Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney

* Hill off and give the dashing half back role to Long btw.

I didn't see his game today, did he play defence? In general I'd say he's better up front. Was an absolute liability in that dashing half back role last year. But maybe he can improve. Still prefer him in the forward arc.

I reckon he we do that to suck the zone up the ground and then try and get them out the back
Yep, it's an obvious ploy that has become one of our two plans, the other being a blind bomb to a stationary King. It has largely been neutralised but they always let enough through to convince Ratts that it's a winning strategy. I wonder if Butler can play well any other way? I hope so, because I hate it as a strategy.

I didn't see his game today, did he play defence? In general I'd say he's better up front. Was an absolute liability in that dashing half back role last year. But maybe he can improve. Still prefer him in the forward arc.

Played mostly across half back, had 27 possessions, 17 marks and pushed forward to kick a goal, he was BOG by a mile, one of his best ever games.

Ben Long had his best game he has ever had going by stats - huge game for him - 17 marks is a big number going with his 27 touches.
Could he be the next Sinclair improvement wise.
Definitely has it in him. Ben Long has been a victim of both himself and the way he's used. I think if he's allowed to play his natural game in a settled position, as well as keep himself checked in for a whole game and not disappear, he would be one of our most exciting players, rather than the bloke that we all want to see smashing through the opposition (though I like that about him too)

Last two weeks there’s been no question about the effort the boys have put in, many many very large questions about how they’re being asked to play. Seems clear the biggest problem is in the coaching box. Luckily that’s the easiest to do something about, so let’s hope Bassat sees that too.
I reckon it's both.
Coaching and the playing list is just bog standard average.

I've bagged umpires when they've deserved it, and I've defended them likewise.

Tonight I thought the umpiring was fine, one of the better ones.

BUT, the report of Ben Long, I can't help feel a little disgusted. He has clearly been reported because of what the umpire fraternity think of him. He made a magnificent spoil. If you didn't think there was any umpire bias, here's your proof otherwise.
They won’t be satisfied until they destroy his career.

Definitely has it in him. Ben Long has been a victim of both himself and the way he's used. I think if he's allowed to play his natural game in a settled position, as well as keep himself checked in for a whole game and not disappear, he would be one of our most exciting players, rather than the bloke that we all want to see smashing through the opposition (though I like that about him too)
He’s been a victim of inconsistent tribunal rulings on contact from the AFL. There is a whistle in the umpires mouth in anticipation every time he is near it. It’s abysmal.

Yeah, and that too...definitely.
The one where he got done for what "might" have happened back in 2020 was just pathetic. Hasn't happened since to any other player (feel free to correct me anyone, if i'm wrong) It's hard not to believe that there's a plot against him.

Longy had been quietly building to that.
I think he only went to half back when Clark went down?
Anyway in the last month he had been playing an outside running link up role,
And as was the case with hill a year or 2 ago he just wasn’t being used,
But I have been watching him and he had been finding space and presenting well.
Seemed like a lot of the time he was first option but teammates were too slow to decide or afraid to go back towards the corridor.

My memory could be wrong but I thought he kicked 6 playing mid-field.
Would love to see him carving it up through the middle, instead of “wannabe tough guy” Zones.
Sign him up now & play him in a position where he can shine.

Not after yesterday you wouldn't say that , his game was off the hook .

Reading back on the game day thread which I can’t reply to, so many people potting Higgins….

When you’re lambasted by all and sundry, the media “ experts” and probably your own club and supporters not to be “selfish” this is what happens. We’ve destroyed his confidence (something we seem to be fairly good at.)

As I’ve posted before, it’s the “job” of a small forward to be selfish at times. It may not always come off, but when it does it’s team-lifting stuff.

Imagine anyone telling Milney he was too selfish.

🙄

We have lost what should be a weapon and turned him to a confused and anxious mess. He should be backed to play on instinct. If we do to De Goey what we did to Snags we'll have another Hill scenario where we are off loading his contract in 2 years. Could also be argued we did it to Hill trying to turn a running outside player into a more contested player and got the worst of both worlds.

One thing I’ve been impressed with Max Espescially in the second half of the year has been his improvement in ground ball snaps for goal. For someone his size it’s a serious point of difference. Now it’s all about his set shots and he’ll be a star.

That was my concern when we drafted him, he was a very tall small forward and a lot of his goal were from snaps or dribblers and I thought he'd struggle to have the size differential and space he got at junior level. He was always a pretty ordinary set shot but he didn't take that many. He's outdone all my hopes for him.

He's been able to adjust to what ever he needs to. A great forward line coach and an individual working on set shot routine could make him the first player to have a 100 goal season in years IMO. At the moment we have a racing car that we take to do the shopping. Someone with some vision could have him being the best forward in footy. We are running him at about 10% to 20% of his potential at the moment.

Our disposal efficiency is usually quite good but that's because we do all those sideways backward kicks.

It's a terrible indicator of good ball use.

Yep, we **** around with the footy across HB get it forward slowly and kick straight into the opposition. It's been our theme for 2022. We smashed them in clearance and just can't make forward entries dangerous. It's like we found new ways not to score.

I liked the kids playing on ball because they play fast and modern attacking footy, one kick and it's inside 50 before the zones have time to organise them selves. Ross had a couple of incredible clearances too. A bit of forward system and it would have been a win.

Clark hit a few tonight. Needs a good run at it next season 🙏🏼

I was really disappointed with his defensive efforts yesterday, perhaps his hammy was tightening up and he played through it but I'd get him away from defence. Almost inside mid or bust for me but has to start chasing when we don't have the ball.

Wilkie's eye-rolling compilation was the highlight of 2022 for me

I need to see this.
This is my collection 😃

LzWkm8n.gif

Mistakes, too many mistakes. Another game we lost through skill errors and poor decision making.

Leaked a good three early goals by terrible turnovers. The game right there. Dead even otherwise. Came from experienced players as well. Ross one springs to mind. Howards missed fist later on, that was another goal that should not have happened.

Can't wait to see what this team can do once properly coached.

I reckon he we do that to suck the zone up the ground and then try and get them out the back

Probably the theory but so far it's not really worked at all.

Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney