Review Saints beat Brisbane by 58 points - Review thread

Eff off mate. I don't call your posts stupid. Players don't find their feet at the same time but 3 top 20 players in that draft are going to win their club BFs this year. Billings struggles to make our best 22. It is not that they are developing at different times, it is that they are a whole world away.

I can remember my brother who is a Blues fan pissing himself when WCE took Josh Kennedy as part of the Judd trade. He was saying the same thing, others came on quicker and he was spudding it up still 3 years into his career I like to remind him of it every now and then. Some players take longer, there is no set length of time it takes to develop a player.

Very very happy we didn't end up with Mathieson after all that talk during the draft.

He was okay, he works pretty hard but he's a bit erratic and messy. Because of the hair he seems to be getting a heap of ball, Rockliff the opposite he's so like every other player he just racks them up with out anyone noticing.

How good was Brandon White's goal. Everyone got around him and seemed genuinely happy. Massive smile on his face afterwards. Stuff like that is why you watch footy, proper human emotion. Stoked for the kid and stoked at the team for being so involved

He seems like a very nice young guy too so probably all very happy for him. Seeing that Stringer's personality keeps him out of the seniors our recruiting good guys seems to be a good strategy.

Billings 9 kicks 14 handballs 3 tackles today.

A lot of this stuff sounds similar to what was being said about Arces and before that Ross.

Spot on

But it is disappointing to see him struggle (relative comment), while his peers from his draft excel

Hopefully it's just a fitness issue, like it was w Ross

He seems like a very nice young guy too so probably all very happy for him. Seeing that Stringer's personality keeps him out of the seniors our recruiting good guys seems to be a good strategy.
Certainly speaks well, great interview with him post-game. He had a great debut dmac excellent as well. We're going to have some disappointed half backs at sandy next year

Spot on

But it is disappointing to see him struggle (relative comment), while his peers from his draft excel

Sometimes I worry if he just doesn't fit the style Richo has us playing, but once the tank is there there are a couple of roles he could do well in even if he doesn't transition into the midfield. he'll be right.

You obviously missed the memo from about 3 years ago where ' ;) ' means sarcasm....

Always so bloody serious Plugger, lighten up :)

I could never be accused of being serious. It's just annoying that if you have a go at a player you want him traded or you have called him a dud or about 8 other untruthful things. I want jack to a be a star but he has some bad habits. No use saying look at others who have become stars or are on their way because for all of them there are probably triple who haven't. The amount we spent on him is important too

Roo is a genuine freak. Now easily number 2 behind Plugger at our club. Obviously the game was crap and no pressure but 21 marks is amazing even in C grade Ammos. Not much to be said about the others because it was a practice match but one thing I will say I know will cop it but I don't care. Jack Billings is not that good. I thought he may become our best player this year but he is very outside. That outside he may end up in the crown soon. I hink the club need to look at his value and if it is good then maybe he is on the trade table. I know I will cop iy for this but I am just so disappointed and the crowd around me was exactly the same and that is the truth. Having said that what a year from the club. 12 wins. Its nearly the stuff of dreams.
Just a reminder that at this time last year Seb Ross was never going to develop into a 20+ consistent midfielder & many were including him in the must trade category!! Billings on face value has far more upside than Seb based on Draft position & TAC U18 football so maybe we should be a bit more patient...also remember that Seb was coming off a couple of injuries as is Billings so a full pre-season may make a huge difference.

Spot on

I don't know if it was fitness with Ross or belief.

At least the good thing with Billings is that he knows how to get the ball, 23 touches and we're considering it a poor performance.

No, he wasn't particularly damaging, and yes he missed a few targets but we know that he has the talent. His games against the Dogs last year and the Pies earlier this year are just about the best two performances we've had from a kid taken in '13, '14, '15.

If he's still middling along at the end of next year, perhaps we can hit the panic stations then.

Hell, even worst case scenario with Billings looks to be a decent outside mid who can average 25 touches and bob up for goals.

What his ceiling is, well finding that out is half the fun.

At least the good thing with Billings is that he knows how to get the ball, 23 touches and we're considering it a poor performance.

No, he wasn't particularly damaging, and yes he missed a few targets but we know that he has the talent. His games against the Dogs last year and the Pies earlier this year are just about the best two performances we've had from a kid taken in '13, '14, '15.

If he's still middling along at the end of next year, perhaps we can hit the panic stations then.

Hell, even worst case scenario with Billings looks to be a decent outside mid who can average 25 touches and bob up for goals.

What his ceiling is, well finding that out is half the fun.

I'm not sure where he was starting but I didn't see him playing a lot of mid field, he was running around a lot but was hard to see what role he was playing. Perhaps they need to give him very specific targets and roles so he can meet expectations and build some confidence.

