Scott Morrison - How Long? Part 2

So send the teachers home & get less qualified people to do the job to protect the teachers .. thats effectively what you seem to suggest.

Would those teachers be like airline workers and using up holiday & LSL entitlements .... iits not perfect I do agree.

I think we are talking about different things. I was responding to a post that proposed teachers teach traditional class room students and home schooled students simultaneously. My opinion is that is not possible - one teacher can only do one or the other noting that school classrooms are not set up like university lecture theatres.

Teachers either need to 1/ teach a class room or 2/ teach using online tools which are somewhat limited for schools.

I’d happily ‘babysit’ a small class while teachers teach if I lose my job. Reckon there’d be a few more as well.

Agree. Although that does not resolve the problem where parents choose to keep their kids at home and teachers are still somehow expected to teach them while they have a class as well. It is not possible IMO

One day, no idea when sadly but the sooner the better, one day Australians will see through the bullshit line “but you couldn’t possibly have the other mob”.

The amount of terms I've heard that phrase...

It feels like many voters suffer from Stockholm Syndrome.

One day, no idea when sadly but the sooner the better, one day Australians will see through the bullshit line “but you couldn’t possibly have the other mob”.

It is hard to put a limit on how much corruption and incompetence and narcissism and self interest Australians will accept in the name of supporting ideological prejudice against the “others”, right now it seems bottomless, but one day they will wake up and realise the world actually could be better “with the other mob”.

My mob is better than your mob mentality is a sea anchor for the country as are ideologues of any persuasion. Listing the politicians & operatives disgracing both parties is easy.

You seem to be blaming the voters for not giving Labor a go nationally - you would have to be blind to ignore how poorly the Opposition were in the last election - every bit as poor as Hewson v Keating. Not the voters fault.

The my mob is better than your mob types on both sides arent in touch with reality imho, not in touch with the unaligned that decide the elections, far happier with back slapping each other over comments they all agree with.

As Richo says the mob work you out.

I think we are talking about different things. I was responding to a post that proposed teachers teach traditional class room students and home schooled students simultaneously. My opinion is that is not possible - one teacher can only do one or the other noting that school classrooms are not set up like university lecture theatres.

Teachers either need to 1/ teach a class room or 2/ teach using online tools which are somewhat limited for schools.

Agree. Although that does not resolve the problem where parents choose to keep their kids at home and teachers are still somehow expected to teach them while they have a class as well. It is not possible IMO

I agree with the problems of trying to teach both kids in class & online at one time.

My mob is better than your mob mentality is a sea anchor for the country as are ideologues of any persuasion. Listing the politicians & operatives disgracing both parties is easy.

You seem to be blaming the voters for not giving Labor a go nationally - you would have to be blind to ignore how poorly the Opposition were in the last election - every bit as poor as Hewson v Keating. Not the voters fault.

The my mob is better than your mob types on both sides arent in touch with reality imho, not in touch with the unaligned that decide the elections, far happier with back slapping each other over comments they all agree with.

I am more than happy to accept that Labor failed miserably.

My personal opinion is that the Greens are too far left to be a viable alternative and that Labor with its traditional base mixed with the inner city progressive set cannot set themselves into a viable alternative government.

But.

There was a controversy/outright corruption exposed every other day of the last election campaign and Strayan’s still voted for the LNP.

My other personal opinion is that anything is better than what we currently have now - the corrupt LNP. The sole purpose of the LNP is to write and protect the law to make the rich richer whilst clipping their own ticket on the way through.

And Strayan’s vote for that because boats and mythical surpluses and tax cuts and concocted fear of “others”.

Right now we are seeing the consequence of that. You voted for self interest and personal responsibility and accepted your tax cut so take your ****ing medicine.

Of course every bastard in the country has their hand out.

There was a controversy/outright corruption exposed every other day of the last election campaign and Strayan’s still voted for the LNP.

The problem is that this sort of stuff is every day & the my mob/your mob crowd are outraged by choice & where applicable, NEVER by the action.
Yesterday it was in Queensland Parliament involving Council matters - the political class are up to their armpits.

Sorry to say but if you keep blaming the voters you are in for more disappointments.

The problem is that this sort of stuff is every day & the my mob/your mob crowd are outraged by choice & where applicable, NEVER by the action.
Yesterday it was in Queensland Parliament involving Council matters - the political class are up to their armpits.

Sorry to say but if you keep blaming the voters you are in for more disappointments.

Which points directly to the system is broken.

The system has been entirely and completely co-opted and corrupted.

I agree with the problems of trying to teach both kids in class & online at one time.
The difference is Keating performed well and Hewson performed poorly. No one can argue Morrison had any weight of history behind him or that he performed well. It would be hard to imagine Shorten could have handled this worse; in times of crisis, Labor will always be willing to intervene, while the Libs will fight it every step of the way.

People are seriously talking about universal incomes and nationalising businesses. Morrison is the last person you’d want in charge at a time like this.

Rudd and Gillard would have driven us to the brink of civil war.

They would have cranked up the hysteria and lined their pockets off the back of our misery.

