Preview Round 24, 2023: Brisbane v St.Kilda - Gabba, Saturday 26th August, 4:35PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Lions

Votes: 34 55.7%
  • Saints

Votes: 27 44.3%

And How the F does he get that with only one AFL game and no VFL games to go before the final? Very strange comment for RTB
Quote: Lyon said key forward Jack Hayes would need more football under his belt before being considered for a return after his six-goal haul for Sandringham on Sunday.

He actually doesn't exactly say this in the presser - he says Hayes hasn't played much footy coming off an ACL and then a bad hammy, then
he said there are a lot of players who perform well in the VFL but AFL is a different kettle of fish, and also said "all you can do is put your hand up".
He really didn't give much away and the summary by the journo of several comments misses the mark imo.

My training report (probably some double ups from what others have written, sorry):

-Basic warm up stuff, group practiced some 15-20m kick and run on drills. Not much to say but the skills actually looked quite good, and everyone looked relaxed and upbeat.
-They then went into some 1v1 tackling drills, saw a lot of work on the technique, holding the arm.

-Hill had no strapping on his knee which really surprised me in a good way. Was moving well.
-Howard participated but with the fluro cap on.
-Zak Jones and Seb Ross did laps, and then into light foot skills across the far side of the oval. I reckon Ross was running really well, pushed it pretty hard in some parts too. Pretty good turn around for his hammy.

Went into 2 groups for 2 separate drills:
-Group 1 Butler, Steele, Crouch, Higgins, King, NWM played a keeping off style game within the 50 arc. The field kicking here was actually very good, King is an underrated field kick for mine. Hit his targets well and was moving well.
-Group 2 was a fwd 50 entry drill.
-Battle, Clark, Owens, Marshall, Sharman. One would be in the 50 running back at goal, stop and prop, turn back at the kicker and point for the ball on a lead right back at them. Was a good drill showing direction changes in the lead and hitting up the fwd.
-Owens' delivery was really nice, Membrey had sticky mitts.
-These groups then swapped.
-Played it slightly different here Group 1. One fwd would run off his defender, run across the front of the 50m arc for a lead, while at the same time the deeper fwd would lead straight at the kicker. Player delivering i50 would ignore lead across as a dummy lead, and opt for the deeper fwd leading straight at them.
-NWM kicking beautifully as always.
-Quite liked this drill - dynamic and unpredictable, or, less predictable, inside 50s. Didn't see any up and under bombs today which was a pleasant surprise.

There was also a 3rd group, playing over the far side. I'd say mostly VFL guys, but also Coffield, Billings, Paton. Take from that what you will.

Midfield group practiced boundary throw ins, to outside transition:
-Hunter Clark was really good on the inside, nice hands to Steele.
-Owens also powerful inside - is going to be so good soon.
-Marshall destroyed young Heath in the ruck. Didn't get his hands on it.

12v12 it looked like:
-Gresh came out very briefly, spoke with physios/staff, was touching his hammy. Went back inside then and saw him wander off to the pool later.
-This appeared to be a focused drill on defensive switch.
-Was a little stagnant at times, Steele had to slow it down and stop and prop a couple of times, but that was due to mostly good defensive pressure I suppose.
-Opted for the switch kick then 2 longer hit up leads down the line.
-Sinclair and NWM the only two that would bite off the 45 degree kicks inside, and/or back outside. They did two of these in a row to completely break the defensive zone. Was beautiful, Sincs inside at 45 to NWM. NWM 45 back out and they were through on a run.

Full team v team:
-Wilkie on King as always.
-Cordy on Heath (I guess prepping for the 2 talls in Daniher and Hipwood)
-Battle was on Sharman and playing really loosely. He would often let Sharman run about in the 50 and stay 15m off him.
-Coff had a lovely kick down the corridor, King lead up at the footy and lost Wilkie as Wilkie stayed back to try cover the resting tall. This worked very well, Max propped and went quickly for a ping at goal. Probably fell 1m short but was nice nonetheless.
-NWM and Sinclair just break it apart so easily, is obvious but just get it in their hands.
-Windhager playing on the wing alongside Byrnes, was running really well Windy.
-This seemed a pure transition drill. Whistle would go as soon as the i50 attacking mark was made. Turn over, repeat.
-Skills in this were good. They were vocal, upbeat, just seemed a good energy to it.

Winding down Marshall did some ruck work with the mids roving his taps under body pressure. Again I'd say Clark looked really good here.
Some of the fwds did lead up marks running at the kicker, as they did earlier in the drills. King with nice hands.
Defenders did some 1v1 high balls, and there was a bit of Battle taking the 1on1, with Wilkie floating across as we see in games.

Overall I'd say the standard was high today. Skills wise they looked good, energy was pretty good, seemed a happy bunch. And why not, hey?

Cheers.

My training report (probably some double ups from what others have written, sorry):

-Basic warm up stuff, group practiced some 15-20m kick and run on drills. Not much to say but the skills actually looked quite good, and everyone looked relaxed and upbeat.
-They then went into some 1v1 tackling drills, saw a lot of work on the technique, holding the arm.

-Hill had no strapping on his knee which really surprised me in a good way. Was moving well.
-Zak Jones and Seb Ross did laps, and then into light foot skills across the far side of the oval. I reckon Ross was running really well, pushed it pretty hard in some parts too. Pretty good turn around for his hammy.

