Toast Round 8 = Collingwood 77-48 Sydney

That Goal Ump needs to be Dropped

He got every call correct.

Maybe he’s new and doesn’t have confidence in himself yet? If that’s the case then they should be getting him to do small crowd games.

That last quarter was strange, like the Swans just seemed too stupid to go for the win. We were great with pressure and again stood up when it counted, but I thought they were meek late when they were good most of the day.

DeGoey was horrible early and crucial to the win late. Huge tick, 2-3 years ago, he has that first qtr and has no influence on the game.

Moore. Just brilliant.

Quaynor a much improved performance and one of our better players.

Noble. Wow, effort great, ball getting great. Kicking, bad.

Checkers, much deserved 5. A true Pie folk hero. Thought he was ordinary early too.

WHE, very good game.

Mitchell, Pendles, Daicos boys and Sidebottom were just OK imo. None bad, but none great either.

Crisp, very good game.

Elliott and Frampton were important.

And a final shout out to Maynard who was great on Papley. Papley is clearly their most dangerous player now.

So nice to get a good, comfortable, ugly win.

i dont boo. I tend to abuse at games. And with certain players, you have to be very delicate with the type of abuse that's acceptable. Some people might find booing as a way of expressing their displeasure but not risk eviction from the ground....
I don't boo either. The problem with Collingwood supporters booing an indigenous player is that we all get tarred with the racist brush, regardless of the reason for the booing.

From SMH RE: Fly responding to Naicos being targeted

Magpies coach Craig McRae backed the players’ response, saying he was happy for them to fly the flag for teammates as long as they did not do anything to give away a free kick.

“We want to be a team that does that. We have said that often. If someone comes at us, you know we’re gonna go back at them within the rules,” McRae said.

“I was really pleased – and last week was the same – [that] if someone comes at us there was a flying the flag, if we’re using that language, but there is not a stepping over the rules of the game. We don’t want to be undisciplined, but we stand up for each other.”

I think we as supporters can be angry about the treatment of Daicos but let's not forget he is out on the field regardless of age if he is playing he is ready, It's a credit to him that he is being targeted because he is that good.

Getting tagged is having an impact on him and I'm sure the way he prepares he will find a way to beat it.

Its football for years we have had absolutely average footballers whole purpose is to stop a bloke getting a kick.
No problems. Means that pendles and Sidey can play peripheral roles with less attention.

We haven’t had this depth in quality since 2016 when Swan retired

I was planning to tee off on this booing debate but late and tired so yes I can’t stand Franklin like I couldn’t stands Goodes for his staging but I hate Papely like no other player ( maybe Cotchin )

Happy to be called whatever by pressie Woke folks but get ready for the Thunder back

Sydney today is everything that is wrong with that state!

As I finished work late and are relying on Kayo,I’ve seen the first quarter only. I have no idea about the buddy booing abut I’m pretty sure the poor bastard can go back to his Miss Australia wife and millions of dollars and get over it. Anyway f##k the swans, F##k Papley & f### anyone who decides that my enjoyment of this season depends on their moral judgement of anything Collingwood. Go Pies.

Trash club living off the back of COLA that allowed them to recruit Buddy and the hand out academy that's given them half their list.

Heeney, Campbell, Gulden, Mills, Blakely, Wicks all through the academy. If Fitzroy got half the hand outs Sydney did they'd still be in the league.

Trash club, trash home ground, trash bandwagon supporters. Even Papley asked to be traded from there but the grub couldn't escape.

First, they are not living off the back of COLA as they haven’t had it since 2014.

Second, academy listed players have been able to be bid on by rival clubs. Melbourne bid for Heeney but Sydney we’re allowed to use pick 18 to match it. Blakey could have chosen North and didn’t etc etc.

If not for Sydney’s (and other academy’s - Gold Coast, Brisbane and GWS) most of these interstate kids now getting picked up would have stuck to basketball or rugby, or rugby league etc. Heeney certainly would never have got on the radar if there were no Swans academy. He’d have gone back to rugby league. So I really don’t get the gripes about the setting up of Academies. I think they’ve been great for the game at producing nsw and qld talent

Third, f@ck Fitzroy and any other Victorian club. If south Melbourne got half the hand outs “Sydney” got they’d still be at Lakeside… Oh wait that’s right south Melbourne got punted up to Sydney by the other VFL clubs didn’t they??

Who seriously gives a shit about Fitzroy still being in the comp? They had no supporters and money and merged with Brisbane. VFL clubs screwed them in favour of Port Adelaide.

Fourth, in your logic we got a “hand out from AFL” for tanking for Thomas and Pendlebury. Not long after that the priority picks were abolished. We also used our academies over the years to get Witts and McInnes etc not to mention the great luck we’ve had with Father Sons in recent years. The Father Son continues to be one of the biggest rorts in the game, but because its Victorian clubs that usually benefit from it most - no one in Victoria has a sook about it.

Fifth, SCG is far from trash. Their supporters are pretty decent (yes a bit clueless) but compared to arrogant shit bags like Essendon and Geelong, Swans fans are a walk in the park. And Papley wanted to leave due to family issues. He’s since re-signed with the club hasn’t he?