On a positive note, our schools would all have shiny new $15000 stainless steel drinking troughs to replace the $15000 stainless steel drinking troughs from the GFC.

All school buildings would be well insulated, and the lawns beautifully manicured.

What's that you say, you want to be saved from that pesky corona virus? No problemo, that will be cost you $100 Billion for 7 new ambulances and a shed we got from Bunnings.

Oh hello #scottyfrommarketing.

PR is trying to sell a myth that it’s all an overreaction, hundreds of countries creating upheaval for shits and giggles. He’s underreacted compared to most opinions.

Can't I have the opinion that corona should run its course for the fit and healthy and the isolation to the elderly, sick and vulnerable?

I don't believe society or the economy can withstand 18 months, 36 months........ or more likely forever as corona is likely to be a permanent fixture going forward. Unfortunately politicians pander to what people want rather than deliver the message they don't want to hear.

Which points directly to the system is broken.

The system has been entirely and completely co-opted and corrupted.

Or its the practices of the parties.

One of the problems imho is that there is a need to try and identify people in groups that might have applied in the 60s, the workers, the Catholics, the rich, the poor & they were supposed to vote this way/that way, not to mention the assumption a wife would vote the same way as hubby.

We saw Turnbull & Abbotts blue ribbon seats change hands, Shorten papering over the inner city v workers conundrum. Examples of the mob working you out.

In my time the aspirational voter is a group of small business come tradies & they think about where they put their vote.

As for corruption, we need to put them in gaol, its not as if we havent got plenty of MPs over the past 10 years, but those pulling the strings seem to drift away, forgotten.

I am more than happy to accept that Labor failed miserably.

My personal opinion is that the Greens are too far left to be a viable alternative and that Labor with its traditional base mixed with the inner city progressive set cannot set themselves into a viable alternative government.

But.

My other personal opinion is that anything is better than what we currently have now - the corrupt LNP. The sole purpose of the LNP is to write and protect the law to make the rich richer whilst clipping their own ticket on the way through.

And Strayan’s vote for that because boats and mythical surpluses and tax cuts and concocted fear of “others”.

Right now we are seeing the consequence of that. You voted for self interest and personal responsibility and accepted your tax cut so take your ******* medicine.

Of course every bastard in the country has their hand out.
Absolutely. When you look at the grievous harm this “government” has done to the country every day of its life, it’s intellectually pathetic to say “Labor’s campaign was terrible”.

Can't I have the opinion that corona should run its course for the fit and healthy and the isolation to the elderly, sick and vulnerable?

I don't believe society or the economy can withstand 18 months, 36 months........ or more likely forever as corona is likely to be a permanent fixture going forward. Unfortunately politicians pander to what people want rather than deliver the message they don't want to hear.

& the press are trying to manufacture headlines/stories & when politicians dont comply the journo runs opinion as news.

I'm inclined to agree, we need to get on with life & I fit in 'the elderly, sick and vulnerable' group.

Absolutely. When you look at the grievous harm this “government” has done to the country every day of its life, it’s intellectually pathetic to say “Labor’s campaign was terrible”.

The discussion has a context, you've come in late, thats intellectually pathetic.

Like many things on the SRP it was only after the fact did the "Labor's campaign was terrible" schtick appear.

Even the RWNJs on Sky like Credlin were faintly praising Labor's campaign because just about everyone agreed that it is the campaign that anyone else in Labor's position would have run.

It is difficult IMO to determine whether it was a slap in the face for Labor or a rounding endorsement of right wing politics as we know it today.
I'm inclined to think the latter.
IMO people in general are far more confident in expressing their racist/homophobic/selfish views. (Trump phenomenon???)

You can, but given the estimates are tens of thousands could die, that’s a pretty ****ing ghoulish opinion to have. My mum is in the vulnerable group, her immune system is currently compromised, you’re prioritising profits over actual people. Maybe if it affected you more closely, you’d reconsider.

Are you suggesting any of that played a part in the last election?
Why did those seats change hands in NQ?

Queensland is no more than a collection of all the hard core bogans who left NSW and Vic (mainly) for the promised land.

The LNP knows how to pull their chains.
Labor hasn't yet worked out how to pull their chains.

Are you suggesting any of that played a part in the last election?
Why did those seats change hands in NQ?

Because Adani.

never mind unemployment/under employment in qld is the highest in the country

this time they’ll get those mining jobs......

The discussion has a context, you've come in late, thats intellectually pathetic.
I followed the whole discussion. Just because I didn’t comment initially doesn’t invalidate my comment when I make it. There was nothing worthy of comment until then.

This “government” is demonstrably phucking the country, to the detriment of all except the rich and the corporate world, particularly the mining industry and the banks.

Who put these utter bastards in power?

The voters.

So I blame the voters for phucking my beautiful country, this place with so much potential.

I don’t blame Labor for running a “bad” campaign (let’s not forget, Morrison still has only the same wafer-thin majority he had before, so either Labor actually ran a pretty damn good campaign, or you agree that the Coalition are appalling, and shouldn’t have won. It has to be one or the other.)

Blaming Labor, for the poor decisions of idiot voters, is intellectually pathetic.