Autopsy Round 24, 2024 - Saints defeat Boos

Wanting to lose to preserve those picks is pathetic stuff. That sort of mentality is bad for football clubs, and does more harm than the good whatever players picked at those spots would do.

North Melbourne did the right thing winning late last year, St Kilda did the right thing winning tonight.

Winning doesn’t ever set a club back.
Sorry that’s fanciful dross
Come Rd 1 next year, when picks 5/6 are running round for other clubs while we eke out another “he’s a HBF at pick 9 …who will one day morph into a mid…” won’t mean squat
This rubbish that it’s “culture/soul defining” is utter rot - it won’t means thing except that we’ve done ourselves out of an early choice for one or more of the elite mids in this draft - that’s fact
Enjoy the win… wooo hoo

Those who are a bit indifferent about the result today, just watch Ross’ presser. I’m confident where the club is heading and we have a strong young core that will grow again in November.

The club knows the midfield is the Achilles heel but we will address it. Watching Pou, Wilson and Garcia late showed that we have plenty to look forward too. King, Henry, Windy etc still to come back in too, and give another pre season to Shoey, Hastie, Collard etc - plenty of room for growth. Let’s hope Clark, Dow and other injury plagued players get a good run at it this summer. Clark was fantastic in the contest. Also, if you rewatch the game, please watch Wilson’s game. The kid is going to be a star.

Crushing other teams dreams is loser mentality. We aren't making finals, how does other teams hurting help us? We are the loser who gets enjoyment out of other people's misery because we never achieve anything ourselves.

We need to do the best for us and winning wasn't the best for us. In fact, today did nothing but push us further away from a flag and I want to bloody well see one in my lifetime.

Say goodbye to the elite guys pushing for a #1 pick spot in FOS, Jagga, Smillie, Lalor or Draper. May as well have pick 15 now. Only difference between the team that actually has 15 and us is they'll be playing finals.

Again, zero enjoyment from winning in August when it means nothing but a flattering win loss record in a season that let us all down.

Absolute amateur hour if we are celebrating anything from this year and embarrassing to let other clubs live in our heads so much that seeing them lose means more than securing one of the elite draftees for our future.

Makes me sick seeing Filth supporters and the likes celebrating this win, pathetic. If we ain't in the finals we may as well be last. I'm sick of this I truly am, we never do what's best for us.
Winning is always best! Take your loser sook mentality and walk

Winners win, losers lose.
The mentality of Saints fans who want to lose games of footy is crazy. It's loser mentality.

Winning games like that is much better for the club than getting a draft pick a little bit earlier. Tanking destroys clubs.
Not long back from the ground.

How Duckin good was that.....pretty damn good....the adrenaline rush at the final siren.........was just magical.

Thought when the Bloos kicked their last goal we were sunk....the heart sunk even further when Pou missed his regulation shot.

And then....BANG.

My head was spinning on the way to the ground....winning v losing.....a higher draft pick vs a lower one....I thought...."it will be what it will be"

The cards fell and it is what it is.

These guys are highly paid professional athletes....they want to WIN.

The diff between us(12th) and Melb(14th) is a paltry 0.9 %....unbelievable.

Again...it's the way the cards fell....us mere mortals can do absolutely nothing about it.

We have to hope we nail our draft picks and get premium development into them.

Back to the game....the atmosphere with 44 K in was electric.....Aisle 32 moved to Aisle 48....we stood on the concourse right behind our cheer squad....when we goaled....the noise was deafening.....It was like Liverpool scoring the winner in an FA Cup final...lol.....a big crew of Sainters in today.

Higgo....you'll be getting an Xmas card from me ........you absolutely made my day.

Did I say a very quiet scotch post game in the JW bar.......yes I did.

Approval from the bank was ok'd....it aint cheap in there..

:) :) :)

Let’s see what the Dees do with pick 5 and what we can develop with pick 7 before we go full toys out of the cot.

If it’s another Paddy/Trac or Bont/Billings outcome, then by all means stand up and tell us all you told us so.

I advocated for the loss, wanted the picks and easier fixture. Hard to maintain that stance witnessing the emotion after the game.

Time will tell if this was the sliding door moment or not.

Enjoy the win for the here and now mate.
So many of us conflicted especially when they were 4 points up, and I thought, ok that’s it, I can live with that.

