Preview Round 3, 2023: Hawthorn v North Melbourne, 1 April 223, 1.45pm AEDT @ York Park

That's not what I saw with my own eyes, and that's not what the reports posted on here reflect either. Unless of course we all just made it up and you know better.

He was not doing proper full-contact drills until late January. Preseason games started one month later. Meek, Lynch and to a lesser extent Ramsden were doing the proper ruck work at training. Even Keegan Brooksby was chopping out in the drills and was doing low intensity work with Reeves. Go back and read the reports posted, I did.

Not sure what the posting the hitouts tally is supposed to prove? We all know winning hitouts is the one thing he can do. Everyone's criticism is based on everything else he doesnt do at this stage of his career. What else did he do against Essendon? 6 touches, 1 mark, 2 clangers, 0 tackles and a team low 4 pressure acts.

I don't even know what your last paragraph is meant to mean. Are you suggesting Reeves was keeping us in the game? Laughable.
Agree 100%. I’ve been a big fan of Reesves in last two years but this year he just aint up to scratch. I watched all the preseason games and was at the G round 1. I watched him closely - other than hit outs, his effectiveness as a tall ruckman was well sub par - he took one basic chest mark for the entire game. He was a bit better against Sydney but still not up to scratch

Put him back to VFL yo get his confidence up and bring in Lynch to partner Meeks and provide a bit more presence in the forward line

Gotta wonder whether we just play small ball forward till Lewis is back. Dump Kosi and Reeves, chuck Lynch/Meek rotating ruck/forward as a tall target with Fergus, then just have all of Butler/Brockman/Wingard/Moore/Breust running around at ground level trying to lock it in (given the new midfield is winning clearances now, getting it in isn't the major issue, keeping it in is).

Got to get it to ground first. Defenses like Geelong (SDK, Stewart, Ratugolea) will intercept everything if we go too small, even if we win clearances.

Haven't been many positives to pick out of the two rounds thus far, and yet in the position we are in, we must search for those positives as much as we can

I've enjoyed our midfield being reinvigorated and becoming competitive after a few years of being beaten in there. Day has shown some very pleasing signs moving into there, Worpel seems to be back to close to his best and MacKenzie has added a touch of class already. For the first time in a while it isn't the midfield that is number 1 concern

Definitely need some help in the forward half however, being smashed on transition constantly because we are unable to provide any forward pressure what-so-ever. Wingard, Brockman and Butler should 100% be in line for inclusion this week I reakon, get some buzz and energy around the attacking 50

I can tell u this the players have a high opinion of our rucks. They seem to think that whole midfield group needs continuity and i tend to agree with them. We have bigger issue at either end of the ground with most of our defenders yet to find their mojo. I am not even going to talk about the other end of the ground will only mention that we need chad lewis back. Chad this week lewis in about 4 weeks

Wingard back will help, he'll command a defender.

North have been running with: Logue, Ziebell, McDonald, Sheezel and Corr as their primary defenders.

Ziebell, McDonald, Corr or Sheezel will have to play on Breust, Wingard and Moore. I suspect Corr would go to Green.

Not sure what the posting the hitouts tally is supposed to prove? We all know winning hitouts is the one thing he can do. Everyone's criticism is based on everything else he doesnt do at this stage of his career. What else did he do against Essendon? 6 touches, 1 mark, 2 clangers, 0 tackles and a team low 4 pressure acts.
Is this what you think you should be doing or the coaches?

Nah mate, if we have individual players in important roles and specific areas of the ground that are not the finished product by Round 2 we should rip it all up and start again!!

I’ve not sure where you came up with this idea that we’ve got time to waste on developing players in both their own roles and in regards to cohesion and connection.

/sarcastica

Reevesy certainly needs to find some mojo in another part of his game, but insofar as being a tap ruckman goes he is:

9th taps to advantage %
3rd taps win %

It really doesn't make sense to not persevere with him imo.

I tell you what I find the weirdest aspect of the year so far.

Imagine if I had of told you prior to round 1 that over the first two games of the year Worps was back to his best (or close to), Mackenzie was looking the goods, Day played a ripper against the Swans and Ward and Newk are going okay. So our previously dysfunctional midfield is starting to look okay.

Based on that you’d think we would have put in a good showing instead of the absolute thumpings we have copped.

Very unusual. Seems to me the team as a whole is almost playing like a bunch of individuals (not consciously of course) with little connection between them.

Nah mate, if we have individual players in important roles and specific areas of the ground that are not the finished product by Round 2 we should rip it all up and start again!!

I’ve not sure where you came up with this idea that we’ve got time to waste on developing players in both their own roles and in regards to cohesion and connection.

/sarcastica
I've reported the troll to give you something to do (do you get notified of your own reported posts?) :p

Imagine if I had of told you prior to round 1 that over the first two games of the year Worps was back to his best (or close to), Mackenzie was looking the goods, Day played a ripper against the Swans and Ward and Newk are going okay. So our previously dysfunctional midfield is starting to look okay.

