SANFL Round 17

Petrenko tried hard, but still lacks a bit of polish with his disposal. A lot of improvement still left in him, and he will need to improve to make AFL, but he is still doing the hard things well. I don't see him getting back into the Crows this year, but hopefully he can use the last part of the season to play some good consistent footy with the Eagles.

Hentschel played half back/back pocket and did well. Moved well and had good steady hands and disposal was excellent. Just needs to string some games together, but unfortunately, he's running out of time as far as AFL goes.

Davis was ok. He was on Grocke for most of the day, who was the Eagles best player. Lacks a bit of hardness IMO.

Armstrong and Sloane were so so. Didn't notice them a helluva lot.

Would be surprised if any of the Crows players playing in this game today will push for selection next week.

Non-Crows related news. Sturt's Jack Trengove had 31 touches and 3 set shot behinds in a best on ground performance for Sturt. His workrate, composure and disposal is sensational, what a gun. Does need to work on his kicking for goal though. I didn't see Tom Lee in the Reserves. He may have been wearing a different number but I scoured the field and couldn't find him. Jonas and Chris Schmidt were at the game though so I assume he was playing.

I managed to catch the second half of the reserves and found Aaron Kite having a kick for the twos. He was playing at half forward and kicked one goal in the third quarter. At three quarter time Norwood were trailing 7.7 49 to South's 8.13 61. Kitey then had the best quarter I've seen him play, albeit in the Reserves against South. He kicked four out of Norwood's 7 goals and pretty much won the game for them. Two of his last quarter goals came from strong contested grabs, while the others were clever bits of play on the run.

Kitey's stats that I counted for the second half were:
7 kicks, 2 handballs, 4 marks, 5 goals :thumbsu:

The final score for the Reserves was Norwood 14.11 95 to South 8.13 61.

Norwood had a more convincing win in the League game which had Taylor Walker and Will Young playing for Norwood, plus Myke Cook for South.

Walker played a ripper of a game kicking 7 goals and 4 behinds. His first was impressive as he beat two South players in the air and then followed up by gathering the ball off the ground and kicking the goal from 40 out. His second was from a free, he got rid of an opponent easily for his third and kicked his fourth from an easy mark on the lead. He added two more to his tally in the third quarter with one from a free and another from a strong grab in a three on one situation. He added just one more in the last from another contested mark.

He looked great in a contested situation and was getting a pretty reasonable delivery of the ball. I would love to see him be able to get the opportunity to do this for the Crows, so hopefully he comes in next week.

As someone else said, his second efforts were good and he did shepherd a couple through the goals.

My stats for Taylor Walker:
14 kicks, 3 handballs, 11 marks, 7 tackles, 7 goals, 4 behinds.

Will Young played down at full back for the entire game against South. He was pretty good, certainly has a lot of potential given how far he has come this season. He plays with confidence and does all the right 'team things' down back. I like how he goes after the ball a bit and looks to create play further up the ground, just like any Crows defender would.

My stats for Will Young:
7 kicks, 8 handballs, 3 marks.

Finally we have Myke Cook who played at half forward for most of the game for South, although he did bob up in the middle from time to time. I thought he had a pretty good game kicking 1 goal and 1 behind with the limited opportunities up forward. His kicking wasn't too bad today, still needs work, but a couple were real nice low and accurate kicks. He's good at clearing the ball from around packs and probably finished with at least a few clearances to his name.

My stats for Myke Cook:
10 kicks, 6 handballs, 4 marks, 4 tackles, 1 goal, 1 behind.

Final score for the League match was Norwood 14.10 94 to South 7.8 51.

Non-Crows related news. Sturt's Jack Trengove had 31 touches and 3 set shot behinds in a best on ground performance for Sturt. His workrate, composure and disposal is sensational, what a gun. Does need to work on his kicking for goal though. I didn't see Tom Lee in the Reserves. He may have been wearing a different number but I scoured the field and couldn't find him. Jonas and Chris Schmidt were at the game though so I assume he was playing.

Fantastic – another quality SA kid on the way out of town as we have morals about finishing mid table. Whoo hoo.

Good news for Walker, Davis and Rowdy getting out there.

also good news on Young. Seeing as he was so far behind in preseason training when he first got here, it would be really good to see him after another full preseason.

Thanks to all the updaters.

Fantastic – another quality SA kid on the way out of town as we have morals about finishing mid table. Whoo hoo.
Perhaps we should tank like Carlton, Richmond etc. That's working..... Wait. ;)

I think our drafting has been exceptional.

Would you pass Otten and Danger?