Jones and Higgo had other plans and if you cannot enjoy that win then YOU
(not you Pardon me ) are the grinch. The boys were absolutely pumped and so should we be.

We’ll get what we get in the draft, so be it.

PS: Ads734 your bro sat with us and boy was he needling those Blues throughout 🤣

Come Rd 1 next year, when picks 5/6 are running round for other clubs while we eke out another “he’s a HBF at pick 9 …who will one day morph into a mid…” won’t mean squat
This rubbish that it’s “culture/soul defining” is utter rot - it won’t means thing except that we’ve done ourselves out of an early choice for one or more of the elite mids in this draft - that’s fact
Enjoy the win… wooo hoo

In theory we could have watched it this year with Duursma, Watson, Sanders and Wilson

Enjoy the win… wooo hoo
Where is it guaranteed that a player chosen at 5 is going to be better than one chosen at 7?

56% time on ground tonight - less than Stocker who got subbed off!
It's crazy...watching it from 12000 miles away, Clark seems to be almost involved in every play. I'd love to get to a game at some stage and see the way he's managed in a game.
(Just love to get to a live game to be honest. GAA just doesn't hit the high notes in the same way as AFL does)

It's crazy...watching it from 12000 miles away, Clark seems to be almost involved in every play. I'd love to get to a game at some stage and see the way he's managed in a game.
(Just love to get to a live game to be honest. GAA just doesn't hit the high notes in the same way as AFL does)
Get him to 80% game time and he will be very, very handy

Ahh man, that's a bummer.
Is it though? I suppose at least if he had of come back I could have put the campaigner on ignore, just had to ghost the bloke for two years during his reign of terror.
Better off without him.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Came back, the other week, abused a few members here and was perma banned by the Bigfooty gods.
Saw none of it and a few said he was full of Dutch courage.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Missed that, hope he is ok - seemed that a fair bit of his identity was wrapped up in this place and being able to have his input.

Love Mason Wood's words about the win today, this type of win is what it is about.

We need more of them.

Hey boys. Long time lurker but I had to make an account after today. I'll try and make this short.

Premiership teams are all about culture. You always go out with the intention to dominate your opponent. It doesn't matter if you're 5 games clear on top of the ladder or unable to make finals with 5 games left.

It should always be about giving maximum effort to win the game.

It doesn't matter which two kids from the top 10 we get this year. We finally have the structures and culture in place to get the best out of them. Nas and Chito finished top 5 in the bnf last year. Second year players. Wilson has been brilliant. None of our debutants this year looked overawed. They were ready to play when we needed them.

Max King was dominating as a CHF the first 3 rounds. Dominating. Top 3 in goals, goal assists, score involvements, and contested marks. Then against GWS he hurt his knee.
After that he was clearly hampered and was forced to play as a deep forward. The club had set him up to be able to run so he wasn't built like to wrestle like Thilthorpe. No wonder he struggled.
But he kept playing. Pushing himself. Trying. To the point where his bad knee gave out. What a clubman.

There's a reason Grant Thomas hasn't been allowed back into the club and Ross Lyon has. And GT clearly wants to. But he's stuck like us: out in the cold with no influence.

A really interesting point is Jack Higgins saying in the post game interview that Ross is the best coach he's ever had. That's after working under Damian Hardwick.

Up the saints, **** the blues!

Higgo has been the ultimate troll this year. First the match sealing goal "from the carpark" against Collingwood and now this pearler 🔥😂
That's gold from you sverik....I'd forgot about Higgo's "BT " special from earlier in the year.

Carlton getting into the finals was the real story to them, we were immaterial because we didn’t get into finals. They had nowhere to go when we won.

They're short slighted.

Blues win hey great congrats.
We win - this last match of the round means something instead of being a moot point as Port can't make 8 points in 1 match.

So realistically, anyone that gives any damns to AFL footy likes this result as it keeps the entire H&A season alive to the last game of the season.

This comm teams get that, ours were too busy blowing smoke up the Blues arses, it was really only Jack on fox that mentioned it and that was at the very beginning of the telecast.

Enjoy the win… wooo hoo
you mean like watching tsatas running around for essendon?

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Autopsy Round 24, 2024 - Saints defeat Boos