-Group 1 Butler, Steele, Crouch, Higgins, King, NWM played a keeping off style game within the 50 arc. The field kicking here was actually very good, King is an underrated field kick for mine. Hit his targets well and was moving well.
-Battle, Clark, Owens, Marshall, Sharman. One would be in the 50 running back at goal, stop and prop, turn back at the kicker and point for the ball on a lead right back at them. Was a good drill showing direction changes in the lead and hitting up the fwd.
-Played it slightly different here Group 1. One fwd would run off his defender, run across the front of the 50m arc for a lead, while at the same time the deeper fwd would lead straight at the kicker. Player delivering i50 would ignore lead across as a dummy lead, and opt for the deeper fwd leading straight at them.
-Quite liked this drill - dynamic and unpredictable, or, less predictable, inside 50s. Didn't see any up and under bombs today which was a pleasant surprise.

There was also a 3rd group, playing over the far side. I'd say mostly VFL guys, but also Coffield, Billings, Paton. Take from that what you will.

12v12 it looked like:
-Gresh came out very briefly, spoke with physios/staff, was touching his hammy. Went back inside then and saw him wander off to the pool later.
-Was a little stagnant at times, Steele had to slow it down and stop and prop a couple of times, but that was due to mostly good defensive pressure I suppose.
-Sinclair and NWM the only two that would bite off the 45 degree kicks inside, and/or back outside. They did two of these in a row to completely break the defensive zone. Was beautiful, Sincs inside at 45 to NWM. NWM 45 back out and they were through on a run.

Full team v team:
-Battle was on Sharman and playing really loosely. He would often let Sharman run about in the 50 and stay 15m off him.
-Coff had a lovely kick down the corridor, King lead up at the footy and lost Wilkie as Wilkie stayed back to try cover the resting tall. This worked very well, Max propped and went quickly for a ping at goal. Probably fell 1m short but was nice nonetheless.
-NWM and Sinclair just break it apart so easily, is obvious but just get it in their hands.
-This seemed a pure transition drill. Whistle would go as soon as the i50 attacking mark was made. Turn over, repeat.
-Skills in this were good. They were vocal, upbeat, just seemed a good energy to it.

Winding down Marshall did some ruck work with the mids roving his taps under body pressure. Again I'd say Clark looked really good here.
Some of the fwds did lead up marks running at the kicker, as they did earlier in the drills. King with nice hands.
Defenders did some 1v1 high balls, and there was a bit of Battle taking the 1on1, with Wilkie floating across as we see in games.

Overall I'd say the standard was high today. Skills wise they looked good, energy was pretty good, seemed a happy bunch. And why not, hey?

Cheers.
Awesome Dave, thanks.

12v12 it looked like:

Full team v team:

Cheers.
Great report as always.

12v12 it looked like:

Full team v team:

Cheers.
Great review. Thanks Dave. I have just one comment to make......sounds like we are nailing the game plan and transition to F50 but what about goal kicking practice? We won't be getting away with poor conversion rates in finals like we did against Geelong last week.

No worries, mate.

Yeah, the primary focus each time I go to training is clearly ball movement. D50 to F50 under pressure, say in a turnover etc.
They train this a lot, in various drills, and it clearly shows in our games, too. Think we're rated #1 in the comp for this?

As for set shots, well, between each drill all the players have a minute or two of shots from various spots as they get set for the next drill.
It's very lax, not regimented, rarely is anyone on the mark etc.
They probably do this, I dunno, maybe 4 or 5 times per training from what I've seen.

It's not a whole lot, and rarely is it practiced in a proper match setting with pressure on them and man on the mark and people putting them off. Has happened a couple of times, but I'd say it was rare.

No worries, mate.

Yeah, the primary focus each time I go to training is clearly ball movement. D50 to F50 under pressure, say in a turnover etc.
They train this a lot, in various drills, and it clearly shows in our games, too. Think we're rated #1 in the comp for this?

As for set shots, well, between each drill all the players have a minute or two of shots from various spots as they get set for the next drill.
They probably do this, I dunno, maybe 4 or 5 times per training from what I've seen.

It's not a whole lot, and rarely is it practiced in a proper match setting with pressure on them and man on the mark and people putting them off. Has happened a couple of times, but I'd say it was rare.
Our goal kicking this year has been a massive improvement on last year.

Saturday was an off night... will need to take our chances this week.

King's a chance to be resting based off the teams in the match sim portion. He looked fantastic and was one of the standouts.

He was wearing the fluro bib alongside Heath on the 'B' team while the other end had Hayes/Membrey/Sharman/Phillipou/Higgins. Owens was with the midfield group all session.

Hayes/Coffield/Billings/Byrnes the 4 who played VFL to join in with the seniors for a lot of the drills while the rest worked separately.

Howard was out there with the no contact hat too. Didn't partake in match sim but looking like he should be available for finals.

Yeah I reckon RTB was playing 'ducks & drakes" re his comments about Hayes. I agree Brut I think King will/should be rested and Hayes come into to fill his position. It will be a big ask for Jack to match up on Andrews an AA full back.

Ok Kent's signing off the ball by ball descriptions.
Mav or someone can do a post training review, I can't do the in depth analysis, I am just the colour guy

I will try to get down again before finals. Hope you all got something from my ramblings.

Cheers

Edit: Almost all have gone in but Pou doing repeat sprints with the trainer to finish off.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thanks heaps for the report mate😍

A fair bit of kicking between drills. Higgins missing a few, worked with a trainer who made him kick a bit further back of the mark and started nailing them.

No worries, mate.

Awesome report mate😍 much appreciated

A fair bit of kicking between drills. Higgins missing a few, worked with a trainer who made him kick a bit further back of the mark and started nailing them.

Higgins goal kicking needs a lot of work. Just seems to lairise too much and misses way too many shots that should be bread and butter to a clever small forward. Needs to put more value on the shots he gets and turn those 2.3s into 4.1s.

Max King has been rested for the Lions game. So is officially an out. Just announced on CH7.

So Hayes came in and Cooper didn't go out?

x factor wtf GIF by X Factor Global