I get it, you hate Sydney and that’s fine.

Just to me the whole academies and COLA schtick is way overblown - and mainly touted by our former President as an excuse as to why he failed to deliver us a premiership 21 out of his 22 years. Geelong, Hawthorn and Richmond had no problem securing 3 to 4 premierships each in the past 16 years. COLA and Academies didn’t stop them doing that.

Fact is, Swans have had great administration, playing group, coaching staff and culture for 20 years. I respect what they’ve achieved. So it’s great today that we have beaten them, I think it says a lot about our playing group, admin, coaching staff and culture since fly was appointed in late 2021.

First, they are not living off the back of COLA as they haven’t had it since 2014.

Second, academy listed players have been able to be bid on by rival clubs. Melbourne bid for Heeney but Sydney we’re allowed to use pick 18 to match it. Blakey could have chosen North and didn’t etc etc.

If not for Sydney’s (and other academy’s - Gold Coast, Brisbane and GWS) most of these interstate kids now getting picked up would have stuck to basketball or rugby, or rugby league etc. Heeney certainly would never have got on the radar if there were no Swans academy. He’d have gone back to rugby league. So I really don’t get the gripes about the setting up of Academies. I think they’ve been great for the game at producing nsw and qld talent

Third, f@ck Fitzroy and any other Victorian club. If south Melbourne got half the hand outs “Sydney” got they’d still be at Lakeside… Oh wait that’s right south Melbourne got punted up to Sydney by the other VFL clubs didn’t they??

Who seriously gives a s**t about Fitzroy still being in the comp? They had no supporters and money and merged with Brisbane. VFL clubs screwed them in favour of Port Adelaide.

Fourth, in your logic we got a “hand out from AFL” for tanking for Thomas and Pendlebury. Not long after that the priority picks were abolished. We also used our academies over the years to get Witts and McInnes etc not to mention the great luck we’ve had with Father Sons in recent years. The Father Son continues to be one of the biggest rorts in the game, but because its Victorian clubs that usually benefit from it most - no one in Victoria has a sook about it.

Fifth, SCG is far from trash. Their supporters are pretty decent (yes a bit clueless) but compared to arrogant s**t bags like Essendon and Geelong, Swans fans are a walk in the park. And Papley wanted to leave due to family issues. He’s since re-signed with the club hasn’t he?

I get it, you hate Sydney and that’s fine.

Just to me the whole academies and COLA schtick is way overblown - and mainly touted by our former President as an excuse as to why he failed to deliver us a premiership 21 out of his 22 years. Geelong, Hawthorn and Richmond had no problem securing 3 to 4 premierships each in the past 16 years. COLA and Academies didn’t stop them doing that.

Fact is, Swans have had great administration, playing group, coaching staff and culture for 20 years. I respect what they’ve achieved. So it’s great today that we have beaten them, I think it says a lot about our playing group, admin, coaching staff and culture since fly was appointed in late 2021.

100% didn't read. Chuck the red and white flair up, old boy.

That last quarter was strange, like the Swans just seemed too stupid to go for the win. We were great with pressure and again stood up when it counted, but I thought they were meek late when they were good most of the day.

DeGoey was horrible early and crucial to the win late. Huge tick, 2-3 years ago, he has that first qtr and has no influence on the game.

Moore. Just brilliant.

Quaynor a much improved performance and one of our better players.

Noble. Wow, effort great, ball getting great. Kicking, bad.

Checkers, much deserved 5. A true Pie folk hero. Thought he was ordinary early too.

WHE, very good game.

Mitchell, Pendles, Daicos boys and Sidebottom were just OK imo. None bad, but none great either.

Crisp, very good game.

Elliott and Frampton were important.

And a final shout out to Maynard who was great on Papley. Papley is clearly their most dangerous player now.

So nice to get a good, comfortable, ugly win.
Think there’s a bit more to it than that. The intensity was high from the opening bounce. Commentators called it. Few teams can go with us at this level for 4 quarters. They were knackered, and we ran over the top of them. Richmond were doing it in their prime, now fly and Leppa have brought it to Collingwood. With a lot of help from Jarrod Wade

Return of Cox was really important today.

He gives us much better structure, is an excellent tap ruckman, gives us a target down the line on the way out of defence and is usually good for 2-3 marks and shots at goal up forward.

Great to have the big fella back!

Fly's presser

You must be happy with the way your team fought the game out well?
"Yeah, I just mentioned after the game, the ability to adapt and evolve our game plan on the run. You get to Round 8 and the opposition are looking at what you're doing well and they try to take that away, and then they find opportunities to exploit you. We're the same, but on a day like today against really good opposition just to find a way and get the job done, it was really pleasing".

Do you feel like you're the 'hunted' all of a sudden?
"I'm not sure. I don't know. What do you think?

Possibly.
"Yeah, I'm not sure. I have to give that a bit more thought, but to be honest we're just sort of living in the next opposition and living in trying to be a better version of ourselves, and I haven't given that much thought".

