Review Round 7, 2015 - Brisbane Lions vs Port

Who were your five best players for the round 7 game against Port?

The thing I liked about Robinson's game was that it was understated. He wasn't trying to knock blokes into the stands or win the miracle clearance. He just worked hard to keep the pressure on and, when he got the footy, he made smart decisions. I thought he was great last night - he's probably played better in his career but this was a top effort for the team.

Neutralised so many loose ball situations where it looked like Port were about to swoop. He won over the whole Gabba last night.

Did anyone else hear the "Robbo" chant that went up from the member's bar area in the upper Wellington Rd/Stanley St end after Robbo kicked his 3rd man up goal? Hilarious and a measure of how much he is our player now. Loved him all game.

Vossy was given a warm welcome before he did the TV interview before the game - waved to the crowd but was with Hinkley so didn't come over to fence.

What a win!! Unfortunately I missed chunks of the game because of parenting requirements, so I'm looking forward to watching the replay uninterrupted.

But, in the bits I saw, I just loved the effort, especially the follow up efforts that had been sorely lacking, and our run. We'll lose our share of games this year, but as long as we bring that type of effort and attitude I'll be happy. :)

Our running game is back up and running a lot earlier this season. Earlier enough to have a realistic chance at making a run for the 8 if we can play like that more often than not. Games like that leave you feeling pretty damn good don't they?

Neutralised so many loose ball situations where it looked like Port were about to swoop. He won over the whole Gabba last night.

This was the game he got his reward for effort. Put forward pressure on all night, tackled hard and created turnovers or at least neutralized Port's ball movement across their HB line. When you have a look at the goal break down, you can really see that win was off the back of defensive pressure.

Only 2 goals to the tall targets in Bergs and McStay. 3 to Green, 3 to Robbo, 2 to Bundy and 1 to Taylor. That is 9 goals from our ground level types. Then a sprinkle of goals from the mids with Lester, Beams and Rich.

Robbo has found his spot in the team now, and it is great to see the boys get around him because he works his arse off.

Things I liked ...

- Berger tossing his opponent aside and taking a mark and slotting the goal
- trying from the word go and not letting up
- four whole quarters of effort
- movement ahead of the ball carrier
- Aish with courage and teammates backing up
- winning the game
- winning the game without requiring a heart machine
- winning the game against an actual worthy opponent
- winning two games in a row (ok that is enough with the winning the game theme!)
- LIIIIIOOOOOOOONNNNNNSSSSSSSS
- Nick Robbo ... just seemed to be everywhere at the right time and never gave up
- M Robbo ... seems to have fully transitioned from Blue to Lion - loved his game and his attitude
- Harris and Paps just getting in the way of everything
- Rich and Beams ... what is there to say
- feeling confident when we had the ball that we were going to keep it
- kicking to advantage for our forwards
- GREEN
- Feeling confident that when they had the ball that we would do our very best to get in their way

I think that is enough for now!

Oh yes - and my Port supporting mate that got food poisoning ... feels even worse now :)

Watched a lot of the replay this morning. Browny is actually quite a good commentator - gives a bit more actual footy insight than even other ex-players. Not just all 'go hard' and 'attack the footy' stuff that seems to be the staple of most.

Really think the difference over the last two weeks has been Lewis Taylor. But tough on a second year player but I think he is a barometer for the team. No coincidence his best two performances this year have been the last two weeks, and we win both weeks. At his running best he adds spark we need and the others feed off.

Yeah, when people said "I don't know where our goals will come from this year", the obvious reply was "from our small/medium forwards and our midfield." We saw that last night. Coaches love a good spread of goal scorers.

And those goals come off the back of hard work. When Green is up and about we are usually playing well, he has just about become the form barometer. When the pressure and ball movement is there, he gets amongst the goals. Bundy just keeps quietly ticking over a few goals a game too. I really think when Hanley gets back, and Bundy gets a bit more kms into the legs, he is going to have a really strong 2nd half to the year.

I'm really interested to see what we do with Merrett.

