AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
He may well become a star, but not if he cops the blocking, holding and outright cheating he was subject to yesterday from bigger-bodies but less skilled lardheads.
Couldn't get a clear run at it for love nor money, bar the odd exception.
Not much good having umpteen umpires if they can't even spot the obvious.
This is where a bigger bodied assistant would come in handy.
I am sure it wasn't the Power supporters behind us as they left just after half time.Pretty sure I started it!
Though I'm sure someone else will claim similar!
The "Brisbane clap clap clap" brigade are the real enemy.
Something I noticed was that, in the first half, Port regularly had a man or two stationed well behind the Lions forward press - mostly Wingard or Schulz were comfortably deeper than the Lions' defenders. It appeared to me to be a structure based on an assumption that the Lions would either turn the ball over or Port would pick their way through the zone and spot the deep forward/s who would have 15-20 metres on their opponents. For once, our ball use wasn't deplorable and our defensive structure held up better than it has all year. That meant that the Lions 18 was effectively up against 16 or 17 from Port...a numerical advantage which manifested on the outside of the contest.
I dunno if it is a tactic Port use regularly or if it was a result of playing a lowly side but I don't think it worked. To Leppa and the team's credit, they stuck with their structure and didn't push a man back to mark the loose forward.
And one other thing about about McStay- he has the potential to be something special [and if he'd kicked 6 or 7 v Carlton as he should've he might already have this tag] but he has ZERO defensive skills.
Something to seriously work on.
Exactly right mate. That's my biggest issue with McStay. He is working harder with his attack on the ball but he has zero defensive game. Really needs to work hard on that part of his game.
FWIW I'm section 67, second row from the front - we had no rain issues last night - though that close to the front I'm expecting it when the wind shifts at some point. I used to be row G in the same section with the rest of my family for many many seasons, we never had any rain issues ever.James North TheBrownDog I'm assuming you guys sit somewhere up in the stands on that wing. A question I have, if the rain is blowing into the stand do people in the upper tier regardless of row get wet at all? Or its all protected?
Yeah but did they begin the "Robbo" chant? That was gold!Reckon the Lions chant in the 4th quarter emanated from around your area.
If you look at the majority of our back six on the weekend it really is pretty mind blowing for what they are achieving as a group when you look at their ages.
Andrews - 18
Gardiner - 19
Cutler - 20
Paparone - 20
Clarke - 21
This is something that you wouldn't see too often and you would think that they can only improve over the year and future seasons. An outstanding job by them in all honesty and I think that it should be quite understandable when there is some ups and downs in their performances. Granted that the mids and forward did bring that all over team defence that is needed to help out but it still is an amazing result.
From the descriptions, could be spray from above.I'm in Row A down at ground level. Can get a bit wet.
Neutralised so many loose ball situations where it looked like Port were about to swoop. He won over the whole Gabba last night.
Thats the advantage of having so much depth in our midfield (including Hanley once he recovers)Beams has been steadily working into his groove, has been getting a lot of it but hasn't had ideal support but whoa man, anyone who doubted the value he would bring to the club got schooled; his best game for the club
Stef has been humungous, he has seriously been everywhere. It's like that old footy ad where Roo won the ball kicked it and then marked it. Ruck and mid.
Robbo was able to bring that hardness that he's offered and was able to spend more time around the forward half where his pressure and overhead ability was extremely valuable. Loved his game and loving his move to the club.
Rich couldn't stop getting his hands on the ball. He must be relishing clubs tagging Rocky and Beams. **** sticking him at half back, he can give us great drive from there but if we can have him getting touches in the mids we are winning.
Lester has had two very good game back to back. Numerous efforts by him that resulted in absolutely no stats constantly created opportunities for us. Really appreciated his game and that mark and goal; whoa. It might just have clicked for him, big bodied mid who can take a mark up forward is just what the doctor ordered.
Aish had a great game. I rate him so much but part of me struggles to get attached but I hope some of the moments he experienced tonight really helped him realise he is part of a team that wants him there and can succeed. Good chance he'll leave but hopefully he realises he's part of a team that can be successful and cares about him being a part of it.
Green has got his form back: yay!
Paps getting better with each game. I'm getting giddy about Merrett coming back, could loosen him up even more. Snatching marks all over the shop and pushing play forward, very valuable.
N Robbo is looking good. Confident at this level. Leppa patient with him and it's paid off. Don't see him dropping to the ressies any time soon.
Leuie had his best game in a while and his best game playing a significant portion up forward. Really showed the Steburger combo can work. Just needed to show he can have an impact up forward and he did and around the ground too. Loved it.
Very happy. Gonna ride this win all week.