Were you expecting Sydney to do what they did in this game?
"Yeah, we got everything we thought we would get. It's one thing to know what's coming, and the other thing is to try and stop some things. Credit to them, I thought the game was on a knife's edge for a major part of the game. Like the last two or three games, our pressure in the last quarter just goes to another level and teams right now are struggling with it".

Did you like how the guys 'flew the flag' at the start?
"Yeah, we want to be a team that does that. I've said this often that when someone comes we want to go back at them, but within the rules. I was really pleased. Last week was the same. Week before someone comes at one of us, there's a 'flying the flag' if you like using that language, but there's not a stepping over the rules of the game. We don't want to be undisciplined, but we stand up for each other".

Last week, you said you didn't want Nick Daicos to be the story and you even said it was a bit of a non-story, how's he coping with the added pressure and attention on him?
"I haven't asked him about it to be honest. I think it's a natural part of any good player in the competition. You go back in time, every very good player has had to go through this, and some have to do it for longer. This is his lot right now. He's a second year player just going really well and the opposition want to take that away. I was really pleased with his last quarter. He had 10 possessions in the last quarter and went into the midfield. Did his thing, so he's a hard player to stop".

What did you think of the impact Jack Ginnivan had in the last quarter?
"I liked it. I really liked it and I don't like the rule as it sits right now where you've got to name 22 and the subs are 'dropped'. You know, we don't see it in that light. We mentioned that in our group, he's in our best 23. It'll look different next week possibly. Bobby Hill goes off because just because and then we rotate Jack in and he impacts. I don't like the rule, and I don't know if we can change it. Maybe we can change the rule, but we were very happy with Jack's impact on the game".

It looked like Jack [Ginnivan] was a bit 'stung' about being dropped?
"We don't see him being dropped though. We had that conversation. I sat on my couch and said [to him] 'no, you're not dropped'. We're all trying to be better and we want to perform better but this game's a very hard one to do it week to week, but particularly playing a role like him and Bobby [Hill] are playing. Beau McCreery had low numbers today, but it's a difficult role. We get it. I played it for a long time, I realise it. You don't touch it, and then you got to see value in other things so we're trying to see value in other things and support them along the way".

What are the other things you're trying to see 'value' in?
"If you watch closely how in offence the way that they set the field up for us, play a massive part in what we're doing. Get the behind the goals footage and you'll see the value in what they do for others".

Brody Mihocek had a career best 5 goals today. How proud are you to see him get rewarded for that?
"Yeah, it's a great thing. Checkers is a really important player to us. Two weeks ago, he had a heavy load and a lot of attention. He's so critical to us right now with Dan [McStay] out. He's carrying that job, with Ash [Johnson] goes in the ruck some weeks. We're rapt for Checkers. We love him very much and it's great for him to get rewarded".

How much did Mason Cox's return help your structure and free up Brody Mihocek to get on the end of a couple of goals?
"A lot, and Billy Frampton continues to really impact that part of our game for us. We might have found one there in terms of that role, but Mason today allowed Checkers to rotate more, Ash Johnson to rotate more and then Mason had great energy to impact when he was on the ground. I thought he was really impressive today, Mason for the minutes he played. We tried to play him about 56% game time and I thought he had impact in the aerial contest, which was really pleasing".

On the Daicos tag, were there any tweaks to free him up or was it all him in the last quarter?
"No, we've got plans in place. We're not surprised by him getting tagged. I said last week, I playing chess with my dad and he liked playing against me till I started beating him and he didn't want to play anymore. He taught me about the importance of thinking ahead and two moves ahead in chess and that's what we'd like to do, not only with Nick, but in the game. We want to be strategic in what it looks like if he's not impacting or whatever's happening, is it Nick or whatever the parts of our game we want to be two steps ahead. We've got a plan around that".

Taylor Adams was involved in a heavy collision in the last quarter, how is he?
"I think he's okay. I was a bit worried for him too. It was one of those knee contacts. He's a bit sore, but at this stage he looks fine".

How big was your skipper's performance today?
"He's an amazing player, isn't he. I don't know if we give him enough credit or there's enough accolades. He's had 30 odd possessions today. We moved him to half back for a quarter and a half. The calmness and to keep the game where we want it. I thought the game today was like I said on a 'knife's edge' but you had to manage when to go fast and when to control the ball and he's just done that so well for us". He's a remarkable player".

^ NOTE: Question was asked about Moore, but Fly started talking about Pendles instead. Must have forgotten for a moment that Pendles was no longer the skipper.

Give us your thoughts on Buddy being booed today?
"I've said this before, but I'm not a booer. We don't boo at home. You pay your money, you do whatever you want. I must admit, I didn't hear it but I don't know whether I had the headsets on or whatever, but we just don't boo".

Agree in terrible weather. Not many swans fans today. When going well they get 10-15,000 swans fans. Today I think only 2-3,000 turned up!

Nah I reckon there was quite a few

Of 71,000 I reckon they had at least 15k

Toast Round 8 = Collingwood 77-48 Sydney