Review Round 3, 2022 vs Adelaide

He doesn't. Worst case scenario for him is he gets 6 months of free money.
dragons den sale GIF by CBC

There's no point in even talking about finals. Put win/loss to the side and just look at the way we've played in our last six competitive games, pre season included.

Just pretend you hadn't watched us play for years and only started watching again from the prelim onwards. What would you think? You'd think we can't score, we're too easy to score against, we're disorganised, we don't compete hard enough or for long enough within games, we're slow, we're unfit. In short, you'd think we just weren't a very good team.

The bigger question is how and why this has all happened so bloody quickly? Now I reckon 2nd flattered us last year but we were still good enough to win 17 of 22 games and our performance in the first final was actually tremendous. What has happened since has been nothing short of diabolical. It's genuinely puzzling but the sample size is now large enough to really accept what we're seeing and realise that it's just what we are now.

There's no point in even talking about finals. Put win/loss to the side and just look at the way we've played in our last six competitive games, pre season included.

Just pretend you hadn't watched us play for years and only started watching again from the prelim onwards. What would you think? You'd think we can't score, we're too easy to score against, we're disorganised, we don't compete hard enough or for long enough within games, we're slow, we're unfit. In short, you'd think we just weren't a very good team.

The bigger question is how and why this has all happened so bloody quickly? Now I reckon 2nd flattered us last year but we were still good enough to win 17 of 22 games and our performance in the first final was actually tremendous. What has happened since has been nothing short of diabolical. It's genuinely puzzling but the sample size is now large enough to really accept what we're seeing and realise that it's just what we are now.

We are worse than that though. How do you go from losing 5 games in a year to a genuine bottom 4 side that'll likely win barely a handful of games.

Kens lost the players now

Amazing to think about where we were at after that 2021 Qualifying Final to where we are now.

Top 2 to bottom 2 in the space of 4 games

I cant wait for my we win you win email from the club offering me some flankets at a reduced rate. I mean, we did have a big win tonight for the anti-regime freedom fighters.

Not only have we not even come close to addressing the issues with our gameplan, but we've actually gotten significantly worse. At least last year our defence was pretty solid, this year it's been an absolute disaster. Bad as a unit, and bad as individuals. For the last 2 years we had an excellent unit full of excellent individuals who regularly won 1 on 1 contests. This year it's basically only DBJ and Burton who have held form, everyone else has regressed significantly.

But that's what happens when you don't actually bother to identify the issues because accountability doesn't exist at this club. I'd be surprised if they even watched the Hawthorn game back.

Blaming the last free kick, christ. I thought it was there but who gives a shit? We were 4 goals up against a genuinely dogshit side and managed to throw it away. We couldn't buy a clearance late, as usual our ruckman and prime mover midfielders went completely to water when the heat was turned up.

We did seem to change the way our forwardline functioned early, lowering our eyes and generating marks on the lead, and even 1 on 1 contests where the ball was kicked to our advantage. But when the heat was on, they reverted to the muscle memory of mindlessly bombing it in without even considering where the forwards might be.

The message is garbage and the players aren't listening anymore. That was the game that will see Hinkley sacked. It might not happen for a little while, but his cards are marked.

We are worse than that though. How do you go from losing 5 games in a year to a genuine bottom 4 side that'll likely win barely a handful of games.

Kens lost the players now

Mate, you don't have to tell me how bad things are going. I've been copping abuse these past few weeks for being too negative but it's all being justified week on week.

The truth is, we've been sailing past red flags ever since the start of the prelim final - the prelim itself, the silence from the club post prelim, not improving our list during trade week, losing two key members from the football department and not replacing them, two average to poor performances in pre season, key injuries mounting. And this was all before a ball had been bounced in the name of four points.

There's a lot going wrong and absolutely nothing going right and the results we are getting now were foreseeable a month ago (I haven't tipped us yet this year - maybe I'm too negative but that's 3/3 including in 2 games we were $1.15 and $1.30 favourites to win).

The good news is, this all only ends one way and we get the reset we desperately need and can head into next season with some optimism.

Ken literally stated in his presser, we just need to work harder ....

You can't write this shit anymore LOL
I’ve stopped with the blog because it was becoming a repetitive endeavor.

0-5 is finals gone. You don't come back from that.

I said ken will be gone by the bye. Sib 19-23k crowd next Friday night Vs Melbourne in a belting. It's looking good.
Since 2010, only 8 out of the 63 teams that started 0-2 have made finals.

