Saints V Cats Match Review thread

Re: We lose!!!!

An honorable loss in my books. We were a few players short.

One thing is for certain it is time to drop Hawkins for a while.

Forward line crumbled again under pressure so they better be looking at that closely for the finals. I thought the Saints backline was too tall for us overall.
Old Rexxy said the same...1/ He has to be told what he's not doing & go back and practice what is preached (said) to him...

Re: How do you respond?

Yeah what can you do. Nothing really other than whinge about it in the press and cop a fine. The club may write something to the umpiring fraternity, then again, doesn't get you anywhere.

The few things that I'm amused at is of course the free to either Ablett (for the hold and push in the back) or Corey (near front on contact to the head) or Rooke (for a blatant holding the ball decision). Those all happened in the space of about 15 seconds or so. Yet the umpire called play on where we then lost the ball.

At any other time in the season, they've called that back. Most of the commentators couldn't believe it either.

In my opinion the worst one of all was Chamberlains decision of not calling Taylor back over his mark, giving the Saints a point instead.

The three did their job, but what gets annoying is when they change their interpretation from the start of the game to the end.

Ahh who cares, we were close and without Otto and Johnson. Several had sub-par games, so meet up in the finals and put them out of their misery.

Is Harry Taylor ok? That looked nasty. Hope he's alright.

If Hawkins wants to play like he did today I'd rather Gamble come in, and we play with effectively 1 key forward in Mooney. If you are not touching the ball as a key forward fair enough, but when your man is running off and you literally are not even providing a contest, you can get f*cked and allow a proven goalsneak who can take a grab, like Gamble a go.

Wonderful game. St Kilda certainly deserved to win but they needed all of that 5 goal lead to hold us off.

Milburn to full forward was a great move, i thought Max Rooke was inspirational, Bartel at his brilliant best. Selwood in the second half.

Blake was dreadful, Mumford marginally better. Ottens is the most crucial player in either side, if he is fit we'll win.

Forward line was pathetic, Hawkins the worst offender, the exclusion of Gamble is insane, but i do think Stevie J's absence was crucial. Would St Kilda have won without Riewoldt? He is our Riewoldt and the fulcrum of our forward set up.

They can beat us (as can the Bulldogs) but Geelong is the team to beat.

Awesome game despite the result. Good to see the boys fire up (loved the toughness shown from Mooney & Rooke) and hopefully if we meet again this year they can use today as a bit of a motivator to come out charging from the very first bounce.

Am I the only one who didnt mind us losing? Sure it was a dissapointment but was an awesome game, especially the second half. And the way the Cats just kept on pushing back was awesome (although they shouldnt have been in that position to begin with.) That second half had some good signs from Mooney, Mumford is improving, Taylor is good.

Will be a good wake up call. In a way I know how Hawthorn felt last year I suppose when we beat them in round 17.
Nah your not alone, and I think we found out a lot about how the Saints will play against us in the Finals.

I also think we found out a lot of things about ourselves as well like how our forward line just doesn't work in big games (as if last years GF wasn't enough evidence of that), improvements on delivery to the forward line instead of kicking to 3v1's all the time and that Hawkins really just doesn't cut it in big game situations and should probably be replaced by Lonergan.

Nah your not alone, and I think we found out a lot about how the Saints will play against us in the Finals.

I also think we found out a lot of things about ourselves as well like how our forward line just doesn't work in big games (as if last years GF wasn't enough evidence of that), improvements on delivery to the forward line instead of kicking to 3v1's all the time and that Hawkins really just doesn't cut it in big game situations and should probably be replaced by Lonergan.

Inferno, whilst I tend to agree with you on most things, your comment or argument states utter garbage. You stated that delivery was a problem, (mostly close to goal being the main issue), where the ball came into 3 on 1's.

Guess what, THAT'S WHERE HAWKINS PLAYS! So how is the kid supposed to get to the contest when two or three are holding him off from it? Where is the opposition players for these free roaming players?

I agree that Hawkins needs some work, but to state that delivery was crap and then bag out the FF is ridiculous.

Jimmy Bartel was brilliant along with Selwood.

A couple of things I noticed from watching the game.

Mooney is a MUCH better player when he is leading out to the 50M line and beyond, Hawkins needs to go back to the 2's there were a few instances where he didn't even attempt to provide a contest at the ball when it has been kicked to him, he's scared? I don't know he should be able to use that big body of his a little better bring Lonergan back.

You really missed Steve Johnson to provide a bit of a spark, St. Kilda defended extremely well and didn't let you pop the ball over there heads to someone closer to the goals they made you basically shoot from the 50M line all night.

