BucketsandBanger
Faire enough, that would be handySounds like he won’t be fit this week though.
Hayes and Coff a long way off from what I saw at Sandy, and Membrey only just did enough against a pretty weak team. I would rather see King out in front demanding the ball, and maybe Clark out, Bytel in, and just a manic attack on the ball from our midfieldI’d be going all in here. Put out our strongest, most experienced team and get the win.
In: Membrey, Hayes, Ross, Coffield, Billings
Out: Caminiti, Sharman, Byrnes, Cordy, Phillipou
How did Bytel go ? Membrey looked a lot better this week & the oppo doesn't matter it's how his body is & how he moved he looked a lot better,Hayes i agree just fair & Coff has had 3 out of 4 good games he is not far off it.Hayes and Coff a long way off from what I saw at Sandy, and Membrey only just did enough against a pretty weak team. I would rather see King out in front demanding the ball, and maybe Clark out, Bytel in, and just a manic attack on the ball from our midfield
In that case then I'd say DMac produced a fair bit more than Pou last year.
Anyway it doesn't really matter hopefully we can get a couple of W's and we'll all be happy
I don't think you guys are understanding what I'm saying. I'm talking about the list as a whole, not the best 22 we've fielded compared to last year.Owens early in the year was great but King and Membrey at full fitness and off a preseason would have been a 100 goal pairing most years. Caminiti has held up remarkably. Phillipou is showing heaps of good signs but we have carried him in games as well. There are heaps of better kids in North Melbourne's side too. If good kids are worth more than senior players North should be where we are.
Yes, the first Gambian pouched rat to be inducted.He has 2 more flags than our entire club. Blokes a ******* star, first ballot HOFamer.
To be fair I really can’t be assed looking into the 22 draw but I distinctly recall saints supporters screaming about how we had the hardest draw of any team when we choked out of finals. This year we’ve had GC, North, Richmond, Carlton, Brisbane as doubles.Harder draws are done on the previous year. Essendon was considered an easy kill off last year as were GWS, GC etc. Next year sides in the bottom half might meet Geelong and Sydney twice because they finish bottom 6. We had a mixed draw, Carlton and Tigers (who plenty had in the 8 after their recruiting drive) and North and Hawks. Played some tough interstate games like GWS and Sydney up there. Adelaide in SA looked an easy fixture at the start of the year too but has proven the opposite.
I think we've stayed competitive while blooding kids and had a bit of adversity with hardly any established forwards available and our thin midfield depth being tested. I agree it's subjective. I think we've probably overachieved to be honest.
I reckon next year will be worse. We look like cutting the safety net out and moving on some of the guys that might have come in and propped us up next year. If the kids drop off or plateau we could be in for a long year. Most lists around us look like they have more pieces already in place. GC, Freo, North, Hawks all look likely to improve again and I can't see anything that is going to make a massive jump for us sitting in the background. We have to hope we can wrangle some good players like Flanders and Henry or I expect a drop off as the new coach smell fades.
Totally, nothing against the kids I think I got a bit confused by the point George was making. I understand now he's saying the list is stronger now but if we're taking into account what their output was last year due to injury then I'd say we should take into account this year's injuries too. But yeah loving what Pou and Hammer have done this year and expect them to come back huge next year.We should probably be fair about it, and compare their years at the same age ...
View attachment 1769802
View attachment 1769804
Reckon they're both tracking OK ...
Ballot deez nutzHe has 2 more flags than our entire club. Blokes a ******* star, first ballot HOFamer.
Every time he plays us he does things that make you think he is an absolute dog.Ballot deez nutz
How could anyone not understand what you’re saying ? PleaseI don't think you guys are understanding what I'm saying. I'm talking about the list as a whole, not the best 22 we've fielded compared to last year.
Would take the development of Owens and Nas along with Caminiti and Pou and growth of others over whatever Hannebery was doing last year and the other deadwood we got out of the club. We are definitely a younger but stronger list.
