Rounds 14-17 Trades Mega Thread

Re: Round 17 Trades

Bringing in PAV

Who do I boot? Darling, Matera or Lynch. Darling is probably more secure, winning team etc but has fallen off the rails. I like him better as back up but I make an extra 40k if I lose Darling over Matera. Is it worth the 40K?

Depends, do you need the cash for other upgrades? If your team is mostly done then I'd say you should probably hold onto Darling.

Bringing in PAV

Who do I boot? Darling, Matera or Lynch. Darling is probably more secure, winning team etc but has fallen off the rails. I like him better as back up but I make an extra 40k if I lose Darling over Matera. Is it worth the 40K?

At this point cover is key when you're low on trades. I'd give Matera the boot and keep Darling.

Hey all,

Cannot decide whether I should get Pav in this week and for who?
J.Roo is struggling and maybe rested later in year. I.Smith may get dropped after their bye. Same with Krak but he could be good as 8th fwd, should play all year.

Who should I get rid of for Pav? Unless there is another fwd worth getting.

Or should I hang onto trades? Still need to get Fisher in and have Judd and Gibbs. Should win this week any way.
Any thoughts?

7 trades, $238K , Equal top of league and going for league win only.

B: Godd, Shaw, Lids, Gibbs, Murphy, Heppell, Lower (SUCKLING, Buckley, Howard)
M: Swan, Pendles, Judd, Cross, Ablett (?), Mzungu (HODGE, Jacobs, Bewick)
R: Cox, Lobbe (Sandi, Tippett)
F: N.Roo, J.Roo, Goodes, ROK, Krak, Fyfe, Prestia (FRANKLIN, I.SMITH, Siposs)

Hey, Pav's price is high right now but looks set to increase even more so you could definitely make an argument for bringing him in this week. As for who to dump, I would definitely get rid of Smith. JRoo is basically a premium and obviously an integral part of the Tigers team so his job security is very high as opposed to Smith or Krakouer or Prestia. Of those 3 Smith gives you a good amount of cash, you could dump Prestia but he hasn't maxed out yet and leaves you with less money than Smith would. As for Krakouer I'd definitely hold onto him over Smith. He's basically played all year after a slow start.

The only thing to consider is that your backline is probably in greater need than your forwards (a guess I didn't add up the avgs) and next week or the week after is going to be the perfect time to get in Fisher. If you grab Pav now then be ready to make 2 more trades in the next week or two to get Fisher in. You'll probably need to downgrade and upgrade. Talia will be on the bubble and can be swapped for a fwd or def (obviously).

Personally, with 7 trades I'd be prepared to burn 3 to get closer to completing the team - especially when you can get a premium like Fisher for a low price. As for which forward to get I'd definitely go with Pav, especially considering you're after the league win.

good luck!

I got 5 trades and 330K in the kitty, need to make descisions on the following
team
BACKs: Fisher, Scotland,Gibbs, delideo,goddard,enright,pedersen (McKernan,Strauss,Howard)
MIDS: Ablett, pendles,A.swallow,Hodge,bartel,rockliff (Iles,I.Smith,Helbig)
RUCKS:Cox,Lobbe(Sandi,B.Moran)
FWDS: Buddy,ROK,Pav,Fyfe,Slyvia, R.Murphy, Mzungu(T.Walker,T.Lynch,C.Richardson)

So some more thinking and I've got a new idea,

This week i bring in Silvagni and H.Shaw for Pedersen and Strauss and next week i trade Iles to Jacob's then i can hide gibbs/Scotland in the mid's when they have the finals bye with decent cover.

I'm looking to get in David Hale in forward for Richardson if he's not named next week. Hale is ruck, whilst not going to cut it as main ruck, a dual position ruck in def or forward is invaluable for consistent point outputs (queue stefan martin) and is good cover for forwards. Pity I don't have tippet anymore in ruck to swing Hale as ruck cover, that'd be ideal..

Down back also considering Toy to Kyle Cheny - anyone know about his js? Given Hawk's injury problems might be decent cover? Hawk's run home is a big factor in this. Or just Talia.

What is going on with Toy? Injured? He's been in my squad for so long and hadn't needed him for cover I've just forgotten about him. :D

Thinking Hibberd -> Hooper and Otten -> H Shaw
Will leave me wth 6 trades left and ~200k
Betters my defence with lowest avg starter now Hurn, with Pederson and Hooper cover. Mids are set. As are forwards. Have Lobbe and Bailey as my 2nd and 3rd rucks though.

I wouldn't call Sylvias form disappointing as hell with his game log. The 32 when he got injured hurts but he has a fairly impressive year.

