Preview Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Sunday 16th April, 4:50PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Magpies

Votes: 37 41.1%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 58.9%

But that's it....we don't care how you set up behind the ball the other way...we trust our defensive setup amd fitness base will give us a slingshot on the turnover the other way. Which you have been shown to be very prone to.

We get that Collingwood don't care about other teams setups and that's fine. But the overlap setup and defensive running is not what Collingwood is known for...it is however, what we are now known for

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hang on….what?
Saints are know for their slingshot off HB and the pies are not?

Is that what you’re saying?

Absolutely he’s a killer in this space. Hence the “seagull” comments. He gives, gets it back and then usually hits the next target…..so from my perspective….:seagull away because 17 teams want this!!!!
But all other clubs are going to hate this.

Our weakness so far has been contested ball on our half back/wing.
Win this and it’s a walk in goal.

So contested ball and the next phase f on this is how you do us in!!
Which, from the what I’ve seen….is compley doable!
This isn’t a one way street!!
It’s just not “tag x” and it’s done!
St Kilda must shut down on that space and make sure your defenders kick rather then handball to Daicos (Nick is pretty much close to elite at this stage but will get better with age), that is easier to type then to do, Our coaches would want a slower paced pies side (and dare I say we will be aided with how poor I suspect Adelaide Oval to be by our game)

Owens and Caminiti would be key with contesting the ball (plus Marshall).

Its going to be Game of the round, A good test for Our mob and its a shame that it is not at the MCG.

Very polite for a Pies supporter- unusual but appreciated!

Yes there is a fair bit RTB needs to work through & Pies are a top 4 team I think.

On the other hand, there is a lot of chatter from the Pies supporters - we have got u thinking big time I reckon with our game plan- been quite a while since that’s happened !

Pies will be very shaky if they aren’t well ahead at half time.
Not at all…always happy to have a visitor come on our board and tell us how we need to play.

But the thing is, it’s you who are going to have to worry about who to tag in our team. I’ll leave that up to you to decide.

Hang on….what?
Saints are know for their slingshot off HB and the pies are not?

Is that what you’re saying?
I don't know how you came to that conclusion

I said you're not known for your defensive capabilities on the turnover...Youre basically front runners who can't defend a turnover because you run in waves with the ball...if that's turned over..well...You're fecked

St Kilda must shut down on that space and make sure your defenders kick rather then handball to Daicos (Nick is pretty much close to elite at this stage but will get better with age), that is easier to type then to do, Our coaches would want a slower paced pies side (and dare I say we will be aided with how poor I suspect Adelaide Oval to be by our game)

Owens and Caminiti would be key with contesting the ball (plus Marshall).

Its going to be Game of the round, A good test for Our mob and its a shame that it is not at the MCG.
Absolutely game of the round!!

I think saint supporters are undervaluing their team….from what I’ve seen it’s basically us last year!!

Ripper gamestyle that will keep you in most games.
My comments on this board are about how to beat us…,
Which to date, is about winning in on HB turnover and scoring. Which you can absolutely do!!!

I think saint supporters are undervaluing their team….from what I’ve seen it’s basically us last year!!

Which to date, is about winning in on HB turnover and scoring. Which you can absolutely do!!!
I'm pretty sure they said on one of the shows that we are the best team atm to score from turnovers

I don't know how you came to that conclusion

I said you're not known for your defensive capabilities on the turnover...Youre basically front runners who can't defend a turnover because you run in waves with the ball...if that's turned over..well...You're fecked

Turnover footy is how we play. It’s legit our 1 wood!!

No no no....AFTER you make your move, not before....when you get the turn over you take off...but then if you turn it over you're in no man's land on defence.

Saints set up behind the ball on the defensive side to stop the slingshot. We strangle it to a contest to get the turn over then reply with gut running.

If your standard modus operandi is running in waves, if you turn it over you will be punished. However if we turn it over, we are already set up defensively

So taking your one wood and using it against you

I would prefer to have less heart attacks compared to your mob last year.

2 attacking sides, in different ways going at it is good footy, I hope for a good game.

L
Very polite for a Pies supporter- unusual but appreciated!

Yes there is a fair bit RTB needs to work through & Pies are a top 4 team I think.

On the other hand, there is a lot of chatter from the Pies supporters - we have got u thinking big time I reckon with our game plan- been quite a while since that’s happened !

Pies will be very shaky if they aren’t well ahead at half time.
Thanks!

Spent the entire of last year as the underdogs!!!!!
Easily the most fun year ever (without winning it).

So enjoy the ride. Saints have a good style that will stack up in finals: that’s what anyone wants to see.

We are not infallible!!!!!

No no no....AFTER you make your move, not before....when you get the turn over you take off...but then if you turn it over you're in no man's land on defence.

Saints set up behind the ball on the defensive side to stop the slingshot. We strangle it to a contest to get the turn over then reply with gut running.

If your standard modus operandi is running in waves, if you turn it over you will be punished. However if we turn it over, we are already set up defensively

So taking your one wood and using it against you

Yup ok.

So you hold your players back to stop our run…..
It gets locked in our 50.

Do you bring your def up? If you do….what happens if you lose?

It’s great to have the best defence.
But when do you get to set it up if you’re not giving up the midfield contest?

That will be the game…

Yup. We just basically say “nick you have no opposition”…go wherever you want!!
That’s how we roll. Get it in his hands as much as we can.

It makes sense, he rarely wastes it.

Unfortunately everyone else from oppo teams want him to be an inside mid…,,unless he plays for them! At which point they’d understand what he brings in his current role!!

So forget about “the tag”…just stop him taking kick outs to start with (or at least running on)

Your mids have the skill to challenge us in the middle. Clearances and follow up contested possession is where the game will be won.

Really excited to see where this game goes!!!
on the counter tho, our defense has been superb, conceding the least in the comp. and we are super aggressive on the turnover.

your backline is just too tall for us with Cordy and Caminiti the only true talls Maynard to Owens seems a good fit, Moore on Caminiti, who I think will give Moore a workout, maybe not in a wrestle but on the move. Higgins is again a wildcard.

and I quite like our defense vs your fwds, esp if you are pushing McStay into ruck duties

so the question is can our Mids cope, slightly better in stats on the clearance, but the pies mids are quality and generally great users

really looking fwd to the game, maybe a slight 60/40 pies way but think we are right in it

Yup ok.

That will be the game…
No, our wings and forwards outrun your team. Up and back allllllllllll game. I hope your boys have brought their running boots because they are gonna need them.

Time to take you to deep water my friend, let's see if you can swim

Yup ok.

That will be the game…
no our defense is usually well behind the play, you can split us open on the rebound if you can outrun us, Essendon's been the closest so far, but they couldn't do it for long enough

on the counter tho, our defense has been superb, conceding the least in the comp. and we are super aggressive on the turnover.

your backline is just too tall for us with Cordy and Caminiti the only true talls Maynard to Owens seems a good fit, Moore on Caminiti, who I think will give Moore a workout, maybe not in a wrestle but on the move. Higgins is again a wildcard.

and I quite like our defense vs your fwds, esp if you are pushing McStay into ruck duties

so the question is can our Mids cope, slightly better in stats on the clearance, but the pies mids are quality and generally great users

really looking fwd to the game, maybe a slight 60/40 pies way but think we are right in it
All great points!!
Saints this year remind me of us last year. No expectations but damn the effort is insane!!!

We don’t really stick on a man on man scenario.
So you’re offense will have a good look if you turn it over in midfield.

Lowest def to date….I’m all for that, but let’s see how that plays out against pies “go fwd” mantra.

Again…game of the round!

no our defense is usually well behind the play, you can split us open on the rebound if you can outrun us, Essendon's been the closest so far, but they couldn't do it for long enough
Lol. If you sag back from us…..it’s done.
Fagen said as much.

Make sure you come at us…..don’t sag off.

L

Thanks!

So enjoy the ride. Saints have a good style that will stack up in finals: that’s what anyone wants to see.

You seem a very reasonable Pies supporter- no one knows but do u think old Crispy will be out there or having an enforced rest?
Thanks!

em

You seem a very reasonable Pies supporter- no one knows but do u think old Crispy will be out there or having an enforced rest?

em
Footy follower first (well, maybe slightly behind being a pies supporter!! But love the strategic side of the game).
Crisp shouldn’t have played last week.
But if he gets suspended….that’s pretty rubbish isn’t it! Imagine pics of you getting shared by a third party x years after the fact and you getting caned for it:

Just think it’s wrong. But who knows?!?!

We all know Pies supporters when they are on a roll they think they are bullet prove and people have them as one of the flag favorites , well I hate to say it but they are no where close to the Demons and I fully expect the Lions and Cats will be harder to beat than them as the year rolls on.

Collingwood have a very good side , but when you look through the team do you actually think they will hold up the whole year - well I don't. Sidebottom 32 , Pendlebury 35 , Elliott 31 are currently firing but will they be at the end of the season - guys like Adams , Elliott , Moore , DeGoey have always had injuries / meaning they never string together a large bunch of games - and are in and out of the team and if Sidebottom and Pendlebery get through a whole season it will surprise me.

There back line looks underwhelming with out a true rebounding defender in Howe and with only Maynard and Moore I feel they could be opened up easily -

There forward line is the same and they will be relying on DeGoey and Diacos to create the goals required.
When you are playing guys like Frampton , Cox , Markov , Murphy in the side no way will they hold form the whole season and even the older players like Sidebottom showed against the Lions with 12 touches from 83% TOG.

But to me there back line is weak - losing Howe robs them of that on field defensive leader - Pendlebery is doing atm - but gets found out when speed comes to the game like what Raynor and Cameron showed , most good teams have a very good intercept marker.
Cats have Stewart
Tigers have Grimes
Blues have Docherty
Saints have Wilkie
and so on

There forward line is even weaker if you see on the weekend how the Lions had guys like Joyce have 90% TOG and holding McStay to bugger all.

The Pies are good while they are holding up , but how long for - we are capable of knocking them off if we bring the desire to win the ball - all I'm worried about is how long can our kids keep this level of play up.

Apologies. I’ll leave this thread to saints (and cats…wtf) supporters just banging on with 2015 tactics about how they will win….

If you win (which you are a big chance), it won’t be from the tactics thrown out to date!!!!

But you all go on and discuss how a 2015 style wins….

**** me dead. Idiot by name, and by nature, if he thinks the Saints are playing with 2015 tactics this season.

Perhaps this idiot should actually watch a replay or two of how the Saints have actually been playing this season.

* me dead. Idiot by name, and by nature, if he thinks the Saints are playing with 2015 tactics this season.

Perhaps this idiot should actually watch a replay or two of our the Saints have actually been playing this season.

And how have you been playing?
Please….enlighten me.
Edit: if you bothered to read my post, yoh would have understood I wasn’t referring to how you are playing…but how your posters suggest you beat us.