Instinctively, I think that we have to pick him when healthy. On the other hand, there must be a temptation to leave what's not broken. The most obvious candidate would be Andrews (or Gardiner if his body needs a break), but it's not really a like for like replacement. Andrews gives us some important things that Merrett doesn't do all that much. Then again, Merrett looked really settled in defence again before he went down injured.

It's a good problem to have at least.

I've been to 2 games this year. We won both. Ill be at the game next weekend to. Reckon we will give the bombers a real crack. Feel like the teams talisman at the moment! Loved being at the gabba with lions fans. Got the lions chant going a few times. Was awesome. Have a hangover but i don't care. There were a few port supporters i was interacting with. Am pleased to say the were all class. Good work. You know we are playing well when the missus is cheering like a mad woman as well! So happy right now and i still have a week off! Couple of thoughts:

BRION THE LION is cheesier than chedder but it gave me a good laugh.
Harris Andrews - wtf. After seeing him play live the last 2 weeks i have to say he is very noticeable. Love this kid.

Lewis Taylor. Makes some poor decisions occasionally but bloody hell he is fun to watch. So evasive it's not funny. Generally leaves the the other team scratching there heads. I've seen him surrounded by 5 players and manage to weave clear and do something useful with the pill afterwards. I have his signature on my Guernsey.

Luenburger was fantastic yesterday i thought. Created a contest which is all we need him to do really. You can really see he worries the opposition defenders up forward.

Dayne Beams. Take a bow buddy. You are the man! It has been said before but he really is our new Simon Black.

Daniel Rich. I love it when he is having a crack. For years i have been frustrated with him ignoring the contest. Yesterday he didn't and it was beautiful to watch.

Rocky is going to unleash next week. Was probably only 90% yesterday but beginning to move uninhibited.

Steff Martin is like the Terminator. That is his name from now on. I was worried that all those muscles were going to slow him down but he is athletic personified. Wow.

Mcstay has velcro on his hands that boy. Unreal.

Im going to stop now cause everyone played a blinder yesterday and i can't cover them all.

Got a laugh out of the crowd when i told Aish to sing on the doted line when he came to the bench at one point.

That is all.

Family also settled he said after the game and he definitely seems like a popular bloke at the club. The risk of him destroying our culture seems to be zero atm!
Everything I've heard is that he is actually a really good bloke, has a reputation of being a bit of a party boy and found himself in the wrong place at the wrong time with Garlett last season. As he gets older he will mature just as Pike did. I was always happy picking him up as he sets a great standard for the younger blokes as he always gives 100% on field, never ever seen him shy away from a contest and never seen him stop trying with us or in his days at Carlton.

I think we should take a moment to recognise how amazing but also hilarious it was to see Lewy jump in the remonstrate with Ryder when Aish was taken out mid air. Smallest versus nearly tallest. Completely ineffectual, but he got support immediately after. Definitely made me smile.

I'm really interested to see what we do with Merrett.

Instinctively, I think that we have to pick him when healthy. On the other hand, there must be a temptation to leave what's not broken. The most obvious candidate would be Andrews (or Gardiner if his body needs a break), but it's not really a like for like replacement. Andrews gives us some important things that Merrett doesn't do all that much. Then again, Merrett looked really settled in defence again before he went down injured.

It's a good problem to have at least.

I think it depends on the opponent. If they play 3 genuine talls we could bring Merrett in and still play Andrews but if there isn't a matchup for him I'd play Merrett ahead of Andrews. We could possibly play Andrews forward but I'd have no issue dropping him.

With Clarke, Merrett/Andrews, Gardiner, Paparone, Cutler and C Beams, Harwood, Golby or Adcock we have a very flexible backline and I think we saw how well it could work against a good forwardline on the weekend.

Id probably play Merrett in a game via the ressies first, just to blow the cobwebs out.. He has missed a bit of footy now. Andrews is probably the one to go back, but that doesnt matter. The boy has talent and there is no rush. He can still work on his game in the seconds and is good cover for us. Alternatively give Gardiner a rest. The bloke looks like he would do well from a week off to just ice up.

Review Round 7, 2015 - Brisbane Lions vs Port