When Ottens gets back Blake needs to be dropped he does pretty much nothing around the ground at least Mumford has a go every now and again.

I was surprised I thought you would win, better luck next time I guess.

Re: Hawkins

I've seen the Cats play a fair bit and I feel he isn't ready for senior AFL Football, doesn't mark the ball or present himself. He is a liability on the field. He should be in the reserves until the end of the season. You need a tall forward and he isn't the option for now, will take a few more years to develop. Should try and get Hall for next season and have him in the team until Hawkins is ready or bring back Lonners.

Who is you dealer mate? He is supplying some top grade shit.

I don't mind the fact we lost. The game was that good, and aside from our start as well as Blake and Hawkins, I couldn't fault anyone or anything on the day. Obviously you want to win the game, but just like the Hawks after Round 17 last year, we come away with the confidence knowing that we can beat them, and if not for that start we very well may have. All today will mean is that the Saints will go in with the pressure on them as favourites next time.

The obvious thing for me today was the difference in the skill level. The Cats turned it over quite a few times in the first quarter and a half. By the time we got that right we were slowly reeling them in but we simply must start better IF we play them again.

regards,

REB

the cats forward efficiency is not the great the pill gets down there alot so eventually some one will kick a goal.might be time to play mummy and blake on the ground at the same time when the other team ruckman is killing us blake to ruck and mummy to tag them,just a thought..

Inferno, whilst I tend to agree with you on most things, your comment or argument states utter garbage. You stated that delivery was a problem, (mostly close to goal being the main issue), where the ball came into 3 on 1's.

Guess what, THAT'S WHERE HAWKINS PLAYS! So how is the kid supposed to get to the contest when two or three are holding him off from it? Where is the opposition players for these free roaming players?

I agree that Hawkins needs some work, but to state that delivery was crap and then bag out the FF is ridiculous.
I see what you mean but I disagree. Hawkins provided nothing today, and whether or not the delivery was crap that's simply not good enough, the fact that he was replaced by Milburn and Ablett for much of the match shows that. Both those players managed to get free and kick goals, or at least bring the ball to ground and give us a chance of kicking a goal while Hawkins did neither. Hawkins was too slow to get free or even get into a position where he would be in a 1v1, and not strong enough to take contested marks.

so many things went wrong tody but we only lost in in the last 90seconds due to an leo barry-esque pack mark. 2 months until finals so 2 months to get our rucks right and straighten upo the forward line

l think we take alot out of that game. They jumped us and with that and the result we finally got the kick up the bum we have needed for a while. Good fire for September. We add SJ and Ottens and we are a massively better side.

l have been a Hawkins supporter but for me we learnt today to try Gamble up there and give Tom a rest. He simply isn;t contributing enough. Gamble deserves the chance to provide a better contest and kick a couple - we can win the flag with him down there doing that. l still think Tom can come good long term and with Mitch Brown form a powerful duo. But this is about 2009 and l dont think he is in our best 22.

Firsty i have to say sorry to Cameron Mooney, i said at the start of this thread that he should be dropped for a few weeks, i am glad the bugger played very well in the second half, just do it more often.

But i have to say again, give blake a rest or a big kick in the arse....We lost the game because of him. We need Ottens badly. We were smashed today in the ruck.

Playing the Saints on the MCG will be alot better for us, more open and a better ruckmen (I hope).

Perhaps it was a great game but I really thought the Saints outplayed Geelong for much of the game. It was played on their terms too often and to their strengths. The Geelong mid-field (excluding rucks) did their part - as we all expected.

Hawkins was very poor but I do not think Lonergan is the answer down forward (though he would have had to be at least as good as Hawkins today). Ottens is good for a few minutes down forward but is better for Geelong on the ball and around the ground.

Perhaps trialling Mummy down in the goal square is not such a ridiculous idea. At least he will bring some agression to the position, crunch some packs and bring the ball to the ground. Cannot accept Hawkins was held out of contests and that's why he could not perform today. Needs to learn how to cope with this - and still get to the pack and break it open. No excuses - he was just poor and lacked the attitude Geelong needs him to play with. Time for a rethink.

Best game I've seen for the last few years, however I spent three and half quarters of it frustrated out of my skull.

We werer asleep early, very rare for us and ultimately it cost it. So we lost and people will say its the loss we had to have, but what do we learn?

I learn that the Saints will have a natural advantage over us because they have two good tall forwards, Riewoldt and Kosi. The Saints seemed to get goals much easier than us, we had to scrap for each one.

