Roast Round 3 post game rant thread

Re: Not Happy!

there had been words from ratten this week about taking the emotion out of it...?
bit of indictment that it's so hard to choose between the lack of motivation or lack of fundamental skills that contributed to this effort.

I strongly disagree.

These are professional football players. It is part of their job to be fully prepared - including motivated - when they take the field.

As an aside to that, if we have players at the Carlton FC who need external motivation to play at their very best for the club I for one don't want them there.

Blame the coach for tactics, etc all you like, but don't hang on him the responsibility for players to be mentally at 100% when representing the Blues.

Ratten has to take some responsibility for motivating the players. It's part of the position description for any coach. There are plenty of teams in the league who get more out of their team than their list would have you believe due to coaches who know how to draw the best out of their players.

To those posters who want to adopt the blame the coach hysteria, perhaps take a closer look at the players. Ask yourself why some players aren't prepared to bleed for the Navy Blue & White guernsey.

We won premierships in the '70s & early '80s, not because we had a team full of stars (we had a few), but because we had players who would go out most weeks & leave nothing on the field. At the moment I don't believe all of the 22 players we are putting on the field really want to give all they have for the guernsey. That could change, but at the moment I think our players need a reminder of what it means to wear the Navy Blue & White.

This... since the game turned professional, the players have lost the heart that comes with wearing a jumper and running out on to the ground wearing that jumper.

After a loss like that back in the 70's and 80's there would be none of this walking up to an opposition player and giving them a hug or having a chin wag. There would be anger and in some cases (Harry Madden) tears after losing to one of our rivals.

Some of these guys are there for the easy living that they are making playing a game that they love. They dont have the live or die attitude and if we look at players who left Carlton to play at other clubs, they never had much of a career afterwards.

Even Ratts would leave nothing behind in his efforts to win... And Sticks would never leave you wondering. Ratts has done a great job in getting some belief back into the players to get them playing for the club again... but they arent 100% committed to giving everything for the club.

It is the coach's job to motivate the players

If the players aren't prepared to do the hard yards then it is the coach's fault and he must be removed

It is the only answer

Wrong. Players make coaches, not the other way around. It is why Barassi was successful at Carlton & North but not at Melbourne or Sydney. It is why Hafey coaches 4 premierships at Richmond, but none at Collingwood, Geelong or Sydney & why Malthouse coaches 2 premierships at the Eagles & none at Collingwood.

Blaming/sacking coaches is the easy way out. Making players accountable for their performances becomes harder & harder because of the smaller playing lists nowadays.

If you can honestly tell me that 22 players gave their best tonight, then we have a problem. The fact is the draft, plus healthy player contracts mean you don't necessarily get everything out of some players. Past Carlton players like Curly Austin, Barry Armstrong, Neil Chandler, among many other lesser lights, would choke on what they see (or should that be don't see) from some Carlton players.

You can't motivate players who don't understand what a great privilege it is to wear the Navy Blue & White.

To those posters who want to adopt the blame the coach hysteria, perhaps take a closer look at the players. Ask yourself why some players aren't prepared to bleed for the Navy Blue & White guernsey.

We won premierships in the '70s & early '80s, not because we had a team full of stars (we had a few), but because we had players who would go out most weeks & leave nothing on the field. At the moment I don't believe all of the 22 players we are putting on the field really want to give all they have for the guernsey. That could change, but at the moment I think our players need a reminder of what it means to wear the Navy Blue & White.

I agree but that passion & desire comes from the coach.

So what do you do sherb, sack the players.Mate their is clear problem at our club, no leadership and shit skills why my friend! BC we have a coach and staff who cannot get the best out of them, simple. We have been shit for 8 years those are the facts. The question is why?
Of course you can't sack all the players. And it is always inevitably the coach who ultimately bears the brunt of lack of success on the field.

However, if we have a playing group which needs external motivation we have a major problem. And it goes far deeper than the coach.

Ok...

Calm Down. Some perspective please!!!

THAT WAS SHIT

- No backline run...none. Never broke the lines once. Where was Gibbs, JR, Walker etc running through the idfield
- Kicking it long to Fletcher time after time. After 18 years, we haven't worked that out?
- Disposal was crap because ball movement was slow. Need gamebreakers who can run.
- Brock injured (apparently) ...but bad luck. Hadlee in
- Warnock is not a ruckmans arseh*le. Gutless, no contested marks (1 handed attempts FFS), no linkage and no vision. Give me jacobs any day
- Can we make up our minds where Waite will play?
- Where the hell was Gibbs tonight?

Now the not so shit stuff

- Lucas can get the footy....just needs to kick.
- Hendo led up well all night
- I reckon irish's role was to play out of the square to keep fletcher out of the play. Sacrificed his game ok, but needs to lift when the ball is on the way out
- Jamo and Scotland :thumbsu:

more rant to follow...

I strongly disagree.

These are professional football players. It is part of their job to be fully prepared - including motivated - when they take the field.

As an aside to that, if we have players at the Carlton FC who need external motivation to play at their very best for the club I for one don't want them there.

Blame the coach for tactics, etc all you like, but don't hang on him the responsibility for players to be mentally at 100% when representing the Blues.

No

It is the coach's job to make sure the players are ready to play, are motivated to play and have the necessary skills to play

It is obvious that Brett Ratten is not up to coaching the Carlton football club

Watching it again,
just dumb arse fundamental stuff.

Some of the free kicks are baffling though.

Thats what got me... and I think that it got to Ratts as well. That play on for the holding the ball on Hille just before half time was the most damaging.

