Autopsy Round 4, 2021: Fremantle defeat Hawthorn, 11 April 2021, 4.40pm AEST @ Optus Stadium

I'll use Champion Data statistics to defend players more often than not, but Worps can consider himself hard done by today.

21 touches, 7 marks and 6 tackles while also blunting any influence from the oppositions most in-form mid is a solid game. His 56 Supercoach points and bottom 5 ranking in our side isn't a true reflection of his performance.

I was just thinking that if someone came to me in January and asked if I'd take a Bombers come from behind win in Round 1, a combined loss of less than 6 goals to the two GF teams, and a 16pt loss to Freo at home, with no Day, Gunston, Downie, DGB or Sicily......I'd probably take it.

I would've snatched your hand off if offered 2-2 looking at the fixture at the start of the year. 1-3 whilst being pretty competitive mostly in the losses isn't the worst.

I think mundy leaving our mids in his dust over and over again about sums up where we are at. He is 35ish and not express but made as look horribly slow both in movement and mind.

Alot of holes to fill on this list. But when you are near the bottom thankfully there is only one direction you can head. Maybe not this year but every game into our next generation will move us closer. On that point, I'm ready to see Reeves be given a go as he is a genuine tap Ruckman and has done pretty well at Box Hill

Good:
- CJ. Just keeps doing his thing. Intercepting, taking the game on, not getting caught.
- Mitchell's 2nd quarter - that was Brownlow form. Good to see he's still go it.
- Moore - has a red hot crack. Is getting more confident.
- Being able to pull back a lead and bring the pressure.
- Mitch Lewis took 8 marks, I thought he did better than what a lot of people said.
- Mitchell, Wingard and O'Meara played the way you want your good senior players to play.
- Hardwick is so underrated

Bad
- The forward line.
- The inability to tackle Mundy. Far out he cuts us up way too often.
- Shocking games from O'Brien, Ceglar, Breust and Shiels. Breust at least did some good things when he went into the middle.
- Fumbling.

Ugly
- Playing for free kicks. Bloody disgusting. Mitchell and Wingard. Please stop.
- slow careful play in the first quarter.
clintgbu.gif

I'll use Champion Data statistics to defend players more often than not, but Worps can consider himself hard done by today.

21 touches, 7 marks and 6 tackles while also blunting any influence from the oppositions most in-form mid is a solid game. His 56 Supercoach points and bottom 5 ranking in our side isn't a true reflection of his performance.

Step in the right direction for him I reckon. Disposal poor at times but put in a shift I thought.

Thought CJ, Chad, Impey and Frost were good (CJ probably All Australian on half back line at the moment)

Mitchell tried his guts out as usual.

But we don't have a forward line and our forward entries continue to be a dogs breakfast.

And we really néed some classy ball users in the midfield.

Damn we miss Gunners up forward 😭
Frost? really?

One option would be to play O'Brien at CHB - as per two years ago. He can then give big boy a chop out as backup ruck each quarter. His tank is important and can support the runoff HB.

I think mundy leaving our mids in his dust over and over again about sums up where we are at. He is 35ish and not express but made as look horribly slow both in movement and mind.

Alot of holes to fill on this list. But when you are near the bottom thankfully there is only one direction you can head. Maybe not this year but every game into our next generation will move us closer. On that point, I'm ready to see Reeves be given a go as he is a genuine tap Ruckman and has done pretty well at Box Hill
Yep and another midfield too that just looked better balanced and with more synergy than us .
Common theme every game.

One option would be to play O'Brien at CHB - as per two years ago. He can then give big boy a chop out as backup ruck each quarter. His tank is important and can support the runoff HB.

Thought crossed my mind too, but seems we are pretty well stacked in that part of the ground

As bad as O'brien was, he was better than Kosi was last week.
Kosi was playing his 3rd game in his first year as a forward.

If you want to compare the 2 we let kosi play 8 years and 100 mediocre games before giving up on him. Also when we drop kosi just bring him back randomly despite no box hill impact.

Kosi was playing his 3rd game in his first year as a forward.

If you want to compare the 2 we let kosi play 8 years and 100 mediocre games before giving up on him. Also when we drop kosi just bring him back randomly despite no box hill impact.
The opposition doesn't care how many games TOB or Kosi have played.

