Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney

In a year when there were about 12 good teams for us to finish 10th is about right. If things had gone our way, no key injuries, fixture, close results etc. we might have finished 7-8th. But we were never a serious contender despite being 8-3 at the bye.

Ask yourself at what stage did we play Top 4 standard footy like Geelong, Melbourne and the Swans. My answer is never.

I would liked us to have made it but we were never good enough to go all the way and that's all I'm really interested in. So I don't really see it as a wasted year, just another mediocre Saints one. I've seen plenty of 'em.

Only thing that pissed me off is the Bulldogs making it. No way have they deserved to play finals this year. I reckon we've had a better year and that's saying something. Hope they get found out next week.

I'm on the Dees to go back to back. Can't stand Geelong so will even barrack for the Pies next week!
When we beat Collingwood, Geelong and played Melbourne, we played our best. I’m probably forgetting other examples. Not many 4Q efforts though.

I sort of do have faith. I think we could go either way. We really have heaps to improve but plenty of sides have gone forward from where we are....but others have dropped as well. Really on the cusp and Ratts has more work to do than anyone. His career hinges on what he can do in the next 6 months.
I don't at the minute, maybe because its still so fresh but have zero faith in our coaching box not just Ratts . the next 6 months ? its his 4th year next year. We look lost on the field and in the coaching box just miles away from it. What is the style/ brand of footy he is trying to implement ? its 4 years outdated. He wont be coaching 2024 and we will be starting again

Only kind of half-watched the game but a few thoughts...

- I'd love Higgins to go away and have a huge pre-season and make a case for a midfield-forward role. He's not a great kick for goal, I don't really feel like we make the most of his skills such as his ability in traffic. He has potential that isn't being realised.

- We've seen what Max King is. Let's get some help around him, I can't deal with another season of him carrying our forward line on his own.

- I hope Hunter Clark can rest and recouperate. It's not really a surprise he pinged a hammy today because he has looked barely fit for most of the year. Such a wasted season for him, we need him consistently on the park next year.

- I thought Paton had a good game and has improved lately, look forward to seeing what he can do next year.

- I'd like to see a different approach to our attitude to the umpires. Honestly we get destroyed almost every game, can the coach just start coming out and saying "it's not good enough". How about when Franklin ran about a metre over the mark and didn't get a 50? The in the back against King. The reversal against Sinclair. Seriously I can remember one game this year (Hawthorn mk2) where we got the rub of the green. It's exhausting.

- Sincs was wonderful today. What a season he has had.

- Campbell was pretty good but Marshall wasted as a forward.

- I just feel like we need more top-quality contributors. We need some guys to take steps, Higgins as I mentioned, Clark, Coff hopefully brings it next year, Marshall, Gresh. We lack top quality and we need more guys to join Sincs and Steele. Mostly we need guys that can play well in the midfield week in week out.

- It has been a disappointing season, no doubt about it. In the end 12 wins would have got us finals, and we should have made it. But more than just looking to finals, we need to figure out how to really take the next step and be a competitive finals team and push towards top four. It will be interesting to see the changes we make over the off-season, we can't just roll out the same again and expect different results.

I've bagged umpires when they've deserved it, and I've defended them likewise.

Tonight I thought the umpiring was fine, one of the better ones.

BUT, the report of Ben Long, I can't help feel a little disgusted. He has clearly been reported because of what the umpire fraternity think of him. He made a magnificent spoil. If you didn't think there was any umpire bias, here's your proof otherwise.

You must feel like you’re mainlining ecstasy ffs
Have a look at him, season down the drain and on he comes having an absolute meltdown. Where's your black forest choccie and nice warm blankie, champion? Time for a snooze I reckon

I don't at the minute, maybe because its still so fresh but have zero faith in our coaching box not just Ratts . the next 6 months ? its his 4th year next year. We look lost on the field and in the coaching box just miles away from it. What is the style/ brand of footy he is trying to implement ? its 4 years outdated. He wont be coaching 2024 and we will be starting again
Good feeling we'll get things sorted over the pre-season, thinking a push towards top four next year and premiers in 2024, Ratts a St Kilda hero.

I don't at the minute, maybe because its still fresh but have zero faith in our coaching box not just Ratts . the next 6 months ? its his 4th year next year. We look lost on the field and in the coaching box just miles away from it. What is the style/ brand of footy he is trying to implement ? its 4 years outdated. He wont be coaching 2024 and we will be starting again
I've seen the same old stuff for years.
Very little confidence we can turn it around quickly

Ben Long break out year 2023

- I'd like to see a different approach to our attitude to the umpires. Honestly we get destroyed almost every game, can the coach just start coming out and saying "it's not good enough". How about when Franklin ran about a metre over the mark and didn't get a 50? The in the back against King. The reversal against Sinclair. Seriously I can remember one game this year (Hawthorn mk2) where we got the rub of the green. It's exhausting.
Dream on.
Our club hasn’t got the b*lls to rock the boat.

And while they’re about it, maybe they can ask about the vendetta against Longy. If he’s charged ( no “if” about it of course) we need to challenge. It’s become a joke.

Two pretty genuine efforts in the final fortnight, some bright moments along the way, but our worst is still far, far too poor. Feels like we’ve been saying that for how long now…

Congratulations to Jack Sinclair winning the BnF by about four Flemington straights, terrific year.

Good feeling we'll get things sorted over the pre-season, thinking a push towards top four next year and premiers in 2024, Ratts a St Kilda hero.
That’s supposing it‘s an actual review in more than name only, otherwise it’ll just be rearranging the deckchairs on the Titanic.

Ben Long had his best game he has ever had going by stats - huge game for him - 17 marks is a big number going with his 27 touches.
Could he be the next Sinclair improvement wise.

Dream on.
Our club hasn’t got the b*lls to rock the boat.

And while they’re about it, maybe they can ask about the vendetta against Longy. If he’s charged ( no “if” about it of course) we need to challenge. It’s become a joke.
Umpiring had nothing to do with us losing today or missing the finals

That’s supposing it‘s an actual review in more than name only, otherwise it’ll just be rearranging the deckchairs on the Titanic.
Same people were saying we were a top 4 side last pre season
We have a ton of work to just to make 8th spot and if we are not careful we will go backwards

Was not our worst performance, close to worst performance of the umps against us this year though…

Impressed with Campbell, looks to maybe have done a bit of a McEvoy; gone from a bit of lumbering plodder ruckman to far more mobile. Happy to give him 2 years after that showing at senior level.

Long looked much more confident tonight than I can recall, was a Jeremy Howe like performance with his marking. I hope these Essendon rumours are bull because he still has a lot to offer.

King, maybe only 1 of his goals was a set shot but he showed after those 2 early goals most of his problems the last few weeks were confidence and in between the ears. Maybe there’s room to change his technique as well but overwhelmingly his poor technique was through rushing and overthinking IMO.

Very sad to see Paddy Ryder go, especially without a final game but maybe our best bang for buck pickup in years. What he offered as a tap ruckman and mature voice out on ground, especially with Rowan developing the last few years was huge.

Hanners, what could have been? Showed tonight if his body holds together he has time and decision making ability few on our list do.

Kent, hasn’t been his year or 2 but when we were in a bit of a rebuild mode he offered something there.

Boy, disappointing overall I guess, but I’m not as flat or doom and gloom as some. Midfield needs some more young blood pushing through and another mature tall forward would do wonders for King I think. Not ready to call “rebuild time” just yet.

Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney