Autopsy Round 6, 2023: Carlton v St.Kilda

Loved the way Sincs, butts and hill went about it. Would type up a big summary but as I was saying in the game day chat, nothing to get upset about really - just a good game of footy. We are going just fine. Happy as. 5-1.

147 disposals between Walsh, Cerra, Acres and Cripps. And yet our system and collective effort wins out. Cant wait to get King back in this team, for the extra threat going forward, because as good as Hill was, it’s a shame that at times he was our deepest target.

We have been competitive for 24 quarters of AFL in a row, how brilliant is that. That’s what builds trust. Great win, super proud.
Coaches put Sinclair into the middle after half time which helped and BT was saying Steele in hid first game back wasn't that great until after half time and he nullified or partially nullified Cripps.

It Good to to see changes made in the middle of the game and see it work.

Here is my favourite post

Ross the boss comes in and turns this ******* rabble into a well disciplined, cohesive, super fit running side in one ******* off season! Even with all their injuries! Voss has had two preseasons and has gone backwards. We are a ******* Joke!
Season 2 Lol GIF by Insecure on HBO

Does anyone know Ross Lyons winning percentage at St kilda?

Sincs Hill Byrnes owens

Great team effort again
Brynes was very impressive. I hadn't really realised how quick he is and he is getting more accurate. Probably due to high level of confidence from the coaches.

Does anyone know Ross Lyons winning percentage at St kilda?

64.5% apparently, that's not including this season thus far though.

His overall including Freo is 56.4%
1682239042497.png

How many of our boys have deeper emotional connections with the club?

Sinclair
King
Higgins
Stocker

These young kids, coupled with Hayes Harvey Goddard Lyon in the coaches box, is going to show this group what it means to play for St.Kilda.

I had a sook watching them walk off today. 5-1, giving their all for supporters who have waited 60 years for us to salute again.

I wish my old man was around to see Lyon take these boys to a new level again. He loved Ross when he was here the first time.

I love this football club!!

Brynes was very impressive. I hadn't really realised how quick he is and he is getting more accurate. Probably due to high level of confidence from the coaches.
He is lightning sammm
I truely noticed it a couple of weeks ago when he accelerated off thru traffic at speed, i didnt realize he was that quick

Feel for SoS I reckon genuinely conflicted a Blues great, son plays for them , but was treated poorly by their Admin. Oh well, he got us Hammer and Stocker, pretty good start.
Yes we are a well coached team..RTB is a great coach, but every player has to commit, every player has to play their role.

We were not doing so in the first half, Ross tweaks the positions, gets Steele involved by tagging Cripps, Sincs into the guts, seemed like Paton back, but the team had to lift, and lift they did. Third qtr, destroyed the Blues, Seb, Hunter and Sincs win the clearance and Butler and Higgins really got working.
Never really understood that much between a coach like Ratts and RTB but FMD the difference is stark. Track watchers noted how intense training was, well you play like you train.

Hint for opposition teams, learn to run on transition v the Saints, also learn to dog paddle in the deep end.
Saints stayed with a fast starting Blues, dominated the third then iced the 4th when Carlton were gassed.
What a disciplined team.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

If you had 4 different blokes umpiring then that's a 10 goal win.

Walsh had 38 disposals. Who cares. 250 metres gained. Minimal impact IMO

Pou was great I thought. Didn't get the stats but flew for everything and could've clunked a few. When he gets a bit stronger they'll stick then look out 😍

That was a classic Ross Lyon style rope a dope win.

I said it in the gameday thread in the first half, we just need to weather the storm, Carlton and their umpires went hard but they wore themselves out.

If we could keep it close at half time we knew we could out run them, Ross pushed Sinclair into the midfield and along with Hill they ran f**ing riot.

We put the game to bed in the 3rd quarter, the only disappointment was that we didn't finish it in the last quarter, we need to get Billings and King back.

I'm Gresh, I recognise that he's marking that 9.9/10 times, so I'm just going to sneaky elbow the solar plexus and take the front on call instead just to say "hello" to someone twice my size that doesn't have to jump for it.

Then again, that's why I was playing Mitchitos role despite being maybe Higgins height, just cause I could jump that high to try it. And piss off my own rucks in match sim, but I digress.

I'd say maybe top 3, Ashcroft is a beast.
He can’t do what Owens can

Autopsy Round 6, 2023: Carlton v St.Kilda