2 out of the 31 teams that started 0-3 made the finals.

We are already dead.

(If we drop next week, then we are in a category with only 1 - Sydney started 0-6 and won 14/16 to get into the finals in 17).

View attachment 1361043
“High contact” if there’s a footy god I hope they remember this fraud

Who said it was for high contact? The umpires or the commentators who guessed it was? Because they saw the angle live that looked like Mayes collected Murphy's head?

It was a holding the man without the ball free everyday.

Mate, you don't have to tell me how bad things are going. I've been copping abuse these past few weeks for being too negative but it's all being justified week on week.

The truth is, we've been sailing past red flags ever since the start of the prelim final - the prelim itself, the silence from the club post prelim, not improving our list during trade week, losing two key members from the football department and not replacing them, two average to poor performances in pre season, key injuries mounting. And this was all before a ball had been bounced in the name of four points.

There's a lot going wrong and absolutely nothing going right and the results we are getting now were foreseeable a month ago (I haven't tipped us yet this year - maybe I'm too negative but that's 3/3 including in 2 games we were $1.15 and $1.30 favourites to win).

The good news is, this all only ends one way and we get the reset we desperately need and can head into next season with some optimism.
I don’t expect us changing for the better at all, I don’t trust our ability to make choices, but we need to change regardless.

View attachment 1361043
“High contact” if there’s a footy god I hope they remember this fraud

This isn't what the free was for. Mayes dragged him to the ground and rolled over the top of him with the ball a few metres away. I can't believe there is so much discussion about a blatantly obvious free.

Not only have we not even come close to addressing the issues with our gameplan, but we've actually gotten significantly worse. At least last year our defence was pretty solid, this year it's been an absolute disaster. Bad as a unit, and bad as individuals. For the last 2 years we had an excellent unit full of excellent individuals who regularly won 1 on 1 contests. This year it's basically only DBJ and Burton who have held form, everyone else has regressed significantly.

But that's what happens when you don't actually bother to identify the issues because accountability doesn't exist at this club. I'd be surprised if they even watched the Hawthorn game back.

Blaming the last free kick, christ. I thought it was there but who gives a shit? We were 4 goals up against a genuinely dogshit side and managed to throw it away. We couldn't buy a clearance late, as usual our ruckman and prime mover midfielders went completely to water when the heat was turned up.

We did seem to change the way our forwardline functioned early, lowering our eyes and generating marks on the lead, and even 1 on 1 contests where the ball was kicked to our advantage. But when the heat was on, they reverted to the muscle memory of mindlessly bombing it in without even considering where the forwards might be.

The message is garbage and the players aren't listening anymore. That was the game that will see Hinkley sacked. It might not happen for a little while, but his cards are marked.

The defence is a mess.

Jonas' form has been in steady regression for the past year. And at his age, that is usually terminal. Again, this was foreseeable and he should've been tapped on the shoulder and told to hand the captaincy to Wines. He's borderline best 22 at this stage.

We then lose Aliir which, given Jonas' regression, just wrecks everything.

Now McKenzie is more exposed and his output drops.

Because Clurey is injured, we throw Skinner in who hasn't played much AFL.

Jones also hasn't played much AFL and although he does some good things he also makes some bad mistakes.

All of a sudden it's a totally different proposition from the defence which has been so good for the last couple of years. And not in a good way.

I’m glad most of you are happy.

Jesus we are not happy!!! Haven't been happy since 20 f***ing 14!! Are you happy?? Happy watching Ken fleece millions from our club? A bush league hack that can't speak coherent English let alone devise a winning game plan and meld a team to play to its strengths? Show respect to the supporters and traditions of this once great club? Stop whining about people that really do care what happens. I went to the game. Did you? I went to watch the Maggie's beforehand. Did you?

I genuinely feel sorry for a anyone who is still emotionally invested in this club. Life is too short to be stressed by an amateur run football club

If you post regularly on big footy on your teams forum it’s a high chance you’re emotionally invested in the club. I know it’s cool to admit otherwise right now and these type of posts are in vogue but don’t pretend you don’t care.

his cards are marked.
That’s unfortunately wishful thinking at this point. After the last two seasons, Hinkley has plenty of “extra fat” to lose.

Koch controls the board and he won’t fire Hinkley. While Koch is the president, it’s Hinkley’s choice on when he is leaving.

Review Round 3, 2022 vs Adelaide