), Darren Milburn (ankle), Max Rooke (knee soreness), Kane Tenace

SYDNEY
B: Jared Crouch, Lewis Roberts-Thomson, Leo Barry
HB: Rhyce Shaw, Heath Grundy, Craig Bolton
C: Nick Smith, Brett Kirk, Martin Mattner
HF: Ryan O’Keefe, Adam Goodes, Luke Ablett
F: Jesse White, Michael O’Loughlin, Dan Hannebery
Foll: Darren Jolly, Kieren Jack, Jude Bolton
Int: Ed Barlow, Jarred Moore, Matt O’Dwyer, Mike Pyke
Emg: Paul Bevan, Nick Malceski, Kristin Thornton
In: Barry
Out: McVeigh (Hamstring)

Was a little dismayed to hear Roosy floating the idea of Leo playing in defence on small forwards. Last few years he got smoked by a few quick forwards he played on, Brett Ebert at SCG in 07 and i think he played on him last year too when Ebert kicked 6 on us. I will be a little worried if he lines up on Stokes and Byrnes. We have Smith, Crouchy to do the jobs on them.

I would much rather Leo to line up in the forward. Jesse, Mick, Leo and what his name? Oh yeh, Goodesy. That is a tough forward line to contain. Cant put a small defender on Leo, too strong one on one for that. Leo in the forward 50 please Roosy. Should have asked him that this arvo...bugger.

Anyway, im bored. Matchup Time:

CBolts on Johnson
LRT on Hawkins
Grundy on Mooney
Crouch on Byrnes
Barry on Stokes (if Leo indeed lines up in the back 50)
Smith on Varcoe

Jack on Ablett
Kirk on Selwood
JBolts on Bartel
Mattner on Corey
Ling on ROK

Scarlett on White
Taylor on MOL
Mackie on Goodes
NOG on Enright (defensive forward, NOG did it on Tambling last week, not to great success but Roosy will try it i reckon)
Harley on MOD/Moore

Not sure where Leo is going to play. As you have illustrated, he's always done better against the taller forwards, so playing him against the nippy Stokes could be a disaster. Can't argue against the rest of your matchups.

With McVeigh out it's going to open up a lot more playing time for somebody, perhaps Ablett back into the midfield or a sharing of the time between MOD and Hanners.

EDIT
I'm really worried about Varcoe, Byrnes and Stokes, I suspect MOD may have to play on one of them just because he has the pace.

Not sure where Leo is going to play. As you have illustrated, he's always done better against the taller forwards, so playing him against the nippy Stokes could be a disaster. Can't argue against the rest of your matchups.

With McVeigh out it's going to open up a lot more playing time for somebody, perhaps Ablett back into the midfield or a sharing of the time between MOD and Hanners.

EDIT
I'm really worried about Varcoe, Byrnes and Stokes, I suspect MOD may have to play on one of them just because he has the pace.

Yeh, MOD in the back 50 might be necessary though i'd much rather him play in the front half so we can use his zip and pace up there. I figured Stokes was the slowest of the 3 and the best over his head, so if Leo is to play on one of the smalls i think that is the best way to go. But of course the best idea is for him to go forward.

If he's fully fit Hawkins is the go for Leo I think. S Johnston and Mooney are their main go to men who will match up against Bolton and LRT.

Barry may be full back on Hawkins and have the opportunity to run off him. But I'm not expecting to see the Leo of old just a champion doing his job among the last times.

I notice that Sydney Swans are offering a complementary ticket to attend the Round 22 fixture against the Lions at the SCG in the farewell of Micky and all other retirees. I'd say the crowd would be above 30k and a better atmosphere for the final game.

huh?

Sydney Swans offering one complementary ticket to each person, 2 for 1, (to members I think) for Round 22 against the Lions. Comprende?

Not for me... bought a ticket the other day for a friend for Saturday night, no complementary ticket.

Round 20 The Sydney Swans vs The Geelong Cats