Certainly possible and there is so little between clubs despite what the media hypes (ie X club definitely top 4 etc etc). So much is driven by confidence and belief. But I still think we will probably hold about here (here being just outside of the 8, my expectation from here till end of this year). I still think we have a terrific coach, as much as anything on driving standards and I think that can only grow. Kids will get better and more will show it. Perhaps we even have better years from some more experienced players. Players that are traded are simply replaced by the next body and not sure who would really make a dent (Dougs on structure could). That’s all balanced against natural improvements of other sides.Harder draws are done on the previous year. Essendon was considered an easy kill off last year as were GWS, GC etc. Next year sides in the bottom half might meet Geelong and Sydney twice because they finish bottom 6. We had a mixed draw, Carlton and Tigers (who plenty had in the 8 after their recruiting drive) and North and Hawks. Played some tough interstate games like GWS and Sydney up there. Adelaide in SA looked an easy fixture at the start of the year too but has proven the opposite.
I think we've stayed competitive while blooding kids and had a bit of adversity with hardly any established forwards available and our thin midfield depth being tested. I agree it's subjective. I think we've probably overachieved to be honest.
I reckon next year will be worse. We look like cutting the safety net out and moving on some of the guys that might have come in and propped us up next year. If the kids drop off or plateau we could be in for a long year. Most lists around us look like they have more pieces already in place. GC, Freo, North, Hawks all look likely to improve again and I can't see anything that is going to make a massive jump for us sitting in the background. We have to hope we can wrangle some good players like Flanders and Henry or I expect a drop off as the new coach smell fades.
How could anyone not understand what you’re saying ? Please
Give them all a week off for being simple folk
Certainly possible and there is so little between clubs despite what the media hypes (ie X club definitely top 4 etc etc). So much is driven by confidence and belief. But I still think we will probably hold about here (here being just outside of the 8, my expectation from here till end of this year). I still think we have a terrific coach, as much as anything on driving standards and I think that can only grow. Kids will get better and more will show it. Perhaps we even have better years from some more experienced players. Players that are traded are simply replaced by the next body and not sure who would really make a dent (Dougs on structure could). That’s all balanced against natural improvements of other sides.
But who knows. I’m not sure I’ll be super upset if we have to do some replumb and drop back for a year or two. Good mid draft next year
I saw that Samson Ryan made the 22 under 22 and spat out my coffee. He does look good, but on this year / career to date alone, he’d have to have 20 in front? Wonder how he compares to Hammer?We should probably be fair about it, and compare their years at the same age ...
View attachment 1769802
View attachment 1769804
Reckon they're both tracking OK ...
Yep fully agree. And it probably all starts with the mids again. Who knows what we’ll have and what form they show.It could certainly go either way. If the kids keep getting better, we get players back and trade in one or two established players it might be just what we need but if we cut hard and the young players drop off or level out then we might struggle to keep up. Injury makes a massive difference too. Melbourne were injured for years and as soon as they got a run with a near full list they won a flag.
Take it easy on himI understand what he's saying, it's a stupid point though.
As if this year's list with the players we were missing is better than last year's list. Missing established players has thrown better sides than ours off cause this season. There is a reason Geelong can't back up last year's form. Sydney near derailed their season with injury in their backline.
Young players are going to give uneven performance.
Are they resting him? He usually runs around hitting our guys and getting away with it, the only person allowed to play “big boy football”. Another one of those special breeds where the normal rules don’t apply and you are meant to sit there and be happy that he is so good. Bigger that, the blokes a flog and when he “lifts” it’s lifting the elbow, not his game. And he was always allowed to get away with it. Pathetic.If they're resting Cotchin this week they should probably do the right thing and rest Dusty aswell so they can play a big farewell game together.
When they’re handballing hospital hand passes less than a metre away to someone in a worse position and in a panic, those “old farts” would be totally correct!2. All the old farts in the crowd screaming “just kick the ball” are getting what they want. Bombing it long.
Oliver - Petracca- Brayshaw- Viney it’s a handy midfieldIt could certainly go either way. If the kids keep getting better, we get players back and trade in one or two established players it might be just what we need but if we cut hard and the young players drop off or level out then we might struggle to keep up. Injury makes a massive difference too. Melbourne were injured for years and as soon as they got a run with a near full list they won a flag.