I suppose the decision I need to make is do I need the MPP with 8 Premium fwds and 7 Premium Mids?

How you travelling this year mate? Was in Big Footy DIV 6 with ya last year.

Nah I got him a couple of weeks ago as a roaming M/F 'premium' who's scores have been anything but. I'm a little short with premiums so rotating one was my only option.

Going alright, ranked 700 odd after a disastrous start so no real complaints. I'd hate to think where i'd be ranked if i didn't start with Bruce :thumbsdown: How bout yourself? Spewing I didn't go in the leagues this year.

Bolton > Pendlebury for me. Leaves me with 4 trades and $150k. Best side would be:

Deledio, Fisher, Gibbs, Newman, Goddard, Shaw, Enright - (Puopolo, Jacobs, Delaney)

Boyd, Judd, Ablett, Thompson, Swan, Pendlebury - (Harris, Hibberd, Callinan)

Cox, Jamar - (Tippett, McCulloch)

Franklin, Pavlich, Sylvia, Petrie, Yarran, N Roo, J Roo - (Mzungu, Lynch, Howe)

Happy with that side except for the forward line. Will look to upgrade one of my forward rookies come finals time, depending on the trade situation (will hopefully still have 4 but you can never tell who's going to get injured).

Alternatively if I was feeling really bold I'd trade Bolton > NDS and Harris > Chapman as a rolling MID/FWD premium to fill holes in the last 8 rounds and, in the rounds where there are no holes, get J. Roo off the field (or whoever's not in form at the time). Thoughts on this plan? With only 5 trades left as it is I probably won't do it ... plus not having Pendlebury has hurt all year.

Currently my FWD's are Pav, Fyfe, N Roo, J Roo, Chapman, Franklin, & Goodes

Am I crazy going J Roo -> ROK?

Sydney play @ SCG in the next 2 weeks (They play FREO + WB if that means anything) leading up to their bye which is shared with Richmond. ROK is in ripping form and has scored nothing but tons ever since I got him in, I see it as an upgrade. If you've got enough trades to cover the next 8 weeks, do it.

If you have anyone on your forward or midfield bench who you can make the same upgrade with I'd look at trading him instead of J Roo. At J Roo's price it's almost not worth trading him out, given his potential. Plus an extra premium who can play midfield and forward will be invaluable for finals byes.

I have $295k + 8 trades left. Will hold onto Gibbs for now as his b/e is lower than avg score and Fisher's b/e is around 170. So if I wait a week or 2 more I'll get more value. Swallow has a b/e of 22 so there's still some price rise there and Ablett is no certainty anyway.

My biggest concern is up forward. Franklin with the bye, Rioli injured and my 3rd bench is also injured. So Mzungu, Hurley + Tom Lynch all on field (I know, my fwds have been neglected). Mzungu still has growth, Hurley will eventually be traded and Lynch... well... hoping to regain some form and make something or at least only have to use him as cover.

Was kind of thinking to downgrade Andy Otten (b/e 95) and using Hibberd on field (usually Otten is a benchy too but Suckling has the bye). Then I could upgrade Lynch.

Thoughts??

I have $295k + 8 trades left. Will hold onto Gibbs for now as his b/e is lower than avg score and Fisher's b/e is around 170. So if I wait a week or 2 more I'll get more value. Swallow has a b/e of 22 so there's still some price rise there and Ablett is no certainty anyway.

My biggest concern is up forward. Franklin with the bye, Rioli injured and my 3rd bench is also injured. So Mzungu, Hurley + Tom Lynch all on field (I know, my fwds have been neglected). Mzungu still has growth, Hurley will eventually be traded and Lynch... well... hoping to regain some form and make something or at least only have to use him as cover.

Was kind of thinking to downgrade Andy Otten (b/e 95) and using Hibberd on field (usually Otten is a benchy too but Suckling has the bye). Then I could upgrade Lynch.

Thoughts??

Without seeing your whole side and just taking your question in isolation (downgrade otten upgrade lynch) yeah that seems like a good move. Lynch probably isn't going to increase in price at all. One note: you could put off the downgrade trade if you like and just upgrade Lynch seeing as you have plenty of bank and Talia (if you were looking at him as the downgrade option) has only had 1 game... this might give you a chance to see how some of your other players go on the weekend - in regards to who you get rid of.