We got beaten out of the midfield except in the last, Hayes cleared the ball so many times with ease and we didnt wake up to it. I think the biys will watch the tapes and be aware of this next time.

Overall, I think we played very well in patches, and if we string four quarters together we'll be alright come finals.

Hawkins is not up to standard unfortunately. The fact that Milburn was shifted to FF, whilst injured, leaving Hawkins on the bench said it all. I think Hawkins has to go and we need to find someone who KNOWS how to read the drop of the ball and can kick. Someone like Jimmy could do that, but of course, we need Jimmy to do what Jimmy does.

Great game of footy. I'm proud of the way the boys didnt lie down. But St Kilda probably deserved to win. So we cop it and move forward

A quick player review (without seeing the stats)
Scarlett - 5 - fairly good Scarlo effort. Kosi had his kicking boots on though
Ablett - 7 - kicked two and was busy. Though Jones his opponent seemed to have a lot of it. Still one of our best
Bartel - 9 - This man is a God.
Selwood - 8.5 - see above. He is in his element in these games. The man cant be tackled. Just an absolute bulldozer. Love him (although was careless early)
Ling - 5.5 - not his best day at all. Got caught with it a lot, particularly early
Enright - 7 - very good but had one brain fade handballing back into the middle of their forward 50 .
Corey - 6 - as I said, dont have to stats but he seemed a bit quieter. kicked a ripper goal though. :thumbsu:
Milburn - 7 - good cameo up forward from Dasher, especially when injured.
Mumford - 4 - beaten but he is really now giving Blake a run for his money. Loved some of his second efforts
Blake - 2 - seriously disappointing and his flaw could not have been pointed out more viciously than when Gardiner took that mark. Blake, as a big man, need to take contested marks. Can someone re-apply the cotton wool to Brad Ottens? ;)
Harley - 5 - just a game really.
Byrnes - 5.5 - not his epic form from previous weeks but still busy enough.
Mooney - 5.5 - *deep breath* big Cam is going to send us all to the therapists chair by years end, along with himslef of course. That pass back to Jimmy from within scoring range - thats a sin. When a key forward marks inside 50 it should be a RULE - have a shot. But Cam was actually OK in the second half. Two long goals and one absolute ripper mark on the lead. He can do it, but he has to know it. Its all in the head with him (which scares me).
Varcoe - 6 - I am more impressed with this boy each week. He's not exactly setting the world on fire goal-kicking wise but he's obviously a lot stronger and reliable. Liked him game
Stokes - 4 - Bit of a nothing game sans that late goal. Dont know if he had much game time.
Hogan - 5.5 - Skills let him down a bit but was well and truly in the thick of it. Will learn a bucket load from today
Mackie - 5.5 - I am a Mackie sledger but he was good today. Still very limp around contested ball and goes missing in games like this but was encouraging.
Rooke - 7 - hard not to love his work, a tough nut who again gave his all. What he lacks in polish he makes up for in hard work and his defensive pressure in the forward 50 was excellent.
Kelly - 6.5 played in defence. Was very cool when the heat was on with his gives and receives. A very underrated player for us but generally reliable (in big games)
Taylor - 6 - played on arguably the best CHF in the comp and Riewoldt won the contest but Harry didnt have his colours lowered at all.
Chapman - 8.5 - Chappy was his usual self extremely important again around the ground. One of our best
Hawkins - 1 - worst on and not up to it.

After today, I hope we make a couple of changes for next week:

In: West Lonergan
Out: Blake Hawkins

Brisbane are without their two best ruckmen, so it probably wouldn't hurt us seeing how West and Mumford go in tandem in the ruck, and Hawkins needs to go back to the VFL and concentrate on providing a target.

Also great lessons for Mooney today. All he has to do is watch the tape of that game and see so clearly how he can **** it up by being too cute and overthinking his game. And by contrast how valuable he can be by running hard, hitting it up hard and when on 50 or closer go back and bang it through.

After today, I hope we make a couple of changes for next week:

In: West Lonergan
Out: Blake Hawkins

Brisbane are without their two best ruckmen, so it probably wouldn't hurt us seeing how West and Mumford go in tandem in the ruck, and Hawkins needs to go back to the VFL and concentrate on providing a target.

Why not put Gamble back in the side ? - Lonergan we know from last year is not the answer down forward. Gamble, perhaps with some time in the ones, could be a bit like Williams was for Hawthorn when they had not KP talls to speak of.

Would like to see West - he has been playing well form all reports in the twos. Why not ? Blake does not either have the athletic ability or sufficient aggressive attitude (or both) to be competitive in a big and important game.

Saints V Cats Match Review thread