Based on that you’d think we would have put in a good showing instead of the absolute thumpings we have copped.

Very unusual. Seems to me the team as a whole is almost playing like a bunch of individuals (not consciously of course) with little connection between them.
To many coaching changes and player changes are the biggest impact. Backline lost its POD.

Weirdest part for mine is the back line and who we have structured it with new coach, bramble and not the future who would offer more then some in the leadership group making it very difficult to drop.

Having a midfield again is a huge positive, but they are kids and it’s a long season.

Forward line just needs a better mix of pressure, have gone in way to tall or slow whichever way you look at it

The poor performance of the backline has been the biggest disappointment to date. That had looked to be our strongest part of the ground.

The midfield is doing ok in terms of getting the ball but ball use and defensive system through the midfield has been poor.

I've reported the troll to give you something to do (do you get notified of your own reported posts?) :p
The answer is actually… yes.

I know LDU has been tearing it up but he is a centre-square inside ball-winning machine and Finn (when tagging) usually starts off half-forward and runs to his man after the CB. This would seem to be a bit of a waste for a player like LDU who torches you with centre clearances.

Call me crazy but I think there is a chance that Sam could send Finn to the 3rd gamer! Mess up their transition ball movement game and make sure it is in the hands of blokes like Howe who can just kick it back to us.
Could be the first time Howe hits a Hawthorn player on the chest

Its our defensive mechanisms and intent as a team that needs work. Most of our backs are woefully out of form. Losing contests. It doesnt help that our mids who are doing great offensively are really struggling on transition and defensively. Fitness has nothing to do with it.

Agree completely. That's the biggest issue and I am not sure whether the cause is intent, capability or coaching. Seems to be a combination of all 3.

Some of it is as simple as sticking to your man. That first 15 seconds for Frost against Sydney was embarrassing for a defender. Never got within 3 metres of his opponent.

Agree completely. That's the biggest issue and I am not sure whether the cause is intent, capability or coaching.
Its being able to communicate and coordinate that defensive transition. Help each other defend. Pick up the closest man he may not be your opponent but u defend as a team. We have been doing quite a few drills at training. This sorta thing comes with games though. However it does rely on a willingness and intent to defend.

Some of it is as simple as sticking to your man. That first 15 seconds for Frost against Sydney was embarrassing for a defender. Never got within 3 metres of his opponent.
Absolutely, whenever you saw the down the ground footage our backmen were 2-4m off them, not one had their shoulder in front of an opponent pushing back on them and forcing them to the defensive side of the ground. They all backed themselves to be smarter or faster to react than their opponent and 9 times out of 10 found wanting badly.

It's not rocket science to keep an arm on your opponent to keep them behind you....

Got to get it to ground first. Defenses like Geelong (SDK, Stewart, Ratugolea) will intercept everything if we go too small, even if we win clearances.
So don’t try to have inside 50 entries that hang in the air. Kick to space / grass and let the small players run onto it.

Negate their defensive strength (marking) and we might be able to score more often.

We have a few structural issues to fix

1. Our defensive structure and our team defense is weak as s*t, if the opposition have a decent tall forw they can either find a mile of space or out wrestle any of our defenders especially if Jiath or Impey find themselves on someone because ****** Frost is trying to get a cheapy somewhere, btw the last person you want the ball in their hands is FROST

2. We are going backwards and sideways again, how have we devolved into going backwards and sideways again? Come the fk on

3. We're not playing on which kept us competitive last year, even though our pressure and defense went to s**t, we were I think the number 1 play on team, now we chip around, mostly backwards and sideways because they have no confidence in the game plan or each other

4. Turnover or loose poss from going backwards and putting each other under pressure or just s**t kicking from the same culprits

5. We need forwards who can keep the ball from rebounding out of our forwardline so fast it seems like it's never in our i50

Fix these issues pronto ffs, remove thumbs out of arse because this is getting embarrassing

If we continue to train soft footy, we're going to continue playing soft footy, this is bullshit

I don't care who plays it's irrelevant, this team has many structural issues that no one seems to be doing anything about, 3/4 games this year so far have been terrible, get better ffs
Regarding points 2 & 3, I saw an example on the weekend where someone took a mark or got a FK (Meek?) then played on to a runner who handballed sideways to someone about to be put under pressure who then went back to Meek who was also under pressure and dump kicked it fwd for a turnover.
It was ridiculous.

So don’t try to have inside 50 entries that hang in the air. Kick to space / grass and let the small players run onto it.

Negate their defensive strength (marking) and we might be able to score more often.
A week early but Geelong are struggling stopping ball movement at the minute , normally a strength and why there defenders have a field day .

Might be a little chinch we can expose a bit