We seem to set up then swarm with the whole forward line running both ways and the midfield blocking up the defence. I saw a bit of Port Adelaide when they shot back up the ladder in them today. They just ran everyone off their feet. Perhaps Richo was the architect.

I'm not sure where he was starting but I didn't see him playing a lot of mid field, he was running around a lot but was hard to see what role he was playing. Perhaps they need to give him very specific targets and roles so he can meet expectations and build some confidence.

We seem to set up then swarm with the whole forward line running both ways and the midfield blocking up the defence. I saw a bit of Port Adelaide when they shot back up the ladder in them today. They just ran everyone off their feet. Perhaps Richo was the architect.
Still has a abit of size to put on if he is going to play the role they look to have lined for him.
Still a quality player who has the knack to find the pill, he is working really hard.
Don't underestimate the important of players who can actually kick the ball and get it

Still has a abit of size to put on if he is going to play the role they look to have lined for him.
Still a quality player who has the knack to find the pill, he is working really hard.
Don't underestimate the important of players who can actually kick the ball and get it

Yeah I'm not too worried about jack, he's a beauty and I think he'll be a very nice player. I went to preseason training last year and he was doing some drills with the mids and kept extracting easily over the guys who played there regularly then strolled away and shot bullet passes forward. I think he will be a good player long term. He seems a shy kid and not someone blessed with masses of flogness. I just thought like kids footy if you give them a defined role sometimes the confidence grows with meeting targets.

How good was Brandon White's goal. Everyone got around him and seemed genuinely happy. Massive smile on his face afterwards. Stuff like that is why you watch footy, proper human emotion. Stoked for the kid and stoked at the team for being so involved

Just watched the replay of the game. Have a look at the goal umpire after he kicks the goal.

Even he had a massive smile going!

Brandon white was really impressive. He's going to be a very solid player for us.. I think he plays very similar to Grant Birchall. So if he can have as good a career as Birchall he'll be a great player for us for a long time.
It's a great conundrum we have now with all these dashing half backs in, White, Webster, McKenzie and Savage.
Don't know how we'll fit them all in unless Sav or Jweb move up to the wing more.

Roo was absolutely phenomenal. Would just about have to be the greatest saint of all time now. He's a freak! Should stay Captain. Deserves the record

Acres again showed why he'll become an absolute force in the competition in a few years. Has that innate ability to just shrug tacklers off/get hands free or glide through packs Pendlebury like.

Gilbert is a great defensive player and very underrated/undervalued on this forum. He does his role week in week out yet people point out his 1 kick that he butchers each week, and call for his head. If you go to the ground you see why he's important to us. He's Great for the young players too.

I thought Holmes played his best game for us today. Didn't do much around the ground, but his tapwork was 1st class. And although he wasn't marking around the ground he Provided some good contests. And didn't get beaten. Think he at least deserves a 1 year contract. Good backup if nothing else.

Also I'm so glad we didn't get Mathieson like some on here wanted.. Seems like the biggest flog in the AFL at the moment. And I hope the umpires never pay him a high free kick again! Serial ducker

Brandon white was really impressive. He's going to be a very solid player for us.. I think he plays very similar to Grant Birchall. So if he can have as good a career as Birchall he'll be a great player for us for a long time.
It's a great conundrum we have now with all these dashing half backs in, White, Webster, McKenzie and Savage.
Don't know how we'll fit them all in unless Sav or Jweb move up to the wing more.

Roo was absolutely phenomenal. Would just about have to be the greatest saint of all time now. He's a freak! Should stay Captain. Deserves the record

Acres again showed why he'll become an absolute force in the competition in a few years. Has that innate ability to just shrug tacklers off/get hands free or glide through packs Pendlebury like.

Gilbert is a great defensive player and very underrated/undervalued on this forum. He does his role week in week out yet people point out his 1 kick that he butchers each week, and call for his head. If you go to the ground you see why he's important to us. He's Great for the young players too.

I thought Holmes played his best game for us today. Didn't do much around the ground, but his tapwork was 1st class. And although he wasn't marking around the ground he Provided some good contests. And didn't get beaten. Think he at least deserves a 1 year contract. Good backup if nothing else.

Also I'm so glad we didn't get Mathieson like some on here wanted.. Seems like the biggest flog in the AFL at the moment. And I hope the umpires never pay him a high free kick again! Serial ducker
I see DMac playing up the ground and possibly on ball had a red hot crack at the pill.

Also reckon Gilbert is close to being squeezed out of the side with Carlisle in

I find these kind of deliberately negative posts about players pointless. He's low on confidence and having fans ridicule him verbally at games is against our own interests. Fans have done it to heaps of players and it doesn't usually end in the player getting better.

Ross was write off who should've be thrown in as steak knives in the Carlisle trade last year. Now he's one of our best 3 mids. Fans are not the best judges, he didn't have a great game this week but was okay, last week he was good the week before ordinary. Until he hits about 50 games we won't know if he's a bust. Jack Watts was an absolute spud this time last year now his contract will be inflated due to interest from several clubs.

As an elder statesman of footy forums you should know better than this kind of sad dog whistling on a fan forum.let him develop at his own pace, his best is awesome like us winning a come back match against the dogs off his own boot.
You're exactly right.. Fans are not the best judges. And the fact that Richo rates Billings higher than just about anyone on our list tells me he's going to be a seriously good player.. He knows what he's talking about.

The fact that Essendon wanted Billings for Carlisle shows how well they rate him as well.

So just relax.
However.. If by mid 2018, billings hasn't shown any real improvement, then I'll actually start to worry.
Some players just take longer for everything to just click, especially ones that have been injured.
Ross is a prime example.

You're exactly right.. Fans are not the best judges. And the fact that Richo rates Billings higher than just about anyone on our list tells me he's going to be a seriously good player.. He knows what he's talking about.

The fact that Essendon wanted Billings for Carlisle shows how well they rate him as well.

So just relax.
However.. If by mid 2018, billings hasn't shown any real improvement, then I'll actually start to worry.
Some players just take longer for everything to just click, especially ones that have been injured.
Ross is a prime example.
The Ross example will forever help young players on this board

I'm getting frustrated with Billings too.

Club has been harping on about him being an elite field kick and generally hits a target when he's got it but some of his disposal yesterday was horrific - and it's not the first time I've seen it. I hope there's something genuinely up with him (lingering injury, form slump) and hope this isn't the player he is going to become. I mean I have confidence in the coaches getting him back into gear again but geez it's disappointing to watch sometimes. I don't feel confident when he has the ball anymore and that's a worry. Hope he has a massive off-season and sorts it out. We need him.

I'm getting frustrated with Billings too.

Club has been harping on about him being an elite field kick and generally hits a target when he's got it but some of his disposal yesterday was horrific - and it's not the first time I've seen it. I hope there's something genuinely up with him (lingering injury, form slump) and hope this isn't the player he is going to become. I mean I have confidence in the coaches getting him back into gear again but geez it's disappointing to watch sometimes. I don't feel confident when he has the ball anymore and that's a worry. Hope he has a massive off-season and sorts it out. We need him.
Sort himself out?
Averaging over 20 touches in his 3rd year after decent injuries.
JB will be alright.

Was really happy with Gilbo's game today and it was interesting that with White coming in to defence and Brisbane not having many arial threats that we moved Sam back into the guts/resting forward role that he was playing earlier in the year.

Had 20 disposals (9 contested) at 80% efficiency, 8 marks, 4 clearances (2 centre), 6 inside-50's and a goal (from just 74% game time). A really solid game from him.

Will be really interesting to see where we play him next year if Carlisle comes in and perhaps a Tomlinson, or someone else tall.

Game was on at 4.10am here so had an eye on the score, then got up to watch the second half. Then watched the first half later! Strange perspective....

I found nice symmetry in Roo absolutely taking Brisbane apart. He sure owes them a few. I thought all the way back to the game where the dirty dogs set on him with his busted collar bone. And I remember a year or so later being in a box at the Gabba and having dic####d Lions supporters booing and having a go at him for crying. And teasing me about it. My hatred I remember was quite strong!

Brisbane are poor now, and I actually feel a little sorry for them. But I'll never forget those two things.

Anyway...Roo was magnificent. Not much more you can say.

Been very impressed by McKenzie the last few weeks. He is showing what the recruiters saw in him and I'm delighted. Run, vision, poise, good skills. Brave. Bit more experience and filling out and he'll be 'special'.

Acres....coming on a treat. Takes it on, and I'm noticing more and more he is an excellent kick with his left foot. Another pre-season and he's heading to another level.

White....great start....another brave lad with good skills. He has some filling out to do but again, a top selection by our boys in the recruiting area!

Roberton capped off a good year. Love Wright's endeavour. Nice shot for goal from a bloke who can butcher it upfield. Usually when he's running too fast!

Jason Holmes rucked well, and did some good stuff. Blocking, shepherding....and helped in a few clearances.

We have to be pleased with that year. Tougher draw probably next year, but we need to make the eight. Trading and Drafting to be VERY interesting.

GO SAINTS!

As others have said, very pleasing game from D-Mac yesterday. He's really looking at home at the level now and it was great to see him inching his disposal numbers higher in recent weeks and probably the most exciting thing about his game today was how well he went in his brief spell in the guts in the last quarter. Got the clearing disposal out of his first centre bounce in there and a couple more disposals in the next couple of minutes. His speed away from stoppages could be very useful going forward, as is his hardness and agility to evade tackles.

Really excited to see how good he becomes.

Review Saints beat Brisbane by 58 points - Review thread