Davis and McKernan for 8 extra losses, humiliation, your pride and two similar players?

Long live Rendell.

A few pics from the game:

11si77r.jpg

Aaron Kite

55jpkl.jpg

Will Young and Myke Cook

hurrs2.jpg

Taylor Walker

Perhaps we should tank like Carlton, Richmond etc. That's working..... Wait. ;)

I think our drafting has been exceptional.

Would you pass Otten and Danger?

Davis and McKernan for 8 extra losses, humiliation, your pride and two similar players?

Long live Rendell.

Tanking doesn’t exist – Andrew Dimiteiou said so. So how can we possibly tank.

Yeah, so sorry for accepting mediocrity every year. Finishing mid table is such a awesome feeling. :thumbsu: whoo hoo go team.
What? So you'd be happy for us to finish 14th or so this year just so grab him? We're developing nicely, have a ton of promising kids and we're on track to make the finals and most likely win one, a great experience. What's not to like?

And who says the guy we take 1st isn't as good as Trengove, and who's to say we would even take him anyway? We rated Davis at #2 and Dangerfield at #3, so finish 14th and we would've got the same guys.

We'd need to finish bottom 2 or 3 (probably bottom 2) to have a shot at Trengove. He's going to be taken inside the first 3 picks.

No, we’d need to get a draft pick in the top 3. There are many different strategies they could use to obtain a high draft pick but the morals wouldn’t allow it to occur. Tanking (for use of a better term) is just one of them.

What? So you'd be happy for us to finish 14th or so this year just so grab him? We're developing nicely, have a ton of promising kids and we're on track to make the finals and most likely win one, a great experience. What's not to like?

We are? So you won’t go off one of your enormous rant tomorrow night if we lose? Yeah right.

You can believe that spin about our development all you like but until i see those results like beating someone of quality (a team who will play deep in finals) i won’t. And that is my prerogative as a supporter.

We are? So you won’t go off one of your enormous rant tomorrow night if we lose? Yeah right.
Of course I'll be angry you fool. :rolleyes: Port are so pathetic, such frontrunners and they themselves can't beat anyone decent. So yes I'll be angry but I won't have a fit and tear up my membership which is pretty much what you're implying. If you actually had the ability to read you would've noticed in the 'our young midfielders go missing' thread during the Saints game I was the opposite of negative.

You can believe that spin about our development all you like but until i see those results like beating someone of quality (a team who will play deep in finals) i won’t. And that is my prerogative as a supporter.
Not even worth the effort really. Dangerfield, Tippett, Mackay, Maric, Otten, we're getting games into these guys, the future. If that's not positive development then I don't know what is.

Yeah, so sorry for accepting mediocrity every year. Finishing mid table is such a awesome feeling. :thumbsu: whoo hoo go team.

In what bizzaro world are you living?

So, constantly finishing in finals, while building a quality list is mediocre, yet winning no games and getting a top 2 pick is admirable?

Not even worth the effort really. Dangerfield, Tippett, Mackay, Maric, Otten, we're getting games into these guys, the future. If that's not positive development then I don't know what is.

I will assume Walker was an over site? So that’s 6 of 22 you have named. Yeah the development process is ever so fast. At this rate, we will develop enough good players to play deep into finals by the year 2015. Spin, spin, spin...round, round, round – keep believing that spin mate.

In what bizzaro world are you living?

So, constantly finishing in finals, while building a quality list is mediocre, yet winning no games and getting a top 2 pick is admirable?

I bet you 200 magic beans that Carlton will play in a GF before we do. We will not play in a GF for 5 years.

I will assume Walker was an over site? So that’s 6 of 22 you have named. Yeah the development process is ever so fast. At this rate, we will develop enough good players to play deep into finals by the year 2015. Spin, spin, spin...round, round, round – keep believing that spin mate.
:D You are too funny.

Okay then.

Dangerfield, Tippett, Mackay, Maric, Otten, Sellar, Walker, Cook, McKernan, Petrenko, Martin. Lots of games into some, a few into others, all up a very good list of young players we're going to rely on to take us into the elite bracket of teams. 2015, yeah good on ya champ. :thumbsu:

Tanking is very dangerous, how often does it actually work? Hawthorn sure, but lots of teams have done it and have got nowhere.

I bet you 200 magic beans that Carlton will play in a GF before we do. We will not play in a GF for 5 years.
I would take you up on the first bit
But 5 years. Ill make my judgement in 3 years. If we're still mid table then without a drop off with Macca, Goody, Edwards and Burton leaving, we should move forward and make one late in that period. If we drop off, then it will be 7-8 years untill we make one

SANFL Round 17