SFL Div 2 - Part 2

Yes if i was the Coach i would be a little concerned.
You lose match fitness pretty fast if you play 2 games in a month
i would think they would lose a bit of that match hardness required for the big one.
It will be intresting to see if they lose anything!!
One break is ok but having 2 will test any team
Please dont ever coach me you are a bigger joke than the comedy act that has been playing this season at sth yarra

Fair enough tell me why you think that????:confused:
I bet you cant big mouth
Most clubs have 6 run's before xmas,then we start pre season late january /early feb.we then play 2 or 3 practice matches ,finally we play the real thing early to mid april .if we are lucky we get the queens birthday weekend off .then it's back to 6 week's of mainly skill work as we have already built up our fitness level's .with roughly 4 weeks to final's, training intensifies with more running and tackling work involved, and we stay out that little bit longer on the track as winter draws to an end .most of the team will do rehab on monday night's during the last 4 weeks ,consiting of swimming,light run's down on the beach and very light aerobic work out's.finally it's game day for us ,we know the game plan back to front and inside out as the coach has been drilling it into our head's all year long (and yes we have back up move's if injury or player is not doing there job).we run out winner's but we know we must train harder for the next game ,and as we have been doing all the extra work for the past 6 week's, and we have played 19 games, and three practice matches, and also pre season and a few runs before xmas. i think we will not lack any match hardness and fitness certainly will not be an excuse if we lost the remaining 2 matche's

Didnt relise you took it so seriously in the colts. Koach i dont think it would worry sth yarra ior oakleigh if they played every round of the finals series. Heatherton's success may be their achillies heal. Look what happened to essendon in 1990 after collingwood and west coast had that famous draw and the dons had to wait another week.

Mate you dont seem to understand the situation you have to realise
there are many factors involved the dribble you have posted is not true.
I have yet to see a paddock side know a game plan inside out.
Firstly to get a game plan completly right takes time.
4 hour training a week is not enough time to get the required result.
Some teams are better organized that others i would agree on that.
But during a Finals series the game moves to another level.
And this takes a bit of adjusment for players.
My point is if Heatherton win the first final
This could be a problem as they would only play 2 games in 4 weeks
And the side they come up against in the G/F will be very hardened.

Koach you do realise this hasn't changed from the final 4 to the final 5 you flog. If a team finishes top in the final 4 they get a week off and if they win the first week they get another week off. This hasn't hurt the sides that finished top in the past few years.

Injuries is a huge factor in finals. Having a week off at the start of finals allows players that have been injured in the home and away season to play the first final at 100% (instead of 80% or not play at all). As finals footy is hard, it usually leads to a few injuries. Playing 4 weeks in a row of finals footy will lead to players playing less than 100% or not at all. Heatherton is in the box seat as if they win their first final they will have 21 players feeling 100% for the Grand final

Koach you do realise this hasn't changed from the final 4 to the final 5 you flog. If a team finishes top in the final 4 they get a week off and if they win the first week they get another week off. This hasn't hurt the sides that finished top in the past few years.

Injuries is a huge factor in finals. Having a week off at the start of finals allows players that have been injured in the home and away season to play the first final at 100% (instead of 80% or not play at all). As finals footy is hard, it usually leads to a few injuries. Playing 4 weeks in a row of finals footy will lead to players playing less than 100% or not at all. Heatherton is in the box seat as if they win their first final they will have 21 players feeling 100% for the Grand final

So they get this week off then play next week and if they win next week.
And go straight into a G/F have another week off thats like a top 4 is it?
Another Goose that doesnt understand the machanics of football..

So they get this week off then play next week and if they win next week.
And go straight into a G/F have another week off thats like a top 4 is it?
Another Goose that doesnt understand the machanics of football..
Like you i have been around the block and ill take the two week break every year has not stopped me playing in 2 winning g.f. so far .as for your (MACHANICS)of foot ball if need be we can call on the RACV .:)

If you read my posts you will see all i am saying is if its not managed
right i would think it might be a problem.
But hey i think like a Koach what can i say..
Top 5 has diffent implications to a top 4 before you reply at least think about it.
I am sick of Clowns shooting from the hip...

