Trades Round 4 Trades

yeah idk, i really like Bowey scoring potential while Salem is out and he's D4 rn. I have 2 clear targets going under the radar, Rich and Mills. Got 220k in the bank, Rich should drop to around 550k and Mills a bit less predictable but 550-570k. Just a matter of price but i'd rather keep Bowey
I'm looking at Luke Parker if he gets DDP.

Another down game soon from Hall would be perfect.

yeah idk, i really like Bowey scoring potential while Salem is out and he's D4 rn. I have 2 clear targets going under the radar, Rich and Mills. Got 220k in the bank, Rich should drop to around 550k and Mills a bit less predictable but 550-570k. Just a matter of price but i'd rather keep Bowey
1649208476571.png
I want Doch and Seagull to complete my defence.
But my team needs mids more IMO.
Daicos covering Bowey and getting a Touk type in is my goal I reckon.

I'm looking at Luke Parker if he gets DDP.

Another down game soon from Hall would be perfect.
A 167 with 5 goals then two 70's isn't very inspiring.

View attachment 1364872
I want Doch and Seagull to complete my defence.
But my team needs mids more IMO.
Daicos covering Bowey and getting a Touk type in is my goal I reckon.
yeah Bowey out makes more sense for you, i have Bowey, Hinge, Mccartin D4-6 so i need to upgrade there first

Thank you all for the responses it's very valuable to how I approach the rest of the season. Alot of good points to consider in here. As I said I stepped away for 2 years and never have played with strategy in the past, just picked my favourite players. This forum is great
My favourite players are the kents who score the most points. So many ppl fall into the trap of picking good players who arent good scorers.

Not mad.
8 trades is just way to many to have used.
I suggest holding.
Not sure if it is too much and im not too worried about using the picks early , They are there for a reason and best utilized to set the team you want early rather than have players that are bleeding cash whilst other rookies are making money and missing out in cash generation.

My intention is 1 up 1 down around round 7 and have 3-4 trades in the bank for injuries to premo's around finals
I started off with Gawn/Whitfield/McInernay and decided to trade for Jackson/Bowey/Petracca 2 weeks ago which enabled me to get Neal last week also
if i waited and held onto my trades i would have missed out on getting these players.

If i have 10 trades after the bye's (round 14) im thinking my team is 80% complete and have enough to cover normal injuries.

How many trades are you planning to have come round 14

Not sure if it is too much and im not too worried about using the picks early , They are there for a reason and best utilized to set the team you want early rather than have players that are bleeding cash whilst other rookies are making money and missing out in cash generation.

My intention is 1 up 1 down around round 7 and have 3-4 trades in the bank for injuries to premo's around finals
I started off with Gawn/Whitfield/McInernay and decided to trade for Jackson/Bowey/Petracca 2 weeks ago which enabled me to get Neal last week also
if i waited and held onto my trades i would have missed out on getting these players.

If i have 10 trades after the bye's (round 14) im thinking my team is 80% complete and have enough to cover normal injuries.

How many trades are you planning to have come round 14
5-6 post bye trades and 0 trade boosts.
I don't see much of a need to trade boosts once you team is complete.
Keeping boosts for finals wont work imo.
You just wont use the boost.
say your in a prelim with 3 trades left (this is heaps for that time of the year.)
You wont use all 3 and have none the next week.
Using 8 trades in the first 3 weeks there is almost no chance you will have trades left come finals let alone 3.
I hope to be complete round 12-13 ish (a week earlier than most other years)
Shut up shop at that point and just do injury trades.
Usually the rookies have dried up by that stage anyways.

5-6 post bye trades and 0 trade boosts.
I don't see much of a need to trade boosts once you team is complete.
Keeping boosts for finals wont work imo.
You just wont use the boost.
say your in a prelim with 3 trades left (this is heaps for that time of the year.)
You wont use all 3 and have none the next week.
Using 8 trades in the first 3 weeks there is almost no chance you will have trades left come finals let alone 3.
I hope to be complete round 12-13 ish (a week earlier than most other years)
Shut up shop at that point and just do injury trades.
Usually the rookies have dried up by that stage anyways.
I really struggle to see how you can have enough cash generation to complete your team by round 12/13 whilst holding off trading
You must have all the best Rookies and atleast 12/13 premo's already