Both of them have to play their role and compete in the air. O'brien has Kosi beat in this area to date.

He was a turnover king though and probably half of his 'effective disposals' were to 50/50 contests. the eye test said to me that CD got it right.

it’s 2021. It’s all about fast ball movement and surge mentality. Look at Geelong compared to Sydney. Gotta run and surge to take ground. Kick mark doesn’t work. Now add that to a wet slippery day in Perth and Clarkos team selection is just soo puzzling. Why are we playing 2 ruckman, 3 key defenders AND 2 key forwards? Take a defender out ( Hartigan or Hartley ), take ceglar out, and replace TOB with kosi or jeka. Bring downie in for some pace, and I would seriously look at bringing in Finn for his endurance and work rate through the middle and contested ball winning to help in the clearances. Midfield spread and clearance work is abysmal.

Burgoyne, downie, finn, kosi in for Hartigan, ceglar, obrien and Howe next week please

I was just thinking that if someone came to me in January and asked if I'd take a Bombers come from behind win in Round 1, a combined loss of less than 6 goals to the two GF teams, and a 16pt loss to Freo at home, with no Day, Gunston, Downie, DGB or Sicily......I'd probably take it.
Tough start ....my worry after last week was we had fired some decent shots against the Tigs/Cats in losses and were possibly going to have a down game .
Reckon we would have beaten 6 other sides on those days.

Like we had almost wasted some great effort on the best sides , today felt like those games mentally sapped the guys hence the poor start .

Start of the last QTR, O'Meara wins first clearance but then proceeds to handball the ball to McEvoy's knees , turnover, Freo get it insşde 50 and goal! Few minutes later McEvoy handballs it behind his teammate, turnover, Freo get it inside 50, goal!!!
We need a handball coach, urgently!
Ceglar and O'Brien out cousins and jeka in.
Howe, Morrison, Jiath, Impey, Mitchell and Moore really good.
Lewis and Chad did as best they could under to the circumstances.
Frost plays like a headless chook and costs us momentum with silly moments with and without the ball.
Easily to the most disappointing game for us so far this season.

They were my thoughts exactly and it starting to make me think our problems aren’t the mids individually or combination of them, but it’s more our centre setup.

It seems we are always stationary or a step behind the opposition (even 35 year olds) who burst away from us, so when do we start blaming the instructions before the players? I thought it was a 2020 problem but it continues still.

We drool when Wingard’s in attack mode and JOM can do it, but we don’t hunt often enough and it stifles our whole group especially our starts.

Can we please start attacking the drop zone!!

The Hubs fault, if it wasn't for hubs we'd have won.

Thank god Clarko recalled TOB also and persisted with Cegs, they totally proved me me wrong and I've now learnt who am I to question Clarko ? Fantastic performances by both.

Also loved the fact we had 100 more touches and 18 less inside 50s, I hope other teams don't cotton onto this masterful gameplan.
You said it best brother. Couldn’t agree more.

I cant fathom how Lewis is your target.

Worked hard and took some great marks especially in the second half. Theres heaps to like about Lewis.

O Brien though...

Post was made in the match day thread commenting on a passage of play in which he was slow. And yes, I think he is slow. No idea why the mods moved it in here and fwiw I thought he was fine today.

Hitting a target by your own disposal is a basic football need to be a footballer. If he refused to touch the footy and just tagged brayshaw he may have bèn ok. Every time he touched the footy he was more likely to hit a fremantle player than brayshaw. Its a problem.

Obrien has never dominated the Vfl never yet he still got games when Roughead and gunston were firing. Lewis kicked 3 goals a week for a whole year and got 1 game and then dropped.

Then in 2019 it took forever for him to get in even though Roughead was cooked and Obrien was Obrien. Then kicked 20 goals in 12 games. Full season and he has 35-40 goals.

Then we get patton to delay Lewis development for some reason. At the time i said 2019 Lewis was better than Patton will ever be (due to injuries and already being slow as hell)

Jeka kicked more goals in last 2 weeks than Obrien can kick in a year.

I think the club/clarkson only recently came around to the idea we are in a rebuild.

It is still early in the season - and you have to give the senior team a chance to show they can win.

The switch will be pulled soon.

Autopsy Round 4, 2021: Fremantle defeat Hawthorn, 11 April 2021, 4.40pm AEST @ Optus Stadium