The only reason I was thinking the downgrade of Otten is that I plan on upgrading Swallow at some stage and will need some extra cash for players such as Ablett or Griffin (Have Pendles, Swan, Priddis, Cotchin, Boak already). I'm happy with my backs and will trade out Lobbe from the rucks in a few weeks. Mids are good but I can see an upgrade of Swallow. Forwards are my biggest worry (Have Pav, Sylvia, Buddy, Rioli, Roo, and then it drops away).

I've looked into it a little more and am considering Otten ---> Watson (Carlton) and Lynch ---> Fyfe

I'll end up using Hibberd as D8 once team is completed, so I think its a good option.

I have 8 Trades left. 97k banked.

Backs: Deledio, Gibbs, Goddard, Shaw, Enright, Lower, Otten
B : Thompson, Hibberd, Toy
Mids : Pendles, Boyd, Judd, Ablett, Swan, Selwood
B : Krakouer, Smith, Jacobs
Rucks: Cox, Jamar
B : Smith, Derickx
Forw : Pav, ROK, Goodes, Sylvia, N.Roo, Franklin, Rioli
B : Mzungu, Howe, Richardson

Standout weakness is the backline. Otten will eventually turn into Fisher when he goes down in price. It's who I swap Lower which is troubling me. I'm looking at:

Krak > Callinan ( Think I have enough cover? )
Lower > Newman v Broughton v Adcock.

I'm leaning towards Newman due to the easier draw but I'm really unsure who to go for.

Thoughts?

The only reason I was thinking the downgrade of Otten is that I plan on upgrading Swallow at some stage and will need some extra cash for players such as Ablett or Griffin (Have Pendles, Swan, Priddis, Cotchin, Boak already). I'm happy with my backs and will trade out Lobbe from the rucks in a few weeks. Mids are good but I can see an upgrade of Swallow. Forwards are my biggest worry (Have Pav, Sylvia, Buddy, Rioli, Roo, and then it drops away).

I've looked into it a little more and am considering Otten ---> Watson (Carlton) and Lynch ---> Fyfe

I understood from your post that you wanted to downgrade at some stage I was just throwing it out there that you could wait on that if you wanted to as unless Watson is named (and even if he is) there are options who aren't on the bubble - without it effecting your trade of Lynch > Fyfe. There's no reason not to go ahead with your plan, just offering ideas :thumbsu:

I'll end up using Hibberd as D8 once team is completed, so I think its a good option.

I have 8 Trades left. 97k banked.

Backs: Deledio, Gibbs, Goddard, Shaw, Enright, Lower, Otten
B : Thompson, Hibberd, Toy
Mids : Pendles, Boyd, Judd, Ablett, Swan, Selwood
B : Krakouer, Smith, Jacobs
Rucks: Cox, Jamar
B : Smith, Derickx
Forw : Pav, ROK, Goodes, Sylvia, N.Roo, Franklin, Rioli
B : Mzungu, Howe, Richardson

Standout weakness is the backline. Otten will eventually turn into Fisher when he goes down in price. It's who I swap Lower which is troubling me. I'm looking at:

Krak > Callinan ( Think I have enough cover? )
Lower > Newman v Broughton v Adcock.

I'm leaning towards Newman due to the easier draw but I'm really unsure who to go for.

Thoughts?

If you can afford it I'd probably move Smith instead of Krak. I think he's a better backup and there's only <25k dif between them. As for who to grab I'd say Newman is more consistent but Broughton has more potential to put up big scores when he's playing well.. Adcock I don't have in my team so I haven't watched him closely, from what I read on here he seems to be very up and down. good luck!

Hi all, was hoping to get some advice on a trade... my team is currently in tatters. Injuries and poor decisions have left me in a fairly average state :p

98k in the bank, 6 trades left

Current team (with hawks on the bench)

Def - Deledio, Gibbs, Goddard, H Shaw, Heppell, Broughton, Adcock (Lower, S Buckley, B Jacobs)

Mid - Pendles, Judd, Swan, Bartel, D Swallow, Hibberd (Libba, Atley, Mzungu)

Ruck - Cox, Mumford (Bailey, Moran)

Fwd - Pav, Fyfe, Syliva, N Riewoldt, Hardingham, A Krakouer, Darling (Buddy, Dawes, Callinan)

Was thinking maybe downgrading Dawes, and upgrading Atley (or Libba) to Ablett if I could. Or if not Ablett someone else in the mid... maybe Priddis, or Boyd.

But I am open to any suggestions :)

Any thoughts?