I really struggle to see how you can have enough cash generation to complete your team by round 12/13 whilst holding off trading
You must have all the best Rookies and atleast 12/13 premo's already
1649210638680.png
13 premos (including cogs)
Rowell, Bowey, Brodie and Xerri that may end up keepers (probably not, I might get one of them)
5 rookies to upgrade first this will be the easy part.
Deciding which midpricer to keep is the hard part.
9 upgrades required if all my midpricers fail.
5 upgrades required if they all succeed.
Rounds 7,8,9,10,11 three trades.
7 upgrades hopefully.
I've done 2 trades. By not trading now I am paying for a lavish upgrade season like never before.

IDC what anyone says. Marshall can GTFO of my team.

Yeah it's all very well people saying that you shouldn't trade but if you have someone like Marshall in your team that is bleeding cash then you have to trade him, Ryder being back in our team doesn't help either as he will do the majority of the ruck work with Marshall playing more as a forward.

Yeah, I ****ed up there. I thought Ryder was out longer.

Still can't believe the position I'm in ranked 1,700 . First year super coach probably got a bit lucky...

Feel happy with most mid pricers and rookies.

I like being aggressive but I'm interested to see if there's trades worth making.

Was considering binging Green and English in for Gawn and Lipinksi

Reasining is - I think Green and English will be keepers and won't have to upgrade them again.

I can then upgrade Xerri to Gawn/Grundy once he has DPP. Lipinski is going well BUT i don't think he's a keeper. contested disposals and CBA's dropped.

I moved on Grundy last week to Pruess to be aggressive, i think he'll drop off this season (this might backfire) but allowed me to grab Heeney for a dead rookie who i think will explode this year.

Would love to hear some thoughts!

Screenshot 2022-04-06 at 12.32.35.png

Still can't believe the position I'm in ranked 1,700 . First year super coach probably got a bit lucky...

I like being aggressive but I'm interested to see if there's trades worth making.

Reasining is - I think Green and English will be keepers and won't have to upgrade them again.

I can then upgrade Xerri to Gawn/Grundy once he has DPP. Lipinski is going well BUT i don't think he's a keeper. contested disposals and CBA's dropped.

I moved on Grundy last week to Pruess to be aggressive, i think he'll drop off this season (this might backfire) but allowed me to grab Heeney for a dead rookie who i think will explode this year.

View attachment 1364922
1649214664361.png

Attachments

• 1649214649453.png
    1649214649453.png
    4.5 KB · Views: 27

View attachment 1364922
Lipinski hasn’t done his job yet assuming you started him as a stepping stone. Too early.

View attachment 1364922

English and Green are not going to keep scoring the way they are for the rest of the year.

In fact, I'd be more than willing to bet that Gawn will outscore English for the rest of the year so i'm going to rate that trade an (L).

Lipinski hasn't actually done much wrong. In fact he's delivering exactly what you would have selected him for. The fact that he is still going 100+ while his CBA's are decreasing is even more reason to hold as it's only a matter of time before those Collingwood midfielders begin to break down and his CBA's will go back up again. I think it's an unnecessary trade therefore an (L).

Owens is probably the only one that needs trading to a suitable replacement.

English and Green are not going to keep scoring the way they are for the rest of the year.

In fact, I'd be more than willing to bet that Gawn will outscore English for the rest of the year so i'm going to rate that trade an (L).

Lipinski hasn't actually done much wrong. In fact he's delivering exactly what you would have selected him for. The fact that he is still going 100+ while his CBA's are decreasing is even more reason to hold as it's only a matter of time before those Collingwood midfielders begin to break down and his CBA's will go back up again. I think it's an unnecessary trade therefore an (L).

Owens is probably the only when that needs trading to a suitable replacement.
Agreed

Exhibit A - this week no JDG, so more CBAs for Lipinski :D

A 167 with 5 goals then two 70's isn't very inspiring.
Think he copped a knock in the first game which is why he was moved forward, and why he has spent so much time forward in the last couple of games.

I likely won't bring him in immediately if he gets DPP, but if he does get forward status, he will eventually be a must have pending fitness IMO.

Mills is a good choice too. Slow start but had shit all pre-season. I'd still watch him closely though, because we showed last year that we might still play him while he's crook, so it's hard to get a read on him.