Agree. But we were bad.
It took me back five years ago when we were really struggling.
We were bad tonight, very bad. I am gutted!:(

Unfortunatley these sort of losses are ones that don't want to leave our club, Bee. Too many times in the past few years have I watched us lose due to shocking skill errors and what seems like a complete lack of organization amongst the group. You really feel like you are watching a bunch of amateurs on a night like tonight.

So if it;s not the coaching staff, it;s the players, so what;s the matter with them ...

The probs start at the top and it;s leadership

Tonights loss is completely unacceptable in the context of our season, so much to play for...they shows zero heart, TBH Ratten looked half asleep in the box, I haven;t bagged the coaching staff before, but tonight was appalling, and it;s not the first time, blow torch time.

there had been words from ratten this week about taking the emotion out of it...?
bit of indictment that it's so hard to choose between the lack of motivation or lack of fundamental skills that contributed to this effort.

It looked like he took the motivation out of it.. 1st half I couldn't believe I was watching a Carlton-Essendon game, even the crowd sounded dead

Unfortunatley these sort of losses are ones that don't want to leave our club, Bee. Too many times in the past few years have I watched us lose due to shocking skill errors and what seems like a complete lack of organization amongst the group. You really feel like you are watching a bunch of amateurs on a night like tonight.

We do pay them right?

No

It is the coach's job to make sure the players are ready to play, are motivated to play and have the necessary skills to play

It is obvious that Brett Ratten is not up to coaching the Carlton football club
Well, we will have to disagree then. Because you won't change my opinion.

Basically what I am being told here that our players don't have enough pride in the jumper or the club to be completely motivated when they take the field.

And that's as weak as piss on their part. And, as I said before, if true it's a problem that goes far beyond the coach.

I agree but that passion & desire comes from the coach.

Passion & desire comes from within. Do you really think Sticks would have been less passionate about wearing the Navy Blue if he was coached by a Grant Thomas/Danny Frawley etc than if he was coached by a Robert Walls or David Parkin? You could ask this question for a number of Carlton players of the past. Bruce Doull gave as much for Ian Thorogood, Ian Stewart & Percy Jones as he did for John Nicholls, Alex Jesaulenko & David Parkin.

If the players aren't prepared to do the hard yards then it is the coach's fault and he must be removed

It is the only answer

I believe you are wrong here in saying that. The coach can only do so much when it comes to game day on the field it's all up to players to execute the game plan not put 40% effort into it. coaches coach they don't play. you cant tell me ratten don't have a footy brain he was a legend and a great player i put this all on the players them self . As someone commented about the look on rattens face in the box that's a look of a man disappointed his men cant get what he teaches them or in the least are not good enough to follow it .

Wrong. Players make coaches, not the other way around. It is why Barassi was successful at Carlton & North but not at Melbourne or Sydney. It is why Hafey coaches 4 premierships at Richmond, but none at Collingwood, Geelong or Sydney & why Malthouse coaches 2 premierships at the Eagles & none at Collingwood.

Blaming/sacking coaches is the easy way out. Making players accountable for their performances becomes harder & harder because of the smaller playing lists nowadays.

If you can honestly tell me that 22 players gave their best tonight, then we have a problem. The fact is the draft, plus healthy player contracts mean you don't necessarily get everything out of some players. Past Carlton players like Curly Austin, Barry Armstrong, Neil Chandler, among many other lesser lights, would choke on what they see (or should that be don't see) from some Carlton players.

You can't motivate players who don't understand what a great privilege it is to wear the Navy Blue & White.

Are you serious? Barrassi should be credited with lifting the Swans out of the murky depths to the '96 GF. Rocket didn't do all it in a year. Ron certainly laid the foundations there for him.

Disgusted.

No passion, motivation, or desperation. Something is very wrong at Visy Park, if this sort of 'performance' continues.

Don't know if its the players, Ratts, or both. Worst performance I've seen in a long time.

Why didn't the 22 players give their best tonight?

That is the question

Were they motivated?

If no.......that is the coach's fault. It is his job to make them understand that winning is everything

If they were motivated then it is either the game plan or the skill level. Both directly related to coaching

Poor performance is directly related to poor coaching

That is why the coach ALWAYS gets sacked first because it is his job to make the players perform

Pure and simple

Rank that game as bad as the 2nd half blowout we had against the scum last year. Insipid, shocking use of the ball. No structure. Dissapointed is an understatement.

You broke my heart again tonight CFC! I can't remember the last time it hurt this bad. It is worse than when we lost to the Bummers last year. The last time I think I felt this bad after a CFC match was when we lost to Geelong in 2002 thanks to a touched Riccardi goal after the siren. At that point I hadn't really had to hurt as a Carlton supporter but since then hurt I have. I have follwed the CFC through thick and thin and I mean thin.

Just so very very disappointing to see what was served up tonight. I really just don't know what else to say, everything was just utterly disappointing. Everything to do with the football department should questioned and re-assessed after tonight, or in other words, everyone needs to take a good hard f*cking look at themselves.

I hope not, but I see bleak times ahead for the CFC in 2010. A loss next week to a resurgent Adelaide and then another loss to Geelong will see us 1-4 and pretty much out of finals contention. Tonight was a must win and we blew it.

It is the only answer

If the players are not prepared to do the hard yards then it is obvious that they are not passionate about playing for the club and the jumper and should be sent to the reserves.

This is not the problem of the coach... it is a mental problem for the players and they need to start getting their heads right...

Roast Round 3 post game rant thread