Thanks heaps :D

I understood from your post that you wanted to downgrade at some stage I was just throwing it out there that you could wait on that if you wanted to as unless Watson is named (and even if he is) there are options who aren't on the bubble - without it effecting your trade of Lynch > Fyfe. There's no reason not to go ahead with your plan, just offering ideas :thumbsu:

I can see where you're coming from and had considered that as well. The plan I had in place 2 weeks ago blew up so that's why I'm carefully considering the next move/s. Even if Watson isn't named, he's still the cheap option and wouldn't be used at all on field (I have other cover down back). Playing is a bonus as there'lll be a fair jump. Price is $103k. Other options to downgrade could be Simpkin (StK) $103k, Hooper (WB) $110k or Coad (GCS) $123k. Similar thing, if they play it's a bonus

Hi all, was hoping to get some advice on a trade... my team is currently in tatters. Injuries and poor decisions have left me in a fairly average state :p

Def - Deledio, Gibbs, Goddard, H Shaw, Heppell, Broughton, Adcock (Lower, S Buckley, B Jacobs)

Fwd - Pav, Fyfe, Syliva, N Riewoldt, Hardingham, A Krakouer, Darling (Buddy, Dawes, Callinan)

Was thinking maybe downgrading Dawes, and upgrading Atley (or Libba) to Ablett if I could. Or if not Ablett someone else in the mid... maybe Priddis, or Boyd.

Any thoughts?

Tough call because your backline looks to be reasonably strong and you have some good premiums but obviously a lot of players that score 60-70 each week. Downgrade of Dawes due to injury or Lower (theory here is that you need to upgrade your on field players and benchies seem to be wasted in your side). Swallow could always be an upgrade as his price is quite high and he only averages 83 but his b/e is low so there will be more price rise there.

Any thoughts?

Ok, well your rucks are good! :) Also, your backline is not bad either. I'd be concentrating on the mids and fwds. There's a couple of ways you could go here - try and get some cheap premiums or go all in on a couple of really good players. Spend some time going through prices and see what might be the best bet.

Montagna would be one example of a cheapo premium - who may or may not turn things around. You could also check on the prices of doggies like Cooney/Cross to see where they are at, as their side is improving like the Saints. In the forwards you've got Johnson who's come down a bit in price and Chapman - even though he's increased - could be a swingman for you. Rioli is another one who should drop a little when he returns.

It'll take a bit of research... here's one idea I'll throw at you, trade Hibberd to Montagna this week and then look at where Petrie's price is next week, it should fall a fair bit, you might with some luck be able to swap him for Dawes - or at the very least it won't eat up much money if you do have to downgrade, leaving you the chance to gain another cheap premium for Swallow for example, kind of a 2 for 1 downgrade/upgrade.

Those kind of moves might help save some trades, alternatively just resign yourself to making basically 4-6 trades of downgrading/upgrading over the next few weeks and go for broke!

good luck! :thumbsu:

I'm looking to get in David Hale in forward for Richardson if he's not named next week. Hale is ruck, whilst not going to cut it as main ruck, a dual position ruck in def or forward is invaluable for consistent point outputs (queue stefan martin) and is good cover for forwards. Pity I don't have tippet anymore in ruck to swing Hale as ruck cover, that'd be ideal..

I wouldn't have thought very good mate, we have Sewell, Lewis, Rioli and possibly Bateman, Lisle and Shoey so I'd be thinking Cheney will make way even though he has looked fairly good. I'd be looking at Toy to Talia or Hooper instead mate and get a bit of extra cash for it :thumbsu:

Ok, well your rucks are good! :) Also, your backline is not bad either. I'd be concentrating on the mids and fwds. There's a couple of ways you could go here - try and get some cheap premiums or go all in on a couple of really good players. Spend some time going through prices and see what might be the best bet.

Montagna would be one example of a cheapo premium - who may or may not turn things around. You could also check on the prices of doggies like Cooney/Cross to see where they are at, as their side is improving like the Saints. In the forwards you've got Johnson who's come down a bit in price and Chapman - even though he's increased - could be a swingman for you. Rioli is another one who should drop a little when he returns.

It'll take a bit of research... here's one idea I'll throw at you, trade Hibberd to Montagna this week and then look at where Petrie's price is next week, it should fall a fair bit, you might with some luck be able to swap him for Dawes - or at the very least it won't eat up much money if you do have to downgrade, leaving you the chance to gain another cheap premium for Swallow for example, kind of a 2 for 1 downgrade/upgrade.

Those kind of moves might help save some trades, alternatively just resign yourself to making basically 4-6 trades of downgrading/upgrading over the next few weeks and go for broke!

good luck! :thumbsu:

Cheers for the advice mate! Much appreciated!

Was thinking Cooney could be a good pickup, but was worried about the round 20 bye. Montagna could be a great choice though!