If you read my posts you will see all i am saying is if its not managed
right i would think it might be a problem.
But hey i think like a Koach what can i say..
Top 5 has diffent implications to a top 4 before you reply at least think about it.
I am sick of Clowns shooting from the hip...
Koach for fuc% sake i am sure you are not the only one to coach or play in a final 5 it is no big deal stop trying to make a mountain out of a molehill i actually enjoy the breaks and asking fellow players most aggree so lets just wait and see if it does affect us Heatherton 2009 bang bang:)

Fair enough lets Watch this space.......
Remember its not the same thing
I will be watching with inrest
And another thing for your Club lets not be remembered for being Bridesmaids as you seem to think it is all over!!!

Fair enough lets Watch this space.......
Remember its not the same thing
I will be watching with inrest
And another thing for your Club lets not be remembered for being Bridesmaids as you seem to think it is all over!!!
You remember that it is my post and not the "clubs ",i do think we have it in the bag all thing's being equal on the day .:)

If footballers can't get fired up for a Grand Final and need you to bring out a print out of a forum, they won't win the flag and you would be a rubbish coach.

Koach, Have a look at the top 4 and top 5 finals system before you speak. As you clearly have no idea.

If footballers can't get fired up for a Grand Final and need you to bring out a print out of a forum, they won't win the flag and you would be a rubbish coach.

Its called getting any edge you can you old fool.
Clubs should try anything that might get the players in the right frame of mind.
Not all players are self motivators..
So as a Coach you have the responsability to lift the ones that need it.
And take my word for it its needed

Its called getting any edge you can you old fool.
Clubs should try anything that might get the players in the right frame of mind.
Not all players are self motivators..
So as a Coach you have the responsability to lift the ones that need it.
And take my word for it its needed

Koach you are a bit too smart for this forum why bother?
Oh by the way i agree about the 5 being a new thing.
it will test everyones preparations.

Koach you are a bit too smart for this forum why bother?
Oh by the way i agree about the 5 being a new thing.
it will test everyones preparations.

The best Team on the day will win the flag.
Lets hope thats not Yarra i cant stan that Neville

G'day all,

TIPS FOR WEEK 1 FINALS*

In my time with the Bears(since 02) there's always been upsets when finals are at Clayton, so this year prob wont be any different. I'll have a go at picking the winners and the reasons why, but who really knows hey?

Highett V The Beena. Winner - Highett.

From what i can remeber of Highett when we played them early in the year they were pretty tall across the board and pretty well drilled, didn't see them 2nd time around so i'm not sure what's happened to them in the meantime. I'll tip them anyway!

Beena have lost the last 3, we beat them in RD16 with a few of our best players out injured but Clayton's smaller ground may suit them, if they can get it out of the ruck quickly and down to the big fella in the goal square they might be a show.

Oakleigh Districts V Sth Yarra. Winner Sth Yarra

Oakleigh Districts have had a good run home, winning form i good form i guess but what i remember from Oakleigh is that they were very undersized in their backline. If Yarra's Lloyd and the other bloke(cant remeber his name!) fire then i see Oakeigh with their hands full.
When we played Sth Yarra last time at Yarra it was a terrible day(wet, blowing a gale etc) but the thing that stood out for me was their seniors and ressies played exactly the same way, so if injuries or form are an issue they have quite a few replacements waiting for a chance.

Good luck to all teams!

*Will most likely be wrong!

Very good run down Bear.

I think Highett and Beena are similar teams. They have 3 or 4 key players you need to shut down in order to beat them. It will come down to which of these 4 players performs better than the other team. I think Highett will get up.

Crawley is the other bloke you are refering to. I think Clayton will suit the Yarra more than their home ground. It's going to be a tough clash but the Yarra will get up by 3 goals.

Lets hope for good conditions on Saturday.